WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Joss Whedon Wouldn't Include Luke Skywalker, Princess Leia or Han Solo in "Star Wars: Episode VII"

Posted: March 13th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Joss Whedon WouldnSubmit Comment
Back in January, "The Avengers" director Joss Whedon told CNN that he wanted to direct "Star Wars: Episode VII," but was too busy with "The Avengers" sequel and the "SHIELD" TV series.

DigitalSpy has now caught up with Whedon as SXSW film festival and asked him which characters he would have brought back for "Episode VII" if he was able to direct it. The director replied that he wouldn't have brought back Luke, Leia and Han, like Disney is planning.

"I wouldn't go back. I'd go forward," he said. "I would want to create characters that would resonate the way they did. Not that I don't want to see them, I would be excited to. But I would want to explore a very different part of that universe."

When asked if the iconic roles should be recast, Whedon replied: "That I would never want to do. Some things may not be rebooted."

Source: DigitalSpy


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 24 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Stapes writes:
on March 13th, 2013 at 6:37:49 AM

Whedon should probably consider wearing hats more often.
Paloche writes:
on March 13th, 2013 at 6:57:33 AM

He looks like the blue guy in Megamind...
Taco writes:
on March 13th, 2013 at 7:41:43 AM

Agree with Joss. Move on. I dont like JJ's ideas for Star Wars. When he brought old spock
back in Star Trek that was such a contrived plot point that didnt work. I feel he may retread with Star Wars in the same way. Shoehorned characters for nostalgia is a bad idea.
boogiel writes:
on March 13th, 2013 at 7:43:36 AM



Let see, he brings back Agent Coulson after he died The Avengers and Buffy after she sacrificed herself in season 4. He also brought back ripley if I'm not mistaken. To sum up, I call it a complete bullsh*t.
mariachi writes:
on March 13th, 2013 at 8:07:12 AM

Joss is spot on. One of the main problems with the prequels was them trying to shoehorn old characters into the mix. My excitement for the sequels diminished considerably upon learning that they were going to follow the old crew
BadChadB33 writes:
on March 13th, 2013 at 8:29:53 AM

f*ck off Joss. They are coming back in limited capacity to allow continuity.
mrstretch writes:
on March 13th, 2013 at 8:34:30 AM

His head looks like the Death Star.
cress writes:
on March 13th, 2013 at 8:42:29 AM

@boogiel LOL
Tanman32123 writes:
on March 13th, 2013 at 8:56:52 AM

The force... Is strong with this one..
ENFORCER writes:
on March 13th, 2013 at 9:10:38 AM

He makes good film but his head does look like a penis so yes this man is a d*ckhead.
ENFORCER LOVES COCK writes:
on March 13th, 2013 at 9:25:56 AM

I think his head looks great
supaflywill writes:
on March 13th, 2013 at 10:33:57 AM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bsNwtBv3PI0


josh s first screen advert .....d*ck
CelluloidMan writes:
on March 13th, 2013 at 11:04:21 AM

I read the movie site article this is based on, but the...

"That I would never want to do. Some things may not be rebooted."

Was actually a response of Whedon being asked if Han Solo character should have his standalone movie as a young-in, prequel type movie & with whom he would cast it with...which was proposed early on including one eith Boba Fett.
sleepingshane writes:
on March 13th, 2013 at 11:21:48 AM

han and leia are married and luke turns to the darkside its really about there kids anakin solo and his sister taking down there uncle when he turns evil. so there prob there for continuity like badchad said nothing wrong with that.
Kurskij writes:
on March 13th, 2013 at 2:01:49 PM

What celluloid and Boogiel said.

But it's not about bringing back characters or not. It's about the story and screenplay. That's all that matters.
Quidd writes:
on March 13th, 2013 at 2:18:08 PM

So the guy makes one massive movie, which would have been without him, and now he thinks he's an authority on films?
minkowski writes:
on March 13th, 2013 at 4:25:34 PM

No one gives a f*ck what YOU would do Whedon, you f*cking assclown. You're not writing or directing Star Wars, okay? Someone else is, so your opinion is f*cking irrelevant with respect to the matter at hand.

Go rape some more vintage Marvel comics for Avengers 2 plot points or go make another driveling turd like Cabin in the Woods.

f*cker looks like the cover of Communion.

http://www.abduct.com/books/_bookpix/b03.jpg
nuttie30xx writes:
on March 13th, 2013 at 4:42:58 PM

well said mini
Champ1432 writes:
on March 13th, 2013 at 5:55:33 PM

I don't know, I think the big 3 (Han, Luke, Leia) have to be included in the new trilogy in some form for it to be well-regarded. Even if they only have small roles and only at the beginning of the new trilogy. To completely exclude them would be a mistake, if you ask me.

Too many fans would be upset if those three were left out altogether. I do think he's right about the re-casting part though. That's someplace I don't think you ever go. Those three actors are so ingrained with those roles, it would be really odd to see anyone else playing them, even odder than it's going to be seeing them reprise those roles after all these years.

That said, I liked the newest Star Trek and am looking forward to the new one, and they obviously recasted everyone, including Kirk and Spock, two roles I would have said before that should never be recast.

I believe that situation is a little different, however. Since that was a reboot, it made it a little easier to accept new actors in those iconic roles. They did a pretty good job of making it seem like the same Star Trek, but in a different universe, which kind of took away the instinct to compare the two casts. And that's a good thing, since even though I do enjoy this new version, there's no comparison to the old one. Whereas the new Star Wars movies are direct sequels, which would make it more strange to see different actors playing those well-known roles.

At least, that's the way I see it.
vincere01 writes:
on March 14th, 2013 at 12:25:38 AM

Just makes me think of him as even more of an ass hat
seveltoto writes:
on October 26th, 2017 at 8:57:02 AM

aleale writes:
on November 11th, 2017 at 3:12:12 AM

sevelace writes:
on November 14th, 2017 at 11:14:04 PM

recreator9 writes:
on November 18th, 2017 at 12:37:48 AM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved