WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Will Smith's "Focus" Takes Top Spot at Box Office
Mar 2nd, 2015
Michelle Rodriguez Apologizes For White People's Superheroes Comment
Mar 1st, 2015
"Star Trek" Actor Leonard Nimoy Dead at 83
Feb 28th, 2015
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Unveils Black Widow, Thor and Nick Fury Posters
Feb 28th, 2015
First Look at Eddie Redmayne as First Transgender Person in "The Danish Girl"
Feb 28th, 2015
Leonardo DiCaprio to Have 24 Personalities in "The Crowded Room"
Feb 28th, 2015
"Brewster's Millions" Remake Gets a Director
Feb 28th, 2015
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Unveils The Hulk Poster
Feb 27th, 2015
Director Neill Blomkamp Says His "Elysium" Film is Not Very Good
Feb 27th, 2015
Harrison Ford Confirmed for "Blade Runner 2," Director Announced
Feb 27th, 2015
Neill Blomkamp Clarifies His "Alien 5" Comments
Feb 27th, 2015
"Red Sonja" is Happening Again
Feb 27th, 2015
Neill Blomkamp's "Alien" Sequel Will Give Ripley a Proper Ending
Feb 26th, 2015
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Unveils Iron Man Poster
Feb 26th, 2015
Official "Creed" Plot Synopsis Hints at Rocky's Health Issues
Feb 26th, 2015
Four New Photos From "Fantastic Four" Reboot
Feb 26th, 2015
"Tomb Raider" Reboot Hires "Divergent" Writer
Feb 26th, 2015
Poster for Marvel's "Avengers: Age of Ultron"
Feb 25th, 2015
Arnold Schwarzenegger Says He'll Return For "Terminator Genisys" Sequel
Feb 25th, 2015
Dark "Power Rangers" Short Film with James Van Der Beek
Feb 25th, 2015
"The LEGO Movie" Sequel Announces Director
Feb 25th, 2015
Next Spider-Man Will NOT Be White?
Feb 24th, 2015
Chris Pratt Comments on Starring in "Indiana Jones 5"
Feb 24th, 2015
Rooney Mara Says "Girl With the Dragon Tattoo" Sequel is Dead
Feb 24th, 2015
New Trailer for Sean Penn's "The Gunman" Action Film, From Director of "Taken"
Feb 24th, 2015
"Fifty Shades of Grey" Still First at Box Office, "Hot Tub Time Machine 2" Bombs
Feb 23rd, 2015
Academy Award Winners Announced!
Feb 22nd, 2015
Steven Spielberg May Direct Chris Pratt in "Indiana Jones 5"
Feb 22nd, 2015
Hugh Jackman Wants to Play Wolverine Until He Dies
Feb 22nd, 2015
"Wonder Woman" Set to Begin Filming This Fall
Feb 22nd, 2015
2015 Razzie Winners Announced!
Feb 22nd, 2015
Trailer for "Infinitely Polar Bear," with Mark Ruffalo and Zoe Saldana
Feb 22nd, 2015
First Look: Jason Momoa is Aquaman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Feb 21st, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Sony to Turn "Good Times" TV Show Into a Movie

Posted: March 13th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Sony to Turn "Good Times" TV Show Into a MovieSubmit Comment
Sony Pictures and producer Scott Rudin (The Social Network) are planning to turn the 1970s TV show "Good Times" into a feature film. Phil Johnston (Wreck-It Ralph, Cedar Rapids) has been hired to write the script.

"Good Times" focused on working-class couple James and Florida Evans as they raised three kids while struggling with hard financial times, unemployment and keeping their kids away from temptations that came with living in a Chicago housing project. The movie will be set in the 1960s.

The show aired on CBS from 1974-79 and was one of many social aware sitcoms by Norman Lear that mixed comedy with serious issues. Others include "All In the Family," "One Day At a Time" and Maude."

Source: Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 11 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
cress writes:
on March 13th, 2013 at 6:40:58 AM

That's DYNO-MITE!
BadChadB33 writes:
on March 13th, 2013 at 8:34:09 AM

Dear God!!
Deaft0ne writes:
on March 13th, 2013 at 8:49:57 AM

Dave Chappelle for J.J. Evans.
Kurskij writes:
on March 13th, 2013 at 2:08:10 PM

Never heard of it. Don't give a (black) rats ass.
Kurskij writes:
on March 13th, 2013 at 2:08:56 PM

When I saw the pic I thought its about Jackson 5. Now that would've been hardcore
jatilq writes:
on March 13th, 2013 at 4:11:44 PM

I don't see a reason for this movie now, because of the "Times" we are in now.

Would be interesting to see Janet Jackson in it because her first acting role was in the show as the abused little girl.
minkowski writes:
on March 13th, 2013 at 4:40:13 PM

Maybe. I might see this working, depending on the cast and the writer; the director wouldn't have to be anyone special.

But it would have to possess a cross-cultural appeal to really work, unless they're low-balling the budget and aiming at blacks only, which isn't unlikely.

It is difficult to imagine who could replace JJ though. Marlon Wayans perhaps.


Sad that this is the most interesting movie news on here today, btw. Really, really f*cking sad.
minkowski writes:
on March 13th, 2013 at 4:41:14 PM

Yeah, okay, the guy who did Wreck-It Ralph is probably more than capable. Good choice.
pornfly writes:
on March 13th, 2013 at 7:00:43 PM

I thought HoneyBooBoo was the white Good Times
cress writes:
on March 13th, 2013 at 10:17:06 PM

When I was a little kid, I always wanted to be spanked by Esther Rolle. What a fine piece of ass she was. Everyone else had a boner for Thelma. Not me. It was always Esther Rolle. Then one day my mother took me to an optometrist and I got glasses. I watched the show afterwards and thought to myself, "Man, I was one blind little f*cker. That woman is f*cking hideous. And who the f*ck is that? Is that Janet Jackson? Damn, she looks good!" From then on, it was always Janet Jackson.
CelluloidMan writes:
on March 14th, 2013 at 3:18:44 AM

Who I remember more from that show was John Amos.

He went on to movies and was a real f*cking badass in THE BEASTMASTER. Anyone remember that one? It was directed by Don Coscarelli, director of the PHANTASM series...It was camp, but a good campy movie. The special effects don't suck too much for its time...

I later saw Amos on Eddie Murphy's COMING TO AMERICA.

But what I remember most of THE BEASTMASTER was Tanya Roberts...OH. SWEET. MOSES. I still remember wearing out the rewind & pause buttons on my dad's VHS player on the rental. Later on the DVD's special features deleted outtakes, she had a scene where a wind blew up her short dress up and revealed she wasn't wearing any panties!! DAAAAMMNN!! Now those were women!!

Catch her in her prime at minute 35.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Vz5iwJEbUjQ

(sigh)

As you guys so succintly put it, "BA-BOING!! Oh yes, ba-boing indeed.

Joss Whedon Blames Edgar Wright for Not Having Ant-Man in "Avengers: Age of Ultron"

Will Smith Trashes "Another Earth," Vince Vaughn Trashes "The Internship"

More Details on Marvel's Spider-Man Deal, New Spider-Man to be Younger

Mark Ruffalo Discusses The Hulk in "Avengers: Age of Ultron" and in New Solo Film

It's Official: Spider-Man to Appear in Marvel Films

Next Spider-Man Will NOT Be White?

Matthew Vaughn Reveals His Version of Quicksilver Scene in "X-Men: Days of Future Past"

Director Matthew Vaughn Wanted Two Wolverines in "X-Men: Days of Future Past"

Confirmed: Neill Blomkamp Will Direct New "Alien" Film

Jared Leto Talks Playing The Joker in "Suicide Squad"
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved