WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Photos: Tilda Swinton Sleeping in Glass Box in NYC's Museum of Modern Art

Posted: March 24th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Photos: Tilda Swinton Sleeping in Glass Box in NYCSubmit Comment
New York's Museum of Modern Art (MoMA) has a new exhibit, called "The Maybe," that has Oscar-winning actress Tilda Swinton (Moonrise Kingdom, We Need to Talk About Kevin, Michael Clayton) sleeping in a transparent display case.

"Tilda Swinton will be doing unannounced, random performance art pieces sleeping in a glass box in the museum," said a museum source. "Today is the first performance. Each performance lasts the whole day the museum is open."

The source added: "Museum staff doesn't know she's coming until the day of, but she's here today. She'll be there the whole day. All that's in the box is cushions and a water jug."

The exhibit has no published schedule. It will take place whenever Swinton decides to do it, which will be about six more times this year. Each time it will be at a different part of the museum.

Check out the exhibit's title card and several photos below.

Question: Should this be considered art?

Photos:


Title Card: (click to enlarge)


Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 42 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
cress writes:
on March 24th, 2013 at 7:28:39 AM

Observe IT in it's sleeping state.
BadChadB33 writes:
on March 24th, 2013 at 8:18:09 AM

Wtf???
Cress- I think someone found and murdered her vzgina.
boogiel writes:
on March 24th, 2013 at 8:30:42 AM

She looks more like the crypt keeper everyday. That woman is terrifying. Besides, if it's an art, she gotta do it nude.
cress writes:
on March 24th, 2013 at 8:31:45 AM

In order to use the bathroom, a catheter will be placed on the end of Tilda Swinton's penis. It will lead outside the glass box, where MOMA patrons will be encouraged to "Take A Swill, From The Til."
LeeMaca writes:
on March 24th, 2013 at 9:03:39 AM

when did vanity become art?
pornfly writes:
on March 24th, 2013 at 9:07:13 AM

CRESS
what strain is that youre on?
Youve been on one this weekendXD
cress writes:
on March 24th, 2013 at 9:13:41 AM

lol
cress writes:
on March 24th, 2013 at 10:31:38 AM

If you go to L.A.'s Skid Row, you can see actor Nick Stahl sleeping in a cardboard box for free.
ENFORCER writes:
on March 24th, 2013 at 10:36:15 AM

This woman thing is f*cking ugly, I hate her acting style, she is a role model for feminist lesbian types. NO I would not rim this ugly c*nt of a thing!!!!!
Ip_man writes:
on March 24th, 2013 at 11:20:16 AM

wake me up when the Tilda Swinton f*cking in Glass Box comes out
N8R writes:
on March 24th, 2013 at 12:33:06 PM

I'm thinking her New York apartment is getting fumigated and she just needs a place to crash.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on March 24th, 2013 at 1:01:36 PM

She is great actress and all I know is she played the MALE angel Gabriel in Constantine so if it wasn't her voice I might have a assumed it was a feminine man. LOL Still, good actress.
Deaft0ne writes:
on March 24th, 2013 at 1:16:52 PM

I'M THE MAN IN THE BOX
Kurskij writes:
on March 24th, 2013 at 1:46:26 PM

"...and spectacles"

Excuse me?..
jeffw1978 writes:
on March 24th, 2013 at 1:49:42 PM

This is the dumbest sh*t I have read or heard of in a while. Who really wants to watch this dumb bitch sleep for a museum piece? f*cking not movie news at all by the way! This is some stupid sh*t.
synthetic1985 writes:
on March 24th, 2013 at 2:27:46 PM

get paid to sleep, that's f*cking stupid...but i wanna be stupid too
minkowski writes:
on March 24th, 2013 at 3:32:20 PM

Behold, the nadir (for now) of Western "art"!


That should get the patron streaming in.
Ip_man writes:
on March 24th, 2013 at 4:11:49 PM

looking forward to watching 'Olympus had fallen' - looks like a great '24' movie with butler kicking ass instead of sutherland and it's R rated.
Deaft0ne writes:
on March 24th, 2013 at 4:19:11 PM

Yeah ip man but the White House was already taken over in season 7 of 24 so Olympus Has Fallen looks to be cribbing from that quite liberally.
Ip_man writes:
on March 24th, 2013 at 4:53:34 PM

I don't care,as long as there's good action I'm in.
minkowski writes:
on March 24th, 2013 at 4:56:14 PM

"Should this be considered art?"

lol. Excellent troll, Alex, because you know damned well it isn't, which is why you asked.

Here's the definition of art:

The expression or application of human creative skill and imagination, typically in a visual form such as painting or sculpture,...: "the art of the Renaissance"


Now, where the f*ck is the imagination and creativity in having a person gynecologically recognized as female sleep inside a f*cking box? Sure, we all know Ranger does his dates this way, and so does Quagmire, but it still isn't art by any definition of that word, and if we admit art has no definition upon which society can agree, then none of it has any meaning. Art can then be anything and nothing, which then means art doesn't exist.

What this looks like to me: a bunch of bored pretentious idiots staring at a women sleeping in a box.
minkowski writes:
on March 24th, 2013 at 4:58:26 PM

a.
pornfly writes:
on March 24th, 2013 at 5:05:00 PM

I get the feeling no one is waiting for her at home.

My life is empty too.
(hows that MINK)
minkowski writes:
on March 24th, 2013 at 5:11:37 PM

Most people's lives are empty, dude, even the ultra-wealthy...
Ip_man writes:
on March 24th, 2013 at 5:13:07 PM

especially the ultra-wealthy...
minkowski writes:
on March 24th, 2013 at 5:24:55 PM

Yup yup. See 'em around here in SoCal. They drive Mercedes and Lexus and BMWs, but they look bored and miserable. They spend all their free time down at the beach staring endlessly at the crashing waves and walking their dogs (because they have no children) When they're not doing that, they're eating out.

All that money and they're still no better off than anyone else. Not really.
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on March 24th, 2013 at 5:31:42 PM

Unless she is going to pop a few sleeping pills, how in the world is she going to sleep all day? Sooner or later you will have to get up to pee or eat.
minkowski writes:
on March 24th, 2013 at 5:36:15 PM

^^The hours are mostly 10:30 to 5:30. That's seven hours. I think she can go seven hours without sh*tting, especially considering she probably doesn't have an *sshole.
Danger-Lips writes:
on March 24th, 2013 at 5:42:09 PM

I think the artistic merit resonates in the ambiguity of the subject. Is it a male? Is it a female? What sex does the name Tilda belong to? Is that the outline of it's penis or a pleat in the pants? I think those are breasts?
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on March 24th, 2013 at 5:44:53 PM

In that case Mink, it's doable. I couldn't do this since I have to go pee at least once in the night. And I sleep wild, not all dainty like her.
BillyBunter writes:
on March 24th, 2013 at 5:52:22 PM

Maybe they can pack up the box and ship it off to North Korea as a peace offering.
minkowski writes:
on March 24th, 2013 at 6:11:57 PM

What makes you think they'll keep her? They didn't keep Dennis Rodman.

@Horror: Your slumbers at least have more action that Swinton's. I mean, she's sleeping, but the patrons are snoring.
Electro Rock writes:
on March 24th, 2013 at 6:32:50 PM

....and when the grotesque caterpillar frees itself from the chamber, it will have transformed itself into a beautiful David Bowie.
GreenLensman writes:
on March 24th, 2013 at 6:45:20 PM

i'd smear sh*t all over the glass and call it "shArt"
minkowski writes:
on March 24th, 2013 at 6:51:45 PM

Wonder what happens when she farts...
BadChadB33 writes:
on March 24th, 2013 at 8:43:21 PM

Woman don't fart they whisper to their panties.
Champ1432 writes:
on March 24th, 2013 at 9:14:16 PM

This has got to be one of the dumbest things I've ever seen.

Number one, who the hell calls this art? A person just laying there, sleeping? Doesn't art require just a little bit of effort or action? Or at least the person to be conscious? Good Lord.

Number two, who thinks of this sh*t? Who thinks this is a good idea? This is just another example of trying to be too smart, too avant-garde, too cutting edge and passing off something idiotic as art. If some bitch sleeping is art, then pretty much every little thing we do would be art, right? Even walking, talking, typing at a keyboard. Of course, some people might say that's the point, the human body is so amazing, everything we do is a work of art, blah blah blah. Please. It's a silly woman sleeping in a box.

Number three, who goes to see this? Who wants to watch someone they have never seen before sleeping? I would feel creepy and weird doing that.

Number four, couldn't they at least have gotten a hot chick to do this? Sheesh.
Champ1432 writes:
on March 24th, 2013 at 9:23:31 PM

I mean come on. "Performance art"? How the hell can you be performing if you're not even awake? Just because she's an actress, everything she does is a performance, even sleeping. What crap.

If celebrities are going to complain that they're entitled to privacy and their lives shouldn't be public 24/7 (which I would mostly agree with), then how can this be justified as performance art? Is it performance art every time this bitch goes to sleep? Or just when she chooses to doze off in a museum? Someone watching her sleep in some other venue wouldn't be looked upon as viewing art, nor should it be. This isn't art either.

This is just another sad example of how pretentious and ridiculous our society has become with our obsession with celebrities and with things that suck and are terrible ideas.
secondbest writes:
on March 24th, 2013 at 9:49:11 PM

Tilda Swinton sleeping in a box... because art.
BillyBunter writes:
on March 25th, 2013 at 12:18:19 AM

I hear nick cage wants to buy this art piece.
GERARD KENNELLY 007 writes:
on March 25th, 2013 at 2:12:14 AM



she won the oscar for Michael Clayton

but she should have won for JULIA
cress writes:
on March 25th, 2013 at 6:20:02 PM

@Electro & BC. LOL

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved