WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Tomb Raider" Reboot to Feature Young Lara Croft

Posted: March 5th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Tomb Raider" Reboot to Feature Young Lara CroftSubmit Comment
Crystal Dynamics is releasing a new "Tomb Raider" video game, exploring the origin story of Lara Croft. At the same time, the company is working with GK Films on a "Tomb Raider" film reboot, being written by Mark Fergus and Hawk Ostby (Iron Man).

Crystal Dynamics head Darrell Gallagher has now confirmed that the reboot will be an origin story and will tie into the new game. "[GK Films is] working from this new take that we've given them," he revealed. "It's a good partnership. We're seeing the challenges through the same lens. It was important for both of us to have a cohesive version of the franchise. We didn't want to see a film version that was a continuation of the old 'Tomb Raider' films."

Jolie starred as Lara Croft in two "Tomb Raider" movies back in 2001 and 2003. They grossed a total of $432 million at the worldwide box office.

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 25 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Moose756 writes:
on March 5th, 2013 at 5:45:38 AM

I am shocked, that actually sounds like a good partnership. The story aspect seems in good hands but as is always the case who will they cast as Lara. If Hollywood tells us anything it is that they want to hire a big name to help sell the film and that might ruin it. I'll give two to one odds Jennifer Lawrence is the choice or at least in the running for the role.
cress writes:
on March 5th, 2013 at 6:06:30 AM

What? How about a "Tomb Raider" film exploring the life of a much older Lara Croft and her 8 kids she's adopted from all over the world. I know who could play her...
boogiel writes:
on March 5th, 2013 at 6:27:59 AM

@Cress

LOL! That's a good one.
KillerCOck writes:
on March 5th, 2013 at 7:00:49 AM

Gemma Arterton or Hayley Atwell
Avirex writes:
on March 5th, 2013 at 8:00:00 AM

They figure it worked for Hunger Games and a few other properties so now they want to capitalize on that market.
Bunny X writes:
on March 5th, 2013 at 8:00:13 AM

High opes for this. The new game looks incrediuble and if the film stays with that darker tone and overall direction of the game, this could be something.
I would hate to have a big name play Croft. It would take away from the film the way it did with Angelina. It was as if the films were built around her. Hopefully having the IM team tied into this should help with that.
BadChadB33 writes:
on March 5th, 2013 at 10:48:25 AM

Well no sh*t.
BadChadB33 writes:
on March 5th, 2013 at 10:48:42 AM

We've had this on here before.
BadChadB33 writes:
on March 5th, 2013 at 10:48:42 AM

We've had this on here before.
Biz Malarkey writes:
on March 5th, 2013 at 11:08:19 AM

Old news
Skywalker121289 writes:
on March 5th, 2013 at 11:39:43 AM

The game itself looks sick. And as long as Jolie doesn't play the lead role I'll be fine with it. I can't stand that woman, bleh. She just sits there and makes googly eyes at everyone she encounters. PASS.
kate writes:
on March 5th, 2013 at 11:49:57 AM

best scene was the ending of the first one when jolie runs in slow motion and her big tits are bouncing up and down...
Atemisk writes:
on March 5th, 2013 at 12:09:52 PM

While I'm not a fan of Tomb Raider overall, the new take on it actually looks cool and the gameplay looks like its a giant step up from the clunky P.o.S that was it's previous games.

With that said, I think the new films will most likely be a disaster. This partnership will ONLY work if Hollywood pulls their heads out of their asses which I'm pretty sure anyone would agree is unlikely. Hollywood has shown time and time again that they view themselves as "above the lesser art that is the Games Industry." So they will ask for advice but in the end they'll simply say "They don't know what they're talking about" and do their own sh*tty version.

I hope time proves me wrong.
Deaft0ne writes:
on March 5th, 2013 at 4:05:08 PM

Olivia Wilde would be perfect for Lara Croft. She looks like the character.
minkowski writes:
on March 5th, 2013 at 4:29:18 PM

^^Good one Deaft0ne. Olivia Wilde would be a very good choice. She has an angular face and those beautiful eyes.

Anyway, still have some found memories of the original TombRaider games. The puzzles weren't terrible difficult, but they sure were a good way to kill a few hours.
GERARD KENNELLY 007 writes:
on March 5th, 2013 at 4:43:13 PM



i would cast megan fox as Lara Croft
Champ1432 writes:
on March 5th, 2013 at 4:53:19 PM

I also like the idea of Wilde as Croft, good thinking, Deaft0ne.

The new game does look pretty cool. If the movie can somehow follow that pattern, maybe it will be pretty good.
pornfly writes:
on March 5th, 2013 at 5:28:10 PM

Cant wait for the next reboot when Laras boobs come in
minkowski writes:
on March 5th, 2013 at 5:55:09 PM

"i would cast megan fox as Lara Croft"

And we'd all beat you to death with a crowbar too, Bane.
Deaft0ne writes:
on March 5th, 2013 at 6:37:51 PM

@mink

Yeah the first 3 Tomb Raider games on the PS1 were amongst some of the best games on the system.

Tomb Raider Legend wasn't bad either and I liked Anniversary which is mostly a remake of the first game.

This new one on PS3 looks cool even though heavily influenced by the Uncharted series which was influenced by the original TR games, lol.

Cyclical.
minkowski writes:
on March 5th, 2013 at 6:57:25 PM

^^^Yep. Indiana Jones -> Lara Croft -> Indiana Jones (PC Games IIRC) -> Uncharted -> Lara Croft -> Indiana Jones?

And I played TR on PC. Hated the graphics but at least their was a few hacks you could get that would up the texture resolution.




Wonder here who recalls Nude Raider?

http://www.gamesradar.com/lara-croft-nude/

Old school sh*t.
minkowski writes:
on March 5th, 2013 at 6:59:50 PM

there.
ZenShark writes:
on March 5th, 2013 at 10:41:23 PM

The new tomb raider game is excellent. Just finished the day before.12 + hours campaign easy. Took me 15.5 hours with 91% completion.
thinkvideo writes:
on March 5th, 2013 at 10:55:33 PM

@cress, are you thinking what I'm thinking?
Maybe the kids aren't adopted!
Kate Gosselin, right?
mustardayonnaise writes:
on March 6th, 2013 at 5:32:41 PM

wait, an origin story? WOAH, what an original idea. wonder if any movie studios are considering this for some of their big franchises.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved