WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Martin Scorsese Making "Gangs of New York" TV Series

Posted: March 29th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Martin Scorsese Making "Gangs of New York" TV SeriesSubmit Comment
Martin Scorsese announced that he has teamed with Miramax to develop a TV series based on his "Gangs of New York" movie, which was released in 2002 and starred Daniel Day-Lewis and Leonardo DiCaprio. The film received ten Oscar nominations.

The series will follow the story of the movie and draw on events surrounding organized gangs at the turn of the 20th century and shortly thereafter, not only in New York but in such cities as Chicago.

"This time of America's history and heritage is rich with characters and stories that we could not fully explore in a two-hour film," said Scorsese. "A television series allows us the time and creative freedom to bring this colorful world, and all the implications it had and still does on our society, to life."

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 6 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Bunny X writes:
on March 29th, 2013 at 8:32:25 AM

I loved, I mean LOVED the movie. I know I will hate this series though.
i124q writes:
on March 29th, 2013 at 10:18:53 AM

Would it really be much different to Boardwalk Empire? It would only be 20 odd years before it. Just my opinion anyway.
minkowski writes:
on March 29th, 2013 at 1:23:48 PM

Just make a sequel with space aliens. The Kangs of New York or something.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on March 29th, 2013 at 3:28:15 PM

@i124q
In all fairness, if this series follows the drama of the movie, it be way more intense. Like violence galore.

@Everyone
I pretty much never support tv series based off movies, but Scorsese I remember reading about on the production of his film. Dude is fascinated with this part of history. So I believe he can make a great series. Boardwalk Empire is a great show, and nice to see Steve Buscemi finally got a starring role. Anyway, Scorcese claims to have been interested in this part of history since childhood. So do I support a series based off a life-long passion that he probably knows every detail over and every angle on how to approach. Do I support the fact that the director can probably make a brutal series about Irish gangs that will be epic? Hell yes!!!
Bunny X writes:
on March 29th, 2013 at 4:11:34 PM

Do we really need a Spartacus: Turn of the Century though?? The movie was great but I'm a bit done from the late era series. Now a Departed series of undercover vs. the Boston gangs would be a definite yes vote from me.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on March 29th, 2013 at 8:03:20 PM

@BunnyX
They are doing that a think although it takes place in California. It's about this like ghost unit who basically live in their false identities to take down crime. It's called "Graceland" I think.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved