WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Jurassic World" Trailer is Here!
Nov 26th, 2014
Trailer for Hugh Jackman's "Peter Pan" Prequel
Nov 26th, 2014
Ridley Scott Won't Direct "Blade Runner 2," Reveals Story Details
Nov 26th, 2014
Michael Fassbender to Star in Danny Boyle's "Steve Jobs" Biopic
Nov 26th, 2014
Trailer for Jennifer Aniston's "Cake" Arrives Online
Nov 26th, 2014
Oscar Isaac is the Villainous Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Nov 25th, 2014
Michelle MacLaren Will Direct "Wonder Woman" Film
Nov 25th, 2014
Sylvester Stallone Discusses "The Expendables 4" Ideas and Rating
Nov 25th, 2014
New Trailer For "The Interview" Comedy, with James Franco and Seth Rogen
Nov 25th, 2014
First Posters and Photos of Hugh Jackman in "Peter Pan" Prequel
Nov 25th, 2014
Christian Bale Says He Wanted to Play Batman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Nov 24th, 2014
First Footage From "Jurassic World" Arrives Online
Nov 24th, 2014
"Wanted" Producer Says Sequel is Still Happening
Nov 24th, 2014
New Photo of Arnold Schwazenegger as T-800 From "Terminator Genisys"
Nov 24th, 2014
"The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1" Dominates at Box Office, Hits Franchise Low
Nov 23rd, 2014
"Guardians of the Galaxy" Director Says Shared Cinematic Universes Can Be a Mistake
Nov 23rd, 2014
Town Bans Winnie the Pooh for Being Half-Naked
Nov 23rd, 2014
First Poster for "Get Hard" Comedy, with Will Ferrell and Kevin Hart
Nov 22nd, 2014
Angelina Jolie Will Quit Acting to Focus on Directing
Nov 22nd, 2014
Trailer for George Lucas' Animated "Strange Magic" Film
Nov 22nd, 2014
Trailer for "Pitch Perfect 2" Arrives Online
Nov 21st, 2014
"Zoolander 2" is Moving Forward, Penelope Cruz Joins Cast
Nov 21st, 2014
Stephen King's "The Stand" to Become Four Movies
Nov 21st, 2014
First Look: Patrick Stewart is a White Supremacist in "Green Room" Thriller
Nov 21st, 2014
Mel Gibson May Direct "Hacksaw Ridge," with Andrew Garfield to Star
Nov 21st, 2014
Ridley Scott Promises "a Fresher Form of Alien" in "Prometheus 2"
Nov 20th, 2014
Full Trailer for Disney's Live-Action "Cinderella"
Nov 20th, 2014
Trailer for "American Heist" Thriller with Hayden Christensen and Adrien Brody
Nov 20th, 2014
Melissa McCarthy to Star in Live-Action "Tinker Bell" Comedy
Nov 20th, 2014
Al Pacino is an Aging Rock Star in "Danny Collins" Trailer
Nov 20th, 2014
Full Trailer for "Peter Pan Live" Musical, with Christopher Walken as Captain Hook
Nov 20th, 2014
Six Actors in Talks for Cyclops and Jean Grey in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Nov 19th, 2014
How Do Horror Fans Choose Movies? Not By Plot or Cast
Nov 19th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Sony to Turn "Good Times" TV Show Into a Movie

Posted: March 13th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Sony to Turn "Good Times" TV Show Into a MovieSubmit Comment
Sony Pictures and producer Scott Rudin (The Social Network) are planning to turn the 1970s TV show "Good Times" into a feature film. Phil Johnston (Wreck-It Ralph, Cedar Rapids) has been hired to write the script.

"Good Times" focused on working-class couple James and Florida Evans as they raised three kids while struggling with hard financial times, unemployment and keeping their kids away from temptations that came with living in a Chicago housing project. The movie will be set in the 1960s.

The show aired on CBS from 1974-79 and was one of many social aware sitcoms by Norman Lear that mixed comedy with serious issues. Others include "All In the Family," "One Day At a Time" and Maude."

Source: Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 11 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
cress writes:
on March 13th, 2013 at 6:40:58 AM

That's DYNO-MITE!
BadChadB33 writes:
on March 13th, 2013 at 8:34:09 AM

Dear God!!
Deaft0ne writes:
on March 13th, 2013 at 8:49:57 AM

Dave Chappelle for J.J. Evans.
Kurskij writes:
on March 13th, 2013 at 2:08:10 PM

Never heard of it. Don't give a (black) rats ass.
Kurskij writes:
on March 13th, 2013 at 2:08:56 PM

When I saw the pic I thought its about Jackson 5. Now that would've been hardcore
jatilq writes:
on March 13th, 2013 at 4:11:44 PM

I don't see a reason for this movie now, because of the "Times" we are in now.

Would be interesting to see Janet Jackson in it because her first acting role was in the show as the abused little girl.
minkowski writes:
on March 13th, 2013 at 4:40:13 PM

Maybe. I might see this working, depending on the cast and the writer; the director wouldn't have to be anyone special.

But it would have to possess a cross-cultural appeal to really work, unless they're low-balling the budget and aiming at blacks only, which isn't unlikely.

It is difficult to imagine who could replace JJ though. Marlon Wayans perhaps.


Sad that this is the most interesting movie news on here today, btw. Really, really f*cking sad.
minkowski writes:
on March 13th, 2013 at 4:41:14 PM

Yeah, okay, the guy who did Wreck-It Ralph is probably more than capable. Good choice.
pornfly writes:
on March 13th, 2013 at 7:00:43 PM

I thought HoneyBooBoo was the white Good Times
cress writes:
on March 13th, 2013 at 10:17:06 PM

When I was a little kid, I always wanted to be spanked by Esther Rolle. What a fine piece of ass she was. Everyone else had a boner for Thelma. Not me. It was always Esther Rolle. Then one day my mother took me to an optometrist and I got glasses. I watched the show afterwards and thought to myself, "Man, I was one blind little f*cker. That woman is f*cking hideous. And who the f*ck is that? Is that Janet Jackson? Damn, she looks good!" From then on, it was always Janet Jackson.
CelluloidMan writes:
on March 14th, 2013 at 3:18:44 AM

Who I remember more from that show was John Amos.

He went on to movies and was a real f*cking badass in THE BEASTMASTER. Anyone remember that one? It was directed by Don Coscarelli, director of the PHANTASM series...It was camp, but a good campy movie. The special effects don't suck too much for its time...

I later saw Amos on Eddie Murphy's COMING TO AMERICA.

But what I remember most of THE BEASTMASTER was Tanya Roberts...OH. SWEET. MOSES. I still remember wearing out the rewind & pause buttons on my dad's VHS player on the rental. Later on the DVD's special features deleted outtakes, she had a scene where a wind blew up her short dress up and revealed she wasn't wearing any panties!! DAAAAMMNN!! Now those were women!!

Catch her in her prime at minute 35.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Vz5iwJEbUjQ

(sigh)

As you guys so succintly put it, "BA-BOING!! Oh yes, ba-boing indeed.

It's Official! Channing Tatum to Star in "Gambit" Spin-Off

Christian Bale Says He Wanted to Play Batman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

Jim Carrey Says Tommy Lee Jones Hated Him During "Batman Forever" Shoot

Christopher Nolan Hates Post-Credits Scenes, Here's Why

"Thor: Ragnarok" Story Details Revealed

Daniel Bruhl is Villain in "Captain America 3" and "Doctor Strange"

Margot Robbie is Harley Quinn in "Suicide Squad" Comic Book Film

Christopher Nolan Responds to "Interstellar" Sound Controversy

Jared Leto May Play The Joker in "Suicide Squad"

"Captain America: Civil War" Story Details Revealed
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved