WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Insidious Chapter 3" Trailer is Here!
Oct 23rd, 2014
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Trailer is Here!
Oct 23rd, 2014
"The Hobbit" Trilogy Becomes Most Expensive Production of All Time
Oct 23rd, 2014
Quicksilver to Return For "X-Men: Apocalypse" and Maybe Solo Film
Oct 23rd, 2014
Restricted Trailer For Mark Wahlberg's "The Gambler" Thriller
Oct 23rd, 2014
First Look at Evangeline Lilly as Hope Pym on Marvel's "Ant-Man" Set
Oct 23rd, 2014
New Trailer for "The Woman in Black" Sequel
Oct 23rd, 2014
First Look at Johnny Depp as The Wolf in Disney's "Into the Woods"
Oct 23rd, 2014
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Trailer Coming Next Week!
Oct 22nd, 2014
"John Carter" Reboot in the Works, Disney Not Involved
Oct 22nd, 2014
James Wan to Direct "The Conjuring 2," May Direct DC Superhero Film
Oct 22nd, 2014
Ghostface Will NOT Appear in "Scream" TV Series
Oct 22nd, 2014
Keanu Reeves Says Film Studios Don't Want to Work With Him
Oct 22nd, 2014
Adam McKay Plans to Make "Step Brothers 2" in a Few Years
Oct 22nd, 2014
George Lucas Says Movie Studios are Ruining Hollywood
Oct 21st, 2014
"Cabin Fever" Remake Started Filming, Using Eli Roth's Original Script
Oct 21st, 2014
Melissa McCarthy Discusses "Ghostbusters" Reboot
Oct 21st, 2014
"Sharknado 3" Location Revealed
Oct 21st, 2014
Is Key and Peele's New Comedy a Spoof of Keanu Reeves' "John Wick" Thriller?
Oct 21st, 2014
James Cameron Reveals Advice He Gave to "Terminator Genisys" Producer
Oct 21st, 2014
Marvel Surprised Robert Downey Jr With an Unexpected Gift
Oct 20th, 2014
"Guardians of the Galaxy" is Struggling in China Due to Terrible Subtitles
Oct 20th, 2014
French Theaters Cancel "Annabelle" Screenings Due to Damage Caused by Teenagers
Oct 20th, 2014
Jason Momoa's First Comments About Starring in "Aquaman"
Oct 20th, 2014
Brad Pitt's "Fury" and Michael Keaton's "Birdman" Top Box Office
Oct 19th, 2014
New "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Concept Art Teases Hulkbuster's Giant Size
Oct 19th, 2014
Producer Gives "Halloween 3" Update
Oct 19th, 2014
Teaser for Disney's "Feast" Animated Short Film
Oct 19th, 2014
Tom Hardy May Play Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Oct 18th, 2014
Jena Malone is Female Robin in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"?
Oct 18th, 2014
Marvel in Talks with Colin Farrell and Benedict Cumberbatch to Star in "Doctor Strange"
Oct 18th, 2014
Channing Tatum Not Sure We Need "23 Jump Street"
Oct 18th, 2014
Poster For Tim Burton's "Big Eyes," with Amy Adams and Christoph Waltz
Oct 18th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Jeremy Renner's "Hansel and Gretel: Witch Hunters" is Getting a Sequel

Posted: March 18th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Jeremy RennerSubmit Comment
"Hansel and Gretel: Witch Hunters," starring Jeremy Renner and Gemma Arterton, was released in January and went on to gross $55 million domestically, just barely earning back its $50 million budget. Overseas, the film grossed another $151 million, crossing the $200 million globally.

Apparently Paramount Pictures is happy with the results, because now comes word that the studio is moving forward with a sequel. While it's not clear who will be returning, Paramount said that the new film is officially in development.

"Hansel and Gretel," which has a lousy 15% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes, cost $50 million, but that doesn't include marketing costs. And since the studio has to split revenue with theater owners, I wouldn't be surprised if Paramount Pictures ended up profiting under $50 million. While that's a good amount of money, the studio believes that it can top that with a sequel, seeing amazing potential in international markets.

Source: Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 14 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Biz Malarkey writes:
on March 18th, 2013 at 10:04:34 PM

Better writers better cast better director better animation. I see this being straight to DVD.
Cannon writes:
on March 18th, 2013 at 10:25:24 PM

This was total late night, B-movie schlock that is still the most entertaining thing Iíve seen so far this year. So f*ck the haters. If they wanna make a sequel, I say go for it. Iíll be there next January. One recommendation, though: Arterton full nude scene.
Chris_G writes:
on March 18th, 2013 at 10:26:51 PM

It was very entertaining for what it was. Any film that grosses over 4 times it's budget is a hit. They obviously didn't spend a fortune on marketing a movie that only cost $50 million to produce...and on average, studios get 55-60% of the worldwide gross. So the studio easily got $100+ million out of the box office gross...and they STILL have home market and Video On Demand sales to look forward to. They wouldn't be greenlighting a sequel just after the box office run if they didn't turn a nice profit already.
coldplayesence writes:
on March 18th, 2013 at 10:35:54 PM

People pay for Kristen Stewar films so this has got to be better. Right? RIGHT?!
KillerCOck writes:
on March 18th, 2013 at 10:57:53 PM

Dope!!!! I loved it.
boogiel writes:
on March 18th, 2013 at 10:57:55 PM

I think Gemma should do porn instead.
minkowski writes:
on March 18th, 2013 at 11:03:10 PM

Haven't seem the first, but anything with The Chinless Leprechaun can't be so good I have to pay to see it.
Avirex writes:
on March 18th, 2013 at 11:39:10 PM

Renner's role will likely be recast with Cam Gigandet.
thinkvideo writes:
on March 19th, 2013 at 12:21:05 AM

"Hansel and Gretel," which has a lousy 15% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes...

Or a 61% rating by the people the movie was made for.
BadChadB33 writes:
on March 19th, 2013 at 1:03:28 AM

Mehhhh everything gets a sequel nowadays.
ENFORCER writes:
on March 19th, 2013 at 6:51:20 AM

I must agree People watch and pay to see Kristen Stewart, I honestly think that woman would be a lousy boring f*ck (As in having sex with her)I am yet to see this but I do like Mr Renner, I think he has great potential but has picked a few bad roles
Tanman32123 writes:
on March 20th, 2013 at 12:13:33 AM

I liked it, I'll see a sequel lol
japaninmotion writes:
on March 20th, 2013 at 1:12:52 AM

i truly believe bad movies are rewritten in the subtitles just to make them better. saw the newest bio hazard ( not by choice) in the theaters in tokyo with friends and i was the only one who thought it was crap
charmed23 writes:
on March 20th, 2013 at 12:36:57 PM

nice, I love the movie, a silly fun action flick. Gemma Arterton is super sexy smart in it

Christian Bale's "The Machinist" Co-Star Reveals Disturbing Story About Actor's Weight-Loss

Marvel Surprised Robert Downey Jr With an Unexpected Gift

Ben Affleck Regrets Making "Daredevil," Very Confident About "Batman v Superman"

Robert Downey Jr Would Make "Iron Man 4" If Mel Gibson Directs

Robert Downey Jr Now Says He Won't Return For "Iron Man 4"

Penelope Cruz is Esquire's 2014 Sexiest Woman Alive

Chris Cooper Gained 40 Pounds of Muscle For "American Sniper"

Why Ben Affleck Won't Get to Keep the Batman Costume

Amanda Bynes Placed in Psychiatric Care, Says Her Father Asked Her For Sex

Description of "Jurassic World" Trailer
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved