WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Marvel Wanted Don Cheadle for "Iron Man"

Posted: March 17th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Marvel Wanted Don Cheadle for "Iron Man"Submit Comment
"The Incredible Hulk" director Louis Leterrier recently revealed that he wanted to cast Mark Ruffalo as Bruce Banner, but Marvel refused to hire the actor. Instead, Edward Norton was brought on.

And now, Terrence Howard appeared on "Sway in the Morning," revealing that Marvel wanted Don Cheadle to play James Rhodes in "Iron Man." He said: "Don [Cheadle] and Robert [Downey Jr] get along well. Initially, they wanted Don for that role, but my agent pushed me in."

He went on to explain why he didn't return in the sequel. "[I was paid] about $4.5 million [for the first film]," said Howard. "The second time, [Marvel] said 'We think the movie will be successful with or without you. So, instead of the $8 million that we said we were gonna pay you, we're going to let you come back for a million dollars.' We did a three-picture deal already, [but] I didn't know it wasn't a mutually binding contract; it was only beneficial for them and they could bring me back or not. I was like 'nah, we're good'!"

Source: Sway in the Morning


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 22 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on March 17th, 2013 at 10:51:16 PM

I like how Marvel is now disavowing all the actors who told them to go sh*t up a rope.
donangel01 writes:
on March 17th, 2013 at 10:56:15 PM

its disappointing to hear of these things that happen behind the scenes. Just wished they all got along and everyone returned for each film and that includes Ed Norton as Hulk.
boogiel writes:
on March 17th, 2013 at 11:27:47 PM

Aw geez, are we're still gonna listening to this guy talk about this sh*t. Howard needs to get a life. Clearly he has an incurable case of sour grapes.
BadChadB33 writes:
on March 18th, 2013 at 12:02:15 AM

Rather Howard than Cheadle.
Chris_G writes:
on March 18th, 2013 at 12:28:43 AM

Dammit...things would have been so much better if they originally had Cheadle and Ruffalo from the start. AHAHGHAHGIHGW
telur writes:
on March 18th, 2013 at 12:31:04 AM

I want Robert Downey Jr replace by Jude Law
CelluloidMan writes:
on March 18th, 2013 at 12:31:20 AM

Howard made a great Rhodey, they (with RDJ) really complemented each other & had great chemistry...the friendship seemed realistic & their witty banter was cool to watch. You could actually see why Stark would give him a IM suit, IMO.

Compare the Howard/RDJ scenes with Cheadle/RDJ...I think Howard did more on the relationship with his few scenes that Cheadle with his armor battle & Iron Man tag team...

I think Howard could've done more with the role in the second part...of course nothing against Cheadle. He is a great actor in his own right....just Howard played best.

I guess Marvel f*cking around with the winning formula forcing out the director & Howard...not a good idea. As for part 3, its popularity based on the first part & the one to beat to make it memorable with the fans.
minkowski writes:
on March 18th, 2013 at 12:38:46 AM

"I guess Marvel f*cking around with the winning formula forcing out the director & Howard'

Dude, Howard left after the first one because Marvel said he was next to worthless. Favreau left after the second one because it absolutely sucked ass. Then they hired Shane f*cking Black and carried over Cheadle. That's not f*cking with the formula.


And I don't know what sh*t you people are smoking, but Terrence Howard f*cking sucks. Cheadle's a hell of a lot stronger performer and always delivers his role with professionalism and dedication. Howard looks like he spends his checks on Harlem street chickens. And I hated him in The Brave One. He has sweaty homosexual written all over him, but you'd need a black light to see it.
Ranger writes:
on March 18th, 2013 at 12:50:28 AM

These actors that actually mention their salaries are just like that crusty stuff on the corner of Lohan's mouth after an audition (with her dad).
minkowski writes:
on March 18th, 2013 at 12:56:23 AM

And here's an appropriate quote:

Cyrus Grissom: [to Johnny 23] I despise rapists. For me, you're somewhere between a c*ckroach and that white stuff that acc*mulates at the corner of your mouth when you're really thirsty. But, in your case, I'll make an exception.
CelluloidMan writes:
on March 18th, 2013 at 1:39:15 AM

At Mink

Howard was forced out reducibg his paycheck, as noted by this article. If you work for a company that after the second year, for example, will pay you less...read the writing on the wall, they don't want you, so you say "F*ck this, I'm out!!" which happened to Howard.

Jon Favreau could pushed around to f*ck with the plot & put IronMan on the back burner to setup the Avengers...you can't shoehorn a bigger agenda while still trying to evolve the character to push the franchise? Favreau knew didn't feel comfortable with the meddling of Marvel messing with the final project/ box office & messing with his cast...that's why he quit...

Hence, Marvel f*cking with the formula

As for Howard's performance, I get it Mink, you hate Howard's guts, but check out how Howard relates with Stark in the casino in the beginning, how he is convinced to drink on the jet with strippers, or how he hurried when they rescued Stark & whispered in his ear, or how he covered for him on the first use of the suit...has a vibe of how a close friend would react. And remember, Favreau cast him for a reason...really, the whole cast on part 1 is really impeccable.

Now compare that with Cheadle in the courtroom, short phrases when Stark got drunk, or on fighting the robots...very generic, nothing that stands out at me like with Howard.

As for the "gay" cop in THE BRAVE ONE, yeah, sure I'll give you that one & raise you the "gay" hustler in FIGHTING.
CelluloidMan writes:
on March 18th, 2013 at 1:49:43 AM

To Ranger,

IDK 'bout that, bro. They tell you what they make, what happened behind the scenes which gives him more authenticity of what he is saying...

The amount of money was really voiced to give you an idea of how badly he was getting f*cked over from part one to part 2 (getting 3.5 mill less...that's just f*cked up)

But really 4.5 mill is really nothing compared to Cruise's or Carrey's contractual 20 million in their prime.

At Mink

Actually, now that I remember, I've heard that Howard is a d*ck sometimes on set. If that was the case (which Howard probably won't bring up) then I could see him being replaced....even in that scenario he dug his own grave, but still talent wise, he was the better Rhodey, IMO.

Cest le f*cking vie...
minkowski writes:
on March 18th, 2013 at 1:54:18 AM

^^All that you mention with respect to Cheadle versus Howard has NOTHING to do with either of their acting abilities, only that in the first film Marvel felt the need to WRITE the two characters closer, whereas after Iron Man 1 they felt the Cheadle/Howard character had less of a role to play, thus no reason to WRITE the Stark and Rhodey scenes as anything more than cursory exposition.

All comes down to how Marvel wanted to write the Rhodey character, not whether Howard or Cheadle is the better actor.

They could have written Cheadle's take as more of a closer comrade-in-arms to Stark, but clearly with their decision to pay Howard considerably less in IM2, they discovered RDJ i the star.

If Howard should be pissed at anyone, it's white man Downey for owning the film and leaving the token black guy with nothing to do. Seriously.

Stark/Downey is Iron Man. no one gives a happy f*ck about Rhodey, which is why he has less a role in IM2, and which is why Howard was offered beans to do that movie.


So in short you're confusing Howard's "impeccable performance" in Iron Man 1 with the detailed way Marvel wanted the character portrayed in that film (because it was WRITTEN that way), which is what really happened. Can't blame Cheadle for being given a far more cursory and token role thereafter.

But what can I say? People still blame Ratner and only Ratner for the f*cked up X-Men: The Last Stand script, even though clearly Penn and Kinberg wrote that pile of sh*t.
ENFORCER writes:
on March 18th, 2013 at 2:19:33 AM

Don Cheadle is good for one thing and one thing only. Eating Watermelon and Fried Chicken.
CelluloidMan writes:
on March 18th, 2013 at 2:37:01 AM

"All that you mention with respect to Cheadle versus Howard has NOTHING to do with either of their acting abilities"

"All comes down to how Marvel wanted to write the Rhodey character, not whether Howard or Cheadle is the better actor."

Yeah, Mink, roles are written and they are actors playing the same role, of course they are gonna be compared to the script, but you and I know whatever is written on page is not written in stone and the actors also sometimes adjust the lines as input to make their roles more believable. I can't prove that's what they did, but Howard/ RDJ sure as hell made it look easy and fun... on small scenes.

I've written the small gestures, and small details noted in Howard's small role that he squeezed every short scene in relation to Stark/ Rhodes's relationship..I really can't make my point clearer, Mink.

"which is why he has less a role in IM2"

Less of a role? Cheadle's Rhodey FIGHTS IRON MAN AND THEN FIGHTS WITH IRON MAN! HE PLAYS WAR MACHINE!...what does Howard do in part 1? He talks supports RDJ's character...You lost me on that one.

"...decision to pay Howard considerably less in IM2, they discovered RDJ i the star."

What?! RDJ got the whole movie...he's in almost every scene..it's his Marvel's origin movie. RDJ IS IRON MAN! HE WAS ALWAYS THE STAR! You also lost me on that one, Mink.

Oh, and I wrote the CAST was impeccable, not the "impeccable performance"...just clarifying, bud.

As for Ratner, he did sign on to make X-MEN 3 and needed to be aware of the plot and characters and checked off on all of it by his own hand, yeah the studio's subject but all the responsibility on him...so he MAY have something to do with third's result. The f*cker wasn't that knowledgeable about the subject matter/ history and aware of the fanboy's wrath to know better. Apart from some solid action scenes and the Sentinels...he f*cked up.

The beauty of the first 2 was Singer's input. Singer was able to relate to the characters such as being a outcast when he was young and compares Ice Man telling his parents he's a mutant to when he told his parents he was gay. It was personal to Singer which made the characters more realistic (which continued a trend) and ultimately better.

I see we can't see the other's side of the argument, which happens at times...I'll agree to disagree, bro.

Cheers, Mink.
Ranger writes:
on March 18th, 2013 at 2:37:23 AM

@Cell - sure. But bad-mouthing in Hollyweird will kill your career faster than Lohan's or even Megan Fox (Bay = Hitler). Take the money. Be grateful and STFU I say.
CelluloidMan writes:
on March 18th, 2013 at 2:56:57 AM

You make a good point Ranger, but Hollyweird is also a ego driven business and not like the hard working blue collar that "be grateful you have a job" mentality...Character actors or TV show actors are more like that. You are paid what you are worth.

Respect is measured in money or titles (that's why in HEAT, De Niro's/ Pacino's names appear on the same level and for the same time and got equal screen time in the cafe scene).

If Howard is saying he got paid less, is that they really don't think much of him or forcing him to leave, disrespecting him which in Hollywood is bad for business when you wanna market yourself. (as mentioned above, he might-guessing here- be the cause of getting bumped off)

So, that's why he quit...
Janus writes:
on March 18th, 2013 at 3:08:44 AM

The only new information is that Marvel wanted Don first. We already read about Howard being cast as the first person of all cast members for a big salary which Marvel didn't want to pay for a second time.
Ranger writes:
on March 18th, 2013 at 4:29:20 AM

@Cell - I always like your posts, my friend.
CelluloidMan writes:
on March 18th, 2013 at 6:12:13 AM

Thanks Ranger, same here...keep on truckin'...
pornfly writes:
on March 18th, 2013 at 6:36:48 AM

Cheadle is the only dark black guy who is non-threatening.
They want a 'real black looking' actor thats controllable instead of a light skinned black guy thats 'real'
venomex writes:
on March 18th, 2013 at 2:52:38 PM

this is...like...the 5th version of the reason why he wasn't in the sequel. you got replaced.....deal with it. go back to the syfi channel

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved