WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Discuss: Should Major Studios Use KickStarter to Raise Money for Films?

Posted: March 15th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Discuss: Should Major Studios Use KickStarter to Raise Money for Films?Submit Comment
Just recently, "Veronica Mars" reached its goal of raising $2 million in just 12 hours on KickStarter. The campaign is now at over $3 million and there are still 28 days to go. Many believe that this proved the crowdfunding method and opened the door for major film studios to raise money for their projects by asking fans to donate.

Normally when investors hand over money to film projects, they expect to get everything back and even make a profit. But KickStarter investors/fans usually get a t-shirt or a copy of the DVD, which means that studios get to keep all the revenue and are not obligated to repay anything.

Some see this as giving money to the rich, but others believe that this is a way that fans can get certain projects made. Warner Bros was never going to make a "Veronica Mars" movie, but now it will.

So this becomes a morality question. 20th Century Fox has endless investors pleading to take their money for "Avatar 2," but why take money that you'll have to repay when you can just get fans to hand over cash without expecting anything in return.

Everyone is allowed to make good and bad choices in their lives, but many people will likely make donations to billion-dollar studios even though they're having trouble paying rent. And in the case of "Avatar 2," it was going to be funded anyway.

Question: Should major studios use KickStarter to raise money for their films?

Source: WorstPreviews.com


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 42 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Taco writes:
on March 15th, 2013 at 6:53:58 AM

People will be stupid, and the rich will always find ways to make money on the stupid.
pornfly writes:
on March 15th, 2013 at 7:09:13 AM

How bout a giant toilet to just flush the money?

Obama was heard saying,"WHAT DA f*ck,MUHf*ckERZ??"
ENFORCER writes:
on March 15th, 2013 at 8:11:45 AM

It should be used to stop bad films being made. I watched top gun tonight, that's a f*cking awful movie. I am glad that Michael Caine looking c*nt is dead. Only wish that waste of life Bullit would die a horrifying painful demise!!
Deaft0ne writes:
on March 15th, 2013 at 8:27:43 AM

lol@jb
BadChadB33 writes:
on March 15th, 2013 at 8:57:52 AM

Enforcer- I don't know what makes you so stupid, but whatever it is, it really works.

As for this who gives a sh*t.
Deaft0ne writes:
on March 15th, 2013 at 10:48:05 AM

I want a Strange Luck movie to be funded by kickstarter.
Tanman32123 writes:
on March 15th, 2013 at 11:30:34 AM

Well it's logical..
ProfMovies writes:
on March 15th, 2013 at 12:24:18 PM

Kickstarter is way over-exposed and over-used now, and the entire novelty is gone.

Besides, the studios are some of the biggest whores on earth. They forced hundreds of theaters out of business who couldn't convert to digital, and proceed to treat the ones that remain like dirt.

If they want to embrace their draconian rule, they need to finance their own movies!
jdl107 writes:
on March 15th, 2013 at 1:20:17 PM

There is a reason Veronica Mars wasn't getting a movie, and I have a feeling this is going to be the situation is going to be similar to Serenity.

Fan outcry results in film getting made FROM TV show, property still unpopular, film fails. Did Serenity even make it's budget back? I forget the figures. Anyway, I barely even know this show, and was reminded only because of this article.

Anyway, do I think films should be funded through Kickstarter? I don't know exactly what you're asking. Are you asking us if we think ALL films should be funded by way of donations? If so, then no, I don't think it SHOULD, if it can be funded either way (By way of studio, or donation) let it happen.
buttabean writes:
on March 15th, 2013 at 1:31:42 PM

too bad they didn't attempt to make a dredd sequel by doing this instead of abandoning it. I'm sure it would have been successful. Loved that movie
minkowski writes:
on March 15th, 2013 at 2:27:18 PM

Bitch bitch bitch. Americans bitch about everything. Jesus f*ck. Now it's Kickstarter. An option comes along to allow the unwashed masses to directly fund projects of their own choosing, via the comfort of the internet, a previously unheard of possibility, and what happens? Bitter-c*nt cynics come out the woodwork to bitch about giving money to the rich, like you're not already doing that every time you buy some f*cking iPhone or spend fifty bucks for two theater tickets, two hot dogs and a gallon of sweetened water.

Goddamn first world problems.

As for the actual question, stop asking stupid questions. If it works, do it. But none of us run a f*cking Hollywood studio, so what does it matter what we think?
velocityknown writes:
on March 15th, 2013 at 2:30:07 PM

I think you're completely missing the point of Kickstarter and what Veronica Mars accomplished with this.

"So this becomes a morality question. 20th Century Fox has endless investors pleading to take their money for "Avatar 2," but why take money that you'll have to repay when you can just get fans to hand over cashwithout expecting anything in return."

What? That's absurd. Kickstarter can, at best, fund things for a few million dollars. And the fans don't get nothing in return, they get rewards based on how much they donate. It's also not for sure that they would get the money they need and people would be much less likely to donate if they knew the film didn't need the money. Fans of Veronica Mars know that they needed the money and they asked for a fairly modest amount. Who the f*ck is going to donate money to a film with a predecessor that is the highest grossing movie of all time.

Major studios won't use Kickstarter because there's nothing be gained from it. It's not a guarantee and they can raise a few million dollars, at best. Kickstarter is the tool of independent filmmakers who want to raise a few thousand dollars to make a modestly-budgeted project.

"Everyone is allowed to make good and bad choices in their lives, but many people will likely make donations to billion-dollar studios even though they're having trouble paying rent. And in the case of "Avatar 2," it was going to be funded anyway."

That doesn't even deserve a response.
velocityknown writes:
on March 15th, 2013 at 2:36:47 PM

Veronica Mars is a unique situation because its an established property with an eager fan base. There are few shows like this that could possibly use Kickstarter to their advantage (Terriers, Pushing Daisies, Party Down, etc.). But it probably won't happen very often, if at all.

1) Because you have to align schedules of actors who probably won't get paid very much for projects like this

2) Not every studio would agree to distribute and market or release the property like WB would.

Joss Whedon himself said this hardly opens the floodgates for projects like Veronica Mars. The best thing is does is hopefully scare studios not encourage them. They need to realize that filmmakers don't need their money or their sh*t to make a movie anymore. You could make a perfectly suitable feature on for far less than $100,000 nowadays.

What do studios do? Fund movies like InAPPropriate Comedy. Kickstarter helps fund things people want because they paid for it. Studios should be afraid of this because they don't get to tell people what they're going to get anymore, people can pay for what they want and feel like a part of the process in a more dynamic way now.

Sorry, two rants. I just think the notion that this will become a studio tool for movies like Avatar 2 is one of the most ridiculous thing I've heard in weeks.
ENFORCER writes:
on March 15th, 2013 at 2:43:25 PM

Silly topic
Tanman32123 writes:
on March 15th, 2013 at 2:44:50 PM

-Insert Rant here- lol
ENFORCER writes:
on March 15th, 2013 at 2:45:02 PM

Mr chad you openly converse with Bullit, and you question my mentallity? Please get your priorities in order.
minkowski writes:
on March 15th, 2013 at 2:55:31 PM

"It's not a guarantee and they can raise a few million dollars, at best."

No guarantee, but it costs virtually nothing to try, and you forget: if some sh*t property can raise a "just" a few million dollars, then how much would a Kickstarter fun drive raise for something far more people REALLY demand?

Yeah, a tool for indie filmmakers. For now. The home computer was once "just" a tool for people who wanted to do their own spreadsheets and recipes. Now it's used by people to make their own CGI films, HD videos and music albums.

Scale man, scale. Don't be so short-sighted and imaginative. Hell you sound like Bill Gates. "640K ought to be enough for anybody" Or IBM's Ken Olsen: "There is no reason for any individual to have a computer in his home." Or this, from the AMerican PTO: "everything that can be invented has been invented."

(Olsen was referring to computers controlling homes, and Gates never actually made the alleged quote, btw. The patent office quote is apocryphal at best.)
minkowski writes:
on March 15th, 2013 at 2:55:46 PM

funD.
minkowski writes:
on March 15th, 2013 at 3:14:17 PM

"you sift through the detritus".

Bawhahahahaha!
pornfly writes:
on March 15th, 2013 at 4:12:01 PM

Captain Howdy 2 @kickstarter.com
jikae writes:
on March 15th, 2013 at 4:15:43 PM

I read somewhere else that it took less than 6hrs to make the 2 million and that there were only about 40,000 people that donated. Some absurd amount. Now, I don't doubt that there are some people with a lot of money to burn that wanted to see the movie, but that's ridiculous. I smell conspiracy theory.

Back to the original question. I think it can be used to gauge interest on "fringe" projects such as X-Files 3, Dredd 2, Entourage movie, really most of the films that normally wouldn't get made.

And besides, why don't they (the studios) just do a direct-to-dvd movie for all these TV shows to close it up or a really limited release in the fall or spring? The fans aren't looking for a summer blockbuster, they just want to see closure in the series. Okay, I'm done.
coldplayesence writes:
on March 15th, 2013 at 4:20:22 PM

That VM movie is going straight to Betamax.
minkowski writes:
on March 15th, 2013 at 4:56:02 PM

Straight to zootrope you mean.
blumpkin4 writes:
on March 15th, 2013 at 5:14:29 PM

They should get some suckers to get X-Files 3!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I aint gonna pay for it but I wanna see it!
coldplayesence writes:
on March 15th, 2013 at 6:06:43 PM

@minkowski: lol yeah, maybe Kristen Bell can get an Oscar, those gimmicks worked well last year.
Kurskij writes:
on March 15th, 2013 at 6:19:59 PM

@velocity

Good points, man. Good points.
minkowski writes:
on March 15th, 2013 at 6:32:12 PM

"lol yeah, maybe Kristen Bell can get an Oscar, those gimmicks worked well last year."


lol, please don't give them any more "ideas" please.
minkowski writes:
on March 15th, 2013 at 6:42:36 PM

-please.
Kurskij writes:
on March 15th, 2013 at 7:10:09 PM

"lol, please don't give them any more "ideas" please"

Anne Hathaway presents it. Teary eyed.
Whitta writes:
on March 15th, 2013 at 8:09:36 PM

People are jackasses if they are willing to spend their own hard earned cash to try and fund Avatar 2.

James Cameron could fund the entire thing without putting a dent in his wallet.

If you're gonna waste your money, do it on something that won't help Hollywood churn out another 3 hour sh*tfest.
Tanman32123 writes:
on March 15th, 2013 at 11:29:09 PM

What Jakae said!
minkowski writes:
on March 15th, 2013 at 11:34:25 PM

Yeah, crowdfunding X-Files 3 and Dredd 2 w/kickstarter would be pretty f*cking awesome.

Maybe someone who really gives a damn (not me) could start one of those up.
minkowski writes:
on March 15th, 2013 at 11:40:55 PM

Lots of news over at Cinemablend.

Let's see, Ridley Scott wants Bale to play Moses.

Emma Watson Named Fifty Shades Of Grey Lead In Hacked Doc*ments, But Universal Denies It

Greg Kinnear And Josh Lawson Join The Star-Studded Anchorman 2 Cast

David Fincher Finally Getting Serious About Directing Gone Girl

X-Men: Days Of Future Past Brings Back Daniel Cudmore As Colossus

Hogan's Heroes Making Its Way To The Big Screen

Famed Composer Ennio Morricone Will Never Work With Quentin Tarantino Again

The Avengers 2: What We Know So Far

Kick-Ass 2 Character Posters Introduce Some New Costumed Characters

Billy Bob Thornton Could Sign On For The Judge With Robert Downey Jr.
minkowski writes:
on March 15th, 2013 at 11:47:12 PM

What makes a great screenplay

http://www.guardian.co.uk/books/2013/mar/15/john-yorke-best-screenwriting
pornfly writes:
on March 16th, 2013 at 3:50:01 AM

Way to go, kid.
I like your moxy, see
I could use a young scrapper like you on the payroll, see
Heres my number, pal 555-4444
(Or like an american Triggax would say,fie fie fie fo fo fo fo)
Tanman32123 writes:
on March 16th, 2013 at 4:23:57 AM

Totally Callin that number!
pornfly writes:
on March 16th, 2013 at 6:59:10 AM

TAN, Netflix got Kids In The Hall. hallejewjah


Where the hell was KickStarter for my Things To Do In Denver When Youre Dead prequel??
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on March 16th, 2013 at 7:00:57 AM

If this gets The Goon made then I'm all for it.

Besides, Hollywood seems content to throw millions of dollars making movies based on board games no one plays any more (Battleship anyone?) so f*ck them.
Tanman32123 writes:
on March 16th, 2013 at 1:36:57 PM

Sorry: The Movie!
minkowski writes:
on March 16th, 2013 at 2:56:42 PM

@Porn: suck my big black stinking c*ck.
TheAmicko writes:
on March 16th, 2013 at 3:32:22 PM

I guess it can be misused like everything else! But it seems like a clever new way of thinking.And a way to make the real fans voices heard. But i think it should only be used for the small studios (them with the good ideas and heart to try something new) struggling. Then maybe we could se something else than your mainstream blockbusters number 3,4,5,6 etc. being milked. This will probably never happen and maybe it will be misused. But i say give it a shot and maybe we will se some new, smart and exciting projects.
pornfly writes:
on March 16th, 2013 at 3:42:52 PM

thats the attitude,see
Work for my news rag
Your talents have been wasted here
WASTED i tell ya
I'll even give you an editorial column called,'suck my big black c*ck'

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved