WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Zoolander 2" Teaser Trailer Arrives Online
Aug 1st, 2015
First Look at Robert Redford as Dan Rather in "Truth"
Aug 1st, 2015
New Photos of Emma Watson in "Colonia" Cult Thriller
Aug 1st, 2015
"They Live" Actor and WWE Star "Rowdy" Roddy Piper Dead at 61
Aug 1st, 2015
First Look at Jake Gyllenhaal in "Demolition," From Director of "Dallas Buyers Club"
Jul 31st, 2015
New Trailer for Johnny Depp's "Black Mass"
Jul 31st, 2015
Trailer for "The Night Before" Comedy, with Seth Rogen, Joseph Gordon-Levitt and Anthony Mackie
Jul 30th, 2015
Trailer for Michael Bay's "13 Hours" Benghazi Thriller
Jul 30th, 2015
Channing Tatum Quitting "Gambit" Film?
Jul 30th, 2015
Trailer for Mark Ruffalo's "Spotlight," About Pedophile Priests
Jul 30th, 2015
New Trailer for "Sicario" Thriller, with Emily Blunt and Josh Brolin
Jul 30th, 2015
Vince Vaughn Joins Mel Gibson's "Hacksaw Ridge" WWII Film
Jul 30th, 2015
Charlie Hunnam Says "Pacific Rim 2" Must Focus More on Story Than Visuals
Jul 25th, 2015
Bryan Singer Says "X-Men" and "Fantastic Four" May Soon Unite
Jul 25th, 2015
New Trailer for Zac Efron's "We Are Your Friends"
Jul 25th, 2015
"Jurassic World" Sequel Gets Release Date, Chris Pratt to Return
Jul 24th, 2015
Dwayne Johnson's "Baywatch" Movie Hires "Horrible Bosses" Director
Jul 24th, 2015
Russell Crowe in Talks to Join "King Kong" Prequel
Jul 24th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 2" is Here!
Jul 24th, 2015
New Trailer for "Maze Runner" Sequel
Jul 24th, 2015
LeBron James Signs Deal with Warner Bros, "Space Jam 2" Happening?
Jul 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Ryan Reynolds' "Mississippi Grind" Poker Film
Jul 23rd, 2015
Final Restricted Trailer for "Vacation" Sequel
Jul 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Patrick Wilson's "Zipper" Thriller
Jul 23rd, 2015
Full Trailer for "Spectre" James Bond Film
Jul 22nd, 2015
Full Trailer for Pixar's "The Good Dinosaur" Animated Film
Jul 22nd, 2015
"Kung Fu Panda" Director Making "Emoji" Movie
Jul 22nd, 2015
"Pacific Rim 2" to Begin Filming in November
Jul 22nd, 2015
Backstreet Boys and 'NSync Members Unite for "Dead 7" Low-Budget Horror Film
Jul 21st, 2015
Benicio Del Toro May Play Villain in "Star Wars: Episode VIII"
Jul 21st, 2015
Trailer for "Before We Go," Chris Evans' Directorial Debut
Jul 21st, 2015
"The Godfather" Actor Alex Rocco Dead at 79
Jul 21st, 2015
New Trailer for "American Ultra," with Jesse Eisenberg and Kristen Stewart
Jul 21st, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Jeremy Renner's "Hansel and Gretel: Witch Hunters" is Getting a Sequel

Posted: March 18th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Jeremy RennerSubmit Comment
"Hansel and Gretel: Witch Hunters," starring Jeremy Renner and Gemma Arterton, was released in January and went on to gross $55 million domestically, just barely earning back its $50 million budget. Overseas, the film grossed another $151 million, crossing the $200 million globally.

Apparently Paramount Pictures is happy with the results, because now comes word that the studio is moving forward with a sequel. While it's not clear who will be returning, Paramount said that the new film is officially in development.

"Hansel and Gretel," which has a lousy 15% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes, cost $50 million, but that doesn't include marketing costs. And since the studio has to split revenue with theater owners, I wouldn't be surprised if Paramount Pictures ended up profiting under $50 million. While that's a good amount of money, the studio believes that it can top that with a sequel, seeing amazing potential in international markets.

Source: Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 14 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Biz Malarkey writes:
on March 18th, 2013 at 10:04:34 PM

Better writers better cast better director better animation. I see this being straight to DVD.
Cannon writes:
on March 18th, 2013 at 10:25:24 PM

This was total late night, B-movie schlock that is still the most entertaining thing Iíve seen so far this year. So f*ck the haters. If they wanna make a sequel, I say go for it. Iíll be there next January. One recommendation, though: Arterton full nude scene.
Chris_G writes:
on March 18th, 2013 at 10:26:51 PM

It was very entertaining for what it was. Any film that grosses over 4 times it's budget is a hit. They obviously didn't spend a fortune on marketing a movie that only cost $50 million to produce...and on average, studios get 55-60% of the worldwide gross. So the studio easily got $100+ million out of the box office gross...and they STILL have home market and Video On Demand sales to look forward to. They wouldn't be greenlighting a sequel just after the box office run if they didn't turn a nice profit already.
coldplayesence writes:
on March 18th, 2013 at 10:35:54 PM

People pay for Kristen Stewar films so this has got to be better. Right? RIGHT?!
KillerCOck writes:
on March 18th, 2013 at 10:57:53 PM

Dope!!!! I loved it.
boogiel writes:
on March 18th, 2013 at 10:57:55 PM

I think Gemma should do porn instead.
minkowski writes:
on March 18th, 2013 at 11:03:10 PM

Haven't seem the first, but anything with The Chinless Leprechaun can't be so good I have to pay to see it.
Avirex writes:
on March 18th, 2013 at 11:39:10 PM

Renner's role will likely be recast with Cam Gigandet.
thinkvideo writes:
on March 19th, 2013 at 12:21:05 AM

"Hansel and Gretel," which has a lousy 15% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes...

Or a 61% rating by the people the movie was made for.
BadChadB33 writes:
on March 19th, 2013 at 1:03:28 AM

Mehhhh everything gets a sequel nowadays.
ENFORCER writes:
on March 19th, 2013 at 6:51:20 AM

I must agree People watch and pay to see Kristen Stewart, I honestly think that woman would be a lousy boring f*ck (As in having sex with her)I am yet to see this but I do like Mr Renner, I think he has great potential but has picked a few bad roles
Tanman32123 writes:
on March 20th, 2013 at 12:13:33 AM

I liked it, I'll see a sequel lol
japaninmotion writes:
on March 20th, 2013 at 1:12:52 AM

i truly believe bad movies are rewritten in the subtitles just to make them better. saw the newest bio hazard ( not by choice) in the theaters in tokyo with friends and i was the only one who thought it was crap
charmed23 writes:
on March 20th, 2013 at 12:36:57 PM

nice, I love the movie, a silly fun action flick. Gemma Arterton is super sexy smart in it

Did 20th Century Fox Leak Comic-Con Trailers for "X-Men: Apocalypse" and "Deadpool"?

Spider-Man Contractually Cannot be Black or Gay

Charlie Hunnam Says "Pacific Rim 2" Must Focus More on Story Than Visuals

"Ant-Man" Gets Second Worst Marvel Opening

Stan Lee Comments on Spider-Man Contractually Being White and Straight

Ben Affleck to Direct "Batman" Reboot!

"Star Wars" Actor Arrested After Insane Car Chase

"Spider-Man" Reboot Announces Actor and Director

Superman Destroyed One of Bruce Wayne's Buildings in "Man of Steel"

"The Amazing Spider-Man 3" Would Have Brought Characters Back From the Dead
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved