WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Theater Owners Celebrate Victory Over Michael Bloomberg's NYC Soda Ban

Posted: March 12th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Theater Owners Celebrate Victory Over Michael BloombergSubmit Comment
NY Mayor Michael Bloomberg attempted to ban sugary drinks that are 16 oz and bigger in an attempt to slow down the rate of obesity, which will hit 50% by 2030. But judge Milton Tingling just ruled that the city's health department cannot regulate such things.

Tingling said that the soda ban "eviscerates" the separation of powers and that is "more troubling than sugar-sweetened beverages." Upon hearing the news, Bloomberg promised to appeal the decision, promising that he will win. "We're confident that today's ruling will be reversed," he said. "The judge's decision was clearly in error."

When Bloomberg initially announced his plan to ban 16 oz drinks, many businesses, including theater owners, protested. The group noted that "concession revenues represent a significant portion of theater profits and help stabilize ticket prices." They warned if the ban was kept, theaters would either raise ticket prices, lay off staff or reduce staff wages.

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 32 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Stapes writes:
on March 12th, 2013 at 7:14:58 AM

Wow, you mean to tell me that this is real? I guess you really can believe what the news is saying, no matter how idiotic it is. Bloomberg's a fool and he doesn't understand basic legal and constitution concepts like this then he's smoked too much of whatever crazy Obama's smoking.
Taco writes:
on March 12th, 2013 at 7:49:31 AM

One would think the mayor of a city that suffered the greatest terrorist attack in history would be concerned with real greater issues at hand, rather than with how much soda citizens drink.
boogiel writes:
on March 12th, 2013 at 8:47:59 AM

"NY Mayor Michael Bloomberg attempted to ban sugary drinks that are 16 oz and bigger in an attempt to slow down the rate of obesity, which will hit 50% by 2030."

That's another stupid law that should have never been imposed and one more reason for Bloomberg to be trotted out to Times Square for a public hanging.
GERARD KENNELLY 007 writes:
on March 12th, 2013 at 9:01:25 AM



Mayor Bloomberg attempted to ban
people that say a word against saint obama
GERARD KENNELLY 007 writes:
on March 12th, 2013 at 9:10:49 AM



one more reason
for Bloomberg to be trotted out
to Times Square for a public hanging

no NO no

kill him
then keep it a secret for 10 years
then refuse to let anybody see the body :)
Cannon writes:
on March 12th, 2013 at 9:30:56 AM


Yay, socialism.



Somebody shoot this f*cker. No, wait, that would be murder. Not cool. Just kick him in the nuts and take his wallet. Better.
GrandpasWeiner writes:
on March 12th, 2013 at 10:37:50 AM

Yay!! Now we can drink 64-128 oz of Cherry Coke while we watch a movie again! Now Americans can get even fatter, faster!
I agree the gov telling us what we can and can't drink is bullsh*t. But holy sh*t I can't believe we drink this much flavored sugar water.
BadChadB33 writes:
on March 12th, 2013 at 10:54:51 AM

While I agree he's an idiot, but we do have to do something to get this obesity under control. Being a personal trainer and seeing so many clients being overweight and looking at their diets, it disgusts me when I see all the soda and crap they consume. No wonder why we are the fattest country.
Kurskij writes:
on March 12th, 2013 at 11:54:51 AM

Just when I was wondering what's the reason for the US obesity problem! It's supa-sodaz at movie theatres concession stands! Thanks, Mike!

Seriously though, it's a good thing to try and do something about it. But soda? Not sure that's the most obvious way to go.
Ranger writes:
on March 12th, 2013 at 12:00:53 PM

Arnie admits he, himself has never drank a soda (tons of roids though... but no soda).

As for this... obesity is already at 50%, NOT waiting 'til 2030. There's a medical scale Dr's use (it's pretty out-dated and strict), doesn't take into account bone density... by that scale alone we'd be at (or past) that 50% obesity statistic NOW. I remember decades ago, the true only fat kid in school actually had a thyroid problem. And there was one 'fat family' (everyone in there was obese). But that was it. Literally out of a high school of about 850 kids you would probably count the fat kids on 2 hands. A friend and I were at Ikea last week. He pointed out two (hot) fake n' bake, mother/daughter couple (BA-BOING!). I said, this is the first generation that sees the parents better looking than their kids (fitness-wise). And yes, I'm a mother-f*cker many times over, thank you. So that's it kids... keep up with that PS3 work-out. You're the first generation to die before your parents.
Ranger writes:
on March 12th, 2013 at 12:06:45 PM

@Kursk - soda certainly isn't the only reason. But it's a huge killer. The sugar in a can of Coke or Mountain Dew would make you (or I) gag.

I think Bloomberg is trying to make a point (good in intention, useless ultimately as kids will just order TWO sodas). And trying to point out the devastating effects of sugar. Even as kids, if we had pop around, but we were outside the entire day running around, walking every where. And the home cooked food was amazing, fresh, real. And McDonald's was a treat, not daily lunch.

I think Bloomberg cares (somewhat), and to have the balls to do something as unpopular as to try and Nazify people's 'enjoyment' of high-priced movie nights... ballsy. He certainly knows the parents are too busy buying the bigger big screen than their neighbors to take the time to Google what should be obvious home healthy choices for their kids diets.

http://www.minnpost.com/sites/default/files/imagecache/article_detail/images/articles/new-york-soft-drink-sugar-demo.jpg
Stapes writes:
on March 12th, 2013 at 12:27:28 PM

Good points, Ranger.
shayhiri writes:
on March 12th, 2013 at 12:34:46 PM

FAT = STUPID

Obviously. Take a good look at you, guys.
FBO writes:
on March 12th, 2013 at 12:36:44 PM

We now have corn syrup in our bread and meat!! (And don't forget about all growth the hormones they pump into our meats to get the animals to over eat and get Pumper. Does anyone think that crap just cooks out?)
Kurskij writes:
on March 12th, 2013 at 12:37:22 PM

ditto

@ranger

"Even as kids, if we had pop around, but we were outside the entire day running around, walking every where. And the home cooked food was amazing, fresh, real. And McDonald's was a treat, not daily lunch"

Eh, tell me about it. Maybe we are getting old, but it seems like meat was better, vegetables - more fresh and even coke tasted differently (both kinds). Also carpets were bushier.

Good times.
FBO writes:
on March 12th, 2013 at 12:39:50 PM

plumper* how is auto correct always so wrong?
FBO writes:
on March 12th, 2013 at 12:46:28 PM

I hate to sound like a paranoid freak but it's getting to the point that the only way to get safe, good food is to grow it yourself in your own garden.

Mark me words, we will not get this obesity issue under control until we get back to buying local product. I mean people used to know the name of their butcher, baker, and farmer who delivered milk and eggs.
pornfly writes:
on March 12th, 2013 at 1:00:48 PM

Yo momz so fat, when she weighs herself
the scale says 'one at a time please'
Fat Guy in a Little Coat writes:
on March 12th, 2013 at 1:43:18 PM

Parks and Recreation comes to mind...
jeffw1978 writes:
on March 12th, 2013 at 2:08:18 PM

Look if Large Marge or any other Fat f*ck wants to kill themselves slowly that is their issue not ours. I do not believe the government should be able to tell you what you can and can not buy (hello obamacare anyone?) Being a Capatalist free nation that we are we have the right to choose our purchases however we see fit. Now if you lazy f*cks really want to convert to socialism, please let those of us that do not want to be sheep have the chance to escape before you dumbf*cks tear each other to shreds once the government rules every portion of your life. Oh and I almost forgot a personal message for the POTUS lovers, GO f*ck YOURSELVES!!!
jeffw1978 writes:
on March 12th, 2013 at 2:09:19 PM

Look if Large Marge or any other Fat f*ck wants to kill themselves slowly that is their issue not ours. I do not believe the government should be able to tell you what you can and can not buy (hello obamacare anyone?) Being a Capatalist free nation that we are we have the right to choose our purchases however we see fit. Now if you lazy f*cks really want to convert to socialism, please let those of us that do not want to be sheep have the chance to escape before you dumbf*cks tear each other to shreds once the government rules every portion of your life. Oh and I almost forgot a personal message for the POTUS lovers, GO f*ck YOURSELVES!!!
Crazyhorse writes:
on March 12th, 2013 at 3:04:11 PM

Why dont Democrats stop hiding and just admit they love socialism and want to create a socialist America where everyones freedoms are taken away
Ranger writes:
on March 12th, 2013 at 3:40:11 PM

@Stapes - thx. my friend.

@Shay - lol. I miss your posts.
Ranger writes:
on March 12th, 2013 at 3:43:01 PM

@kursk - WITHOUT A DOUBT food was and tasted better when we were growing up. Not a doubt in my mind.

@pornfly... lol.

@jeff - agree completely. Freedom of choice. I think Bloomberg is just trying to make a public statement, win or lose. It won't do much good as people will consume what they CHOOSE to consume. Agreed... let them eat themselves to death. More food for the rest of us... lol.
Rotten writes:
on March 12th, 2013 at 3:53:34 PM

And then we'll just make them 15oz?
zxz writes:
on March 12th, 2013 at 4:13:18 PM

I would think a man who is a billionaire many times over and mayor of the big apple would have more of a life than Doomberg, but I guess he has nothing but time on his hands as the mayoralty of the largest metropolist in the US mustn't keep his mind occupied with real bread and butter issues. But he does prove one thing right: We don't need a nanny state. He does not understand freedom. With freedom comes the freedom to rot one's teeth out and grow fat. It ain't pretty, but freedom, like great things such as waves and mountains, has its ups and downs. Doomberg is just a downer. I don't live in the big apple, but I think Rudy was a better mayor. Not perfect, but he could manage with a cool head when his city, and the country, needed to see a real man in action.
minkowski writes:
on March 12th, 2013 at 4:22:00 PM

Man, some folks sure are sucking up hard on this thread. Must be time for them to claw their way back to the top of the WorstPreviews sh*t heap, although one can only imagine what sort of rock bottom loser would feel such an agonizingly desperate need...



And Alex, enough already with the thinly veiled political news. If you want to do politics, do politics, but keep this social commentary trash out of what is supposed to be a MOVIE NEWS website, you big damned dope.




As for Bloomberg, he'll win. He'll get his reversal. This was just a momentary blip of semi-common sense.


As for sugary snacks, you're all a bunch of f*cking retards as usual. Both sides have good points. Sugary sh*t makes you fat, creates enormous health complications that then have to carried by insurance companies, thus furthering burdening the struggling American health sector.

On the flip side, people can drink what the f*ck they want to drink, but their freedom to destroy their own health ends when such irresponsible behavior comes at a skyrocketing cost to everyone else.

Like an abortion. Fine, you want to be a f*cking whore and have sex with everyone in your family and get pregnant and then get an abortion, okay, but you do it OUT OF POCKET. Don't f*cking expect me and everyone else to help foot the bill you f*cking cheap roadside slattern.

Of course, I'll happily omit the fact most abortions are committed by poor "minorities", but oh well. Oops.


Other issues: large sodas are hardly the singular cause for Oprah Winfrey obesity. Half the sh*t in a grocery store can make you fat. It's not even soda, it's the f*cking AMOUNT. Eat eighty bananas a day. That'll make you fat too, so is this f*cking idiot RINO going to ban fruit too?

And then there's the slippery slope. Today it's f*cking sodas, tomorrow it's ice cream and meat and the next thing you know the government passes a f*cking law making small portion vegetarianism the only legal culinary habit.


Enough with government, and enough with you fat, lazy, stupid, fat, stupid, lazy STUPID Americans. Go jog you f*cking fat ass and put that keg of Coke gutbuster down.

Dipsh*ts the lot of you.
minkowski writes:
on March 12th, 2013 at 4:51:47 PM

Just so you know, that was me channeling my inner Triggax.

That's how he talks to you, when he's here.

Now suck on my big black stinking c*ck!
BillyBunter writes:
on March 12th, 2013 at 5:12:05 PM

Add a suger and sodium tax, then if people want to drink and eat themselves to a blob then let them,it might even make compainies cut the crap they put in their products. Fingers crossed you can then stop adding tax on to Gasoline.
Rocksteddy writes:
on March 12th, 2013 at 6:34:04 PM

Murrica.
Champ1432 writes:
on March 12th, 2013 at 8:51:21 PM

Nice of the theater companies to go right to the threat of laying people off or reducing their most likely already depressingly low wages. Of course, Obama didn't care when everyone said that about Obamacare, so Bloomberg won't care either.

Although I don't think the government should be telling us what size of drink we are allowed to get, I do think obesity is a big (get it?) problem and a lot of people in this country are dumb enough that they should have someone telling them what to eat and drink.

Unfortunately, the weight problem our country has is due to many factors, only one of which is the portion size of our food and drink. At least Bloomberg was trying to do something about it, even if it's not his place to.

All these obese people will just keep eating and drinking everything in sight, getting fatter and fatter, and then have to go on welfare because they're so large they're considered "disabled" and can't work, which is the biggest joke of all.

So society will then be supporting them that way, plus paying for all their huge medical bills thanks to Obama.
minkowski writes:
on March 13th, 2013 at 12:39:16 AM

Get the wall warmed up and the guns loaded. It's revolution time.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved