WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"American Sniper" Still Dominating at Box Office, Johnny Depp's "Mortdecai" Flops
Jan 26th, 2015
"Birdman" Wins at PGA Awards, Becomes Favorite to Win Oscar
Jan 26th, 2015
Trailer: Keanu Reeves in Eli Roth's "Knock Knock" Thriller
Jan 25th, 2015
DreamWorks Downsizes, Delays "How to Train Your Dragon 3"
Jan 25th, 2015
Julia Roberts to Star in "Batkid Begins" Film
Jan 25th, 2015
Trailer for "She's Funny That Way" Comedy, with Owen Wilson and Jennifer Aniston
Jan 25th, 2015
Trailer for Anton Yelchin's "5 to 7" Comedy
Jan 25th, 2015
Photos: "Avengers: Age of Ultron" LEGO Sets Reveal Lots of Story Details
Jan 24th, 2015
Jesse Eisenberg Would Return as Lex Luthor in Future Films
Jan 24th, 2015
New Restricted Trailer for "Hot Tub Time Machine 2" Arrives Online
Jan 24th, 2015
"Con Air" Director Simon West to Remake "The Blob" Horror Film
Jan 24th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Rewrite" Comedy, with Hugh Grant and Marisa Tomei
Jan 24th, 2015
Oscar Isaac on Playing Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse," Plus Jean Grey, Cyclops and Storm Have Been Cast
Jan 23rd, 2015
"Project Almanac" Cuts Out Controversial Scene One Week From Release
Jan 23rd, 2015
Chiwetel Ejiofor in Talks for "Doctor Strange" Role
Jan 23rd, 2015
Video: Will Ferrell Hits Cheerleader in the Face at Basketball Game
Jan 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Vincent Cassel's "Partisan" Sundance Film
Jan 23rd, 2015
First Look at Leonardo DiCaprio in "The Revenant" Thriller
Jan 22nd, 2015
Photo: Will The Hulk Turn Grey in "Avengers: Age of Ultron"?
Jan 22nd, 2015
Four Actresses Considered for Female Lead in "Star Wars" Spin-Off
Jan 22nd, 2015
"Resident Evil: The Final Chapter" to Begin Filming in August
Jan 22nd, 2015
Nicolas Cage to Hunt Osama Bin Laden in "Army of One" Comedy, Directed by "Borat" Helmer
Jan 22nd, 2015
Fox Planning New Season of "24" Without Kiefer Sutherland
Jan 22nd, 2015
Promo Art: Batman's Armored Suit From "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Jan 21st, 2015
Trailer for "Kidnapping Mr. Heineken" Thriller, with Anthony Hopkins and Sam Worthington
Jan 21st, 2015
First Poster for Tom Hardy's "Child 44" Thriller
Jan 21st, 2015
"Mortal Kombat: Legacy" Actor Darren Shahlavi Dead at 42
Jan 21st, 2015
New Trailer for Salma Hayek's "Everly" Action Thriller
Jan 20th, 2015
New Trailer for Sean Penn's "The Gunman" Action Film, From Director of "Taken"
Jan 20th, 2015
Trailer for Dustin Hoffman's "Boychoir" Film
Jan 20th, 2015
"Batman v Superman" Choreographer Teases Fight Between Batman and Superman
Jan 20th, 2015
"The Purge 3" Will NOT Be a Prequel
Jan 20th, 2015
Trailer for "All the Wilderness," with Kodi Smit-McPhee and Danny DeVito
Jan 20th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Evil Dead 4" is Actually "Army of Darkness 2"

Posted: March 10th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Evil Dead 4" is Actually "Army of Darkness 2"Submit Comment
Sony Pictures recently revealed that it is moving forward with a sequel to the upcoming "Evil Dead" reboot. Meanwhile, Sam Raimi, who produced the reboot, is planning to begin writing the script for "Evil Dead 4," which is a continuation of his original "Evil Dead" trilogy.

Now, Raimi's producing partner Rob Tapert has revealed that the two "Evil Dead" franchises will never have to compete against each other, because "Evil Dead 4" is actually "Army of Darkness 2." He said: "Everybody calls it 'Evil Dead 4' but 'Army of Darkness' wasn't called 'Evil Dead' anywhere except by the fans."

Bruce Campbell, star of the original "Evil Dead" films, added: "[Both 'Evil Dead' franchises] co-exist beautifully. [Regarding the reboot,] Sam instructed us, 'Don't screw up my ability to make another movie with Ash.' So there's no Ash character [in the reboot], there's no Bruce, there's no cameo."

Source: PeliBlog.com, ComingSoon


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 16 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
boogiel writes:
on March 10th, 2013 at 7:35:33 AM

What a way to confuse the fans.
Ip_man writes:
on March 10th, 2013 at 8:12:12 AM

well good,why did you wait so long? army of darkness was great fun.
Dirt writes:
on March 10th, 2013 at 8:28:20 AM

Reboot? Sequel?
Why not both?
pornfly writes:
on March 10th, 2013 at 12:04:33 PM

Sam sounds like a kid that doesnt care about a toy till someone else wants to play with it
pornfly writes:
on March 10th, 2013 at 12:05:46 PM

^til someone else starts playing with it
SACdaddy writes:
on March 10th, 2013 at 12:40:59 PM

Good news bad news scenario imo. Good: Not naming the chic in the reboot Ash. Bruce owns that part forever. Love the respect shown to the original. I'd be totally satisfied if the new lead dies at the end of the reboot. Bad: Army of Darkness was fun but was by far the weakest installment in the series. Didnt like the medieval setting or plot, so I'd think it would be a shame to revisit it. Hopefully they'll leave it in modern times with an old Ash fighting new demons.

It's a stretch but what if Ash permanently opened a gateway for the demons to come through when he returned from the past. We know something came back with him already from his battle in the grocery store. Why not have the demons take over the modern world only to bring our hero out of "retirement" to save us all?
Tanman32123 writes:
on March 10th, 2013 at 1:17:31 PM

Only ever watched the first lol
Rocksteddy writes:
on March 10th, 2013 at 1:18:27 PM

Well, now it HAS to be a theatrical release. Goddamn it, Raimi. I was looking forward to new things with the franchise.
Deaft0ne writes:
on March 10th, 2013 at 1:35:53 PM

Set it in S-Mart like the DIE HARD 12 parody from The Ben Stiller Show.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AGfmfPYiO1w
Deaft0ne writes:
on March 10th, 2013 at 1:36:07 PM

Set it in S-Mart like the DIE HARD 12 parody from The Ben Stiller Show.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AGfmfPYiO1w
defiant1 writes:
on March 10th, 2013 at 3:41:31 PM

Sweet! Can't keep Ash down. I like the idea behind the Evil Dead Regeneration game. Ash starts out in a mental institute trying to figure out if it all really happened or if it was a dream. Then all hell breaks loose, and of course he has to save the day. Still, Fistful of Boomstick was a better game IMO.
jdl107 writes:
on March 10th, 2013 at 4:22:31 PM

I'm kind of liking this news.
minkowski writes:
on March 10th, 2013 at 5:20:53 PM

Other then the three or four Evil Dead fans still living, I doubt anyone cares about Army of Darkness 2. Probably no one under the age of twenty five knows Bruce Campbell from a bowl of Campbell's chicken soup or Evil Dead from Evil Knievel.

What a way to waste money, Raimi.
BlackDynamite writes:
on March 10th, 2013 at 10:21:46 PM

This reminds me of those cartoon moments where a snowball starts at the top of a hill, and as it descends, it picks up more snow until it grows into a huge celestial object, but in this case, the snow is idiocy.
Tanman32123 writes:
on March 11th, 2013 at 3:21:53 PM

I'm under 25 and I know him! Lol
jatilq writes:
on March 13th, 2013 at 4:16:55 PM

I'm thinking movie reboots create a little buzz for the younger generations to find the original films. I hope Raimi is trying to cash on the cult following will be renewed with the reboot and the new generation curious about the originals.

If he can make a sequel for next to nothing then I say go for it, if it hangs onto that original humor/ horror .... like a Bubba Ho Tep.

Actor Edward Herrman Dead at 71

Chris Pine Says "Jack Ryan: Shadow Recruit" is One of His Deep Regrets

Henry Cavill Comments on "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Split

Julia Roberts to Star in "Batkid Begins" Film

Tim Burton Was Replaced on "Batman Forever" Because of McDonalds

Adam Sandler is Hollywood's Most Overpaid Actor, Again

Anthony Mackie Discusses Becoming Captain America in Marvel Films

Sam Raimi Says He Messed Up "Spider-Man 3"

Ohio Man Demanding Refund for 50 "The Interview" Tickets

Brad Pitt, Christian Bale and Ryan Gosling to Star in "The Big Short"
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved