WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Furious 7" Continues to Dominate at Box Office, "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Released Overseas
Apr 27th, 2015
Trailer for "Descendants," About Children of Disney Villains
Apr 27th, 2015
Reed Richards Doesn't Stretch in "Fantastic Four" Reboot
Apr 26th, 2015
New Footage in Extended "Terminator Genisys" TV Spot
Apr 26th, 2015
"Green Lantern" Writer Hired for "Wolverine 3"
Apr 26th, 2015
First Look at Jared Leto as The Joker from "Suicide Squad"!
Apr 25th, 2015
Trailer for M. Night Shyamalan's "The Visit" Thriller
Apr 25th, 2015
Trailer for "Area 51" Horror Film, From Director of "Paranormal Activity"
Apr 25th, 2015
First Look at Jamie Dornan in "Fifty Shades of Grey" Sequel
Apr 25th, 2015
Creepy Trailer for Johnny Depp's "Black Mass"
Apr 25th, 2015
First Look at Daniel Radcliffe and James McAvoy in "Victor Frankenstein"
Apr 25th, 2015
Trailer for "Barely Lethal" Action Comedy, with Hailee Steinfeld and Jessica Alba
Apr 25th, 2015
Five Actors in Talks for "Spider-Man" Reboot
Apr 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Point Break" Remake
Apr 23rd, 2015
EL James' Husband to Write "Fifty Shades of Grey" Sequel
Apr 23rd, 2015
"21 Jump Street" Directors to Helm Animated "Spider-Man" Movie
Apr 23rd, 2015
Photo: Johnny Depp is Crime Boss Whitey Bulger in "Black Mass"
Apr 23rd, 2015
First Look at Johnny Depp in "Pirates of the Caribbean 5"
Apr 22nd, 2015
New Trailer for George Clooney's "Tomorrowland" Sci-Fi Film
Apr 22nd, 2015
First Poster for M. Night Shyamalan's "The Visit" Thriller
Apr 22nd, 2015
Poster for Jake Gyllenhaal's "Southpaw" Boxing Film
Apr 22nd, 2015
New "Jurassic World" Trailer is Here!
Apr 21st, 2015
First Look at Jared Leto as The Joker From "Suicide Squad"?
Apr 21st, 2015
Photos: Marvel Putting Up Tiny "Ant-Man" Billboards
Apr 21st, 2015
"Transformers 5" Coming in 2017
Apr 21st, 2015
Photo: Full Batman Costume From "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Revealed
Apr 21st, 2015
Full "Fantastic Four" Trailer is Here!
Apr 20th, 2015
Teaser for "Star Wars" Spin-Off Film Leaked Online!
Apr 20th, 2015
Two "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Teaser Posters
Apr 20th, 2015
"Furious 7" Crosses $1 Billion at Box Office
Apr 20th, 2015
Trailer for Ridiculous "Mega Shark vs Kolossus"
Apr 20th, 2015
Chris Pratt and His Raptors in New "Jurassic World" Poster
Apr 20th, 2015
George Lucas Says Marvel May Remake "Howard the Duck"
Apr 19th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Sony to Turn "Good Times" TV Show Into a Movie

Posted: March 13th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Sony to Turn "Good Times" TV Show Into a MovieSubmit Comment
Sony Pictures and producer Scott Rudin (The Social Network) are planning to turn the 1970s TV show "Good Times" into a feature film. Phil Johnston (Wreck-It Ralph, Cedar Rapids) has been hired to write the script.

"Good Times" focused on working-class couple James and Florida Evans as they raised three kids while struggling with hard financial times, unemployment and keeping their kids away from temptations that came with living in a Chicago housing project. The movie will be set in the 1960s.

The show aired on CBS from 1974-79 and was one of many social aware sitcoms by Norman Lear that mixed comedy with serious issues. Others include "All In the Family," "One Day At a Time" and Maude."

Source: Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 11 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
cress writes:
on March 13th, 2013 at 6:40:58 AM

That's DYNO-MITE!
BadChadB33 writes:
on March 13th, 2013 at 8:34:09 AM

Dear God!!
Deaft0ne writes:
on March 13th, 2013 at 8:49:57 AM

Dave Chappelle for J.J. Evans.
Kurskij writes:
on March 13th, 2013 at 2:08:10 PM

Never heard of it. Don't give a (black) rats ass.
Kurskij writes:
on March 13th, 2013 at 2:08:56 PM

When I saw the pic I thought its about Jackson 5. Now that would've been hardcore
jatilq writes:
on March 13th, 2013 at 4:11:44 PM

I don't see a reason for this movie now, because of the "Times" we are in now.

Would be interesting to see Janet Jackson in it because her first acting role was in the show as the abused little girl.
minkowski writes:
on March 13th, 2013 at 4:40:13 PM

Maybe. I might see this working, depending on the cast and the writer; the director wouldn't have to be anyone special.

But it would have to possess a cross-cultural appeal to really work, unless they're low-balling the budget and aiming at blacks only, which isn't unlikely.

It is difficult to imagine who could replace JJ though. Marlon Wayans perhaps.


Sad that this is the most interesting movie news on here today, btw. Really, really f*cking sad.
minkowski writes:
on March 13th, 2013 at 4:41:14 PM

Yeah, okay, the guy who did Wreck-It Ralph is probably more than capable. Good choice.
pornfly writes:
on March 13th, 2013 at 7:00:43 PM

I thought HoneyBooBoo was the white Good Times
cress writes:
on March 13th, 2013 at 10:17:06 PM

When I was a little kid, I always wanted to be spanked by Esther Rolle. What a fine piece of ass she was. Everyone else had a boner for Thelma. Not me. It was always Esther Rolle. Then one day my mother took me to an optometrist and I got glasses. I watched the show afterwards and thought to myself, "Man, I was one blind little f*cker. That woman is f*cking hideous. And who the f*ck is that? Is that Janet Jackson? Damn, she looks good!" From then on, it was always Janet Jackson.
CelluloidMan writes:
on March 14th, 2013 at 3:18:44 AM

Who I remember more from that show was John Amos.

He went on to movies and was a real f*cking badass in THE BEASTMASTER. Anyone remember that one? It was directed by Don Coscarelli, director of the PHANTASM series...It was camp, but a good campy movie. The special effects don't suck too much for its time...

I later saw Amos on Eddie Murphy's COMING TO AMERICA.

But what I remember most of THE BEASTMASTER was Tanya Roberts...OH. SWEET. MOSES. I still remember wearing out the rewind & pause buttons on my dad's VHS player on the rental. Later on the DVD's special features deleted outtakes, she had a scene where a wind blew up her short dress up and revealed she wasn't wearing any panties!! DAAAAMMNN!! Now those were women!!

Catch her in her prime at minute 35.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Vz5iwJEbUjQ

(sigh)

As you guys so succintly put it, "BA-BOING!! Oh yes, ba-boing indeed.

New Spider-Man is 15-Year-Old Peter Parker, No Origin Story

Disney Making Live-Action "Winnie the Pooh" Film

Arnold Schwarzenegger Happy He Didn't Star in "Terminator Salvation"

"Avengers: Infinity Wars" Officially Replaces Director Joss Whedon

"Spectre" Opening Sequence is Biggest in History

"Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles 2" Title Revealed

"Home" and "Get Hard" Perform Well at Box Office

Jennifer Lawrence Says "X-Men: Apocalypse" is Her Last "X-Men" Film

Five Actors in Talks for "Spider-Man" Reboot

"Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Footage Coming Tomorrow
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved