WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Official "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Trailer is Here!
Apr 18th, 2015
Restricted Trailer for Salma Hayek's "The Tale of Tales" Fantasy Film
Apr 18th, 2015
New Poster for Joseph Gordon-Levitt's "The Walk," Directed by Robert Zemeckis
Apr 18th, 2015
New Poster for "Jurassic World," New Trailer Coming on Monday
Apr 18th, 2015
Full "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Trailer Leaked Online!
Apr 17th, 2015
New "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Trailer is Here!
Apr 17th, 2015
Josh Hartnett Regrets Turning Down Batman Role in "Batman Begins"
Apr 17th, 2015
Ryan Gosling in Talks for "Blade Runner" Sequel
Apr 17th, 2015
Trailer for "The Gallows" Horror Film
Apr 17th, 2015
Matthew Vaughn to Direct "Flash Gordon" Remake
Apr 17th, 2015
"Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Teaser Trailer is Here!
Apr 16th, 2015
"Wonder Woman" Just Hired a New Director
Apr 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Results," with Guy Pearce and Cobie Smulders
Apr 16th, 2015
Jason Sudeikis to Star in "Fletch" Reboot
Apr 16th, 2015
"Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Footage Coming Tomorrow
Apr 15th, 2015
Trailer for David Spade's "Joe Dirt" Sequel
Apr 15th, 2015
John Cusack is The Beach Boys Founder in "Love and Mercy" Trailer
Apr 15th, 2015
Trailer for Al Pacino's "Manglehorn"
Apr 15th, 2015
Griswolds Visit Walley World in New "Vacation" Photo
Apr 15th, 2015
New Trailer for Marvel's "Ant-Man"
Apr 14th, 2015
Lots of Action in New "Terminator Genisys" Trailer
Apr 14th, 2015
"Wonder Woman" Loses Its Director
Apr 14th, 2015
First Look at Ed Helms and Griswold Family in "Vacation" Sequel
Apr 14th, 2015
Iron Man Fights Ultron in New "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Clip
Apr 14th, 2015
Olivia Munn to Play Psylocke in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Apr 14th, 2015
First Look at Derek's Son From "Zoolander 2"
Apr 14th, 2015
Viggo Mortensen Was Offered Wolverine Role in "X-Men"
Apr 13th, 2015
First "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Clip Shows Hulk vs Iron Man Battle
Apr 13th, 2015
"Furious 7" Already Earned $800 Million at Box Office
Apr 13th, 2015
First Photo From "Rocky" Spin-Off "Creed"
Apr 13th, 2015
Trailer for "Scream" TV Series
Apr 13th, 2015
New Spider-Man is 15-Year-Old Peter Parker, No Origin Story
Apr 12th, 2015
First Look at Negasonic Teenage Warhead in "Deadpool"
Apr 12th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Jeremy Renner's "Hansel and Gretel: Witch Hunters" is Getting a Sequel

Posted: March 18th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Jeremy RennerSubmit Comment
"Hansel and Gretel: Witch Hunters," starring Jeremy Renner and Gemma Arterton, was released in January and went on to gross $55 million domestically, just barely earning back its $50 million budget. Overseas, the film grossed another $151 million, crossing the $200 million globally.

Apparently Paramount Pictures is happy with the results, because now comes word that the studio is moving forward with a sequel. While it's not clear who will be returning, Paramount said that the new film is officially in development.

"Hansel and Gretel," which has a lousy 15% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes, cost $50 million, but that doesn't include marketing costs. And since the studio has to split revenue with theater owners, I wouldn't be surprised if Paramount Pictures ended up profiting under $50 million. While that's a good amount of money, the studio believes that it can top that with a sequel, seeing amazing potential in international markets.

Source: Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 14 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Biz Malarkey writes:
on March 18th, 2013 at 10:04:34 PM

Better writers better cast better director better animation. I see this being straight to DVD.
Cannon writes:
on March 18th, 2013 at 10:25:24 PM

This was total late night, B-movie schlock that is still the most entertaining thing Iíve seen so far this year. So f*ck the haters. If they wanna make a sequel, I say go for it. Iíll be there next January. One recommendation, though: Arterton full nude scene.
Chris_G writes:
on March 18th, 2013 at 10:26:51 PM

It was very entertaining for what it was. Any film that grosses over 4 times it's budget is a hit. They obviously didn't spend a fortune on marketing a movie that only cost $50 million to produce...and on average, studios get 55-60% of the worldwide gross. So the studio easily got $100+ million out of the box office gross...and they STILL have home market and Video On Demand sales to look forward to. They wouldn't be greenlighting a sequel just after the box office run if they didn't turn a nice profit already.
coldplayesence writes:
on March 18th, 2013 at 10:35:54 PM

People pay for Kristen Stewar films so this has got to be better. Right? RIGHT?!
KillerCOck writes:
on March 18th, 2013 at 10:57:53 PM

Dope!!!! I loved it.
boogiel writes:
on March 18th, 2013 at 10:57:55 PM

I think Gemma should do porn instead.
minkowski writes:
on March 18th, 2013 at 11:03:10 PM

Haven't seem the first, but anything with The Chinless Leprechaun can't be so good I have to pay to see it.
Avirex writes:
on March 18th, 2013 at 11:39:10 PM

Renner's role will likely be recast with Cam Gigandet.
thinkvideo writes:
on March 19th, 2013 at 12:21:05 AM

"Hansel and Gretel," which has a lousy 15% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes...

Or a 61% rating by the people the movie was made for.
BadChadB33 writes:
on March 19th, 2013 at 1:03:28 AM

Mehhhh everything gets a sequel nowadays.
ENFORCER writes:
on March 19th, 2013 at 6:51:20 AM

I must agree People watch and pay to see Kristen Stewart, I honestly think that woman would be a lousy boring f*ck (As in having sex with her)I am yet to see this but I do like Mr Renner, I think he has great potential but has picked a few bad roles
Tanman32123 writes:
on March 20th, 2013 at 12:13:33 AM

I liked it, I'll see a sequel lol
japaninmotion writes:
on March 20th, 2013 at 1:12:52 AM

i truly believe bad movies are rewritten in the subtitles just to make them better. saw the newest bio hazard ( not by choice) in the theaters in tokyo with friends and i was the only one who thought it was crap
charmed23 writes:
on March 20th, 2013 at 12:36:57 PM

nice, I love the movie, a silly fun action flick. Gemma Arterton is super sexy smart in it

New Spider-Man is 15-Year-Old Peter Parker, No Origin Story

Disney Making Live-Action "Winnie the Pooh" Film

Mexico Pays "Spectre" $20 Million to Rewrite Script

Gal Gadot Responds to Criticism That Her Breasts are Too Small to Play Wonder Woman

Disney's "Cinderella" Dominates at Box Office

Arnold Schwarzenegger Happy He Didn't Star in "Terminator Salvation"

Stephen King Comments on Early Screening of Guillermo Del Toro's "Crimson Peak" Horror Film

"Avengers: Infinity Wars" Officially Replaces Director Joss Whedon

"Insurgent" Takes First Place at Box Office, Sean Penn's "The Gunman" Flops

"Spectre" Opening Sequence is Biggest in History
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved