WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Veronica Mars" Movie is Happening, Thanks to KickStarter and 40,000 Fans

Posted: March 14th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Veronica Mars" Movie is Happening, Thanks to KickStarter and 40,000 FansSubmit Comment
We've been hearing about a "Veronica Mars" movie, based on Kristen Bell's TV series, for many years. And now it's actually happening, thanks to the many fans who donated money via a KickStarter campaign.

"Veronica Mars" creator Rob Thomas realized that he can't make the movie without Warner Bros' permission. So he approached the studio and asked for permission to attempt to raise $2 million on KickStarter. Warners agreed, promising to pay for all the marketing and distribution of Thomas is successful.

So Thomas created the campaign on KickStarter, hoping to be able to raise close to $2 million in thirty days. But it turned out that he raised the full $2 million in less than one day. In fact, he's already at $2.5 million thanks to 40,000 fans who donated money.

So as of now, consider "Veronica Mars" in pre-production. The goal is to begin filming this summer and have the film in theaters early next year.

Source: KickStarter


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 24 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Taco writes:
on March 14th, 2013 at 7:08:49 AM

Kickstarter is great. But we also need an anti-kickstarter to let Hollywood know what movies we dont want made. It could be huge. sh*t. Im off the the patent office now.
pornfly writes:
on March 14th, 2013 at 7:12:01 AM

Talk about givin 24 fans a kick to the balls
boogiel writes:
on March 14th, 2013 at 7:37:42 AM

I'm more concerned with how much would I have to pledge for a sex date with Kristin!
bandolero999 writes:
on March 14th, 2013 at 7:43:19 AM

and she wont even get naked or go interacial.
ENFORCER writes:
on March 14th, 2013 at 7:59:27 AM

I have never heard of this, irrelevant to me.
M. Bullitt writes:
on March 14th, 2013 at 8:13:55 AM

^ ^ It figures since you're an ignorant c*nt!
BadChadB33 writes:
on March 14th, 2013 at 8:47:25 AM

How can he year about when he's got that fat bitch sitting on his face whom he's giving a rim job too.
McQueen writes:
on March 14th, 2013 at 9:05:03 AM

^ ^ Yes indeed, how can he?
Digital Desperado writes:
on March 14th, 2013 at 9:10:42 AM

"Warners agreed, promising to pay for all the marketing and distribution of Thomas is successful." What the hell does this mean? Warners is gonna pimp Rob Thomasī ass to pay for this movie? Thatīs stupid. They should pay for the distribution of Kristen Bellīs ass!!
Anyway, I donīt give a f*ck about this movie...


velocityknown writes:
on March 14th, 2013 at 9:26:24 AM

"Veronica Mars" creator Rob Thomas realized that he can't make the movie without Warner Bros' permission. So he approached the studio and asked for permission to attempt to raise $2 million on KickStarter. Warners agreed, promising to pay for all the marketing and distribution of Thomas is successful.

Proofreading: It's a thing.
cress writes:
on March 14th, 2013 at 9:39:04 AM

These fans are from the same town as Twilight fans--Stupidville.
Cannon writes:
on March 14th, 2013 at 9:44:57 AM


f*ck this. Put Bell in 50 Shades of Grey instead.


...or on YouPorn.

Tanman32123 writes:
on March 14th, 2013 at 11:18:54 AM

That's actually crazy, 40,000 fans can do this? Then like.. What the f*ck are they waiting for the The X-Files 3!? Get that sh*t Kickstarted lol

And if not THAT then like.. Iunno, I could think of at least 3 shows that deserve a movie, Or even to be 'un' Canceled, Get Kickstarted on that sh*t!

Mo- f*ckas!
BadChadB33 writes:
on March 14th, 2013 at 11:38:45 AM

^ word!!!
minkowski writes:
on March 14th, 2013 at 4:34:09 PM

Pretty cool the way Kickstarter bypasses the traditional capital investment routes these days, but really kind of a waste to make this sh*t.
minkowski writes:
on March 14th, 2013 at 4:46:55 PM

How about an entire television network funded with Kickstarter? Basically the funders would determine what's shown. Fresh new movies, new shows, et cetera. Lot of potential for this, and it would potentially drain the traditional studios of revenue.
minkowski writes:
on March 14th, 2013 at 5:46:46 PM

Potentially.
Dreamcast writes:
on March 14th, 2013 at 6:23:17 PM

I still don't get how Warner Bros can throw away $200 million on Jack the Giant Slayer (with another $100 of good-money-after-bad pissed away in marketing) but they can't afford $2 million for a property with a build-in fan base and no expensive special effects where the cast and creator are willing to work for whatever it takes to get the movie made? WTF?
Rocksteddy writes:
on March 14th, 2013 at 6:35:24 PM

So much wasted ideas and great money over something that stopped being relevant when Bush was still president.








I just give up. I don't give a flying samurai fart about Hollywood anymore, I'm sticking with my straight to DVD releases.
BillyBunter writes:
on March 14th, 2013 at 7:39:53 PM

You guys see that yahoo mini series burning love with Bell? It was pretty funny. I also ended up getting sucked in to watching Veronica Mars, it was not a bad show.
minkowski writes:
on March 14th, 2013 at 7:57:09 PM

@Rocksteddy: lol. You crack me up.
minkowski writes:
on March 14th, 2013 at 8:00:23 PM

"I still don't get how Warner Bros can throw away $200 million on Jack the Giant Slayer (with another $100 of good-money-after-bad pissed away in marketing) but they can't afford $2 million for a property with a build-in fan base and no expensive special effects where the cast and creator are willing to work for whatever it takes to get the movie made? WTF?"

Dude, it's simple. They look at the long term .What's going to bring healthy derivatives in the form of lucrative sequels. Every studio wants a bevy of frat franchises to milk, and sh*t like this Erin Brockovich or whatever isn't a marketable product.

I think people confuse something having a 'fan base', which is almost exclusionary, to a franchise that can appeal to a broader audience, and that's the difference here. If you can't export it to the world, it ain't worth the time or money, which is the same f*cking thing.
BillyBunter writes:
on March 14th, 2013 at 8:59:14 PM

Pretty much spot on there Mink with what you said, they did project Jack would have legs overseas but its only been released in Asia and brought in around 22 million so far. its at around 66 million with domestic and foreign, so i dont know how well this will be recieved everywhere else. But i dare say warner are taking a hit, DVD and Blueray sales plus TV showing rights will bring in more future cash so who knows.
ENFORCER writes:
on March 15th, 2013 at 5:29:24 AM

You f*cking dimwit.

Firstly I only rim attractive ladies with apple type ass's.

Secondly I don't know what Veronica Mars is because I DON'T WATCH WOMENS TV SHOWS. So calling me an ignorant c*nt, is wrong term you faggot sucking *sshole.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved