WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Will Smith Turned Down "Django Unchained" Because Django Wasn't the Main Character

Posted: March 25th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Will Smith Turned Down "Django Unchained" Because Django WasnSubmit Comment
When Quentin Tarantino was in the early stages of "Django Unchained," he was in talks with Will Smith to play the title role. But the actor eventually turned down the offer and Tarantino ended up going with Jamie Foxx.

In a new interview with Entertainment Weekly, Smith explained that he read the script for "Django Unchained" and it became clear to him that Django is not the main character, despite the fact that his name is in the title of the movie. The lead, he felt, was Dr. King Schultz (Christoph Waltz).

"Django wasn't the lead, so it was like, I need to be the lead. The other character was the lead," said Smith, adding that he pleaded with Tarantino to let Django have a more central role in the story by letting him kill the villain played by Leonardo DiCaprio. "I was like, 'No, Quentin, please, I need to kill the bad guy!'"

Smith said that he doesn't have any regrets and actually enjoyed the final product. "I thought it was brilliant. Just not for me," he said.

Source: EW


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 40 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
ImmyG writes:
on March 25th, 2013 at 7:36:27 PM

Will smith is a proper twat at times
cress writes:
on March 25th, 2013 at 7:36:36 PM

Smith added, "Me. Me Me Me Me Me Me Me Me Me Me Me Me Me Me. And me."

*Man, those are some big Dumbo ears. Jada must have to tie him down in high winds to keep him from lifting off*
minkowski writes:
on March 25th, 2013 at 7:36:51 PM

I hope this thread is spent savaging Will Smith, because he, and his son, sound like obnoxiously arrogant c*nts who have rightly earned our antipathy.
Dirt writes:
on March 25th, 2013 at 7:53:30 PM

What a d*ck!

Waltz made that movie enjoyable..
pornfly writes:
on March 25th, 2013 at 7:54:23 PM

Now i know who kills Leo
Tanman32123 writes:
on March 25th, 2013 at 7:55:39 PM

I agree with will.. I think it wouldn't have been as good with Him
Champ1432 writes:
on March 25th, 2013 at 8:00:19 PM

What a douche. What about that statement sounded good to him as it was coming out of his arrogant mouth?

I mean honestly, I don't think many people would expect to see Will Smith in a movie where he's not the lead at this point in his career, but I'm not sure it really had to be verbalized in quite that manner, either.

Arrogant, self-centered, entitled, offensive, yup that about covers it.
minkowski writes:
on March 25th, 2013 at 8:11:47 PM

Plenty of better actors have shared leads throughout their careers...
pornfly writes:
on March 25th, 2013 at 8:14:28 PM

Will was heard saying,"if Im gonna get paid to be impotent, i might as well be impotent."
andthebabymakes3 writes:
on March 25th, 2013 at 8:17:56 PM

They are in every scene together...then Django gets the last 30-40 minutes to kill the very institution that suppressed him.

How is that not the main lead? And slavery and Uncle Tom types are the real villain. Not so much Leo...but Mississippi and Candyland and Stephen...and all the white people during the bounty hunter scenes...

Will Smith decided to work with M. Night Shalabalabingbang??? He a Jim Carrey are officially bowing out in 5...4...3...
pornfly writes:
on March 25th, 2013 at 8:20:33 PM

I wish the girls in my high school had TANMANs standards
Cinemaisdead writes:
on March 25th, 2013 at 8:26:29 PM

He's not the lead if you count the lines on the script but he's definitely the central character,

SPOILERS

the last half an hour when Waltz is dead is all about Django he has a shoot out in the same place twice and rides off in to the sunset with the girl. I'm glad Smith turned down the role, he's a Disney bitch now, has no integrity as an actor. Why would you want the director to change the script to massage your ego? f*cking hollywood premadonnas!
Morbius writes:
on March 25th, 2013 at 9:18:40 PM

I cringed reading this. Wilfred Schmitt as Django would've been some serious miscasting. Stick to pleasing kids, you f*cking pedo.

What do you mean there's no evidence? Oh. I'll put my pedo comment on hold until it comes out.
mcm317 writes:
on March 25th, 2013 at 9:28:03 PM

what a vagina. wow he sounds like a little brat not gettin her way. im not a fan anymore. last movie i liked this guy in was i robot.
coldplayesence writes:
on March 25th, 2013 at 9:40:31 PM

So, he turned down The Matrix and Django Unchained, great, his choices work out great for everyone!
bandolero999 writes:
on March 25th, 2013 at 9:46:43 PM

a true example of an american narcissist
GreenLensman writes:
on March 25th, 2013 at 9:49:51 PM

hehe Will Smith as Neo
Keanu Reeves as Mouse
Jaden Smith as Morpheus
"great movie" in Will's eye, his other eye was too far apart to coment
Cannon writes:
on March 25th, 2013 at 10:39:03 PM

Will Smith turned down Django Unchained because he couldn’t work his son into the film and all over its f*cking poster.
KillerCOck writes:
on March 25th, 2013 at 10:53:34 PM

This guy just doesn't know what a good movie is on script.
holtlt writes:
on March 25th, 2013 at 11:10:10 PM

Spoiled actor.
pornfly writes:
on March 25th, 2013 at 11:36:37 PM

Exclusive:
Olympus Has Fallen adverts dupe audiences into thinking that Morgan Freeman is the President.
Freemans idea

KillerCOck writes:
on March 25th, 2013 at 11:48:57 PM

^ He plays the acting president when the Real one is kidnapped. It really is like he's the president for the majority of the movie.
BadChadB33 writes:
on March 26th, 2013 at 12:02:14 AM

Will your dead to me!!!!
SACdaddy writes:
on March 26th, 2013 at 12:05:46 AM

Come on Will....I can't defend that. He just didn't get it did he? Jaime was better for the role anyway.
minkowski writes:
on March 26th, 2013 at 12:08:53 AM

Sad thing is, all the roles he's turned down would have done his career miracles...
BadChadB33 writes:
on March 26th, 2013 at 12:14:53 AM

^ Truth!!
mustardayonnaise writes:
on March 26th, 2013 at 12:22:58 AM

Will Smith, feeding that Hollywood ego machine.

What a douche.
CelluloidMan writes:
on March 26th, 2013 at 12:39:58 AM

Smith not wanting to be a second string character?

Meh, I don't buy it. The reality is that Smith is more of a family friendly actor that would find the sensitive topic too risky when he always plays it safe and I really doubt he would be able to handle the slavery based questions on the marketing junket...

Foxx had it and had it down cold, was really supportive of the film & handled the media extremely well.

But c'mon, in Tarantino's shoes, the choice was simple: a diva without a recent hit who wants to f*ck with your vision for his own ego or an Oscar winner respecting your work & the material? The choice was simple, IMO.

And plus, this was material for serious actors...the only serious movies he Smith did was ALI, SEVEN POUNDS & PURSUIT OF HAPPYNESS... but that was long ago. He's too busy right now grooming his kids in the family "acting" business...
Man in Black writes:
on March 26th, 2013 at 12:52:15 AM

The douche is on isle 3 for all that sand in your vagina you f*cking ego centric bonobo ... and I apologize to any bonobos I may have offended in that unfair comparison. Next it will be reported that he turns down the role in a Castaway type film because he might have to share screen time with a volley ball . Yet another nail in the go f*ckyourself coffin .
Ip_man writes:
on March 26th, 2013 at 1:36:03 AM

and he also demanded jaden to play doctor shcultz
Patrick Bateman writes:
on March 26th, 2013 at 2:03:50 AM

Big Willy Style

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wQjDSlVyGiU
Kurskij writes:
on March 26th, 2013 at 3:35:55 AM

Something tells me Smith is simply f*cking around.

If there is something this guy is not - it's stupid. Django isn't his kind of movie, he doesn't really suit the role.
witwicky-potter writes:
on March 26th, 2013 at 4:14:53 AM

What a pompous git
ENFORCER writes:
on March 26th, 2013 at 6:44:38 AM

@Mink you say would have done his career miracles if he took the roles he turned down .... or would it have made those movies suck ass because he was in them?
minkowski writes:
on March 26th, 2013 at 1:39:30 PM

@Enforcer: you know, I actually gave some thought to what you said, but went with what I posted out of positivity.

But you're right. He would have ruined both of those films.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 26th, 2013 at 3:31:54 PM

Yeah right! You egotistical prick!

Some how I really don't think so.
seveltoto writes:
on October 26th, 2017 at 5:04:41 AM

aleale writes:
on November 10th, 2017 at 11:52:34 PM

sevelace writes:
on November 14th, 2017 at 10:24:36 PM

recreator9 writes:
on November 17th, 2017 at 10:56:53 PM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved