WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Why "BioShock" Movie Never Happened

Posted: March 12th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Why "BioShock" Movie Never HappenedSubmit Comment
At one point, "Pirates of the Caribbean" director Gore Verbinski was planning to direct "BioShock" movie, based on the popular video game franchise. But the studio either wanted a PG-13 film or an R-rated movie with a much lower budget. Talks eventually fell apart and the project was put on hold.

In a new interview with Irrational Games creative director Kevin Levine, he confirmed that the project is dead. "Gore wanted to make a hard R film. Then 'Watchmen' came out, and it didn't do well. The studio then got cold feet about making an R rated $200 million film, and they said what if it was a $80 million film - and Gore didn't want to make a $80 million film. They brought another director in, and I didn't really see the match there. So they said if you want to kill it, kill it. And I killed it."

Levine added that a "BioShock" movie can still happen in the future. "It may happen one day, who knows, but it'd have to be the right combination of people."

Source: EuroGamer


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 12 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Rocksteddy writes:
on March 12th, 2013 at 9:58:14 PM

I love the video game, I honestly don't think this will translate onto the Big Screen.
Deaft0ne writes:
on March 12th, 2013 at 10:12:42 PM

I disagree. The first game is one of the most cinematic games I have ever played and it feels like you are in a first-person movie as you go through it.

The only other recent games that are like genuinely interactive films would be the Metal Gear Solid series.
elrei writes:
on March 12th, 2013 at 10:24:32 PM

Too bad. I want to see this thing directed by James Cameron. Yes, I actually said that.
coldplayesence writes:
on March 12th, 2013 at 11:06:37 PM

The good thing here is that Levine actually finished Infinite, Jesus I tought it would never happen.
minkowski writes:
on March 12th, 2013 at 11:25:27 PM

Great job, Verbinski, insisting on an R-rated movie with a 200 mil budget. Idiot. It's like he didn't really want to make it. Guess he got his wish then.
Patrick Bateman writes:
on March 12th, 2013 at 11:28:43 PM

COmpletely agree with deaftone. It truly gave you the sense you were in a movie the atmosphere was perfect.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on March 13th, 2013 at 1:22:03 AM

I would love to see the game series "Dead Space" turn into a series of movies with actors like Robert Downey Jr. It's atmospheric, psychotically nuts, and a visual treat.
jdl107 writes:
on March 13th, 2013 at 1:38:57 AM

Totally understand. $200 million is a lot considering the property. BioShock is a good game, but mass appeal amongst the casual population is truly a gamble.
jdl107 writes:
on March 13th, 2013 at 1:40:18 AM

I need to try this game again, I picked it up when it was first released, played maybe an hour of it, and never picked it up again.

The sequel wasn't much better either.

I'll try it again, but I'm wondering if I even need to considering that Infinite's release is very close.
minkowski writes:
on March 13th, 2013 at 5:18:15 PM

^Both are good games, but an R-rated movie adaptation is just STUPID.
Champ1432 writes:
on March 13th, 2013 at 6:00:46 PM

Video game-to-movie adaptations don't exactly have an illustrious history, so this is probably for the best.
mustardayonnaise writes:
on March 14th, 2013 at 7:18:44 PM

agree with mink on this one. the studio was actually smart to tell verbinski to f*ck off. how rare is a $200 million movie with an r-rating anyway, and to base it on a video game adaptation? dumb.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved