WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Independence Day" Director Reveals Sequel Story Details

Posted: March 26th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Independence Day" Director Reveals Sequel Story DetailsSubmit Comment
Entertainment Weekly caught up with director Roland Emmerich to get an update on the planned two-part "Independence Day" sequels, which are tentatively called "ID Forever Part I" and "ID Forever Part II."

Emmerich confirmed that the films are in the works, adding that the story picks up twenty years after the original. Bill Pullman will return as President Whitmore, but obviously he'll no longer be the President. Will Smith has not signed on to reprise his Captain Steven Hiller role, which is why the story will focus on his character's stepson, Dylan, in addition to several other younger leads.

"The humans knew that one day the aliens would come back," he said of the story. "And they know that the only way you can really travel in space is through wormholes. So for the aliens, it could take two or three weeks, but for us that's 20 or 25 years."

Emmerich continued: "It's a changed world. It's like parallel history. [Humans] have harnessed all this alien technology. We don't know how to duplicate it because it's organically-grown technology, but we know how to take an anti-gravity device and put it in a human airplane."

Source: EW


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 26 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on March 26th, 2013 at 8:39:44 PM

Wow, the writers sure don't have a f*cking clue when it comes to wormholes, which allow you to bypass the speed of light limitation, and relativistic motion, but even without this glaring mistake, the entire plot sounds stupid and about twenty years too late.
minkowski writes:
on March 26th, 2013 at 8:40:17 PM

My d*ck smells better than this movie sounds, by the way.
GreenLensman writes:
on March 26th, 2013 at 8:49:38 PM

yea...pretty lame ideas there, sounds more like a comedy like "attack the block" which wasn't horrible just not worth watching
Deaft0ne writes:
on March 26th, 2013 at 8:51:36 PM

First one was sh*t and these sound even more pathetic.
minkowski writes:
on March 26th, 2013 at 9:00:42 PM

Will Smith says he won't return because he has to share the lead with Goldblum again.
minkowski writes:
on March 26th, 2013 at 9:14:04 PM

A Jew and a black guy save the world...I always knew Independence Day was a joke...
BadChadB33 writes:
on March 26th, 2013 at 9:19:15 PM

Better have a corny new President's speech.

In 2002 I woulda been happy but they can f*ck off now.
cress writes:
on March 26th, 2013 at 9:36:15 PM

"We don't know how to duplicate it because it's organically-grown technology..."

I bet it's super-expensive. The organic stuff always is. I mean, I want to eat healthy, and I know it's probably better for me, but damn...money is tight, yo. Plus, those apples are much smaller than the regular "pesticide-laced" ones. Wait, what are we talking about again? Aliens?
minkowski writes:
on March 26th, 2013 at 9:48:28 PM

I didn't see sh*t that was "organically grown", did any of you? Looked like metal ships and structures to me.
cress writes:
on March 26th, 2013 at 9:55:20 PM

Refresh my memory--Is this the mid-90s film where the leader gives a rousing speech to his troops near the end? Isn't it President William Wallace that rides on horseback giving an insprational speech to Will Smith and other fellow Scottsmen?
cress writes:
on March 26th, 2013 at 10:00:11 PM

I think they mean "organically" like those organ instruments found in churches or cathedrals. The aliens travel through space propelled by sh*tty sounding music.
minkowski writes:
on March 26th, 2013 at 10:04:18 PM

Ah. So Steve Jablonsky's doing the score then.
minkowski writes:
on March 26th, 2013 at 10:07:52 PM

"Isn't it President William Wallace that rides on horseback giving an insprational speech to Will Smith and other fellow Scottsmen?"

And twenty million other flicks going back to 1940 war films, no doubt. The bold courageous leader rouses his men into a fit of spirit in a last ditch battle that will decide history.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Battle_of_Gaugamela
cress writes:
on March 26th, 2013 at 10:08:19 PM

I had to look him up. TRANSFORMERS had a soundtrack? I just thought it was stock recordings of demolition derby crashes played throughout the film.
cress writes:
on March 26th, 2013 at 10:10:34 PM

http://www.americanrhetoric.com/moviespeeches.htm
minkowski writes:
on March 26th, 2013 at 10:19:31 PM

"I just thought it was stock recordings of demolition derby crashes played throughout the film."


You're not wrong, Cress.


And that's a cool link. My favorite movie president snippet is when Morgan Freeman's Deep Impact character addressed the world, on the eve of a extinction-level comet hurtling into Earth, saying "If life does go on, it won't go on for everyone.".
cress writes:
on March 26th, 2013 at 10:32:50 PM

You can't go wrong with Freeman. Except for DREAMCATCHER.

I always loved the NETWORK speech and Al Pacino's speech in SCENT OF A WOMAN.

And it's not really a speech, but Robert Shaw's Quint from JAWS addressing the people at a meeting is a great scene.
cress writes:
on March 26th, 2013 at 10:39:59 PM

Christ, what am I talking about? I can't believe I forgot Shaw's U.S.S. Indianapolis speech in JAWS. That is a brilliabt scene.
BadChadB33 writes:
on March 26th, 2013 at 10:50:40 PM

Took bad we'll never have Tatum or Pattinson give such glorious scenes.
cress writes:
on March 26th, 2013 at 11:14:44 PM

Even TRON LEGACY had cgi Jeff Bridges rallying his troops at the end
KillerCOck writes:
on March 26th, 2013 at 11:36:04 PM

I bet this will be his best movie doh. That's not saying but still.
pornfly writes:
on March 27th, 2013 at 12:34:05 AM

I saw Pacino and thought Any Given Sunday speech

Hopefully theyll be more laughs in these movies,
Vivica Fox still stripping would open up a whole world of sight gags
Ip_man writes:
on March 27th, 2013 at 1:01:59 AM

just make the f*cking movie already,you german bastard
Tanman32123 writes:
on March 27th, 2013 at 3:06:33 AM

This sounds like sh*t! I was looking forward to this and they f*cked it up! It's POINTLESS without Will Smith in it, at least for a couple scenes. And wtf is with the title? That's just horrible lol
Džeko writes:
on March 27th, 2013 at 7:06:16 AM

The first one was visually impressive(and still is for that matter)but everything else in the movie was really corny...will watch the sequel.
BlackDynamite writes:
on March 28th, 2013 at 8:28:00 PM

Not sure that's how wormholes work Hollywood, but the summer flick lunkheads won't know that, so keep on trucking.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved