WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Friday Night Lights" and "Pushing Daisies" TV Series Considering Kickstarter Film Campaigns

Posted: March 26th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Friday Night Lights" and "Pushing Daisies" TV Series Considering Kickstarter Film CampaignsSubmit Comment
When Rob Thomas created a Kickstarter campaign to raise $2 million for a "Veronica Mars" movie, nobody expected him to get the entire amount in twelve hours. The film has now almost doubled that amount, and there are still seventeen days to go.

Adrianne Palicki (GI Joe: Retaliation) has now revealed that there are talks of raising money to turn the "Friday Night Lights" TV series into a movie, something that has been discussed for years.

"I think they're starting the Kickstarter, which is insane. It's crazy," she said. "I have multiple feelings on it. I love it so much and I'm afraid that a movie might ruin it and I don't want that to happen. We went out on top. At the same time, to get to be on that show again, I would die for it. I would love to do it."

Meanwhile, Bryan Fuller is also exploring the option of raising money for a "Pushing Daisies" movie, but is worried he may not be able to raise the amount that truly needed.

"I had actually started writing a 'Pushing Daisies' film, [but] with 'Pushing Daisies,' we have to build a world. We have to build the visual effects, have zombie makeup, and there's a lot more production elements involved," he said. "We made the one-hour pilot for $6 million. Every [other] episode was about $3 million to make for the series. To do a movie, I believe we would need between $10-15 million to do it, and that's harder to ask for than what 'Veronica Mars' is asking for."

Fuller already reached out to Barry Sonnenfeld (Men in Black) about directing the movie, but feels that he's far from ready to launch the Kickstarter campaign. "I have a lot of catching up to do to see what is possible for 'Pushing Daisies,' what the studio involvement would be, and what the studio's appetite would be," he explained. "I have a lot to learn from Rob Thomas on how they pulled it off, and to see if I can do the same with 'Pushing Daisies.'"

Source: /Film, FilmSchoolRejects


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 19 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Deaft0ne writes:
on March 26th, 2013 at 8:45:09 PM

Friday Night Lights was already a sh*tty sports movie directed by Peter Berg and the tv series was based on the movie and I think Berg was a co-creator or producer on the show as well.

Why the f*ck is another stupid movie necessary? So Failer Kitsch can pay his bills?
Deaft0ne writes:
on March 26th, 2013 at 8:49:29 PM

Yeah Berg was the creator of the show and an exec producer.

http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Friday_Night_Lights_(TV_series)
minkowski writes:
on March 26th, 2013 at 8:52:27 PM

If you sh*t it, they will come.
Dirt writes:
on March 26th, 2013 at 9:30:51 PM

I don't know anything about these shows but I recently started The Walking Dead, just a couple episodes into season 2 now and it is f*cking great.

I recommend the sh*t out of it.
Trivia Newton John writes:
on March 26th, 2013 at 9:38:32 PM

"I love it so much and I'm afraid that a movie might ruin it and I don't want that to happen."

Am i f*cking missing something? Wasn't this heap of sh*t already a movie?

minkowski writes:
on March 26th, 2013 at 9:51:21 PM

I'd rather just see a Dukes of Hazzard porno called Pushing Daisy.
Deaft0ne writes:
on March 26th, 2013 at 9:59:08 PM

@trivia

Yes, I said that in my first post.
goeygogo writes:
on March 26th, 2013 at 10:02:45 PM

What is the problem with seeing if the Friday Night Lights show can be made into a movie? Yeah, the original movie was a little cheesy and the show was over dramatized, but they were both still entertaining. Especially since part of it may be fan funded.
renamoretti writes:
on March 26th, 2013 at 10:19:04 PM

It's fascinating to wonder if Bryan Fuller is actually so naive he is unaware that the Veronica Mars Kickstarter is PR fakery or if he knows and thinks it's good PR in spite of the damage it will do to young filmmakers.

Or perhaps he is just being polite.

I won't be: Rob Thomas is a terrible writer and should be ashamed at the lies he is propagating as they will hurt many people he doesn't know.
renamoretti writes:
on March 26th, 2013 at 10:20:22 PM

@DeaftOne: Glad to see I'm not the only who noticed how awful Friday Night Lights was.

It wasn't a huge flop for nothing. No wonder they love the fakery of the Kickstarter Pr campaign where the studio pays for everything. The show was lavished fake praise and was bought awards by its studio.
renamoretti writes:
on March 26th, 2013 at 10:21:53 PM

On the minus side, it seems the staff here have also drunk the Kickstarter PR Kool-Aid and actually believe this hilariously fake PR orgy is actually true...
minkowski writes:
on March 26th, 2013 at 11:50:53 PM

Pardon me, but what the f*ck are you rambling about?
pornfly writes:
on March 27th, 2013 at 12:37:25 AM

He said:
MISFITS OF SCIENCE MOVIE
OR f*ck OFF ! !
mariachi writes:
on March 27th, 2013 at 7:12:02 AM

We don't need another FNL movie. The show was fan f*cking tastic and the ending was so good that any continuation would more likely hurt it's legacy.
velocityknown writes:
on March 27th, 2013 at 9:39:28 AM

@Deaftone et al.

Friday Night Lights was a movie that was then adapted into a TV show with Peter Berg leading the charge.

However, the TV show really only retained the West Texas high school football premise and nothing else from the movie (the movie is very much a book adaptation, show retains pretty much nothing).

Also, while Peter Berg did retain an exec producer credit for bringing it to television, the showrunner and head writer was Jason Katims who's running Parenthood right now.

I'm also not the biggest fan of the FNL movie, the tv show, however, was one of the best dramas of the past decade. Just great television and I'd highly recommend it to anyone if only to see the performances from Kyle Chandler (who won an Emmy for its final season) and Connie Britton.
seveltoto writes:
on October 26th, 2017 at 5:03:59 AM

aleale writes:
on November 10th, 2017 at 11:43:56 PM

sevelace writes:
on November 14th, 2017 at 10:23:49 PM

recreator9 writes:
on November 17th, 2017 at 10:56:08 PM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved