WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"X-Men: Days of Future Past" Not Connected to Fox's Other Superhero Films

Posted: March 12th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"X-Men: Days of Future Past" Not Connected to FoxSubmit Comment
Just recently, 20th Century Fox announced that it hired Mark Millar, the creator of "Wanted" and "Kick-Ass" comic books, as a consultant for the studio's superhero properties, including X-Men, Wolverine, Fantastic Four, Ghost Rider, and many others.

The goal is to create a universe, similar to what Marvel has been able to accomplish. But according to Bryan Singer, Millar hasn't had any input into "X-Men: Days of Future Past," which means that the movie that has the most recognizable superheroes will not tie into a bigger cinematic universe.

"I've not spoken to Mark Millar at all. He's not involved," Singer revealed. "All I know is that I have my own specific beliefs about how to take this universe forward. I started with the first 'X-Men,' then 'First Class' and now I am combining them and I think it could go further than that and I have some ideas about that. So perhaps he should chat [with] me at some point."

Source: BleedingCool


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 25 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
KillerCOck writes:
on March 11th, 2013 at 9:50:25 PM

f*cking Clown!
minkowski writes:
on March 11th, 2013 at 10:25:52 PM

FOX can't even tie one X-Men movie into the next, so this so-called news comes with zero surprise.
bandolero999 writes:
on March 11th, 2013 at 10:30:44 PM

this movee is going to be sh*t
Sleuth1989 writes:
on March 11th, 2013 at 10:44:38 PM

@mink
It's ironic that I blame Singer for that and praise at the same time. When he left to do "Superman Returns" he kind of screwed it all up/ Note the ones he was involved in have been the best. Everyone is acting like Vaughn revitalized X-Men. Singer f*cking helped write the script and was the producer. He had a say on First Class after being absent on X-Men Origins: Wolverine and the godforsaken threequel X-Men: The Last Stand. While I found neither of these to be bad to the point I didn't enjoy them, once Singer was involved again X-Men became better thought out. So no matter what anyone says here Singer IS the X-Men franchise. First Class was alright but Vaughn couldn't create a dark atmosphere worth sh*t like Singer did with X2. If it wasn't for the fact the 60's was such a joke and people weren't acting like morons with the Cold War and Red Scare Vaughn would have screwed it up. His great films are the ones that are really out there like Kick-Ass and even Stardust but they have a fantastical and somewhat "fun and fancy free" way about them. As long as Singer controls this franchise it rocks. No one else has come close to the dark, real world feel he created in the first two. I mean he was basically the reason superhero films got off the ground in the 21st century. I end by coming back to my original point, I was pissed Singer left and Fox went with f*cking Ratner, the biggest joke in Hollywood next to Bay. However by coming back I think he will recapture the darkness and dread that followed his original films that were disturbing. FYI I actually loved "Superman Returns". It followed Donner's original 1978 film brilliantly and started making Superman look how he was suppose to. I think if Routh had another film he could have really made Superman his own but unfortunately they had to reintegrate the character into film first so he had to trail the tailcoats of the great Christopher Reeve.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on March 11th, 2013 at 10:46:56 PM

That being said I hear Lawrence, Fassbender, and McAvoy are whinning about having less screentime. Thing about X-Men is it is about the MEN not the MAN. So screw them. They get to be apart potentially one of the most ambitious comic book adaptations ever and they think they need the spotlight so bad in a film about a f*cking SOCIETY of people then they can go to hell!
Sleuth1989 writes:
on March 11th, 2013 at 10:51:15 PM

Sorry Red Scare had just ended before the First Class timeline. Still I hope you guys got my point.
minkowski writes:
on March 11th, 2013 at 11:01:57 PM

All I know is, much more superior literary material isn't getting adapted because the cinematic ecosystem is over-run with comic book movie adaptations.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on March 11th, 2013 at 11:04:36 PM

@mink
Kind of curious here...what stuff would you like to see adapted? I actually need some new books to read so suggestions are welcomed. I just finished one book and need something.
minkowski writes:
on March 11th, 2013 at 11:18:11 PM

Lots. As I've mentioned, there's an entire series called Repairman Jack which is a hell of a lot more enjoyable than Jack Reacher, and yet the author can't get Hollywood to even take notice because there's no "demand". Finished reading his latest entry, a book called Cold City, and though it started off slow, it quickly ramped up, exceeding my expectations.

You should read a book from the series called The Tomb, which has NOTHING to do with the Stallone movie, featuring a scene pretty much stolen/borrowed by James Cameron for Aliens. Seriously.

http://www.amazon.com/The-Tomb-Repairman-Jack-Novels/dp/0812580370
Sleuth1989 writes:
on March 11th, 2013 at 11:38:28 PM

@mink
Thanks man. Sounds pretty awesome. And yeah unfortunately that's true. Nothing immediately in demand gets adapted. Seriously, "Hunger Games" came out in 2008 and was adapted 3 YEARS LATER!!! Actually...holy sh*t everything barely passes 4 years before being adapted. What the hell?! So many good books out there and a thousand times better? In fact LOTR wouldn't have happened without Jackson bringing it to light. Same Cloud Atlas. Both great adaptations to incredibly intelligent/imaginative books. I find it funny that the more hype put in new material the quicker no one gives a sh*t. Hunger Games came out 5 years ago and already everyone I talk to are so tired of the overhype. Hollywood is too busy focusing on stuff that's all the rave that they fail to realize the goldmine of classic. Note how "Hunger Games" barely made $700 million which is chump change compared to LOTR or even "The Hobbit"! The Hobbit made $1 billion! Go for classic dammit. Cut with this "Whatever is new we need to adapt quick while it's big!" Long term, people won't want to revisit it because they were so overdosed with it when it came out. LOTR was what 40 years before it was adapted, at least properly, by Jackson. People would pick classics to new sh*t anyday. Way more passion and intelligence to this new age teen sh*t that barely challenges the reader and has kids doing impossible sh*t even in situations where they "explain it". They are self-contained characters that are the result of fluke circ*mstances instead of being regular individuals overcoming impossible odds. It's painful really how far society is fallen.

P.S. Sorry about ranting. This article pissed me off because Fox really ruins good films a lot of the time and then your mention of older material not getting note kind of did it. I miss creativity and brilliance in film! What the hell happened to it?! Christopher Nolan showed original works can sell with "Inception" so what the hell happened?!
Ip_man writes:
on March 11th, 2013 at 11:41:20 PM

wow.4 out 5 of recent WP's updates are super hero movies related.

pathetic.
minkowski writes:
on March 11th, 2013 at 11:53:08 PM

The very first article on this website was comic book movie news.

And may god help us all if Hollywood ever discovers the Sunday comics.

Beetle Bailey, the movie, starring John Goodman as Sarge, Fassbender as Bailey. Mary Worth(less), starring Lindsay Lohan.
BadChadB33 writes:
on March 12th, 2013 at 12:31:16 AM

I'm actually getting sick of all these super hero movies.
brigulon13 writes:
on March 12th, 2013 at 12:33:55 AM

I think Routh ruined Superman Returns. Otherwise a good movie. I just saw Routh as the guy who gave the best reach around to Singer on the casting couch.
CelluloidMan writes:
on March 12th, 2013 at 12:51:09 AM

At Sleuth 1989

Apart from thinking Singer "was basically the reason superhero films got off the ground in the 21st century" and the love for SUPERMAN RETURNS, I think your first post was insightful & spot-on...you nailed it, bud.
CelluloidMan writes:
on March 12th, 2013 at 12:54:30 AM

But right, on topic, Millar really can't tell Singer sh*t of any of his input. Singer was the one that put X-Men on the movie map....

What could Millar possibly brainstorm or input with Singer? Nothing really...
minkowski writes:
on March 12th, 2013 at 12:57:40 AM

"Singer was the one that put X-Men on the movie map...."

I'd hope, since he was the very first person to direct an X-Men movie...


"What could Millar possibly brainstorm or input with Singer?"

Yeah, I know right. That Millar guy. Who the hell does he think he is? Someone who's made several highly reviewed comic books or something? Pffft. What a pretentious douche bag, right?
pornfly writes:
on March 12th, 2013 at 2:02:55 AM

So perhaps he should chat [with] me at some point."

what nerve
To insist the great Mark Millar should talk to HIM

f*ckin nerd politics
Sleuth1989 writes:
on March 12th, 2013 at 2:46:59 AM

@CelluloidMan
Hey man to each his own. I saw Superman Returns and I had that nostalgic memory of the original series. And I mean it began the superhero thing was because it was the first Marvel film made in 2000 and it got interest in adapting other works when it sold so well.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on March 12th, 2013 at 2:47:33 AM

@CelluloidMan
Sorry wasn't offended. Just explaining. LOL
Sleuth1989 writes:
on March 12th, 2013 at 2:49:45 AM

@CelluloidMan
And thank you. Nice to be appreciated for ranting. LOL
CelluloidMan writes:
on March 12th, 2013 at 3:42:21 AM

At Mink:

"Someone who's made several highly reviewed comic books or something?"

Yeah, Mink, sure, but just because the guy can write a good story, doesn't mean he knows about the Hollywood movie-making...I'll give him the benefit of the doubt of him banging a good screenplay, but about casting, directing, and acting? C'mon, bro, your reaching...different mediums--apples and oranges.

Plus, let's not forget this guy's previous comments that really don't bring anything new to the table and feel, well...yeah, like a pretentious douche bag. Thanks.

i124q writes:
on March 12th, 2013 at 6:30:01 AM

Here's a few books that I enjoyed reading and that I think would be pretty good on film (if they're handled properly!):

The Forever War by Joe Haldeman (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Forever_War) - Ridley Scott is supposedly working on an adaptation of it.

We All Died At Breakaway Station by Richard Meredith (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Richard_C._Meredith)

Orion by Ben Bova - (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ben_Bova)

Spellsinger by Alan Dean Foster (in fact anything by Foster, the Humanx and Thranx books would be great) - (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Spellsinger)

Flashman by Harry Paget (Fassbender is making this as a film) - (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Harry_Paget_Flashman)

The Stainless Steel Rat by Harry Harrison - *(http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Stainless_Steel_Rat)

tolgaboy writes:
on March 12th, 2013 at 7:11:41 AM

Get lost singerman
vincere01 writes:
on March 12th, 2013 at 12:39:37 PM

Singer has done a great job bringing xmen to screen. That said this looks like the beginning to the end. The power play in-fighting has begun. Fox will tear itself apart from within and the rights will revert back after a few sh*tty movies get made. I bet marvel is lighting up cigars and chilling a bottle of champagne after reading this.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved