WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Spectre" James Bond Film Unveils Trailer
Mar 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Spin-Off TV Series Unveils Title
Mar 28th, 2015
"Transformers" Getting Lots More Sequels and Spin-Offs
Mar 28th, 2015
Antonio Banderas Says Shrek May Appear in "Puss in Boots 2"
Mar 28th, 2015
First Look at Ryan Reynolds in "Deadpool"
Mar 27th, 2015
Trailer for Jake Gyllenhaal's "Southpaw" Boxing Film
Mar 27th, 2015
Trailer for JK Rowling's "The Casual Vacancy"
Mar 27th, 2015
Trailer for "Absolution" Thriller, with Steven Seagal and Vinnie Jones
Mar 27th, 2015
Julia Louis-Dreyfus in Talks for American Remake of "Force Majeure"
Mar 27th, 2015
Trailer for Kit Harington's "Spooks: The Greater Good"
Mar 27th, 2015
First Look at Jesse Eisenberg as Lex Luthor in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Mar 26th, 2015
Trailer for Arnold Schwarzenegger's "Maggie" Zombie Film
Mar 26th, 2015
First Clear Look at The Thing From "Fantastic Four" Reboot
Mar 26th, 2015
Idris Elba May Play Villain in "Star Trek 3"
Mar 26th, 2015
New Photos of Ben Stiller and Owen Wilson From "Zoolander 2"
Mar 26th, 2015
New Trailer for "Entourage" Movie
Mar 25th, 2015
Vin Diesel Predicts "Furious 7" Will Win Best Picture Oscar
Mar 25th, 2015
Trailer for Michael Fassbender's "Slow West" Western Thriller
Mar 25th, 2015
Poster for "Fantastic Four" Reboot
Mar 25th, 2015
Trailer for Dustin Hoffman's "Boychoir" Film
Mar 25th, 2015
Jennifer Lawrence Says "X-Men: Apocalypse" is Her Last "X-Men" Film
Mar 24th, 2015
"Avengers: Infinity Wars" Officially Replaces Director Joss Whedon
Mar 24th, 2015
Vivica A. Fox Returns for "Independence Day 2"
Mar 24th, 2015
Poster for "Entourage" Movie
Mar 24th, 2015
Tom Cruise's "Mission: Impossible 5" Trailer is Here!
Mar 23rd, 2015
Neill Blomkamp Says "Alien 5" Won't Interfere With "Prometheus" Franchise
Mar 23rd, 2015
"Insurgent" Takes First Place at Box Office, Sean Penn's "The Gunman" Flops
Mar 23rd, 2015
"Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles 2" to Begin Filming Next Month
Mar 23rd, 2015
Gal Gadot Responds to Criticism That Her Breasts are Too Small to Play Wonder Woman
Mar 22nd, 2015
"Terminator Genisys" Unveils New Photos and Magazine Cover
Mar 22nd, 2015
Bobby Cannavale Discusses Confusing "Ant-Man" Shoot
Mar 22nd, 2015
Jason Statham vs Dwayne Johnson in "Furious 7" Clip
Mar 22nd, 2015
Sony to Remake "Romeo and Juliet" Using "300" Style
Mar 21st, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Jeremy Renner's "Hansel and Gretel: Witch Hunters" is Getting a Sequel

Posted: March 18th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Jeremy RennerSubmit Comment
"Hansel and Gretel: Witch Hunters," starring Jeremy Renner and Gemma Arterton, was released in January and went on to gross $55 million domestically, just barely earning back its $50 million budget. Overseas, the film grossed another $151 million, crossing the $200 million globally.

Apparently Paramount Pictures is happy with the results, because now comes word that the studio is moving forward with a sequel. While it's not clear who will be returning, Paramount said that the new film is officially in development.

"Hansel and Gretel," which has a lousy 15% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes, cost $50 million, but that doesn't include marketing costs. And since the studio has to split revenue with theater owners, I wouldn't be surprised if Paramount Pictures ended up profiting under $50 million. While that's a good amount of money, the studio believes that it can top that with a sequel, seeing amazing potential in international markets.

Source: Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 14 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Biz Malarkey writes:
on March 18th, 2013 at 10:04:34 PM

Better writers better cast better director better animation. I see this being straight to DVD.
Cannon writes:
on March 18th, 2013 at 10:25:24 PM

This was total late night, B-movie schlock that is still the most entertaining thing Iíve seen so far this year. So f*ck the haters. If they wanna make a sequel, I say go for it. Iíll be there next January. One recommendation, though: Arterton full nude scene.
Chris_G writes:
on March 18th, 2013 at 10:26:51 PM

It was very entertaining for what it was. Any film that grosses over 4 times it's budget is a hit. They obviously didn't spend a fortune on marketing a movie that only cost $50 million to produce...and on average, studios get 55-60% of the worldwide gross. So the studio easily got $100+ million out of the box office gross...and they STILL have home market and Video On Demand sales to look forward to. They wouldn't be greenlighting a sequel just after the box office run if they didn't turn a nice profit already.
coldplayesence writes:
on March 18th, 2013 at 10:35:54 PM

People pay for Kristen Stewar films so this has got to be better. Right? RIGHT?!
KillerCOck writes:
on March 18th, 2013 at 10:57:53 PM

Dope!!!! I loved it.
boogiel writes:
on March 18th, 2013 at 10:57:55 PM

I think Gemma should do porn instead.
minkowski writes:
on March 18th, 2013 at 11:03:10 PM

Haven't seem the first, but anything with The Chinless Leprechaun can't be so good I have to pay to see it.
Avirex writes:
on March 18th, 2013 at 11:39:10 PM

Renner's role will likely be recast with Cam Gigandet.
thinkvideo writes:
on March 19th, 2013 at 12:21:05 AM

"Hansel and Gretel," which has a lousy 15% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes...

Or a 61% rating by the people the movie was made for.
BadChadB33 writes:
on March 19th, 2013 at 1:03:28 AM

Mehhhh everything gets a sequel nowadays.
ENFORCER writes:
on March 19th, 2013 at 6:51:20 AM

I must agree People watch and pay to see Kristen Stewart, I honestly think that woman would be a lousy boring f*ck (As in having sex with her)I am yet to see this but I do like Mr Renner, I think he has great potential but has picked a few bad roles
Tanman32123 writes:
on March 20th, 2013 at 12:13:33 AM

I liked it, I'll see a sequel lol
japaninmotion writes:
on March 20th, 2013 at 1:12:52 AM

i truly believe bad movies are rewritten in the subtitles just to make them better. saw the newest bio hazard ( not by choice) in the theaters in tokyo with friends and i was the only one who thought it was crap
charmed23 writes:
on March 20th, 2013 at 12:36:57 PM

nice, I love the movie, a silly fun action flick. Gemma Arterton is super sexy smart in it

Mexico Pays "Spectre" $20 Million to Rewrite Script

Michelle Rodriguez Apologizes For White People's Superheroes Comment

Gal Gadot Responds to Criticism That Her Breasts are Too Small to Play Wonder Woman

Next Spider-Man Will NOT Be White?

Disney's "Cinderella" Dominates at Box Office

Hugh Jackman Knows Who Would Win in a Fight, Batman or Wolverine

"The Dark Knight" Voted the Greatest Superhero Film of All Time

Stephen King Comments on Early Screening of Guillermo Del Toro's "Crimson Peak" Horror Film

Jared Leto Talks Playing The Joker in "Suicide Squad"

Neill Blomkamp's "Alien" Sequel Will Give Ripley a Proper Ending
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved