WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for Liam Neeson's "Taken 3" Arrives Online
Oct 1st, 2014
"Tetris" Video Game to Become a Live-Action Sci-Fi Movie
Oct 1st, 2014
Restricted Trailer For "Home Sweet Hell," with Katherine Heigl and Patrick Wilson
Oct 1st, 2014
"Zombieland" Sequel is Moving Forward, Writer and Director Hired
Oct 1st, 2014
New Trailer for "Horrible Bosses 2"
Oct 1st, 2014
Trailer For Russell Crowe's "The Water Diviner," Directed by Crowe
Oct 1st, 2014
Jeremy Renner Says Marvel Wants a Hawkeye/Black Widow Film
Sep 30th, 2014
Why Ben Affleck Won't Get to Keep the Batman Costume
Sep 30th, 2014
Kevin Smith Says He Raised Money For "Clerks 3"
Sep 30th, 2014
"Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon" Sequel to Premiere on Netflix
Sep 30th, 2014
Trailer for PT Anderson's "Inherent Vice," with Joaquin Phoenix and Josh Brolin
Sep 30th, 2014
New Trailer for "The Loft" Thriller, with Karl Urban and James Marsden
Sep 30th, 2014
"Black Widow" Movie Almost Happened Before "Iron Man"
Sep 29th, 2014
First Look at Kristen Stewart's "Equals" Sci-Fi Film
Sep 29th, 2014
Denzel Washington's "The Equalizer" Easily Wins at Box Office
Sep 29th, 2014
"Police Academy" Reboot Abandons Judd Apatow's Storyline
Sep 29th, 2014
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Trailer Attached to "Interstellar"?
Sep 28th, 2014
Quentin Tarantino's "The Hateful Eight" to Begin Filming in December
Sep 28th, 2014
William Shatner Confirms Offer to Appear in "Star Trek 3"
Sep 28th, 2014
First Trailer for Lifetime's "Aaliyah" Biopic
Sep 28th, 2014
Will Marvel Split "Avengers 3" Into Two Films?
Sep 27th, 2014
Jeremy Renner Comments on Matt Damon Returning to "Jason Bourne" Franchise
Sep 27th, 2014
First Poster for Liam Neeson's "Taken 3," Plus New Title Revealed
Sep 27th, 2014
Posters For Ridiculous "22 Jump Street" Sequels
Sep 27th, 2014
How Much Netflix Do People Watch Per Day?
Sep 27th, 2014
Miles Teller Apologizes For Trashing "Divergent"
Sep 26th, 2014
New Trailer for Ethan Hawke's "Predestination" Time-Travel Thriller
Sep 26th, 2014
Deleted Rogue Scenes Will Be Added Back Into "Rogue Cut" of "X-Men: Days of Future Past"
Sep 26th, 2014
New Trailer for "The Wedding Ringer" Comedy, with Kevin Hart and Josh Gad
Sep 26th, 2014
"Bill and Ted 3" is Still Happening, Details Revealed
Sep 26th, 2014
"Dumb and Dumber To" Unveils First TV Spot
Sep 26th, 2014
Trailer for Michael Mann's "Blackhat" Thriller, with Chris Hemsworth
Sep 26th, 2014
Trailer for Joe Carnahan's "Stretch," with Chris Pine, Patrick Wilson and Jessica Alba
Sep 26th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Jeremy Renner's "Hansel and Gretel: Witch Hunters" is Getting a Sequel

Posted: March 18th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Jeremy RennerSubmit Comment
"Hansel and Gretel: Witch Hunters," starring Jeremy Renner and Gemma Arterton, was released in January and went on to gross $55 million domestically, just barely earning back its $50 million budget. Overseas, the film grossed another $151 million, crossing the $200 million globally.

Apparently Paramount Pictures is happy with the results, because now comes word that the studio is moving forward with a sequel. While it's not clear who will be returning, Paramount said that the new film is officially in development.

"Hansel and Gretel," which has a lousy 15% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes, cost $50 million, but that doesn't include marketing costs. And since the studio has to split revenue with theater owners, I wouldn't be surprised if Paramount Pictures ended up profiting under $50 million. While that's a good amount of money, the studio believes that it can top that with a sequel, seeing amazing potential in international markets.

Source: Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 14 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Biz Malarkey writes:
on March 18th, 2013 at 10:04:34 PM

Better writers better cast better director better animation. I see this being straight to DVD.
Cannon writes:
on March 18th, 2013 at 10:25:24 PM

This was total late night, B-movie schlock that is still the most entertaining thing Iíve seen so far this year. So f*ck the haters. If they wanna make a sequel, I say go for it. Iíll be there next January. One recommendation, though: Arterton full nude scene.
Chris_G writes:
on March 18th, 2013 at 10:26:51 PM

It was very entertaining for what it was. Any film that grosses over 4 times it's budget is a hit. They obviously didn't spend a fortune on marketing a movie that only cost $50 million to produce...and on average, studios get 55-60% of the worldwide gross. So the studio easily got $100+ million out of the box office gross...and they STILL have home market and Video On Demand sales to look forward to. They wouldn't be greenlighting a sequel just after the box office run if they didn't turn a nice profit already.
coldplayesence writes:
on March 18th, 2013 at 10:35:54 PM

People pay for Kristen Stewar films so this has got to be better. Right? RIGHT?!
KillerCOck writes:
on March 18th, 2013 at 10:57:53 PM

Dope!!!! I loved it.
boogiel writes:
on March 18th, 2013 at 10:57:55 PM

I think Gemma should do porn instead.
minkowski writes:
on March 18th, 2013 at 11:03:10 PM

Haven't seem the first, but anything with The Chinless Leprechaun can't be so good I have to pay to see it.
Avirex writes:
on March 18th, 2013 at 11:39:10 PM

Renner's role will likely be recast with Cam Gigandet.
thinkvideo writes:
on March 19th, 2013 at 12:21:05 AM

"Hansel and Gretel," which has a lousy 15% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes...

Or a 61% rating by the people the movie was made for.
BadChadB33 writes:
on March 19th, 2013 at 1:03:28 AM

Mehhhh everything gets a sequel nowadays.
ENFORCER writes:
on March 19th, 2013 at 6:51:20 AM

I must agree People watch and pay to see Kristen Stewart, I honestly think that woman would be a lousy boring f*ck (As in having sex with her)I am yet to see this but I do like Mr Renner, I think he has great potential but has picked a few bad roles
Tanman32123 writes:
on March 20th, 2013 at 12:13:33 AM

I liked it, I'll see a sequel lol
japaninmotion writes:
on March 20th, 2013 at 1:12:52 AM

i truly believe bad movies are rewritten in the subtitles just to make them better. saw the newest bio hazard ( not by choice) in the theaters in tokyo with friends and i was the only one who thought it was crap
charmed23 writes:
on March 20th, 2013 at 12:36:57 PM

nice, I love the movie, a silly fun action flick. Gemma Arterton is super sexy smart in it

Matt Damon to Return For "Jason Bourne 5"

"Guardians of the Galaxy" Wins Worst Box Office Weekend of the Year

Did Aquaman Save superman in "Man of Steel"? Aquaman's Look Possibly Revealed

"No Good Deed" Beats "Dolphin Tale 2" For First Place at Box Office

If You Downloaded "The Expendables 3" Illegally, Lionsgate is Coming For You

Colin Farrell and Vince Vaughn Confirmed for Second Season of "True Detective"

David Fincher Regrets Making "The Game," Says Superhero Film are Dull

Tom Hardy Says Making "This Means War" Was a Bad Experience

Will Marvel Split "Avengers 3" Into Two Films?

Lou Ferrigno Says "Hulk" Movie and TV Series are Coming
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved