WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Jason Statham and Tom Hardy in Talks for "Escape From New York" Remake

Posted: March 26th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Jason Statham and Tom Hardy in Talks for "Escape From New York" RemakeSubmit Comment
About a week ago, it was revealed that producer Joel Silver (The Matrix) teamed up with Studio Canal to remake "Escape From New York," with a plan to develop a new trilogy that will start with an origin story.

NY Daily News is now reporting that Jason Statham and Tom Hardy (The Dark Knight Rises) are considered for the role of Snake Plissken. "Studio Canal wants to make sure they get one of the two men before the summer," said a source close to the production.

The 1981 original film starred Kurt Russell as Plissken, a tough convict dropped into a futuristic New York that has been turned into a post-apocalyptic maximum security prison. He's tasked with rescuing the president, who is held hostage by the prison kingpin after his plane crashes within the city walls.

Source: NY Daily News


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 28 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
ab5olut10n writes:
on March 26th, 2013 at 8:41:51 PM

Hardy, please.
minkowski writes:
on March 26th, 2013 at 8:54:40 PM

I choose Statham. Hardy would be more appropriate for "Escape into San Francisco".


Just hard to take a masculine role seriously when the actor playing said role spends his Friday nights wearing sheer lingerie and Teflon knee pads.
GreenLensman writes:
on March 26th, 2013 at 9:00:09 PM

i'm in, it's the kind of movie you can't really ruin with a remake, because it's just that classic
cress writes:
on March 26th, 2013 at 9:22:20 PM

If they're going to put Statham in it, just rename it BOX OFFICE FAILURE.
minkowski writes:
on March 26th, 2013 at 9:24:56 PM

But then what will you call all his other movies?
GreenLensman writes:
on March 26th, 2013 at 9:25:07 PM

u gotta have some hair on the head for this role, long hair with an eyepatch on hardy in that pic above kinda seals the deal
Dirt writes:
on March 26th, 2013 at 9:27:02 PM

Hardy already has Mad Max.
Plus Statham will suit this role better.
BadChadB33 writes:
on March 26th, 2013 at 9:27:42 PM

Rather Hardy than Statham. Statham is such a boring action star to me.
bandolero999 writes:
on March 26th, 2013 at 9:29:58 PM

how anti american
minkowski writes:
on March 26th, 2013 at 9:37:14 PM

Why the f*ck does this sh*t have to have an "origin" story? Setting the foundation for a long milking? What, will the first film show Plissken at age three escaping from his cradle?

Jesus f*cking Christ. I remember when Hollywood made a movie and then moved on. Now they don't just milk what they've made, they grow movies in rows for easier harvesting like some f*cking crop.
bandolero999 writes:
on March 26th, 2013 at 10:24:49 PM

statham is not even profitable.all of his movies as a leading man have bombed.
Stapes writes:
on March 26th, 2013 at 10:29:22 PM

I tolerate theses guys from time to time, but a nonAmerican actor playing Snake is unsat.
Stapes writes:
on March 26th, 2013 at 10:32:23 PM

sh*t he isnt American either but Butler would be a better fit Pliskin than both these guys.
CelluloidMan writes:
on March 26th, 2013 at 10:45:17 PM

^^

Yeah Stapes, I'd say Butler would be a better choice...

Everything said is spot on. Hardy already has FURY ROAD & Statham isn't able to bring the box office he once did...
Electro Rock writes:
on March 26th, 2013 at 11:22:10 PM

Graham McTavish should've got this gig. Too bad Carpenters high school electro-industrial score wont be in it either. Stathams best sh*t is Crank. Hope they make a third.
KillerCOck writes:
on March 26th, 2013 at 11:39:14 PM

Can Statham even do an American accent?
minkowski writes:
on March 26th, 2013 at 11:57:08 PM

f*cker can't even do a proper British accent. Hell, if I had to judge his home nation from his accent, I'd say he hails from the island of sh*t.
Fightclub1 writes:
on March 27th, 2013 at 12:23:01 AM

I'd go with Hardy
pornfly writes:
on March 27th, 2013 at 12:46:14 AM

Hardy looks like he ate Shia in that pic.

Its only natural that Hardy play a one-eyed snake but Idris Elba with Jheri Curls would ebonically delicious
brigulon13 writes:
on March 27th, 2013 at 1:25:18 AM

Whatever, as long as Kurt Russell plays the Lee VanCleef role. And how about the dude from True Blood? Sarsgaard or something like that? Assuming he gets an action role soon, seeing as how he has almost been cast or considered every superhero role
Ip_man writes:
on March 27th, 2013 at 1:37:26 AM

just call it transporter 29.
Jaros428 writes:
on March 27th, 2013 at 1:38:37 AM

This f*cker, Johnny Whitworth, right here...

http://www.aceshowbiz.com/images/wennpic/johnny-whitworth-black-eyed-peas-experience-launch-party-01.jpg
zxz writes:
on March 27th, 2013 at 2:06:13 AM

While I think both are great, I think Hardy could do the best job of the two. I loved the original, and don't mind seeing a good remake done by a director other than Carpenter. After the grand screw up of Escape from L.A., I think it's time to give another director a chance. I also think Gerard Butler would be good, who they were at one time considering. Also, I think Javier Bardem would be awesome. At the very least, Bardem could play a good Duke.
KillerCOck writes:
on March 27th, 2013 at 2:14:36 AM

Hell! Bardem would be a better Snake then Staham.
Tanman32123 writes:
on March 27th, 2013 at 10:21:13 AM

Lmao Why would anyone want to remake this?...
SACdaddy writes:
on March 27th, 2013 at 2:03:08 PM

They should think outside the box a little and go for someone who's not really established yet to add a little mystery to the role. We already know Statham will do his impressive (but getting boring) Transporter thing and we know Hardy can beef up and give Snake a unique voice and presence, but Snake's essence always relied on what we didn't know about him. He was the wildcard who apparently everyone had heard of and respected or feared, but they never got too specific about what he had done to earn this notoriety. He was supposed to be a badass but he really didn't kick much ass in the original. He just did what he needed to do to survive. The new Snake should be this kind of a X-factor who we don't know what to expect from except serving his own interests. Keeping that in mind I'd love to see Josh Holloway (Sawyer in LOST) play him. He already looks the part, he already got the attitude and FU demeanor down for the character, and he's a new face. Give the world someone different for once and build a good movie around him like carpenter did with the original.
ENFORCER writes:
on March 28th, 2013 at 4:25:00 AM

NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

Not Jason Statham he is a c*nt. Everything he is in is the same sh*tty thing. He is a crap actor, with a stupid face, Hardy being Queer and all is still a much better choice, But I would prefer them Use Kurt and make a sequel he is still able.!!!!

This is the type of sh*t that would arouse bullits gay ass!
horacepinker writes:
on March 28th, 2013 at 11:28:31 PM

I really wanted this remake to stay dead.

:(

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved