WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Is Lex Luthor in "Man of Steel"?

Posted: March 29th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Is Lex Luthor in "Man of Steel"?Submit Comment
About two years ago, it was rumored that director Zack Snyder was auditioning lesser-known actors for the role of Lex Luthor in "Man of Steel." Since then, there has been no news about the Superman villain, which may mean that the character is no longer in the film.

SPOILERS AHEAD:

To find out if Lex Luthor will appear in "Man of Steel," AICN now reached out to several of its sources, who are connected to the industry. "The answer is apparently a very loud YES," wrote the site. "The tone that Nolan/Goyer/Snyder are going for with the character is not the silly goofy Hackman Luthor... But an ambitious, ego driven and cold version of Luthor."

The site's sources also revealed that the actor who'll be playing Luthor is Mackenzie Gray (pictured), who played a Luthor clone in "Smallville." It's a bit strange that Snyder would look to "Smallville" to cast Luthor. At the same time, Gray recently did an interview where he confirmed that he'll appear in "Man of Steel," hinting that there is a level of secrecy around his role (watch below, at 1:06 mark).

Gray Interview:


Click here to read more about "Man of Steel."

Source: AICN


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 31 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Taco writes:
on March 29th, 2013 at 7:42:56 AM

Plays Keith Richards but looks like Mick Jagger.
boogiel writes:
on March 29th, 2013 at 7:45:15 AM

If MOS is following the same pattern as batman begins, then yes, I do think we'll see some references to The baldy supervillain. But one thing though, that mackenzie guy ain't gonna be Luthor. Mark Strong could pull it off waay better.
Deaft0ne writes:
on March 29th, 2013 at 7:58:52 AM

There were also rumors that Patrick Wilson was playing Lex Luthor as well and would make sense because he was Night Owl II in Snyder's Watchmen.

But yeah, that guy looks like Jagger, wonder if he moves like him..
BadChadB33 writes:
on March 29th, 2013 at 8:29:31 AM

Wish we had different villains than Luthor and Zod.
Mongoloid dad writes:
on March 29th, 2013 at 9:26:20 AM

Alex. Go f*ck yourself. Ain't it cool news posted this link as:

"MAN OF STEEL Exclusive Casting Spoiler - Do Not Read If You Do Not Want To Know"

Why can't you cloak your link similarly, as opposed to just putting it out there. Obviously cause you could give less of a sh*t.
Stapes writes:
on March 29th, 2013 at 9:34:03 AM

I wouldnt call Hackman's Luthor any more "goofy" than Reeves' Superman. Enough with all this hipster emo posturing.
witwicky-potter writes:
on March 29th, 2013 at 10:48:16 AM

Tired of the same characters.Come on Snyder,you can do better
Tanman32123 writes:
on March 29th, 2013 at 10:51:13 AM

Mongoloid youre not used to this by now? Lol
Deaft0ne writes:
on March 29th, 2013 at 11:03:00 AM

@mongo

Since Lex Luthor is in every f*cking Superman movie it's hardly a spoiler or surprise he is in Man of Steel. I was certainly expecting it.
CelluloidMan writes:
on March 29th, 2013 at 11:03:19 AM

I'm with Stapes on this one...

"silly goofy Hackman Luthor"? Hackman? I admit he might not be the look-at-me-I'm-so-dark-so-take-me-seriously character, but noone has said he was a lousy Lex Luthor.

Please. Don't put down the actors that made the movie a success making it the reason you're rebooting it right now...ungrateful c*nts.
Mongoloid dad writes:
on March 29th, 2013 at 11:53:50 AM

@deaft0ne and @tanman

- it's the practice of this form of journalism that bugs me so.
This and the constant sh*tty on set pics and the trailers for trailers for trailers.

It just kills all the anticipation and sucks the wonder out. I know, I know. 'Then stop coming here'. But that's like saying close your eyes while driving to avoid the billboards. There's no avoiding the saturation effect.

Mcweeney wrote a nice blog about it.

http://m.hitfix.com/motion-captured/with-this-weeks-wolverine-and-iron-man-3-trailers-has-our-spoiler-culture-reached-an-event-horizon
Deaft0ne writes:
on March 29th, 2013 at 12:39:23 PM

@mongo

Yeah but in spite of all the studio foreplay which is getting really stupid now, for Man of Steel alone I was expecting Luthor to appear in **some** capacity.
vincere01 writes:
on March 29th, 2013 at 12:52:25 PM

What's wrong with bringing spacey back? He is by far the best choice. Considering hackman could die any day now. He did a great job last time and was arguably the only good thing from returns. Get ur head out of your ass warner brothers
Deaft0ne writes:
on March 29th, 2013 at 1:12:26 PM

@vincere01

Gene Hackman retired from acting in 2004 after his final film appearance in Welcome To Mooseport.

Man of Steel is a reboot of the Superman franchise so Kevin Spacey would not play Lex Luthor again. He played him in Superman Returns because it was intended as a proper 3rd film after Superman II.
minkowski writes:
on March 29th, 2013 at 1:15:36 PM

Someone actually wrote an article decrying "our spoiler culture"? What the f*ck is that? We've got people dying on the streets, crazy people gunning down entire schools, people starving inside the richest nation ever, and some fat nerd *sshole is writing articles crying about "our spoiler culture"? Really?! He should write a f*cking article on whining petulant pieces of sh*t like himself crying about nothing.


"What's wrong with bringing spacey back?"

He's OLD. Haven't you seen him in House of Cards? OLD. Too old to play the nemesis of Superman, considering they have a contemporaneous back story.


"He is by far the best choice. Considering hackman could die any day now."

Hackman is done with acting and has been for many years.





As for the actual news and article, I don't give a f*ck.
pornfly writes:
on March 29th, 2013 at 2:40:54 PM

AICN 'sources connected to the industry' are tools
andywilson92 writes:
on March 29th, 2013 at 5:03:00 PM

"Tools", you call them? Says he who likely fantasizes about being buggered by Jim Belushi.
minkowski writes:
on March 29th, 2013 at 5:32:52 PM

^^Man, are you asking for an old-fashioned community ass-whoopin' or what?
andywilson92 writes:
on March 29th, 2013 at 5:44:42 PM

There is plenty of me for them to "whoop". I am morbidly obese, you see. I will take what I have coming.
minkowski writes:
on March 29th, 2013 at 5:52:22 PM

You take what others have coming too, I bet.
vincere01 writes:
on March 29th, 2013 at 6:12:54 PM

@deaft and mink I'm aware Hickman retired. I was merely saying he was the best portrayal of the character outside of hackman.

On the point of spacey being old. When he had the bald cap on and makeup he looked a lot younger. I'm sure if he/they wanted to he could pass for late 40's which would be fine
andywilson92 writes:
on March 29th, 2013 at 6:35:59 PM

I resent the implication that I am a receiver of ejaculate, sir. I resent it.
Deaft0ne writes:
on March 29th, 2013 at 6:37:19 PM

@vincere01

Yeah I know what you mean and Spacey was great as Luthor. He's said many times he has loads of respect for how a character is written and whst the director envisions and he works within that while adding his own spin to all his parts. I have never found fault with any of Spacey's performances so don't think I do.

What I mean is Man of Steel is clearly taking a different direction because it is a reboot. Using Spacey for Lex which is as of now a brief 3rd act appearance would be monumentally distracting and the Smallville/Jagger guy is a more practical choice if he shows up with a few lines.

I'm rambling but you get my point.
Deaft0ne writes:
on March 29th, 2013 at 6:38:00 PM

What^
vincere01 writes:
on March 29th, 2013 at 6:44:38 PM

@deaft they wouldn't be the first people to reuse an actor in a reboot. And in this case I'd say it could work. Especially if the part was to expand in sequels.

An example in recent memory is how cilian murphy played an uncredited small role as dilingers son in tron legacy. And it is strongly hinted at as him becoming a major bad guy in tron 3. He did a great job as well.
andywilson92 writes:
on March 29th, 2013 at 6:49:25 PM

I am now going to depart from this web site, and I shall never return.

You are all wonderful people. I mean that.

Deaft0ne writes:
on March 29th, 2013 at 7:19:36 PM

@vincere01

I know but you have to respect the filmmakers. Spacey is not part of it.
Deaft0ne writes:
on March 29th, 2013 at 7:29:03 PM

@vincere01

I know but you have to respect the filmmakers. Spacey is not part of it.
Mongoloid dad writes:
on March 29th, 2013 at 8:20:00 PM

@mink. Sure people are dying. CNN and the ghost of Patrick Swayze are all over it. But I'm a film nerd and i like film nerds writing film nerd articles I relate to.
Champ1432 writes:
on March 29th, 2013 at 9:13:44 PM

I doubt Luthor will be the main villain in this movie. Or even a villain at all. This is just DC taking another page out of Marvel's book and getting viewers accustomed to a future villain by introducing him right away, but not as a villain. Just like Dr. Connors in Raimi's Spiderman trilogy. Well, assuming they actually had gotten to take that to fruition anyway, which obviously didn't happen.

Luthor is an integral part of Superman's story, so I think it would be a mistake to not have him in at all. I, like many, am tired of seeing him as the main villain constantly though, so hopefully this is just a set-up appearance for something to happen down the road.
sleeknight writes:
on April 2nd, 2013 at 7:59:38 PM

Please bring back Michael Rosenbaum as Lex. Nobody could do it like him.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved