WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Michael Shannon Says General Zod is NOT a Villain in "Man of Steel"

Posted: March 15th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Michael Shannon Says General Zod is NOT a Villain in "Man of Steel"Submit Comment
In a new interview with TotalFilm magazine, Michael Shannon revealed that General Zod won't be a villain in the upcoming "Man of Steel" movie, at least not the type of villain that Terrence Stamp played when he portrayed the character.

"[General Zod] is not a villain," explained Shannon. "He's not a villain any more than any other General fighting to protect his people. He doesn't like to just hurt people and steal diamonds; he's focused on being successful at his job."

He continued: "I think the way Terrence Stamp approached it - and this isn't any kind if criticism of his performance - there was something detached about it. Pure, hatred, rage... I think this [characterization] is more ambiguous."

Regarding the suit, Shannon said it had to be created using CGI, because "the real thing would probably crush me."

Click here to read more about "Man of Steel."

Source: TotalFilm, CBM

Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 36 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
on March 15th, 2013 at 6:30:06 AM


he was oscar worthy in TAKE SHELTER

and now he
is in one of the big movies this summer
pornfly writes:
on March 15th, 2013 at 6:38:52 AM

I guess being in the Phantom Zone with a retard and a dyke isnt supposed to alter your perspective and attitude towards others
Taco writes:
on March 15th, 2013 at 6:46:38 AM

How many times do we need to see Supermans origin story? We had the movies in the 80s, tv show in the 90s, Superman returns, smallville for the last 10 yrs...f*ck! Enough.
pornfly writes:
on March 15th, 2013 at 7:10:35 AM

What people is he protecting?
supaflywill writes:
on March 15th, 2013 at 7:16:39 AM

cool !!! general zod proyecting krytonians ?
supaflywill writes:
on March 15th, 2013 at 7:17:13 AM

kneeeeeeeeeeeel before zod lol
i124q writes:
on March 15th, 2013 at 7:46:09 AM

You know I think Shannon would make a pretty good Batman.
Deaft0ne writes:
on March 15th, 2013 at 8:25:58 AM

He's playing the f*cking villain.
BadChadB33 writes:
on March 15th, 2013 at 9:02:16 AM

O dear god, now we're in the age where the villains are not the villains. No more white or black areas its all grey now.
mariachi writes:
on March 15th, 2013 at 10:29:01 AM

Fantastic actor. Personally I like his take on it. Sure, sometimes the more "black & white" villains can be great (Heath Ledger/Joker) but other times a more dynamic take is cool (DeNiro/Heat)
Stapes writes:
on March 15th, 2013 at 10:36:17 AM

Sounds like Shannon is just talking about his character's perspective. Leave it to WP to twist that into a missleading headline.
Biz Malarkey writes:
on March 15th, 2013 at 11:09:42 AM

Well they already have a batman reboot in the works script was just handed in
Biz Malarkey writes:
on March 15th, 2013 at 11:10:55 AM

Source: Latino review

Ip_man writes:
on March 15th, 2013 at 12:02:36 PM

so who's the f*cking villain?
jdl107 writes:
on March 15th, 2013 at 12:49:49 PM

"Sounds like Shannon is just talking about his character's perspective. Leave it to WP to twist that into a missleading headline."

? Misleading? How so?

In Michael Shannon's perspective Zod isn't a villian, which he clearly states. I don't know what you mean.
jdl107 writes:
on March 15th, 2013 at 12:55:34 PM

The hating on this website is becoming way too frequent, to the point where people are now complaining just to complain.

Look, I do it because I hate the mistakes. The reason I take such a strong disliking towards them is because the happen much too often, it can even happen more than once in the same article (Which has happened too much). Also, I very much dislike when I see an article who's source is not accurately stated, I know that the writers sometimes fail to verify their actual source. I guess, simply, I do it because I have a reason. I would call it legitimate as well.
jdl107 writes:
on March 15th, 2013 at 12:57:58 PM

Accidentally clicked the f*cking button, so unfinished comment on my end.

To finish it up, all I wanted so add was how I think the whole "hate on wp" is now becoming cool, status quo. Which I think is, personally, f*cked up. People always have to ruin a good thing.
jdl107 writes:
on March 15th, 2013 at 1:11:39 PM

Anyway, my incessant bitching aside, I really admire the actual thought they are putting into these characters.

Superman's not going to be the simple super guy who can do anything with a grin and who everyone loves and cherishes. Instead he's going to be (Of course, in this day and age) conflicted, confused and he's going to question these powers and why he has them eventually making him question his existence. After TDK, they really didn't have another route to go down, but I admire Superman finally getting this sort of treatment.

And Zod sounding like he's going to be much more than your run-of-the-mill, beat the sh*t out of things, existing for no point other than to cause chaos and blow things up is sounding so good, I'm loving it even more.

Lol, I just finished writing and deleting two to three paragraphs on what I feel a villian is and the misconceptions of them. I derailed so much, you guys would laugh if I had actually went with posting what I was going to post. It actually sounded pretty stupid too.
jdl107 writes:
on March 15th, 2013 at 1:25:41 PM

I'm pretty sure he's not being literal when he say's Zod's not a villain, and if he is then I'm sure he knows that Zod comes from a different place than Supes. A place where if they were to meet (Which they do) then they would have some serious disagreements (Which they absolutely do).

Now I don't know any of this, for sure. I base my criminally simple observation on the fact that they decimate an unfortunate 7-11 because of these (Guaranteed) said disagreements.
Stapes writes:
on March 15th, 2013 at 1:26:37 PM

It's misleading because it places emphasis on the "not" and implies that there is some other villain. By calling it misleading I'm actually giving whoever wrote the report the benefit of the doubt because if the misleading headline is not already intentional then whoever wrote it is a nitwit.
jdl107 writes:
on March 15th, 2013 at 1:35:40 PM

Meant *isn't on the last commet.

@States Mmm, okay. Well I could see where it would confuse some, but imo it was pretty clear to me. The article states "Zod is NOT a villain", and that's exactly what Shannon says. Now I honestly don't see where it implies another villain is involved, but isn't there? Faora?
jdl107 writes:
on March 15th, 2013 at 1:36:43 PM


Geeze, I'm about as bad as old AlexGI today.
minkowski writes:
on March 15th, 2013 at 2:42:40 PM

I don't like the news. Sorry JDL. Just don't. I understand the humanization of the villain. Michael Mann did it that way, way before Noland and far better, but Superman NEEDS a raging dangerous hate-filled monster to fight or else why have all the powers and abilities he has? Just to appeal to Zod's recessed core of humanity? Zod's the kind of guy you would take the UN, a Saddam Hussein, an Idi Amin, not battle across Metropolis, e.g. Doomsday. Sounds like a bad guy you could like, understand, and that's not really the purpose here, even if it is more realistic, i.e., boring, less energizing, et cetera.

Sounds like more of Nolan's pretensions, more of him getting his head up his ass and trying to turn what was Saturday morning fare into a f*cking pseudo-intellectual soap opera for people who falsely imagine they're smarter than everyone else because Nolan's dry characterizations and contrived plot devices pander to their misplaced vanity.

Zod's a weak villain, no match for the Man of Steel, and doesn't fully exploit his powers. Now we see Zod isn't much of a villain, just a guy doing his job, and here's Supes interfering with that job. Sounds like a f*cking snooze-fest. Sounds like Nolan has once again taken the fun out of rooting for the good guy, and on a property where rooting for the good guy is ALL OF THE FUN.

Stupid, and I once again get the feeling Nolan doesn't really understand comics and their purpose at all, his juvenile aping of Heat in The Dark Knight notwithstanding.
minkowski writes:
on March 15th, 2013 at 2:44:09 PM

Next up, the remake of Ultraman, wherein the titular hero sits down with Mothra in the Appomattox of Starbucks to discuss the terms of a treaty to end all hostilities.....zzzzzzzzzzzz.
Stapes writes:
on March 15th, 2013 at 3:06:47 PM

Hopefully his cg suit isn't ridiculous looking. Not optimistic though.
FBO writes:
on March 15th, 2013 at 3:27:19 PM

I swear to Ahura Mazda my theater is gonna get firebombed if Sups and Zod have a giant fight where they realize that they have the same powers on this planet and therefore are equally matched forcing Sups to use his words to calm down Zod or anything as limp wristed as that.
jdl107 writes:
on March 15th, 2013 at 4:12:35 PM

I'm not sure he's being humanized, I mean that's how the crew are treating the character.

But what they're holding back and what seems to be the most obvious is that Zod's an alien from Krypton, as is Superman, snd the only reason Superman sympathizes with us is because he was raised by humans. It would be very stupid for them to say that Zod cares about humans, and I know, I know, that's what it seems like they're basically saying. What I got from his statement here is that Zod does what he needs to do, he may not like it if people get in the way and get hurt, and he may not be coming about the job like your average mad villain does, but nowhere (I haven't read the full excerpt, just what was posted here) does it say he relates to humans. I don't know, I guess I could speculate and guess (Basically, that's what I'd be doing) all day, all I know is that Zod is a villain, but they're making him something more for reasons not known yet, hence "ambiguous". He's definately not there to have tea with Supes and make friendly conversation with humans.

Imo, it sounds anything (In the positive aspect) but boring. I highly welcome them trying to make Supes and his world/villains more complex, if this movie was just Saturday morning fare I wouldn't be interested, at all. I want to see Zod conflicted with having to possibly eradicate life in regards to the mission, and something more than another generic villain. I'm sick of that sh*t.

Anyway, well made points Mink.
minkowski writes:
on March 15th, 2013 at 4:41:21 PM

^^All I want is lots and lots of Superman-like fighting. That's it. Don't care about Zod's childhood or Superman's issues with the color red. Just massive scale epic battles. Nothing more, but get the feeling we will NEVER see Superman put to screen like most us boys-at-heart imagine.
minkowski writes:
on March 15th, 2013 at 4:41:39 PM

And thanks jdl. You too, as usual.
jdl107 writes:
on March 15th, 2013 at 4:55:34 PM

Ah, I know what you mean, and I personally feel that we will get that movie. Judging from all the things I've read on CBM (Most of them taken with salt, but a lot of things like Zod's massive robot army have been frequently pointed out so it seems that one's true, you might have to read those reports yourself) and the Comic Con trailer I can't see this film not having sufficient action. We see Zod and Supes flying at each other during dawn in Metropolis, we see someone (Presumably Zod) launch Superman into a bank vault, there's the quick shot of the Kryptonian ships amongst explosions that looked good. Overall maybe this movie will have a lot of action, maybe it will have just enough, either way I'm in the belief that it has enough to tickle my fancy.

But yes, leading up to that and during we are going to get a lot of Nolan excess, that's a given, that's inevitable. Still, as long as there's action and not too much somber exposition I'm going to go ahead and give Nolan's style a pass. I'm under the impression that Snyder's hand was held the whole time, and if it involves the film being better that's okay, I just hope WB can get along in the future without Nolan's say so. That being said it seems like Chris is holding studios hand too. Shame.
jdl107 writes:
on March 15th, 2013 at 4:57:26 PM

Not sure why you haven't reported this yet, Alex, but the actors have arrived in Canada, and from a local news report it seems the Godzilla reboot will start shooting next week.

If they haven't already started some preliminary photography, that is.
jdl107 writes:
on March 15th, 2013 at 4:59:38 PM

I forgot to note that while the action scenes looked good, they were like maybe a half second long. though I'm sure they're part of a bigger picture. Damn well better be massive.
minkowski writes:
on March 15th, 2013 at 6:35:07 PM

^^I'm still excited, but I like to get in the old cynical bashing mode when it strikes me.

Just hope Man of Steel isn't grey and grim and somber (like Nolan's Batman) and the battle(s) far more pretentiously pensive than effusively ebullient.
sedibus writes:
on March 15th, 2013 at 8:38:36 PM

I'm watching the latest Conan movie, that Momoa and Nispel rendition.

They surely filmed it the worst possible way they could.

I mean. Really, I haven't seen any full length episode of A Game of Thrones but what I've seen so far looks incredible more topnotch than that f*cking crap.

Although I'm pretty sure the Conan stories are greater than any of the A Game of Thrones ones.
SACdaddy writes:
on March 15th, 2013 at 9:16:26 PM

I'd love to see a Superman full of fights and destruction but I also want to see Snyder carve his own niche with the characters and story too. There should be something that makes this film different from the rest. Just making Zod a cookie cutter over the top villain is boring imo. Making him a soldier caring out a mission, or even better a Napoleonic general hell bent on conquest and assimilation just sounds better than just some guy seeking revenge against the son of his jailer. It would be cool to see him try to reshape human civilization to his ideal Kryptonian standards. Maybe even make his warped vision society be the source of the conflict on Krypton that got him jailed in the first place.

It would be even cooler imo if Nolan made General Zod a tragic figure of Krypton's past that was banished because its people wanted to free themselves from the dictatorial warmongering society they had become. Make him a casualty of change or a relic of a past that Jorel and the rest of his world tried to move beyond in order to create a freer utopia. Maybe the battle for this change leads to the ultimate destruction of the planet which prompts Jorel to send his son to Earth to plant the seeds of the utopia he could never achieve. Crowe's speech in earlier trailers about Superman inspiring humans to eventually "join" him somewhat backs this narrative. Either way it would be a nice way to add something new to the origin story and give it and it characters more purpose imo.
makingcircles writes:
on March 19th, 2013 at 4:12:19 PM

Here is my prediction...Zod comes to earth to find Superman because Jorel(sups dad)is somewhat of a war criminal defying Kryptonian instructions. So Zod probably either convinces humans to turn Superman in or starts killing humans to get Superman to surrender. Then Zod looks upon earth and decides this would be a great place to start a new Krypton with the survivors (assuming those ships in the trailer are carrying more than 3 people)which in his eyes would be a good deed but of course would make Zod a villian for mankind. So Lois bails supes out of prison by convincing the powers that be that Superman is the only one who can stop Zod. Big fight...bada bing bada boom...Happy Ending that will set up multiple sequels.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved