WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
Final Trailer for "Spectre" James Bond Film
Oct 3rd, 2015
Trailer for Kurt Russell's "Bone Tomahawk" Western
Oct 3rd, 2015
Reboot of "MacGyver" TV Series in the Works with James Wan
Oct 3rd, 2015
Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Oct 2nd, 2015
Final Poster for "The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 2"
Oct 2nd, 2015
Trailer for "The Forest" Supernatural Thriller
Oct 2nd, 2015
New Trailer for Leonardo DiCaprio's "The Revenant" Thriller
Oct 1st, 2015
First Look: Andrew Garfield in Mel Gibson's "Hacksaw Ridge"
Oct 1st, 2015
Matthew Vaughn to Direct "I Am Pilgrim" Thriller
Oct 1st, 2015
Vin Diesel Says "Furious 8" is Part of Last Trilogy
Sep 29th, 2015
Danny Boyle to Shoot "Trainspotting" Sequel Next Summer
Sep 29th, 2015
Matt Damon Would Play Daredevil if Christopher Nolan Directed
Sep 27th, 2015
Ridley Scott Says "Prometheus 2" Will Have Connections to Ripley
Sep 27th, 2015
Sigourney Weaver Joins "Ghostbusters" Reboot
Sep 27th, 2015
Matt Damon Discusses "Bourne" Plot Details
Sep 27th, 2015
First Look at Woody Harrelson as President Johnson in "LBJ" Biopic
Sep 27th, 2015
Title of "Prometheus" Sequel Revealed
Sep 26th, 2015
New "Men in Black" Film Moving Forward Without Will Smith
Sep 26th, 2015
Hugh Jackman Wants Tom Hardy to Replace Him as Wolverine
Sep 26th, 2015
Trailer for "Truth," with Robert Redford and Cate Blanchett
Sep 26th, 2015
Trailer for "Angry Birds" Movie is Here!
Sep 24th, 2015
Trailer for "The Big Short," with Christian Bale, Brad Pitt, Ryan Gosling and Steve Carell
Sep 24th, 2015
Ridley Scott Planning Three "Prometheus" Sequels
Sep 23rd, 2015
"John Wick 2" to Shoot this Fall, Keanu Reeves Will Return
Sep 23rd, 2015
New Trailer for "The Peanuts Movie"
Sep 23rd, 2015
Liam Neeson's "Taken" Franchise to Become a Prequel TV Series
Sep 21st, 2015
Brie Larson Joins Steve Carell in "Battle of the Sexes" Tennis Drama
Sep 21st, 2015
"Hardcore" Sells to STX for $10 Million After Week-Long Bidding War
Sep 19th, 2015
Bryan Singer's Next Film is "20,000 Leagues Under the Sea"
Sep 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Bus 657" Action Thriller, with Robert De Niro and Jeffrey Dean Morgan
Sep 19th, 2015
New Trailer for "Point Break" Remake
Sep 19th, 2015
New Trailer for Vin Diesel's "The Last Witch Hunter" Supernatural Film
Sep 19th, 2015
Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult
Sep 17th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Sony to Turn "Good Times" TV Show Into a Movie

Posted: March 13th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Sony to Turn "Good Times" TV Show Into a MovieSubmit Comment
Sony Pictures and producer Scott Rudin (The Social Network) are planning to turn the 1970s TV show "Good Times" into a feature film. Phil Johnston (Wreck-It Ralph, Cedar Rapids) has been hired to write the script.

"Good Times" focused on working-class couple James and Florida Evans as they raised three kids while struggling with hard financial times, unemployment and keeping their kids away from temptations that came with living in a Chicago housing project. The movie will be set in the 1960s.

The show aired on CBS from 1974-79 and was one of many social aware sitcoms by Norman Lear that mixed comedy with serious issues. Others include "All In the Family," "One Day At a Time" and Maude."

Source: Deadline

Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 11 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
cress writes:
on March 13th, 2013 at 6:40:58 AM

BadChadB33 writes:
on March 13th, 2013 at 8:34:09 AM

Dear God!!
Deaft0ne writes:
on March 13th, 2013 at 8:49:57 AM

Dave Chappelle for J.J. Evans.
Kurskij writes:
on March 13th, 2013 at 2:08:10 PM

Never heard of it. Don't give a (black) rats ass.
Kurskij writes:
on March 13th, 2013 at 2:08:56 PM

When I saw the pic I thought its about Jackson 5. Now that would've been hardcore
jatilq writes:
on March 13th, 2013 at 4:11:44 PM

I don't see a reason for this movie now, because of the "Times" we are in now.

Would be interesting to see Janet Jackson in it because her first acting role was in the show as the abused little girl.
minkowski writes:
on March 13th, 2013 at 4:40:13 PM

Maybe. I might see this working, depending on the cast and the writer; the director wouldn't have to be anyone special.

But it would have to possess a cross-cultural appeal to really work, unless they're low-balling the budget and aiming at blacks only, which isn't unlikely.

It is difficult to imagine who could replace JJ though. Marlon Wayans perhaps.

Sad that this is the most interesting movie news on here today, btw. Really, really f*cking sad.
minkowski writes:
on March 13th, 2013 at 4:41:14 PM

Yeah, okay, the guy who did Wreck-It Ralph is probably more than capable. Good choice.
pornfly writes:
on March 13th, 2013 at 7:00:43 PM

I thought HoneyBooBoo was the white Good Times
cress writes:
on March 13th, 2013 at 10:17:06 PM

When I was a little kid, I always wanted to be spanked by Esther Rolle. What a fine piece of ass she was. Everyone else had a boner for Thelma. Not me. It was always Esther Rolle. Then one day my mother took me to an optometrist and I got glasses. I watched the show afterwards and thought to myself, "Man, I was one blind little f*cker. That woman is f*cking hideous. And who the f*ck is that? Is that Janet Jackson? Damn, she looks good!" From then on, it was always Janet Jackson.
CelluloidMan writes:
on March 14th, 2013 at 3:18:44 AM

Who I remember more from that show was John Amos.

He went on to movies and was a real f*cking badass in THE BEASTMASTER. Anyone remember that one? It was directed by Don Coscarelli, director of the PHANTASM series...It was camp, but a good campy movie. The special effects don't suck too much for its time...

I later saw Amos on Eddie Murphy's COMING TO AMERICA.

But what I remember most of THE BEASTMASTER was Tanya Roberts...OH. SWEET. MOSES. I still remember wearing out the rewind & pause buttons on my dad's VHS player on the rental. Later on the DVD's special features deleted outtakes, she had a scene where a wind blew up her short dress up and revealed she wasn't wearing any panties!! DAAAAMMNN!! Now those were women!!

Catch her in her prime at minute 35.


As you guys so succintly put it, "BA-BOING!! Oh yes, ba-boing indeed.

General Zod to Have Flippers Instead of Hands in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

Two Ben Affleck Movies Delayed, "Batman" Reboot Happening Earlier?

Director Josh Trank Blames Studio for Terrible "Fantastic Four" Reviews

Charlie Hunnam Says "Pacific Rim 2" Must Focus More on Story Than Visuals

James Wan Joins "Mortal Kombat" Reboot

Hugh Jackman Hints at Sabertooth and Berserker Rage in "Wolverine 3"

Bryan Singer Says "X-Men" and "Fantastic Four" May Soon Unite

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Universal Pictures Already Broke the Record for Highest-Grossing Year

"Transformers 5" Plot Details Revealed
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved