WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"24" Movie is Dead

Posted: March 11th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"24" Movie is DeadSubmit Comment
In January of last year, Kiefer Sutherland revealed that "24: The Movie" would begin filming in April of 2012. That didn't happen, mostly because Sutherland was hoping to get $5 million to return as Jack Bauer, but 20th Century Fox only offered him $2 million.

Eventually Sutherland accepted the deal in order to see the film finally become a reality, but then the studio tried to cut the $45 million budget down to $30 million. That created a major problem, despite the fact that "Training Day" director Antoine Fuqua was on board to helm.

Now that Fuqua is promoting "Olympus Has Fallen," the director revealed that "24: The Movie" is dead. "That's not happening. I don't think it's gonna happen at all, definitely not with me," he said.

Fuqua continued: "I met with Kiefer, Fox wanted to do it, it was a matter of his schedule before he went off to do his new show ['Touch']. I don't think he was able to get a proper agreement with Fox. The time just passed, and I went off to go to what I was doing."

Click here to read more about "24: The Movie."

Source: The Playlist


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 40 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
KillerCOck writes:
on March 11th, 2013 at 9:46:32 PM

I hate this show. one Entire season is in real time and take place within 2days or something dumb like that. Kiefer makes it worth watching same with his daughter but the show is f*ckin stupid.
WhiteJagon writes:
on March 11th, 2013 at 10:00:36 PM

@Killerc*ck - I thought the same thing too but then I actually watched the series and it was fantastic.

Perhaps you should too before passing judgment?
minkowski writes:
on March 11th, 2013 at 10:30:02 PM

Contrary to Killerc*ck's ostensible ignorance, 24 was one of the most epic shows ever made, and a hell of a lot better than 95% of sh*t out there passing itself off as action, but news of death of the movie adaptation comes as nor surprise (again).

In fact, I predicted, several times, it would never get made.
Tanman32123 writes:
on March 11th, 2013 at 10:37:15 PM

Always thought about watching it lol.. Never have and might eventually.. I liked Touch though lol
bandolero999 writes:
on March 11th, 2013 at 10:44:30 PM

sadly kiefers career has been dead as well.
bandolero999 writes:
on March 11th, 2013 at 10:47:27 PM

killerc*ck would totally watch it if jack bauer was played by marky mark,the rock,vin diesel.
yawwwwwwwwwwwwwnn
KillerCOck writes:
on March 11th, 2013 at 11:12:14 PM

I've seen the First 2 Seasons. IT's stupid but It does tap into that urge of making you watch just because you wanna know what the f*ck is gonna happen next? It's still stupid doh. Does it get better after?

hahaha! f*ck you right back Minky bud!

Bando!!! You're talking again? You finally get all those d*cks outta your mouth sweetheart? Did your stomach just get full from swallowing c*m all week?
minkowski writes:
on March 11th, 2013 at 11:26:31 PM

Okay, so you've seen the first two seasons...so what about the show is "stupid", because I feel a lot more receptive if you can put into words why you don't like 24 rather that just saying it's a "stupid show".
minkowski writes:
on March 11th, 2013 at 11:26:58 PM

...would...
JFB writes:
on March 11th, 2013 at 11:28:44 PM

@KillerC0ck

Yeah, the show gets way better. If you can make it to season 5, you will witness probably the best season of network television ever. Each episode is better then the one before it. It'll blow your mind man!

If you don't wanna continue after that I could understand. I mean 8 seasons is a lot, but 24 really hit its high point with season 5. I suggest you skip straight to it if you've watched 1 & 2, that should provide more then enough back story.
minkowski writes:
on March 11th, 2013 at 11:29:04 PM

And yeah the show got f*cking repetitive, and yeah the Passion of the Bauer crucifixion sh*t got tiresome, and sure season 6 sucked ass, but still, compared to other sh*t like Team Knight Rider and half of what Hollywood tries to shove down our throats, 24 is pretty f*cking exceptional.

Then again, my brother thinks X-Files is a "stupid show" too.
JFB writes:
on March 11th, 2013 at 11:32:13 PM

As for the movie not getting made, I'm honestly fine with that. The show ended well enough for me and frankly, like the DIe Hard series, it was starting to get to the point where your like "Man, how many bad days can this guy have!"

But even bad 24 was amazing television.... :)

As for Die Hard, I think everyone involved in A Good Day to Die Hard should be killed, or at least sent to Guantanamo because what they did was equivalent to an attack against America. Despicable.
Ip_man writes:
on March 11th, 2013 at 11:33:13 PM

@killer

I also gave up on the show after watching the first episode of season 1 but several years later i picked up Season 4 dvd's and was blown away - it was very intense,then watched the rest of the seasons and enjoyed all except seasons 6 and 8 which are weak.Season 1 was kind of low budget and the first few episodes are very slow and boring.
so i recommend you check out seasons 4 and 5,they are awesome action experience.
Ip_man writes:
on March 11th, 2013 at 11:36:58 PM

'24 movie is dead.'

yeah,well,a movie would be kind of pointless after 8 seasons unless of course they make it R rated and we get Jack Bauer to say 'f*ck' instead of 'Damn it ! '
minkowski writes:
on March 11th, 2013 at 11:43:11 PM

Jack Bauer is what James Bond would look like if he was American and not such a p*ssy.
Skywalker121289 writes:
on March 11th, 2013 at 11:47:58 PM

Best thing on Television for YEARS.

The only difference now is I don't watch television. After sitting in the same room as bunch of crap on the tube... sooner or later it begins to smell. -_-
boogiel writes:
on March 12th, 2013 at 12:03:46 AM

Eh, this movie has been stalled too long for me to even care anymore.
BadChadB33 writes:
on March 12th, 2013 at 12:35:41 AM

Maybe one day. Like Boogiel said stalled too long to care.
mustardayonnaise writes:
on March 12th, 2013 at 12:50:53 AM

24 was sometimes hit-and miss, mostly great, and generally terrific TV- largely based on kiefer's incredibly consistent performance and the writing of his character. jack bauer is such an amazingly pure character... one of the most memorable characters on TV from the past 25 years.

shame this wont happen.
KillerCOck writes:
on March 12th, 2013 at 1:19:35 AM

Fair Enough, If you can't figure it out for yourself. Basically the whole gimmick of the show being done in Real time and the sh*t that happens in that time and the sh*t that doesn't happen. It reminds me of Prison Break, another Stupid show but with some pretty f*cking awesome characters that make it worth watching. I've only seen the first season of that doh and now that they're out I'm just like why the f*ck is the show still called Prison Break? Anyways....

The daughter is f*ckin retarted but hot as sh*t. Whoever Wrote her character f*ckin baffles me. Maybe it's a white thing but Like Why isn't she dead or in the f*cking show as much as she is in the first f*cking place? I also remember in the first season when his Wife goes into a 2 day memory loss period or something crazy like that. It might've been one day but f*ck if you didn't think that was stupid then you're stupid.
Like I get the appeal of the show. IT's stupid, Majority of people like stupid especially Americans, It's got Kiefer Sutherland in it Whose f*cking awesome, it Deals with the war on Terrorism and the show has a great energy to it. I really do get it's appeal but it's f*cking Stupid, the gimmick, the Characters, The storylines, All of it. Some of the Twists are genuinely good doh, I'll give you that. The sh*t with the President's Wife, the Double agent in the unit or that White Bitch who was getting married in the second season and turned out to be in that Terrorist group. IT's all exciting but it PLays out like a stupid James Bond Comic Book and it holds back because it's prime time Television.

If this sh*t was on HBO with better writers, IT'd be Much better but the stupid gimmick might still bother me. But Whatever, I'll give the 3rd season a chance but the first 2 were f*ckin stupid. If You can't sse that then Nothing I say will convince you but you already know that.
minkowski writes:
on March 12th, 2013 at 1:37:11 AM

^Fair enough: preposterous plot and characters.

And I don't disagree, but I thought that was what helped make the show more enjoyable.
KillerCOck writes:
on March 12th, 2013 at 2:04:36 AM

I think The Performances and the shows energy make it enjoyable the most. Dennis HAysbert is damn good as the PResident. He was myfavorite thing about the show. And ya don't get me wrong I like stupid things too (clearly), But this show wasn't my kinda stupid if you follow me.

I'd rather watch PRison Break some more and find out how stupid that show gets.
minkowski writes:
on March 12th, 2013 at 2:15:35 AM

"I'd rather watch PRison Break some more and find out how stupid that show gets."

VERY! lol. Season 2 is decent because it deals with the fallout from them breaking our of prison, season 3 is short (because of the writer's strike) and stupid (they have to break out of prison again, this time in Latin America), and season 4 is absolutely jumping the shark (can't even remember but the prison ward guy becomes a friend to the breakout group, while his entire personality changes, someone very important dies, but only after he breaks the nurse chick out of prison for "murdering" the main character's mother, and so on....).

In short, even worse than 24, but still enjoyable.
pornfly writes:
on March 12th, 2013 at 2:41:36 AM

^exactly why i stopped watching
pornfly writes:
on March 12th, 2013 at 2:49:46 AM

Touch is slippin
FOX waited too long to bring it back
It(24) could still happen
Not that i care, Id rather see a Sutherland n son villain duo movie
Tanman32123 writes:
on March 12th, 2013 at 3:07:52 AM

@Mink

I actually REALLYYY liked Prison Break lol, Season 1 was good, Loved Season 2, And I personally liked the idea of Season 3, having to break out of a crazy ass prison like that one lol, And the 4th was really silly but still not a bad ending.. Most people didn't even see the REAL ending, Which came out a a Straight to DVD movie.

And Theodore Bagwell (T-Bag) will forever be one of my Favorite Characters in TV I've EVER watched, That actor portrayed him so f*cking well, His character was f*cking awesome, fav of the whole show

I even watched his Episode on Breakout Kings when he was on that show (Good show also btw) Lol Anywho, prison break was a wicked show and easily on my top 25 List of Shows I've ever seen, Most likely in like.. 15th place.. If I actually ever got bored and made a list ahah

Anndddd Yeah, End rant.
Ip_man writes:
on March 12th, 2013 at 3:36:23 AM

Prison break season 1 was solid but overrated,the first half of season 2 was actually it's finest hour.seasons 3 and 4 were a waste of time.

24 was by far the best TV show in the last 10 years together with LOST.
pornfly writes:
on March 12th, 2013 at 3:40:40 AM

Person of Interest should be on your list ,TAN
KillerCOck writes:
on March 12th, 2013 at 3:45:12 AM

I refuse to get into LOST. And now That I'm hearing this sh*t about escaping a Latin Prison, hahaha! I just have to watch it now! I'm in no rush doh.

Tomorrow I'm finally gonna start Season 1 of Dexter and I've never heard anything bad about that show so I'm looking forward to it.
Paloche writes:
on March 12th, 2013 at 3:47:15 AM

I'm huge fan of "24" and why the hell "Olympus Has Fallen" is not the 24 movie ? It would have been perfect. It watched Touch tv show and got bored after 5 episodes....
SACdaddy writes:
on March 12th, 2013 at 9:52:11 AM

24 already covered a siege on the White House in one of its seasons. General Juma actually caught the President and slapped the sh*t out of her the minute she opened her mouth. I thought all hell would break loose in the media the next day but I think everyone knew that would only bring out the best in Jack in the next episode when of course he saved the President and f*cked Juma up.

Hands down that was the best show on tv during its run (and maybe ever). It's an insult for Fox quibble over budgets and scheduling with its best products but they do it all the time. They sh*t on the X-files the same way. All while shelling out hundreds of millions to make sh*tty Spider-Man sequels. f*ck Fox!!!
SACdaddy writes:
on March 12th, 2013 at 10:02:59 AM

Btw why is the premise of an entire season happening over the course of one day a dumb idea? It's probably the most creative idea to hit tv....ever!

Would you have rather made it like every other f*cking show on tv instead?
vincere01 writes:
on March 12th, 2013 at 12:08:51 PM

I think touch was already cancelled. As far as 24 goes, as I've said on here many times, I dont find it all that interesting. The format got really old really quick. I like the acting and some of the characters but I could never watch the show and stay interested. The plot got more and more preposterous as the seasons went on. Sometimes twists seemed to be thrown in there willy nilly a la lost. I

I understand the appeal at the time by a lot of us americans. The whole terroists thing, gotta protect america by any means and no matter how bad it is we are the good guys ra ra ra. While I agree there are some aggressive tactics that become necessary in a time like that/this. Not everything can and should be used, otherwise we are no better than them. But that's a whole different discussion for another time.

Just saying my interest waned as the show went on. It became the same drum being beat over and over but with slightly different timing. Too far fetched, less interesting vilians and new characters. Way over the top events. Just seemed to get bigger and bigger to one up itself.

With a pay channel like hbo, some better writers this series may have been better. But I just don't see the love some people hold for it. I definitely don't see it having staying power on television. This series will be extremely dated in the future and already is to a point. The movies chances got smaller as each year went on. People in mass don't care as much about terrorists and what that show was about, at least not on the same level as when the show debuted. Its lost its appeal
vincere01 writes:
on March 12th, 2013 at 12:10:59 PM

Way better show from same time period/dealing with similar world issues was jericho. Far superior television there
_Newtz writes:
on March 12th, 2013 at 3:11:29 PM

Something that mink actually likes?! Wow I've seen it all now. Agreed, 24 was a magnificent show. It got repetitive at times but come on, even the sexiest girlfriend/wife gets old with time.

As for the film dying, eh, no biggie. Doubt it would have been good with Hollywood butting in.
minkowski writes:
on March 12th, 2013 at 5:03:28 PM

"General Juma actually caught the President and slapped the sh*t out of her the minute she opened her mouth. I thought all hell would break loose in the media the next day but I think everyone knew that would only bring out the best in Jack in the next episode when of course he saved the President and f*cked Juma up."



Naturally, Sac's entire interpretation of 24 is based on race, and in this particular case, the depiction of a black man slapping a white woman and Sac's resulting surprise "the media" didn't go into full meltdown when they, the white racists running the news, didn't call for the lynching of a fictional black character from a television show.

You're a tiresome person, Sac, but then racism is really, really f*cking boring.
minkowski writes:
on March 12th, 2013 at 5:04:29 PM

"even the sexiest girlfriend/wife gets old with time."

I know. Just think how bored I got f*cking your mother.
BillyBunter writes:
on March 12th, 2013 at 5:52:24 PM

24 is such a great show, i would have welcomed a movie version. I met Kiefer here in LA, real nice friendly dude. I tried watching that show touch but its not really for me.
Tanman32123 writes:
on March 12th, 2013 at 9:06:33 PM

Never got into it porn lol

I've seen every episode of LOST, As it aired from the beggining. Amazing show, It'd be in my top 25 list! Placing about.. 5th or so lol..

Other shows that's be in my top 25!

Sopranos (on season 6), The X-Files, ER, Breaking Bad, Prison Break, LOST, Dexter..

Just to name a couple lol
SACdaddy writes:
on March 12th, 2013 at 11:39:20 PM

Lol!!!! Holy sh*t Mink you get out there sometimes but your response to my post is by far the biggest stretch EVER for even you. My post had absolutely ZERO to do with race. I was responding to the previous post by just letting him know that 24 had already covered the premise that Olympus Has Fallen is based on. I thought the media would be in an uproar because a show had the balls to show the leader of this country being physically disgraced, not because of the race of the people involved. It's so hilarious to see you stick your foot in your mouth and expose your own prejudice and racial sensitivity with such a stupid statement. Thx for the laugh though. Ironically 24 is one of the few things we totally agree on. I just wish you'd take that racist stick out your ass long enough to realize that.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved