WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Marvel Says "Guardians of the Galaxy" Won't Have Any Cameos

Posted: March 4th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Marvel Says "Guardians of the Galaxy" WonSubmit Comment
SFX Magazine had a chance to sit down with Marvel head Kevin Feige, who revealed that "Guardians of the Galaxy" is a stand-alone film that won't directly tie into Marvel's superhero universe.

"It's much more of a standalone film. It takes place in the same universe, but the Avengers are not involved with what's happening out there at this time," he explained, adding that the film takes place "95% in space."

According to a recent rumor, the Guardians will battle Thanos in the movie. Thanos will win, which results in Iron Man (and likely the rest of the Avengers) joining the fight in "The Avengers" sequel.

Source: SFX


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 38 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Ranger writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 9:14:10 PM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K8E_zMLCRNg
BillyBunter writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 9:40:43 PM

I was worried about looking at any link you post ranger but that made me chuckle.
minkowski writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 10:15:57 PM

I'm going to laugh my white ass off when this movie appears and everyone is screaming about how great it is, after all the time these same people have spent bashing it.

Seems to be the thing around here.
johnny_boy writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 10:40:49 PM

I can dig the whole thanos being a threat in this film but Marvel better keep their word and not have the Guardians of the Galaxy in Avengers 2.
ENFORCER writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 10:45:23 PM

I will reserve my opinion until I see it, I don't like bagging something I have not seen.
Donyae 420 writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 10:50:43 PM

Had the comics,can't wait...could be like Alien, 95% space and all.
jdl107 writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 10:51:02 PM

Good. Keep it standalone, as much as I appreciate them bringing the team together for us audiences it is getting kind of tiring. Let the GotG have their movie to themselves.
jdl107 writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 10:52:50 PM

Besides, from the sound of it, perhaps this movie will be badass enough we won't need a cameo.
jdl107 writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 10:55:37 PM

"According to a recent rumor, the Guardians will battle Thanos in the movie. Thanos will win, which results in Iron Man (and likely the rest of the Avengers) joining the fight in "The Avengers" sequel."

So they plan on having the same Avengers battle Thanos with the only addition being the GotG? No other road but watered down one.

Damn.
jdl107 writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 10:56:04 PM

*the
BillyBunter writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 11:00:04 PM

I have faith in this, my only worry is the appeal of the characters to a broader audience, avengers at least had household name characters. Marvel seem to be on a role in delivering entertaining movies so i am looking forward to hearing more about this.
minkowski writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 11:20:28 PM

I remember people, including me, laughed at the prospect of a Thor movie, saying how stupid it would be to make a film revolving around a god coming to Earth with his silly hammer, and then lo and behold, Marvel displayed brains by short-circuiting that objection with a plot that saw Thor made mortal and at the mercy of us mere humans, paving the way in acceptability for a second film that apparently delves more into the Norse-like lore without the modern backdrop.

Marve's smart, I think. DC...not so much.
BillyBunter writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 11:37:59 PM

I agree Mink, i think Marvel know that their core audience are people who love comics books and a well thought out story. As far as DC goes the Green Lantern still gives me the horrors as well as Jonah Hex. But will say the latest Batmen trilogy showed a certain respect to the comic book audience and i am excited to see a new superman film, i think with Snyder on a leash this film is going to be pretty polished.
jdl107 writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 11:51:40 PM

"DC...not so much."

Especially now. It's obvious all they're caring about is making sure they have a sure place in the competition.
minkowski writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 11:53:02 PM

^^Agreed, Billy. Man of Steel looks like a very tight and well-crafted film. I only hope it's FUN in the way a man of Superman's capabilities should provide. You know, totally epic, because if Iron Man can enthrall, Superman should blow the audiences away.
pornfly writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 11:53:46 PM

Spinoffs without cameos do not usually pan-out
BadChadB33 writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 11:55:58 PM

Ranger- lol

Still have my doubts on this.

Ranger writes:
on March 5th, 2013 at 12:13:07 AM

@Billy and BC... lol.

@mink - I was never one to bash a Marvel movie on here (I've even stuck up for the bad ones: 'Daredevil' etc.). But as Billy has pointed out... this movie... I don't see the core audience (as he put it so well) for this flick. I was BIG into comics back when, and I don't think I even knew (still don't) know who this group is. Don't care either. The Avengers (after you've seen it the first time... it really, honestly is an 'average' film) succeeded because fans of each super-hero (and Scarlett's boobage) went to see it.

I agree with your Man of Steel post. I too am hoping like hell it exceeds all expectations. I usually don't have any. But, for MoS... I'd like to see Supes made the way he always should have been made (with all due respect to Reeves and Supes 1&2).
kate writes:
on March 5th, 2013 at 12:13:47 AM

So far the only marvel movie that was decent was the first Iron Man.and that guardians of the toilet movie looks like sh*t.
minkowski writes:
on March 5th, 2013 at 12:43:17 AM

Hmm. Wonder what Avengers 2 will be like. Wonder how Marvel's going to integrate all these new characters and movies into that framework. So GotG will work Thanos into the mix and then Iron Man 3 will close with a segue into him coming to earth? Sounds awesome. Wonder if any GotG characters will cameo in Avengers 2 then. And will Captain America 2 and Thor 2 will flow into Avengers' Thanos storyline as well? Should be a really awesome story buildup for the next few years.
minkowski writes:
on March 5th, 2013 at 1:17:53 AM

"Spinoffs without cameos do not usually pan-out"

Yeah, but that "rule" only applies to stuff outside comic books. because with comics, almost everything is a spin-off. A main character we all now accept may have started out as a minor character in a comic that now doesn't even exist.

Hell, the character of Steel is still kicking around, even, just don't mention the movie...
BillyBunter writes:
on March 5th, 2013 at 1:22:19 AM

Do you guys think this will lead up to the Infinity Gauntlet story line?
minkowski writes:
on March 5th, 2013 at 1:29:56 AM

Maybe, but they'd need Doctor Strange and Silver Surfer. Avengers 2 could be a lead up. Thanos maybe coming to earth to find one of the Infinity Gems. Doesn't die but the Gems he already has and the one on Earth fall into the Avengers' hands.
pornfly writes:
on March 5th, 2013 at 2:30:35 AM

Very true as usual, MINK
But if theyre trying to get people other than comic book fans to pull out money for a movie with a new set of Marvel characters it could only benefit them by having a cameo

Its still a movie regardless of its content

Remember Elektra?
Daredevil wouldnt have saved that movie but it wouldv gotten a few more asses in the seats

Even those American Pie spinoffs had Eugene Levy
pornfly writes:
on March 5th, 2013 at 2:32:39 AM

The American Pie spinoffs are craptacular but they did manage to make more than just one
slevin27 writes:
on March 5th, 2013 at 2:46:28 AM

According to this iron man is part of the team.

http://images2.wikia.nocookie.net/__cb20130305032912/marveldatabase/images/c/c7/Guardians_of_the_Galaxy_Vol_3_1_Granov_Variant_Textless.jpg
slevin27 writes:
on March 5th, 2013 at 2:48:59 AM

Sorry that first link was just a pic this is the right one I believe.

http://marvel.wikia.com/Guardians_of_the_Galaxy_(Earth-616)
pornfly writes:
on March 5th, 2013 at 2:49:25 AM

^
I wont believe anything till i hear it from Latino Review
*coffcoff*
slevin27 writes:
on March 5th, 2013 at 3:03:35 AM

Also Thanos' first appearance was Iron Man #55 1973
slevin27 writes:
on March 5th, 2013 at 3:05:31 AM

@porn You have a point lol
nuttie30xx writes:
on March 5th, 2013 at 3:19:23 AM

Marvel Says "Guardians of the Galaxy" Won't Have Any Cameos

BULLsh*t i bet a million that stan lee is in it.
unless the unthinkable happens and he dies lets hope not
Ranger writes:
on March 5th, 2013 at 3:52:13 AM

Oh he will. I guarantee it. We ALL WILL!!!!!!!!
supaflywill writes:
on March 5th, 2013 at 5:26:07 AM

racoons with guns ...please leave it out ...
Bunny X writes:
on March 5th, 2013 at 8:26:54 AM

As well it shouldn't. MArvel has the perfect strategy here. The only cameos in the other films were of Fury. And that's because he needed to since he was recruiting the Avengers. Now the afer credit scenes more than likely will only be views into the next installments. Just like a comic book or the way they did old style movie serials. And folks will be filling the seats to be a part of it. They won't want to miss a connecting piece of the Marvel machine.
And with the smaller 2nd and 3rd tier films and tv shows running those common threads, Marvel stands to run this til the wheels fall off. And that won't be anytime soon.
velocityknown writes:
on March 5th, 2013 at 1:08:51 PM

I had to close 3 ads to get make a comment. You've successfully monetized your site in the worst way possible.
Ranger writes:
on March 5th, 2013 at 1:19:34 PM

@velocity - I must have a better ad-blocker. I don't get any of that grief here.
minkowski writes:
on March 5th, 2013 at 4:37:54 PM

Firefox plus Adblocker. No reason you should have to look at fifty ads just to read the news.
BlackDynamite writes:
on March 5th, 2013 at 11:02:26 PM

@BunnyX: Just gonna step in and be that *sshole and say Nick Fury didn't show up in Incredible Hulk, Tony Stark did.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved