WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

First Posters for Harrison Ford's "Ender's Game" and Channing Tatum's "White House Down"

Posted: March 25th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
First Posters for Harrison FordSubmit Comment
Summit Entertainment unveiled the first poster for Harrison Ford's "Ender's Game," based on a novel by Orson Scott Card. Meanwhile, Columbia Pictures revealed the first poster for "White House Down" thriller, starring Channing Tatum and Jamie Foxx. Check out everything below, and come back tomorrow (Tuesday) to see the trailer for "White House Down."

Ender's Game: 70 years after a horrific alien war, an unusually gifted child (Asa Butterfield) is sent to an advanced military school in space to prepare for a future invasion. The film is directed by Gavin Hood (X-Men Origins: Wolverine) and co-stars Ben Kingsley, Hailee Steinfeld, Abigail Breslin, and Viola Davis. It's set to hit theaters on November 1st.

White House Down: Focuses on a single dad/Secret Service agent (Tatum) who must save the President (Foxx) with limited resources against impossible odds and extraordinary obstacles when a paramilitary group takes over the White House. The film is directed by Roland Emmerich (2012, The Day After Tomorrow, Independence Day) and is set to hit theaters on June 28th.

"Ender's Game" Poster: (click to enlarge)

"White House Down" Poster: (click to enlarge)

Source: Yahoo! Movies, Moviefone

Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 23 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
cress writes:
on March 25th, 2013 at 7:41:30 PM

Django and Taters. The new dynamic duo.
minkowski writes:
on March 25th, 2013 at 7:42:53 PM

Ender's Game will bomb.

And White House Down won't do well, taking on the audience's leftover enthusiasm for not just another Die Hard clone, but another White House Die Hard clone.
minkowski writes:
on March 25th, 2013 at 7:44:49 PM

I like how it's Harrison Ford's Ender's Games, as if a)anyone under the age of 80 is going to see Ford do anything but die, and b)he's the f*cking lead.

By the way, who the hell is the lead?
Champ1432 writes:
on March 25th, 2013 at 7:55:00 PM

Ender's Game could be interesting, I suppose, but I think I need a bit more of a description that what we have here. At least it's got some talent in it.

And I thought White House Down just came out recently..... oh wait, that was Olympus Has Fallen. Different movie. Then again, no......... no it's not. And I'd rather watch Gerard Butler do it than Tatum.
pornfly writes:
on March 25th, 2013 at 8:09:29 PM

They slap Best Seller on anything to get people to see a movie.
minkowski writes:
on March 25th, 2013 at 8:17:34 PM

Minkowski: The Movie, based on the bestselling book "From the Mouth of an *sshole", written by bestselling Iranian author Gofuk Urself.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on March 25th, 2013 at 8:34:20 PM

Harrison Ford seems to be going the way of sci-fi again. All I know is this is based off a book by a brilliant writer instead of another teen story. Yeah we got a kid as the hero but, strangely, more realistic because the adults actually are teaching them things instead of te kids for some reason actually knowing what to do because of ridiculous circ*mstances that the writers have to craft to make them seem experienced. Plus...f*cking classic novel! Haven't gotten to read it but this book is legendary among sci-fi fans.
minkowski writes:
on March 25th, 2013 at 10:38:40 PM

Starship Hunger-Game Troopers: Battle Royale.

Or more simply, Ender's Game.
Cannon writes:
on March 25th, 2013 at 10:55:26 PM

I predict that White House Down will be just as stupid as Olympus Has Fallen, but 10 times more fun and technically better made. The one currently in theaters is so goddamm cheap looking, and all the actors look bored as sh*t.

At the very least, Roland Emmerich always brings the production values and makes disaster spectacle fun the way it was back in the 70s.

And donít be so quick to assume it will fail at the box office simply for coming out 2nd. If you remember back in 98, Deep Impact and Armageddon opened less than two months apart and both were hugely successful, with the latter of the two ranking in as the highest grossing film of that year.

I doubt this movie will do THAT well but Olympus Has Fallen is already earning unexpectedly high bank and itís only a March release.
KillerCOck writes:
on March 25th, 2013 at 10:56:20 PM

Go Watch Olympus has Fallen instead, it was a surprisingly good action flick. Ignore how crappy the trailer was.
KillerCOck writes:
on March 25th, 2013 at 10:58:31 PM

@ Cannon. There are several parts of Olympus that are impressive despite the quality of the CGI. I recommend Olympus to anyone who wants to see a pretty brutal action flick.
minkowski writes:
on March 26th, 2013 at 12:06:32 AM

Deep Impact made 350 million total. It had a wider release than Armageddon, 3280 theaters versus 3184 (close), it ran for three weekends longer than Armageddon, had a higher percentage of gross, 29% versus 17.9%, and too in a higher per theaters dollar amount, $13,039 versus $11,541, and yet Armageddon STILL bested Deep Impact by more than 200 million.


Because a) Micheal Bay had, at that point, much acclaim for The Rock and Bad Boys. Mimi Leder (WHO?!) directed Deep Impact.

Armageddon was strong summer tent-pole flick. An amusement ride at the theater. Deep Impact...not so much.

Armageddon's cast? Bruce Willis, Ben Affleck
Liv Tyler, Billy Bob Thornton, Will Patton, Steve Buscemi, Michael Clarke Duncan, William Fichtner, Peter Stormare, Owen Wilson. Deep Impact's? Robert Duvall, Tea Leoni, Elijah Wood, Morgan Freeman, Jon Favreau.

Yeah, look, Armageddon had the better director, the better timing, the better cast. Hell, a way better soundtrack. Deep Impact had the creepy guy who would grow up to play hobbits and serial killers.

So a little more complex of a comparison, I think.

Now, what does Olympus have? Gerard Butler, Morgan Freeman, Angela Basset and Chin Man, directed by Fuqua. Better director, but the cast is rather "old", comparatively, and not too terribly appealing to anyone outside the hetero male demo.

On the other hand, White House Down has token black guy who resonates positively with younger blacks? Check. "hot" white sh*thead who resonates with wet-pantied chick and gay men? Check. Action? Check (see: Olympus Has Fallen). Black President to appeal to our "color blind" society so everyone feels good about themselves? Check. Better release date (mid-summer)? Check. sh*tty assed director who makes preposterous crap? Check.

So you know what? I came here to prove Cannon wrong, just because, but on reflection my original analysis was over-simplified. White House Down has a more marketable cast and a better release date. It also has a sh*ttier but perhaps more well-known (infamous?) director. It's also part two of the same meal. With Armageddon versus Deep Impact, both films had killer rocks, but the packaging was very different. The latter was thoughtful and considerate, the former loud, bombastic and well, all Michael Bay. No contest really.

Now let's look at Emmerich's BO tracking.


Average: $123,975,725

Highest grossing film, Independence Day 817mil.

Don't think we'll see that here.

As of recent, 2012 opened with 65mil, in November. 10000Bc opened with 36mil in March. Nothing much to compare to for a Emmerich film mid summer in the wake of a similar film, but Olympus is tracking with results similar to 10000BC, one of Roland's arguably worst flicks (made 269mil, 95mil domestic on a 105 mil budget).

No, in terms of competition, White House Down doesn't have sh*t. Byzantium (what?), The Heat (what the f*ck?) and I'm So Excited. Basically not sh*t. A clear run-through, except Man of Steel will be entering it's third week (June 14 versus June 28), so if Man of Steel is performing as well as WB hopes, or better, White House Down might miss out on a bigger meal.

On the one side of MoS is After Earth, which should be near death by then, and on the other side is World War Z and Monster University. Both of these could steal a great deal of business from White House Down, especially with MU being a Pixar movie, and a sequel to a beloved franchise (although not quite Toy Story territory).

Pretty complicated setup. Very chaotic. Many variables. Not enough initial conditions known. But I suspect, because of Taters and the release date, White House Down will make considerably more than Olypus Has Fallen, although, unless Roland Emmerich has grown a brain, the critics will hate his film more, although perhaps not by a huge margin, considering how cliche Fuqua made his flick.

Long story short: WHD = more money, sh*ttier reviews (probably)
BadChadB33 writes:
on March 26th, 2013 at 12:06:45 AM

I've heard Olympus is actually pretty decent.
minkowski writes:
on March 26th, 2013 at 12:23:27 AM

But...but...but I wrote a book!
mustardayonnaise writes:
on March 26th, 2013 at 12:29:08 AM

aside from being one of the gayest directors on the planet, Emmerich sucks. Not just c*ck (that should be obvious), I mean at directing. I can't stand his sh*t. Preposterous (tip o' the hat to Mink) is a right proper word to describe it, and not in a good way.

f*ck it, both of these movies look retarded.
Man in Black writes:
on March 26th, 2013 at 12:39:08 AM

Enders Game I hope is better though we have not seen a trailer for it yet , unlike WWZ which love the book but Pitt raped the concept then filmed the abortion and hopes people will pay good money to see it all so Jolie can adopt another foreign kid to relieve her white guilt . I'll forgive a small amount of not following the source material but not like they took with WWZ , zombies don't ( couldn't )run at Usain Bolt speeds . Also the film takes place in real time of the infection spreading vs the book which is after the fact to establish when and where the break down the system went wrong .

And taters can go sh*t up a rope , the f*ck I'm ever gonna see any of his movies .

Ip_man writes:
on March 26th, 2013 at 1:37:53 AM

2 movies about the white house going down...hmmm,i wonder if hollywood is trying to tell us what will be the next big terror attack
minkowski writes:
on March 26th, 2013 at 1:47:35 AM

^^*minkowski gets on knees, starts praying to fictional god*
james236 writes:
on March 26th, 2013 at 2:03:13 AM

Has anyone seen "side effects"?

I almost refuse to watch a tatum "film", but heard good things
Tanman32123 writes:
on March 26th, 2013 at 2:41:47 AM

First I'd like to say good research by mink, You probably had about 10 Tabs open Lookin through all that info lol.

And secondly- White house down WILL be Succesful because of one reason and one reason alone. Channing f*cking Tatum. I don't care for him much either, But te ladies do.. And they WILL pay to go see him in just about anything on the big screen.
Stapes writes:
on March 26th, 2013 at 6:36:59 AM

Enders Game is one of the few works of science fiction that's approved relevant reading material by the military.
minkowski writes:
on March 26th, 2013 at 1:43:38 PM

Should be Starship Troopers instead, because Orson Scott Card is a nut.
Stapes writes:
on March 26th, 2013 at 2:43:37 PM

Starship Troopers is actually on there too, mink.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved