WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Disney is NOT Working on "Frozen" Sequel
Apr 23rd, 2014
Disney is Considering Moving "Captain America 3" To a Different Release Date
Apr 23rd, 2014
Lou Ferrigno Will Return to Voice The Hulk in "Avengers: Age of Ultron"
Apr 23rd, 2014
Peeps Candy to Become a Movie
Apr 23rd, 2014
Disney Turning "It's a Small World" Ride Into a Movie
Apr 23rd, 2014
"Pirates of the Caribbean 5" Still Doesn't Have a Script
Apr 23rd, 2014
"Bad Boys 3" Hasn't Happened Due to Bad Timing
Apr 23rd, 2014
First Look: Robert Downey Jr on "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Set
Apr 23rd, 2014
New Photos From Denzel Washington's "The Equalizer" Thriller
Apr 22nd, 2014
Bill Paxton Will Do Anything to Join "Avatar 2"
Apr 22nd, 2014
"Star Wars: Episode VII" Will ONLY Be Based on First Six "Star Wars" Films
Apr 22nd, 2014
Paul WS Anderson Reveals Title for New "Resident Evil" Film
Apr 22nd, 2014
Watch First Five Minutes From "How to Train Your Dragon 2"
Apr 22nd, 2014
"Terminator" Reboot is Officially Filming
Apr 22nd, 2014
Marc Webb Wants J. Jonah Jameson in "The Amazing Spider-Man 3"
Apr 22nd, 2014
Trailer for "The Grand Seduction," with Taylor Kitsch and Brendan Gleeson
Apr 22nd, 2014
First Look: Paul Walker's Brothers on "Fast and Furious 7" Set
Apr 22nd, 2014
Danny Boyle and Leonardo DiCaprio in Talks for Steve Jobs Biopic
Apr 22nd, 2014
Steven Spielberg Wrote the Story for "The Goonies" Sequel
Apr 22nd, 2014
New Poster for Tom Cruise's "Edge of Tomorrow" Sci-Fi Film
Apr 21st, 2014
Writer Says "Fantastic Four" is a Coming of Age Story
Apr 21st, 2014
"Bioshock" Movie May Still Be Alive
Apr 21st, 2014
Rubin "Hurricane" Carter, the Boxer and Inspiration for Denzel Washington's Movie, Dead at 76
Apr 21st, 2014
"Captain America: The Winter Soldier" Still Dominating at Box Office, Johnny Depp's "Transcendence" Bombs
Apr 20th, 2014
"X-Men: Apocalypse" to Focus on Younger Cast, Patrick Stewart Says He May Still Return
Apr 20th, 2014
Hayden Panettiere Won't Return for "Heroes: Reborn" TV Series
Apr 20th, 2014
Trailer for Michael C. Hall's "Cold in July" Thriller
Apr 20th, 2014
Parents Freaking Out Over "Frozen" Merchandise Shortage
Apr 19th, 2014
Is "Batman vs Superman" Changing Its Release Date to Avoid "Captain America 3" Competition?
Apr 19th, 2014
First Look at Ryan Gosling's Directorial Debut "Lost River"
Apr 19th, 2014
Jaden Smith to Play a Slave in "The Good Lord Bird"
Apr 19th, 2014
New Trailer for "The Normal Heart," with Mark Ruffalo and Julia Roberts
Apr 19th, 2014
Producers Say Spider-Man Will Only Join "X-Men" or "The Avengers" When They Run Out of Ideas
Apr 19th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Sony to Turn "Good Times" TV Show Into a Movie

Posted: March 13th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Sony to Turn "Good Times" TV Show Into a MovieSubmit Comment
Sony Pictures and producer Scott Rudin (The Social Network) are planning to turn the 1970s TV show "Good Times" into a feature film. Phil Johnston (Wreck-It Ralph, Cedar Rapids) has been hired to write the script.

"Good Times" focused on working-class couple James and Florida Evans as they raised three kids while struggling with hard financial times, unemployment and keeping their kids away from temptations that came with living in a Chicago housing project. The movie will be set in the 1960s.

The show aired on CBS from 1974-79 and was one of many social aware sitcoms by Norman Lear that mixed comedy with serious issues. Others include "All In the Family," "One Day At a Time" and Maude."

Source: Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 11 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
cress writes:
on March 13th, 2013 at 6:40:58 AM

That's DYNO-MITE!
BadChadB33 writes:
on March 13th, 2013 at 8:34:09 AM

Dear God!!
Deaft0ne writes:
on March 13th, 2013 at 8:49:57 AM

Dave Chappelle for J.J. Evans.
Kurskij writes:
on March 13th, 2013 at 2:08:10 PM

Never heard of it. Don't give a (black) rats ass.
Kurskij writes:
on March 13th, 2013 at 2:08:56 PM

When I saw the pic I thought its about Jackson 5. Now that would've been hardcore
jatilq writes:
on March 13th, 2013 at 4:11:44 PM

I don't see a reason for this movie now, because of the "Times" we are in now.

Would be interesting to see Janet Jackson in it because her first acting role was in the show as the abused little girl.
minkowski writes:
on March 13th, 2013 at 4:40:13 PM

Maybe. I might see this working, depending on the cast and the writer; the director wouldn't have to be anyone special.

But it would have to possess a cross-cultural appeal to really work, unless they're low-balling the budget and aiming at blacks only, which isn't unlikely.

It is difficult to imagine who could replace JJ though. Marlon Wayans perhaps.


Sad that this is the most interesting movie news on here today, btw. Really, really f*cking sad.
minkowski writes:
on March 13th, 2013 at 4:41:14 PM

Yeah, okay, the guy who did Wreck-It Ralph is probably more than capable. Good choice.
pornfly writes:
on March 13th, 2013 at 7:00:43 PM

I thought HoneyBooBoo was the white Good Times
cress writes:
on March 13th, 2013 at 10:17:06 PM

When I was a little kid, I always wanted to be spanked by Esther Rolle. What a fine piece of ass she was. Everyone else had a boner for Thelma. Not me. It was always Esther Rolle. Then one day my mother took me to an optometrist and I got glasses. I watched the show afterwards and thought to myself, "Man, I was one blind little f*cker. That woman is f*cking hideous. And who the f*ck is that? Is that Janet Jackson? Damn, she looks good!" From then on, it was always Janet Jackson.
CelluloidMan writes:
on March 14th, 2013 at 3:18:44 AM

Who I remember more from that show was John Amos.

He went on to movies and was a real f*cking badass in THE BEASTMASTER. Anyone remember that one? It was directed by Don Coscarelli, director of the PHANTASM series...It was camp, but a good campy movie. The special effects don't suck too much for its time...

I later saw Amos on Eddie Murphy's COMING TO AMERICA.

But what I remember most of THE BEASTMASTER was Tanya Roberts...OH. SWEET. MOSES. I still remember wearing out the rewind & pause buttons on my dad's VHS player on the rental. Later on the DVD's special features deleted outtakes, she had a scene where a wind blew up her short dress up and revealed she wasn't wearing any panties!! DAAAAMMNN!! Now those were women!!

Catch her in her prime at minute 35.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Vz5iwJEbUjQ

(sigh)

As you guys so succintly put it, "BA-BOING!! Oh yes, ba-boing indeed.

"The Goonies" Sequel is Confirmed by Director

James Cameron Gives "Avatar" Sequels Update, Comments on Arnold Schwarzenegger Rumor

"Captain America: The Winter Soldier" Remains Box Office Champ

"X-Men" Director Bryan Singer Accused of Raping 17-Year-Old Boy

Parents Freaking Out Over "Frozen" Merchandise Shortage

Marvel Hints at "Iron Man 4" Development

Zack Snyder Explains Why Batman is in "Man of Steel" Sequel

Hugh Jackman Wants Channing Tatum to Take Over Wolverine Role

Anthony Mackie Almost Got Arrested Signing "Captain America 2" Falcon Posters

"Mrs. Doubtfire" Actress Wants Nothing to Do With Sequel
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved