WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

New Trailer for Ben Affleck's "To The Wonder"

Posted: March 8th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
New Trailer for Ben AffleckSubmit Comment
Magnolia Pictures has unveiled a new trailer for "To The Wonder," starring Ben Affleck, Olga Kurylenko, Rachel McAdams and Javier Bardem. Check it out below.

Plot: The story revolves around Marina (Kurylenko) and Neil (Affleck), who meet in France and move to Oklahoma to start a life together, where problems soon arise. While Marina makes the acquaintance of a priest and fellow exile (Bardem), who is struggling with his vocation, Neil renews a relationship with a childhood sweetheart, Jane (McAdams).

The new movie is directed by Terrence Malick (The Tree of Life, The Thin Red Line) and is set to hit theaters on April 12th, likely in limited release.

Trailer:


Source: ET


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 31 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
M. Bullitt writes:
on March 8th, 2013 at 6:52:52 AM

A love story at le Mont Saint Michel by Terrence Malick! Why not? He's mysterious and original, always a pleasure to watch his films.


Deaft0ne writes:
on March 8th, 2013 at 7:29:53 AM

Look as sleep-inducing and as pretentious as Tree of Life. Malick's first 3 films are great though.
SACdaddy writes:
on March 8th, 2013 at 8:03:41 AM

Make room for another snoozefest from Hwood's most boring director. God I hate TM movies with a passion. It's like he never evolved past his first sh*tty pretentious film school project. You know the typical Super 8 short where a guy walks aimlessly through the woods while Malick's voiceover spits grim, boring poetry. Someone needs to tell this guy that beautiful imagery and metaphor only go so far when your putting the audience to sleep with it.
ENFORCER writes:
on March 8th, 2013 at 9:12:30 AM

If that f*cking loon who commented first thinks it will be good then this will be avoid at all costs film! For anyone with knowledge of that rediculous c*nts tastes. (Mainly piss and c*m)
velocityknown writes:
on March 8th, 2013 at 9:31:36 AM

"Ben Affleck's 'To the Wonder'?" Seriously? That's who you're going to assign ownership to with this headline? I know the audience over at ET doesn't demand that much respect of their film knowledge, but if you're going to post that here, please correctly refer to it as Terrence Malick's film especially since Ben Affleck probably speaks 5 times in the whole movie.
Taco writes:
on March 8th, 2013 at 9:59:01 AM

Well said Velocityknown.
Deaft0ne writes:
on March 8th, 2013 at 10:13:14 AM

Yeah that is a dumb-ass headline since Argo is a better movie than the last 3 Malick films put together. Don't insult The Fleck!
Deaft0ne writes:
on March 8th, 2013 at 10:23:05 AM

Reception

At the Venice Film Festival, as Javier Bardem's character (a priest), appeared, the audience started to laugh, although he was not a comical character. In the same way, the audience laughed at scenes featuring the Italian actress Romina Mondello (who spoke phrases like "I am my own experiment"). The film's Venice premiere was classified as a "little fiasco" by Toni Garcia and the film was met with both boos and cheers.
Ranger writes:
on March 8th, 2013 at 10:27:38 AM

Rachel McAdams really needs me in her ass.
Patrick Bateman writes:
on March 8th, 2013 at 11:58:56 AM

argo is cheesey boring porpaganda I dont know why people like it, fair enough everyone entitled to an opinon. I just find it devoid of any engagement with the viewer, having already read an article with the events of the story sometime before seeing the film normaly knowing the outcome I can still enjoy the film working its way there (pretty much every movie that comes out now thanks to the trailer showing start middle and end on a plate)but argo was so stale no suspense no character development. Affleck slept walked throught the film and I found the actors interactions unbeliable, you have a son and a wife now I can trust you.

anyways I know people love this film but Id rather watch a malick film any day of the week, even though tree of life was wanky and pretentious it had a grander scope and meaning demanding the viewer to find the senstiment of the scenes instead of being spoonfed. I didnt love it but as people call the cure for insomnia I found it alot more intersting than argo.
Deaft0ne writes:
on March 8th, 2013 at 12:19:04 PM

@Patrick Bateman

Were you drunk as f*ck when you posted that?

There is no such thing as a historically accurate film. Argo is more scrutinized because it received universal critical acclaim and sh*tloads of awards because it is s very entertaining and engaging and well directed and written and acted film. It's a movie's movie and that's why it's such a solid work.

Terrence Malick on the other hand is now ignoring a conventional 3 act structure for all his films and disregarding narrative exposition and character development for some abstract concept of what he thinks is a visual sort of poetry that is ultimately unachievable and Tree of Life proved this in spades.

To the Wonder looks like more of this and watching Malick's cathartic purging of his own issues in a nearly 3 hour film is just not interesting to sit through.

I'm all for unique movies that are unconventional. 2001 and Seven Samurai and There Will Be Blood are some of my favorites but they all tell an engaging story.

Terrence Malick stopped doing that a long time ago.
Deaft0ne writes:
on March 8th, 2013 at 12:19:57 PM

a^
Deaft0ne writes:
on March 8th, 2013 at 12:27:37 PM

I guess it's ironic that Ben Affleck directed and starred in one of the best films of last year and is now acting in what will be one of the worst of this year.
jdl107 writes:
on March 8th, 2013 at 12:28:47 PM

I love it when people break free of convention. I don't know, I just like Terrence Malick. Seems I'm the only one that liked Tree of Life.
Skywalker121289 writes:
on March 8th, 2013 at 1:27:02 PM

@Deaft- You're right. The Tree of Life isn't linear. It's almost a collage of clips that he's put together to create an experience rather than a linear traditional film. However, the experience that you get from watching a Malick film is far superior than a good majority of the directors working today.

I thoroughly enjoyed The Tree of Life, loved The Thin Red Line, and truth be told, I probably will be a fan of this one. Why? Because it's not the trashy crap that makes it's way onto the screens today. I mean seriously, how many films can we really hold up and admire today? Not only with with how they were shot, but also subject content? I look at the news feed to my left and I see SciFi, Superheroes, Remakes, and News about some bygone classics. And those are fun and all- which is why I'm still on this site. lol But very few are respectable endeavors to create a film that has a voice that is developed enough to bring a mature statement with it. Sure, we'll see two or three films a year that bring a strong whallop of a message, but so far in 2013, this is one of them. I'll take it.

Sure, there will be the people out there that say 'We don't want a message- I just want a freakin story!' Then by all means pass on Malick's films. Saturday morning cartoons will always be there for you and your kind. lol
velocityknown writes:
on March 8th, 2013 at 1:33:17 PM

I didn't care for Tree of Life, but outside of that we can't forget that Malick also made Badlands, Days of Heaven, and Thin Red Line. The New World has its fans I suppose. I do hope To The Wonder will be more Badlands/Days of Heaven and less Tree of Life however.
velocityknown writes:
on March 8th, 2013 at 1:34:13 PM

@Deaftone

Pretty much every Malick film is met with mixed reaction at initial festival screenings.
Nihilus writes:
on March 8th, 2013 at 1:40:05 PM

I love you Olga....
minkowski writes:
on March 8th, 2013 at 1:51:09 PM

Every Malick film is told through that dream-like haze and doped-up narration. I'm sure this one will be no different.

And for the first time in my life, I actually agree with Sac. Very pretentious. Almost insubstantial drivel for the most part. It's like Malick thinks cinema isn't really about telling a story with motion; instead he thinks film is a constant cut of segueing, jarring, blurred disjointed shots strung together with some guy uttering a monologue while under the heavy influence of a morphine drip.

I mean, don't get me wrong, his films have a visual appeal, and there's some genuine emotional content, but after the second or third of his films, you start wondering just what the f*ck happened to this guy to get him stuck in Little Nemo's Slumberland.

Christ, wake the f*ck up Terrence!
Deaft0ne writes:
on March 8th, 2013 at 3:01:03 PM

@skywalker

Saying something as black and white and "If you don't like Malick, there's always saturday morning cartoons" Is an ill-informed and silly statement.

Tree of Life had some great cinematography and music and so on but it was mostly just meandering navel-gazing for the most part.

A much better edit would be if it was cut down to about 100 mins and it ENDED with the birth of the universe sequence. It would be a much more compelling film like that and also if it was edited in sequence.

Try watching TOL sped up about 1/4 so you can still hear the audio and you will notice how much if it us just silent filler of the camera panning and tracking around in a scene.

This sort of pointless sh*t is usually excised in the editing room but it's as if Terrence doesn't even have an editor because TOL is so self indulgent that it just gets irritating.

I actually did speed it up when all panning and tracking got so incessant and over done.

Badlands and Days of Heaven and The Thin Red Line are all genuinely great films and true classics and I have tge Criterion Blu-Rays of them because they are worth owning.

I have the theatrical DVD of The New World and it has some good moments and Q'Oriana Kilcher was great as Pocahontas but this was where Malick started to go off the rails cinematically and it was full-bore with Tree of Life.

Saturday morning cartoons you say? At least they never fail to tell a story.
Deaft0ne writes:
on March 8th, 2013 at 3:02:21 PM

+the,the^
Deaft0ne writes:
on March 8th, 2013 at 3:53:26 PM

My favorite music artist of all time btw.
pornfly writes:
on March 8th, 2013 at 4:36:19 PM

Theres hot chics in Oklahoma??
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=INOeZnfUuIY&feature=youtube_gdata_player
Deaft0ne writes:
on March 8th, 2013 at 5:19:21 PM

of^
Deaft0ne writes:
on March 8th, 2013 at 5:28:59 PM

of^
Deaft0ne writes:
on March 8th, 2013 at 5:38:56 PM

of^
Deaft0ne writes:
on March 8th, 2013 at 5:39:02 PM

of^
Deaft0ne writes:
on March 8th, 2013 at 5:40:36 PM

Lol i didnt quad post
mustardayonnaise writes:
on March 8th, 2013 at 6:06:36 PM

i would love to see malick direct a bourne movie LOL
Skywalker121289 writes:
on March 8th, 2013 at 6:44:27 PM

@Deaft

TOL could have been seriously edited. There were several dull spots where I actually did fall asleep after multiple viewings. lol

But the filler did create a different animal of the film. It felt more like a novel with a larger breath and scope that I feel like most movies, even ones with long running times, lack.

I get tired of movies that have people raving that some films don't follow a traditional format. It's as though the medium has reached it's pinnacle of perfection and indie films or other attempts at conveying a different way of presenting stories is FUBARed and people fail to properly receive this new approach to movies because the film doesn't fit the traditional approach that our brain dead audiences won't recognize right off the bat.

It is all about money though and raking in the big bucks.

So.

Screw me. That type of film making must be dead already.
KillerCOck writes:
on March 8th, 2013 at 10:57:50 PM

Malick is loosing it. Him casting Affleck as the star is proof of that.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved