WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Joss Whedon Didn't Like First Two "Hulk" Movies

Posted: March 8th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Joss Whedon DidnSubmit Comment
Latino-Review previously reported that Marvel is working on a new "Hulk" movie that would be based on the "Planet Hulk" storyline in which the Hulk never turns back into Bruce Banner. Marvel quickly denied the report, calling it "nonsense."

Now, "The Avengers" director Joss Whedon commented on the difficulties of handling the character. "The Hulk is the most difficult Marvel property," he said. "Is he a monster? Is he a hero? Are you going to root for a protagonist who spends all his time trying to stop the reason you came to the movie from happening? I don't think the first two movies nailed it, but I don't envy the task. It was easier to have him in a group than to build everything around him."

Whedon also said that he's not interested in a movie that's more about the Hulk and less about Banner. "If he was Hulk for the entire movie, I think Mark [Ruffalo] at some point would go, 'why am I here?' I would be less inclined to pursue a storyline where the Hulk is only ever the Hulk. Mark [Ruffalo] and I loved the Hulk and went over and over the concept of rage and how it should manifest, and that part of it was fascinating to both of us."

Source: Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 25 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
boogiel writes:
on March 8th, 2013 at 6:17:33 AM

Bill Bixby is Bruce banner and Lou Ferrigno is Hulk. Period.
supaflywill writes:
on March 8th, 2013 at 6:19:39 AM

CANT BEAT THE NORTAN HULK TBH - shame he wasnt included in the avengers...but really i dint think he would of fitted in ...saying that ....the hulk is a loner right ??
Ip_man writes:
on March 8th, 2013 at 6:20:14 AM

Lots of Joss Wheason updates lately...

W H Y ?????????????????????????????????
ab5olut10n writes:
on March 8th, 2013 at 6:22:58 AM

Nortan....would of....you're f*cking killing me, guy.
Crazyhorse writes:
on March 8th, 2013 at 7:12:27 AM

boogiel


You got that right


as for the first two Hulks; who would have liked them they werent good
SACdaddy writes:
on March 8th, 2013 at 8:17:03 AM

It's really not that hard imo. The Hulk is a classic Jekyll and Hyde character. Just base a film on Banner trying to decide if he wants a cure or if he wants to use the monster for good or to indulge his moral primal urges (like hate or revenge). Kill Betty or someone close to him and see where that takes you :-)
BadChadB33 writes:
on March 8th, 2013 at 8:22:05 AM

OK here's the daily Joss Whedon thread. So tonight there will be another Carrie Fisher thread saying she's not in Ep 7 now.
SACdaddy writes:
on March 8th, 2013 at 8:34:40 AM

A more serious tone is what a Hulk movie really needs. It's a character based on RAGE for chrissake, there's nothing lighthearted about that. I think Ruffalo got that in his portrayal of Banner. Just the look on his face when he gave that half smile that said "I know I don't look it, but I will f*ck you up if you f*ck with me" sold it for me. He'd be great in a stand alone Hulk movie that was more serious and dramatic.
crimsonfiend420 writes:
on March 8th, 2013 at 9:17:06 AM

Would of. Are you f*cking kidding me. Have. Would HAVE. Jesus f*cking Christ we are in decline.
Fightclub1 writes:
on March 8th, 2013 at 9:18:51 AM

I loved the second hulk movie, I think they nailed it. Ang lee hulk sucked though
Deaft0ne writes:
on March 8th, 2013 at 11:00:01 AM

@SAC

Your last comment on the AFTA URF thread was weird and made zero sense.
Deaft0ne writes:
on March 8th, 2013 at 11:06:55 AM

Will Smith having a somewhat carribbean/jamaican accent doesn't mean sh*t and if you go into the woods right now where there are wild animals they will hunt you immediately if they are dangerous.

The movie looks like Avatar with 2 human actors. Not seeing how it is even remotely related to a Planet if the Apes movie.

My guess on After Earth is the entire story with his son is a virtual reality simulation to prepare him to be a warrior or something stupid and Will Smith is actually dead and some trainer is taking on his appearance.
Deaft0ne writes:
on March 8th, 2013 at 11:07:44 AM

of^
cruzcontrol39 writes:
on March 8th, 2013 at 12:05:02 PM

For Christ sake just do Mr Fixit hulk....
Stapes writes:
on March 8th, 2013 at 12:40:47 PM

Yeah well the two Hulk movies dont like you either, Whedon. Off topic, Putnam's taste is in serious question yet again for his idiotic review of Oz. The movie is so atrocious it made me want to claw my eyes out with a spoon.
minkowski writes:
on March 8th, 2013 at 1:32:05 PM

OMG, more "Whedon Speaks" articles, please! I never ever get tired of hearing what The Great Skull has to say!



@Deaft0ne: welcome to my world, dude.
minkowski writes:
on March 8th, 2013 at 1:57:15 PM

"Not seeing how [After Earth] is even remotely related to a Planet if the Apes movie."



...shut up mink, just shut the f*ck up...
Chris_G writes:
on March 8th, 2013 at 2:47:03 PM

I heard Ruffalo was one of the actors considered for Banner in 'The Incredible Hulk'...that would have been amazing. But yes, it is an interesting dynamic. Everyone in the audience wants to see Hulk, but nobody IN the movie wants to see him...it wasn't exactly done right in either Hulk movie, although both are great. We won't get a chance at the definitive Hulk film until the next round of reboots comes in no less than 15-20 years down the line.
BadChadB33 writes:
on March 8th, 2013 at 3:07:50 PM

Enforcer- Read your comment, need a hug my friend?
SACdaddy writes:
on March 8th, 2013 at 4:14:01 PM

@deaft: Lol I was commenting on films that actually show evolutionary change in the furture. Man leaving the Earth for god knows how many years will defintely change him some way, his accent being a possible example. As for the wildlife, of course that's going to evolve too in the absence of humans. Populations would explode, old predators would make there way to the top again, and new predators would emerge. It's nice to see this movie examine that. The Tom Cruise film seems to be completely devoid of that, probably because the futuristic circ*mstances are different.

As for Planet of the Apes, its future installments have to go a similar direction as the human population is decimated by disease and hopefully eventually by something cooler like a war with the apes for domination of the planet. If it follows the traditional storyline by the time the astronauts get back in the distant future apes will be wearing clothes and using us as slaves. It will be interesting to see the films explain how sh*t gets to that point.
Deaft0ne writes:
on March 8th, 2013 at 5:44:17 PM

@SAC

Oblivion will be the better film because it's based on a pre-existing Graphic Novel by Joseph Kosinski and it's his film.

After Earth is made by a failed director in a subversive cash grab.

Tell the difference.
Evil_Disco writes:
on March 8th, 2013 at 6:00:56 PM

f*ck Whedon.
minkowski writes:
on March 8th, 2013 at 6:57:25 PM

Oblivion >> After Earth.


But we all know Sac will defend anything starring his two black lover brothers.
Rocksteddy writes:
on March 8th, 2013 at 7:24:51 PM

Joss Whedon is nothing but a fool and an overrated writer.
I mean, the only thing I enjoyed from him was Cabin in the Woods and The Avengers, and I didn't even like the films as a horror or an action film, I liked them as popcorn flicks more-or-less.


Let's just see what happens with The Avengers 2. Maybe we'll see a deeper film as apposed to this popcorn sh*t.
2Legit2Quit writes:
on March 8th, 2013 at 9:34:15 PM

HULK ANGRY, HULK SMASH PUNY JOSS WHEDON

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved