WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Sony Pictures' Chairman Says Hollywood Must Eliminate All Gay Jokes from Movies

Posted: March 23rd, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Sony PicturesSubmit Comment
During a fundraiser on Thursday, Sony Pictures co-chairman Amy Pascal said that Hollywood has a role in shaping public perception on sexual orientation, which is why filmmakers should remove all gay slurs and offensive stereotypes from their movies.

"There is not much any of us can do about what people hear from families and friends, but there is a lot we can do about what people see," she said. "Next time, when any of us are reading a script and it says words like fag, or faggot, homo, dyke, take a pencil and just cross it out. We can do better, and we will do better. We have to."

Pascal went on to point out some of the stereotypes that are commonly seen in entertainment. "How many times have you heard a character imply to another that the worst thing about going to prison isn't being locked up for the rest of your life, it's the homosexuality?" she said. "The most benign stereotypes would have a gay kid believe that they will end up being the asexual, witty best friend of the pretty girl, or a drag queen, or a hairdresser."

Sony Pictures is responsible for such films as "30 Minutes or Less" and "21 Jump Street" that have plenty of gay jokes.

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 63 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
ENFORCER writes:
on March 23rd, 2013 at 7:01:00 AM

Unbelievable, Fags are a joke. We Laugh at them because they are fags. They are repulsive and weak. They are generally weak insipid men, or vulgar macho women.

If I see a fag in the street I laugh point and say rude comments!
bandolero999 writes:
on March 23rd, 2013 at 7:30:53 AM

shut up c*nt
bandolero999 writes:
on March 23rd, 2013 at 7:31:26 AM

not u enforcer tjhe c*nt on the cover
bandolero999 writes:
on March 23rd, 2013 at 7:40:07 AM

so basically they want the US to be like south beach,key west and San francisco.okay got it.

and john wayne is rolling on his grave now
Stapes writes:
on March 23rd, 2013 at 7:50:05 AM

Shouldnt it be Chairwoman or Chairperson then?
Avirex writes:
on March 23rd, 2013 at 9:11:20 AM

Or call her chairdyke just to piss her off.
Avirex writes:
on March 23rd, 2013 at 9:13:04 AM

How about we take care of the racial and cultural stereotypes first before we worry about teh gayz.
Deaft0ne writes:
on March 23rd, 2013 at 9:15:04 AM

21 Jump St was f*ckin hilarious
bandolero999 writes:
on March 23rd, 2013 at 9:30:16 AM

21 c*nt street was so sh*t it made me wanna watch the jetky boys movie and the other guys.
bandolero999 writes:
on March 23rd, 2013 at 9:36:00 AM

no wonder your such a c*mguzzler deaftone.keep fantasizing bout channing and the rock drilling you
Damon242 writes:
on March 23rd, 2013 at 9:49:43 AM

@Enforcer

"If I see a fag in the street I laugh point and say rude comments!"

Oooooooh scary
Damon242 writes:
on March 23rd, 2013 at 9:51:44 AM

How about we do nothing.

Stereotypes and name-calling exists in the real world. Unless the film is doing something specifically derogatory, then who the heck cares.

And despite her concerns, I'd be willing to bet that the poor gay lad or lass is intelligent enough to realize it's fiction.
BadChadB33 writes:
on March 23rd, 2013 at 10:00:34 AM

Enforcer- how much do you get made fun of for rimming ex cons *ssholes?
Kurskij writes:
on March 23rd, 2013 at 10:12:16 AM

" the worst thing about going to prison isn't being locked up for the rest of your life, it's the homosexuality"

Amy, it's not about homosexuality, it's about an 8ft nigga called Jimmy The Grinder who makes your ass his property.

Stay bright, gurl.
Deaft0ne writes:
on March 23rd, 2013 at 11:32:16 AM

@band0

The Jerky Boys are as funny as being lobotomized. 21 Jump Street was one of the funniest comedies in years and I usually hate Channing Tatun.

It's very evident that you are a homosexual band0 because nearly every attempt you make at an insult centers around gay sex which is you projecting your own subconscious fantsasies.

Classic Freudian observation.
Fat Guy in a Little Coat writes:
on March 23rd, 2013 at 12:07:53 PM

ATTICA! ATTICA! ATTICA!
Stapes writes:
on March 23rd, 2013 at 12:10:49 PM

Lol, bando, I completely forgot about the jerky boys.
Rocksteddy writes:
on March 23rd, 2013 at 12:29:53 PM

I really could not give two fat sh*ts about this, gay jokes are tasteless, unfunny, and all around childish humor. Banning them from films wouldn't make a difference, films are still sh*tty, and they will always be sh*tty until the end of time. No cutting of a gay joke would ever enhance a film for that matter.


Next.
blumpkin4 writes:
on March 23rd, 2013 at 1:04:29 PM

So they are basically removing all the funny jokes in movies. f*ck that is so gay!!!!

I am potitioning to get rid of all the straight jokes.

Except for when somebody is surprised. They can say "Well f*ck my own ass you were right"

Because i think that might be "bi". Or "mono"
Danger-Lips writes:
on March 23rd, 2013 at 1:07:54 PM

Too many d*ck takers these days not enough d*ck givers
TommyJarvis84 writes:
on March 23rd, 2013 at 1:10:32 PM

Amazing Spider-man 2 is going to be one big gay joke, what are you going to do about it, Amy?
blumpkin4 writes:
on March 23rd, 2013 at 1:11:17 PM

sam amy? he did the last spidey not the new one
Danger-Lips writes:
on March 23rd, 2013 at 1:11:29 PM

Minkowski is the biggest d*ck sucking queer defender I've ever seen..Him and that reach arounder Enforcer poke each other's brownholes
DeVries writes:
on March 23rd, 2013 at 1:15:55 PM

Enforcer you are an insipid piece of sh*t too.
Dreamcast writes:
on March 23rd, 2013 at 1:31:06 PM

So first it's 'no fags' (cigarettes) and now it's 'no fags' (faggots) either? Why is Hollywood banning everything good from movies?
blumpkin4 writes:
on March 23rd, 2013 at 1:35:39 PM

Is it too much to ask to bum a dart and f*ck a fag these days?
sleepingshane writes:
on March 23rd, 2013 at 1:56:03 PM

did you hear about the two irish gay blokes! michael fitzpatrich and patrick fitzmichael!
Sleuth1989 writes:
on March 23rd, 2013 at 2:02:59 PM

I hope no one else beat me to this so I can say this: Does that mean "The Amazing Spider-Man 2" is cancelled? If so, I support your decision lady. LOL
bandolero999 writes:
on March 23rd, 2013 at 2:03:31 PM

thats my boy earns the title
coldplayesence writes:
on March 23rd, 2013 at 2:11:52 PM

She kind of looks like a dyke.
blumpkin4 writes:
on March 23rd, 2013 at 2:18:04 PM

she looks like my balls before a morning shower!
kBob writes:
on March 23rd, 2013 at 3:09:16 PM

Why don't we just eliminate all racist, sexist, and religious jokes while were at it if they're soooooo offensive....

Why don't we just eliminate comedy from the collection of movie genres?

How about this...stop being such arrogant liberal pussies, and stop worrying so much about the homosexuals. They're being treated liked princesses lately. I know plenty, and they're all fine with jokes. It's the media who thinks they seriously being oppressed.
Stapes writes:
on March 23rd, 2013 at 3:09:32 PM

Oh wait, CO chairman. Whatever, bitch. Good luck changing billions of years of evolution just to appease a tiny percentage of society.
minkowski writes:
on March 23rd, 2013 at 4:01:26 PM

What a bunch of f*cking faggots. Hollywood, not the posters above...


"Good luck changing billions of years of evolution just to appease a tiny percentage of society."

What? Much of evolution's history is asexual, not heterosexual, and evolution certainly has plenty of non-human examples of natural homosexuality.

Hell, Stapes, you should know this, being a direct byproduct of teratogenic parthenogenesis.
velocityknown writes:
on March 23rd, 2013 at 4:30:01 PM

www.hahgay.com
Tanman32123 writes:
on March 23rd, 2013 at 4:35:48 PM

Lol f*ck this idiot!

Jokes of all sorts will forever Be in movies, Regardless of you like them or not.
Anal Spray writes:
on March 23rd, 2013 at 4:36:39 PM

"How many times have you heard a character imply to another that the worst thing about going to prison isn't being locked up for the rest of your life, it's the ANAL AND/OR ORAL RAPE?"

Fixed that for you, Ms. Pascal.


Stapes writes:
on March 23rd, 2013 at 4:37:24 PM

Still got crush on me, eh mink? Ready for another bloody nose? Not tonight, punk. The threads have had enough of that for awhile. Pick a fight with someone you got a chance with.
Danger-Lips writes:
on March 23rd, 2013 at 4:43:02 PM

Ya you wanna fight? Stick your head up your ass and fight for air!
Deaft0ne writes:
on March 23rd, 2013 at 4:44:22 PM

stapes would be Glass Joe in Mike Tyson's Punch Out!!
minkowski writes:
on March 23rd, 2013 at 5:40:02 PM

lol@Deaft0ne. More like Mr. Glass without a hint of the intellect.
zxz writes:
on March 23rd, 2013 at 5:40:19 PM

How pathetic! Most humor comes out of characteristics possessed by one group or another. Maybe they should not make movies with black jokes, or Jewish jokes? Even in very Jewish Hollywood, there are still a lot of Jewish jokes, and as a Jew I would find the idea of eliminating Jewish jokes offensive! I love Jewish jokes! You can't have humor without truth, and the fact is that there is truth in stereotypes. Dennis Prager has said that generalization is the beginning of wisdom, or something to that effect, and I agree with him. Stereotypes come out of generalizations. Of course there are exceptions to any rule, but they are few and far between. There are so many gay writers in Hollywood who will NOT go along with madam Pascal's diktat, so in the end it can only hurt Sony's profits and writers take their "offensive" scripts to other studios, which would be glad to make Hangover 7 or other "offensive" films. The only thing really offensive in Hollywood are unprofitable films, no matter what politics they may profess in public.
Rocksteddy writes:
on March 23rd, 2013 at 8:39:58 PM

Oh, by the way, has anyone ever seen this ending? JESUS CHRIST! http://youtu.be/LVp9cCECjis
KillerCOck writes:
on March 23rd, 2013 at 9:26:01 PM

This must be Bando's doing.
Aaronupsidsium writes:
on March 23rd, 2013 at 11:02:04 PM

Hey Fox News..I mean Worst Previews. Way to not read the article or do any research.

Amy Pascal never said anything about gay jokes. She said to get rid of slurs and stereotypes.

And way to go WP Readers you bunch of woman-hating virgins.
minkowski writes:
on March 23rd, 2013 at 11:08:11 PM

"How many times have you heard a character imply to another that the worst thing about going to prison isn't being locked up for the rest of your life, it's the homosexuality?"

Uh, yeah, you stupid bitch, the worst thing that CAN happen to a man in prison IS getting ass-raped. Just ask Stapes.

So it's not the "homosexuality", you dumb c*nt, it's having a bunch of men rape you repeatedly. Just ask Stapes.

Stupid bitch. How about this. The worst part of being raped, for a woman, isn't the forced sex, it's wondering if you liked it.

Stupid-assed woman.
minkowski writes:
on March 23rd, 2013 at 11:10:05 PM

@Aaronupinyourassium: shut the f*ck up you f*cking faggot.
minkowski writes:
on March 23rd, 2013 at 11:12:11 PM

"Lol, bando, I completely forgot about the jerky boys."

Even you must remember the moment you lost your virginity, Stapes.
Aaronupsidsium writes:
on March 24th, 2013 at 12:29:36 AM

This made my day:

"@Aaronupinyourassium: shut the f*ck up you f*cking faggot"

Being able to upset the worst of humanity. Have fun at your book burning.
minkowski writes:
on March 24th, 2013 at 12:39:05 AM

Have fun brushing your teeth with my d*ck.
minkowski writes:
on March 24th, 2013 at 1:16:17 AM

"Sony Pictures' Chairman Says Hollywood Must Eliminate All Gay Jokes from Movies"

All gay jokes? But how will Shia eat?
CelluloidMan writes:
on March 24th, 2013 at 2:02:57 AM

The only thing I could see to make this argument legitament is if it came from the gay community...

If not, f*ck off. What she is basically saying is that the gay community is too stupid to defend themselves that someone needs to it for them. Also, who the f*ck does she think she is to censur movies like that?! Anyway, instead of censuring, if she wants to protect the gay community, support gay movies like BOYS DON'T CRY, BROKEBACK MOUNTAIN, IN & OUT, or like THE BIRDCAGE. She should remember Hollyweird has done some decent projects to show the gay culture.

This argument falls apart in that it deals with life imitating art/ art imitating life, 'cus I tell you what, that people will keep on expressing the same way with or without the movies...

Anyway, the gay community doesn't give a f*ck about this issue...they're too busy fighting for equal rights under the Constitution of "life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness" to secure their rights for marriage.

Although she means well, Amy Pascal shows to be misguided...
pornfly writes:
on March 24th, 2013 at 3:36:58 AM

I hope she gets thrown in jail in her next life as a man.

dumb beaver
pornfly writes:
on March 24th, 2013 at 3:39:44 AM

BANDO
Jerky Boyz Movie sucked ass lol
Buy the 45min. video instead(it has their mtv stuff and some tour bus/grocery store bits)
KingAdash writes:
on March 24th, 2013 at 4:49:09 AM

This is f*cking insane!
Part of what makes film an art form is being able to express anything, and relate it to others to learn from.
Entertainment that teaches.
Eliminating these slurs will happen naturally over time because we will get tired of them and progress.
Gays are no different than blacks, jews, Rudy, the goonies, or Daniel-Son. Everyone gets their moment in the sun.
And I mean this Bitch is so f*cking ignorant that she doesn't even realize that the worst thing about prison ISN'T the gay sex,
but it happens to be the anal rape.
It's the anal rape, not the gay sex.
PRISON: come for the gay sex, stay for the anal rape.
SONY: Condoning anal rape through the gay cause via each ignorant executive hire! Enjoy Sony.
pornfly writes:
on March 24th, 2013 at 9:04:04 AM

Good point KING
theres a prison in PuertoRico where an inmate sold his two sons(who were being booked) for smokes.
After being straight away gang raped they ran(covered with blood and feces) and hung themselves

I repeat
DUMB BEAVER
Dark8 writes:
on March 24th, 2013 at 1:27:29 PM

this is ridicolous
Dark8 writes:
on March 24th, 2013 at 1:33:16 PM

What? Much of evolution's history is asexual, not heterosexual, and evolution certainly has plenty of non-human examples of natural homosexuality.

poor soul you truly are and imbecile
Deckman writes:
on March 25th, 2013 at 5:32:03 AM

Jokes are jokes. until offensive get over it.
ENFORCER writes:
on March 25th, 2013 at 6:35:27 AM

I Have a Motto .............

AIDS KILLS FAGS DEAD :P
andthebabymakes3 writes:
on March 25th, 2013 at 8:23:57 PM

What a lesbo!
SoftimusPrime writes:
on March 26th, 2013 at 2:06:29 PM

I think she's a goddamn idiot. It's a bleak future indeed if we let PC dictate every single thing we express. 'Cause while we're at it, let's ban fat jokes, pot jokes, sexist jokes etc.

But also I must say that the insecurity which is disguised by raging homophobia and macho posturing on this thread just makes me laugh. I mean really. Obviously some people here are judging all gays based on very ridiculous stereotypes. I'm straight myself but work at a gay establishment and I can honestly tell you that by my estimate approx 90% of gays behave naturally like straight guys and if you met them on the street and talked to them, you wouldn't have the slightest idea they are gay. Also, most of them keep themselves in very good condition so if you ended up fightning one of them you could really find yourself spitting your teeth on the curb. I know I'm kicking water up hill with pointing all this out, but.. just saying.
billofill writes:
on March 27th, 2013 at 12:46:48 AM

Yeah, f*ck Shawshank Redemption, American History X, And Let's Go to Prison.............

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved