WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Discuss: Do Actors Lie About Their Dream Projects?

Posted: March 31st, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Discuss: Do Actors Lie About Their Dream Projects?Submit Comment
Most of us see actors in movies and don't realize what it took for those projects to come together and what it took to convince those actors to not turn down the offers, a process that usually derails most films. In our two examples we take a look at Nick Frost and Charlize Theron who fought for roles, only to then inexplicably almost squander them away.

Nick Frost: In 2011, Steven Spielberg was working on his animated "Tintin" movie. Simon Pegg and Nick Frost (Shaun of the Dead, Hot Fuzz) are huge fans of Spielberg, so when the opportunity came up to play Thompson and Thomson, it was a dream come true. Here's how Frost explains it:

"It was like 9 o'clock at night. They said, 'Steven's going to ring you in 10 minutes if you could be available,' but I was cooking my wife's dinner. She wasn't in, I was cooking her a meal. And it got to a really crucial point in the preparation which meant I could not answer that phone call without ruining my wife's dinner. So I dropped the call!"

Spielberg ended up leaving him a message, wondering why he didn't pick up the phone when just ten minutes ago he confirmed that he would be available. Frost continued: "Eventually we got to talk to one another and we [made the film]. I was so pleased! He's a hero, he's an icon of mine in terms of filmmaking, and a lot of my cinematic touchstones are films that he's made."

He's a hero and an icon? It sounds like Frost's dinner was more important.

Charlize Theron: Also in 2011, Charlize Theron said that she got to meet director Jason Reitman (June) at the Oscars where she approached him and gushed about how much she loves his work, telling him that it would be a dream for her to work together.

Her dream aparently came true, because soon after, Reitman reached out to her and offered her the lead role in "Young Adult," a script that Theron loved. The actress wanted nothing more than to make the movie, but her commitment to "Mad Max" stopped her from accepting the offer.

While later promoting "Young Adult," she said that turning down the role was one of the most painful experiences for her. But then she went on to say that "Mad Max" got delayed and she ran into Reitman several months later at a restaurant, where the director once again asked her to join the project. She obviously accepted.

The big question is: If "Mad Max" was delayed, why didn't she reach out to Reitman? Why did she wait for a coincidental meeting to happen to discuss a project that she initially went after?

Question: Are these actors inadvertently sabotaging themselves, or are they lying about wanting to work with Spielberg and Reitman?

Source: WorstPreviews.com


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 28 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
j-man writes:
on March 31st, 2013 at 7:58:57 AM

Discuss : is this the most stupid article ever written?
Slidefire writes:
on March 31st, 2013 at 8:08:39 AM

Discuss: this site is going to sh*t ... End of discussion
cress writes:
on March 31st, 2013 at 8:23:34 AM

Young Adult sucked ass. Jason Reitman made two films in a row(Up In The Air) about slimy, soulless people who get their comeuppance, but learn nothing, and go right back to their sh*tty ways. UP IN THE AIR was tolerable. YOUNG ADULT was horrible.
ShibbyStain writes:
on March 31st, 2013 at 9:00:25 AM

yeah i gotta agree. This site is really going to sh*t. I used to keep it as my homepage, now you would be lucky if I clicked on the bookmark. Advertisements have gone berserk and the writing has become dog sh*t. Good luck WP.
BadChadB33 writes:
on March 31st, 2013 at 9:05:14 AM

No they don't lie at all. They are all very truthful honest people. Of course they Lie Alex!!!
cress writes:
on March 31st, 2013 at 9:10:40 AM

Pegg wouldn't have turned that phone call down. Frost, though, is a fat f*ck and I can see why he would choose dinner over Spielberg.
ENFORCER writes:
on March 31st, 2013 at 9:20:48 AM

This can relate to all walks of life, many people lie about their dreams. Actors , hookers , firemen whoever. Who really is content with what they have?
Tanman32123 writes:
on March 31st, 2013 at 11:22:22 AM

Discuss: i just wanted to join in on the fun.
ENFORCER writes:
on March 31st, 2013 at 12:30:22 PM

@mink. https://www.facebook.com/kobelva
Ip_man writes:
on March 31st, 2013 at 1:31:27 PM

@j-man

yes.
WV-Films writes:
on March 31st, 2013 at 1:35:03 PM

Clearly Alex doesn't date....
pornfly writes:
on March 31st, 2013 at 2:04:56 PM

I totally understand the first story.
Have you seen Nick Frosts wife?
she doesnt look picky but she sure looks hungry.

*dumbf*ck*
Spielberg shouldve told him to take his wife, his blood sausage and piss off
pornfly writes:
on March 31st, 2013 at 2:07:27 PM

Next article
Discuss: Are Special Effects Really All That Special?
bandolero999 writes:
on March 31st, 2013 at 2:51:24 PM

shut the f*ck up shibbystain go smoke some saudage gonga and begone from this site.

either talk about movies or pull a tony scott
minkowski writes:
on March 31st, 2013 at 3:37:06 PM

^^Amen. A-f*cking-men.



And who the f*ck are these two nobodies? Shibbystain and slidefire. f*ckers never post but they're here to say they're leaving? Who the f*ck cares? You act like you're part of the ecosystem here. You're just a f*cking erstwhile lurker. Go get f*cked.








As for the article, wtf? What the f*ck kind of article is this sh*t? Inventing crap because there's no news? But there IS news, *sshole, you just refuse to post it. I already gave you one free story up above. I give you stories all the f*cking time, and so do other people but you post this TRASH, which trashes actors and movies, instead. What the f*ck is your problem?

And how the hell are we able to form an opinion on a topic so inane it defies description? Huh? From snippets of conversation and interview excerpts from what two people said at some particular time? Yeah, Frost called Spielberg back after dinner, so that must mean he didn't want to work with the legendary director, right? Is that where you're going with this sh*t? And from this sh*t we're supposed to deduce the motives and machinations of people we've never met?

Like I said, what the f*ck is your problem?
Ireland914 writes:
on March 31st, 2013 at 3:49:08 PM

They make a living pretending to be people they are not. No, they don't lie...
zxz writes:
on March 31st, 2013 at 4:03:05 PM

I think any actor would want to work with Spielberg. Actors never want to sound like they are anything but game when it comes to working with big directors. I also learned never to take what actors say too seriously; they are frivolous people by nature. After all, they "act" for a living.

Having lived in L.A. since the 70s, I've met a lot of people in the biz, and know just how full of crap are the people it attracts. All the world's bullsh*t artists wash up in L.A., both in front of the camera and those behind the scenes. I've also known plenty of good, decent people in the biz, but Hollywood does attract an awful lot of flakes. Just think of a town where everyone wears their party face all the time. They exaggerate, they pretend everything is a-okay. You can't take anything seriously in Hollywood until it is done and paid for.

I worked at a bookstore on the West Side of L.A. when I was in college in the 80s, and whenever Hollywood was interested in a book, people started to buy up the book because it was now considered a "property". In no other town do people think of a book as a property.

I knew people who paid psychics and other charlatans thousands to tell them what they wanted to hear. L.A. is a town that believes its own lies. I would suggest to anyone interested in coming out to Lalaland to make movies to just do it on their own, low budget. Waiting for a failing dinosaur of a studio to open the rusty gates of fame and fortune is pointless. And don't do it for fame. Do it because you love it. Work outside of Hollywood. Film in your hometown. It's easier to make any small Illinois town look like Haddonfield when you don't have to worry about intrusive palm trees ruining the mood. It's also cheater by orders of magnitude. Halloween was done in the low six-figures (I've heard between 100 and 300 grand). It made over 100 million. Now if you want to make a film like Halloween, with today's technology you can do it for a few thousand bucks. So, film in your hometown, avoid the unions. You don't have to go to film school at USC (University of Spoiled Children/University of South Central). You can take some courses at just about any community college in the country, and get experience as an apprentice, which is priceless. Then you don't have to wait for a call from Spielberg as you're grilling tomatoes.
Krisoo writes:
on March 31st, 2013 at 4:21:13 PM

Who wrote this sh*t?

Please fired him immediately!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Džeko writes:
on March 31st, 2013 at 5:25:12 PM

Well,it beats the "Facebook begging"..or does it...
Stapes writes:
on March 31st, 2013 at 5:26:29 PM

WP should start adding bylines.
Tanman32123 writes:
on March 31st, 2013 at 6:07:12 PM

Yea they should totally fired him...

Dumbass
LearJet writes:
on March 31st, 2013 at 6:29:52 PM

Wow - I couldn't give a sh*t.
mrstretch writes:
on March 31st, 2013 at 6:36:51 PM

I love Frost/Theron news. It's about time somebody shined a light on this conspiracy. DREAMGATE 2013
KillerCOck writes:
on March 31st, 2013 at 9:43:49 PM

f*ck Spielberg.
yourmomgivesgoodhead writes:
on March 31st, 2013 at 10:36:58 PM

Ever put into accountability, that sh*t happens. projects fall apart all the time for what ever reasons. and good for Frost... Family over work. and well work doesn't suck your d*ck when you wake up in the morning...
Skywalker121289 writes:
on March 31st, 2013 at 11:23:39 PM

CRAP article. Nice try Alex. But... you really need to come up with different articles. This one is crap. lol
Skywalker121289 writes:
on March 31st, 2013 at 11:23:39 PM

CRAP article. Nice try Alex. But... you really need to come up with different articles. This one is crap. lol
Tanman32123 writes:
on April 1st, 2013 at 1:35:10 AM

Yea what he said!

Twice!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved