WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Captain America 3" Director Hints at End of Chris Evans as Captain America
Aug 28th, 2014
First Photos of Doctor Doom From "Fantastic Four" Leaked Online?
Aug 28th, 2014
"The Sopranos" Creator Finally Reveals Whether Tony Soprano Died
Aug 28th, 2014
"Underworld" Franchise is Being Rebooted
Aug 28th, 2014
"Pacific Rim" Star Charlie Hunnam May Star in "King Arthur"
Aug 28th, 2014
Three New Photos From "Avengers: Age of Ultron"
Aug 28th, 2014
"Cops" Cameraman Killed While Filming TV Show
Aug 28th, 2014
"Looney Tunes" Movie Gets Steve Carell and "X-Men: First Class" Writers
Aug 27th, 2014
Warner Bros Has a "No Jokes" Policy For Its Superhero Films?
Aug 27th, 2014
Henry Cavill Does the Ice Bucket Challenge in His Superman Costume
Aug 27th, 2014
"Da Vinci Code 3" to Begin Filming in April, Tom Hanks Set to Return
Aug 27th, 2014
New "Jurassic World" Set Photo Honors Richard Attenborough
Aug 27th, 2014
First Look at Lucy Lawless in Marvel's "Agents of SHIELD" TV Series
Aug 27th, 2014
Christopher Nolan's "Interstellar" Unveils IMAX TV Spot
Aug 27th, 2014
Trailer for "The Pyramid" Thriller, From Alexandre Aja
Aug 27th, 2014
"Full House" Sequel Coming to TV, With Original Cast
Aug 26th, 2014
Ben Affleck's "Gone Girl" Thriller Unveils Emmy Awards TV Spot
Aug 26th, 2014
Jeremy Renner Says Hawkeye May Appear in "Captain America 3"
Aug 26th, 2014
Tyler Perry Never Heard of David Fincher Until Joining His "Gone Girl" Film
Aug 26th, 2014
"Thor" Star Chris Hemsworth in Talks For "Vacation" Reboot
Aug 26th, 2014
New Photos of Henry Cavill in "The Man From UNCLE"
Aug 26th, 2014
"Shutter Island" to Become a TV Series, Martin Scorsese May Direct
Aug 26th, 2014
Ridley Scott Discusses "Blade Runner" and "Prometheus" Sequels
Aug 26th, 2014
Extended Restricted Trailer for "As Above So Below" Horror Film
Aug 26th, 2014
Joss Whedon Discusses Iron Man's Hulkbuster Suit in "Avengers: Age of Ultron"
Aug 25th, 2014
Photo of Jeremy Renner's Redesigned Hawkeye Suit From "Avengers: Age of Ultron"
Aug 25th, 2014
"Jurassic Park" Star Richard Attenborough Dead at 90
Aug 25th, 2014
"Sin City 2" Bombs at Box Office, "Guardians of the Galaxy" Smashing Records
Aug 25th, 2014
Chloe Moretz Says "Kick-Ass 3" Won't Happen
Aug 25th, 2014
Bruce Wayne Enjoys MMA Fights in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Aug 24th, 2014
Director Rian Johnson Used "Se7en" and "Blade Runner" to Get "Looper" Made
Aug 24th, 2014
Director Josh Trank Unveils Photo of The Thing From "Fantastic Four" Reboot
Aug 24th, 2014
"Ant-Man" Set Photo Hints at Hulk's Appearance
Aug 23rd, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Christopher Nolan and Christian Bale in Talks for "Justice League of America"

Posted: March 4th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Christopher Nolan and Christian Bale in Talks for "Justice League of America"Submit Comment
According to Latino-Review, Christopher Nolan signed on to supervise Warner Bros' future superhero films. He directed the last three Batman movies and produced "Man of Steel," which Zack Snyder directed.

Now, both Nolan and Snyder will produce "Justice League of America," and Snyder is in talks to direct. On top of that, the studio has had discussions with Nolan about bringing Christian Bale back as Batman, who would join Henry Cavill as Superman.

The plan is to challenge Marvel's "The Avengers" franchise. And Warner Bros doesn't mind spending extra money to make that happen, since "The Avengers" earned $1.5 billion in theaters, even though none of the individual films were able to break the $1 billion mark on their own. Meanwhile, "The Dark Knight" and "The Dark Knight Rises" were both able to accomplish that. So if Nolan, Snyder and Bale return, "Justice League" has the potential to become the biggest superhero film of all time.

Click here to read more about "Justice League of America."

Source: Latino-Review


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 37 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
ENFORCER writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 5:54:21 AM

Wow, but I cannot see this happening!
kate writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 6:01:25 AM

^everything is possible with the right amount of money.
Taco writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 6:44:48 AM

Cash grab idea. Dumb too.
Taco writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 6:51:30 AM

If this happens, it will undermine the third movie since batman and Bruce Wayne both died and he moved on from the crime fighting life. Maybe if they forget that god awful Dark Knight rises ever happened then maybe this could work.
boogiel writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 6:52:05 AM

Bullsh*t!
cress writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 6:55:33 AM

"On top of that, the studio has had discussions with Nolan about bringing Christian Bale back as Batman, who would join Henry Cavill as Superman."

The studio is also planning sending Ryan Reynolds a complimentary fruit basket and a card that reads, "f*ck Off."
SACdaddy writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 7:04:29 AM

Kill Green Lantern in the first 10 mins, make Wonder Woman a 6' dominatrix whose lasso of truth doubles as her torture fetish whip, and forget the Flash and Martian Manhunter even exist.
KillerCOck writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 8:28:19 AM

It's gonna be wasted potential.
Janus writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 8:39:34 AM

Latino-Review? That's the same source that informed us about Marvel's new movie plans because they were simply standing in front of the Marvel building? Lame source. There will be nothing like this before the new Superman movie hit the theater and it's a success.
Moose756 writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 9:03:09 AM

I knew they were going to shove nolan down everyones throat just to make a billion dollars. I believe that all the money will go to these "names" and the actual movie will be made for peanuts.
supaflywill writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 9:03:48 AM

smells like bullsh*t to me ... i enjoyed the dark knight rises but thats it the rest were crap and i wouldnt watch them again , looking forward to seeing man of stell i think everything hinges on its success , still wonder woman would have to be totatly revamped in every way , green lantern....well ...it just wont work tbh
BadChadB33 writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 9:04:52 AM

JLA will fail!! No matter what they do it'll never live up to its potential.
Rocksteddy writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 10:21:21 AM

Nolan's gonna make Superman look like a giant fag in a latex suit.
Bunny X writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 10:56:02 AM

"...has the potential to become the biggest superhero film of all time."
I actually laughed and did a spit take with that....true story.
matternm58 writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 10:59:15 AM

Seriously, Justice League, way better than Avengers. Comic series I'm reading now is awesome story. It's just Warner Brothers can't find good writers and directors for their movies. We got lucky with Batman and I'm a huge Superman fan and I pray this movie will be good and I know they could always do better but I didn't think Green Lantern was that bad as everyone says it is, the suit grew on me but the mask still looked like crap.
yourmomgivesgoodhead writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 11:00:34 AM

Um didnt nolan already say his batman would make no sense in the JLA universe. I call bullsh*t on this...
kate writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 12:01:55 PM

and if 'Man of steal' flops? or critically trashed? then what?

and please don't say - Joel Schumacher...
minkowski writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 1:08:15 PM

Man oh man, are they counting chickens before they hatch or what? Why don't we see how well Man of Steel does first?

Sure, it's not going to flop, but let us see where its profit revenue falls, because Snyder directing may not be the greatest of cinematic ideas, and on the face of it, you've gone Pinky and the Brain (Whedon) doing Avengers, but DC wants the guy who hasn't had a real hit since 300. Doesn't sound brilliant to me. Taking a risk just having him do Man of Steel, now they want him, before that film even succeeds, to do another high-budget tent-pole flick? God they're in a rush AND desperate.

Their attitude, to me any way, boils down to: have God (Nolan) bless our project and all will turn out well.

What a load of rubbish, operating your movie industry on one man's name!

As for Bale coming back as Batman, not going to happen. Ever. Sure they HAD talks. Long time ago, and those talks concluded with a big fat "no thanks" from Bale, and even dumb ass DC knows that's f*cked up, because DC wasn't thinking big and smart like Marvel.

Marvel's going for the Big House attack. Make a bunch of "builder" films and then "assemble" them into one convergent flick. And then repeat ad infinitum. DC on the other hand was like, well, let's make a Batman film but let's make something diametrically opposite to Schumacher's "vision".

In short, DC has the short, small reactionary view, circa 2005, and Marvel had, has the "LEGO" view: make a lot of little blocks and then build a big f*cking castle. And now DC is going "duh where's my ass, George, huh, where's my ass?".

f*ck off.
minkowski writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 1:08:47 PM

got, not gone.
minkowski writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 1:22:09 PM

f*ck it. Not you've got. You have. Goddamned colloquialisms.
vincere01 writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 1:29:23 PM

I say yes to this, but with demands and pre-requisites. First and foremost the new superman movie must come out big. It needs to be criticly successful as well as make 750 million plus. It needs to keep the semi-serious tone of nolans world intact (which judging by trailer it is).

Secondly, both cavill and bale must sign on. Along with some returning characters from both man of steel and Dark Knight trilogy. Nothing exstensive though. I'd say bring lucious fox in as someone bruce/batman contacts to help him aquire new suits, gear, batmobile etc. Maybe show alfred watching the news events unfold and give us a glimpse of his life after events of TDKR.

From man of steel (guesses considering I have not seen it). Have short sequences in metropolis showing clark saying he is going on leave/vacation/family emergency whatever.

But just keep each character grounded in they're own worlds but tie them together at the same time. Make the story about superman seeking out help after realising the planet is just to big for only him to save etc. Have him seek out bruce and convince him to come out of retirement. Make the reason be superman shows bruce that he has an obligation to help if he can, if he has the means to help. That the world is bigger than gotham, and his demons.

Make the middle portion of the movie be filled with globe trotting looking for team members, while also dealing with problems/lesser villains along the way. For instance when they go to find superhero X, he is currently busy with a issue of his own. Supe and bat help him and then they move on. Kind of like mass effect 2 and xmen first class.

Then in the third act have them work together to stop a supervillian. Still unsure of who that would be at the moment. But make the characters believeable in both appearence and personality. They can have growing pains, batman and superman have some major operating differences. The movie could mine that story gold.

If done right, written right, with the right people. This could be the mother of all superhero movies, the likes of which would never be seen again. The combination of batman and superman, them alone is greater than anything marvel could possibly do. Those characters are the oldest, most popular, most recognizeable, most PROFITABLE comic characters ever.

Simply put. If its good, has the legs to be bigger than avatar and finally shut cameron up. That alone is enough for me to root for this.

minkowski writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 1:32:19 PM

@Vincere: As much as I'd love to see someone knock old sh*thead off his cinematic high horse, DC's JLA has as much chance of doing that as I have to spontaneously growing wings and following the cow over the f*cking moon.
Shogo1307 writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 1:33:54 PM

Not going to lie, if this does happen i might be slightly interested.
vincere01 writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 1:54:04 PM

@mink that's why I said there are demands and prerequisites. Snyder has to prove himself to me, and the fans. Show they can do things the right way. IF they/he can, and IF they/he can do what I proposed and more. Than it has a chance to blow the doors off of what everyone can concieve of or percieve to be a comic book movie.

There are a lot of if's. We will know more come this summer. All I'm saying is best case scenario played out here is biggest Box Office return ever. Worst case scenario is everyone involved will next be featured alongside Gary Busy under the bridge in west LA begging for money and flesh of children
Bunny X writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 2:02:47 PM

The only, and I mean ONLY way a JLA movie succeeds is if they build it off the premise of "Who polices the police?" That's the underlying tone of the JLA in that you have Earth's mightiest collection of heroes but who can keep them in check if they go rouge? Do your required JLA origin formation for one act and have them come together for a task they thought they could resolve with their combined talents. But spin it to use the saying The sum of their parts is greater than the whole. But all the while having that running theme of them being seen by the public as too powerful.

That's the difference between the JLA and the Avengers. The JLA is viewed as a collection of "Gods" and feared by man and scorned by the military. Whereas The Avengers are seen as rockstars and are generally adored.

But that too powerful them has to be established so that they can build the next JLA film around the story of Batman's tactics for countering each member is hijacked and utilized. This is DC's best storyline around the JLA and one that would work wonders on screen.

But all of this is crap unless they go to the group that has handled the DC property better than anyone and that's Bruce Timm and his troop in the DC animation department.
DC's animation dept is neck and neck with Marvel's live action.
vincere01 writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 2:16:33 PM

@bunny YES. That was where I was gonna go with it after the first jla movie. Making the next few standalone ines carry that theme and batman being the only one without powers be the sum of all those fears as he builds his database and strategies in how to successfully defeat and imprison each of then if/when it becomes necessary. It could lead to a huge divide between supe and batman anf eventually bring in the evil superman storyline where superman is sent to take out batman at the batcave. Batman is waiting for him in his krytonite infused suit with booby traps. To see that fight between superman and batman in live action alone would be worth making these movies for. Batman beats the sh*t out of superman.

Then have superman be redeemed. There is just so much potential there for great movies. Must temper excitement until man of steel comes out
minkowski writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 2:22:37 PM

"begging for money and flesh of children"

Hey man, don't knock it till you try it.
minkowski writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 2:43:53 PM

British Batman delivers burglary suspect to police:

http://www.nextmovie.com/blog/british-batman-brings-in-burglary-suspect/
SmOkEdCrAcKiN writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 3:04:41 PM

Gordon-levitt as Nightwing?
supaflywill writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 4:00:00 PM

Some things need to be kept in comics as they won't work in real film
bandolero999 writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 4:58:28 PM

oh great nolan is gonna make jla serious and dark.
Champ1432 writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 6:26:27 PM

As much as I want to believe this news to be true, I'm remaining skeptical at this point. Latino Review is not the prime source for storied you can take to the bank. I can absolutely see a headline popping up on this site on Wednesday or Thursday saying this story is completely unfounded.

Again, I would love if it were true, I so want to see a successful JLA movie/franchise, I really think it could be bigger than the Avengers if done correctly.

I like Vincere's idea for the plot, I also think that would make an awesome movie if done correctly. Especially the part about Superman realizing he needs help. I think that has to be the basis for any good JLA movie. He's so powerful, you would think he could do it all on his own. He has to realize he can't, and convince the other members to help him. This is how the new cartoon went, I think it's the way you have to go.

Of course, this means you have to present a convincing reason for Superman to think this way. The villain(s) in the movie have to be powerful enough or numerous enough to make it feasible that Superman would think he needs help. He also needs to find a convincing way to sell his idea to Wayne/Batman. Whether or not you use Nolan/Bale's Batman, or another version, he needs to be presented with compelling reasons to join the group, since it would not be his first instinct.

If you do use Nolan/Bale's Batman (even if not necessarily Bale), this presents an additional problem of making him fit well in to the movie. Any threat big enough to make Superman want to get a team together is probably going to be or at least seem a bit otherworldly. Going from the realism of the just completed trilogy to that is going to be strange and seem out of place. It's going to take some real skill to make all these pieces fit. Again, I like the idea though, Vincere, well thought out.

Man, it just seems like there's so much going against this movie and it's chances of being good. All I can do is hope this news is true, and hope they can find a way to make it work. I've wanted a good JLA movie for so long.

The biggest thing this has going for it, I think, is the money to be made if its successful. It could be bigger than Avengers. I'm not saying it would be easy (at all), but I really think it's possible. DC must realize the potential. I have to think they would exhaust every option to make this a reality.
minkowski writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 6:45:58 PM

Nolan's Batman is incongruous to the very nature of the threats JLA handles; how stupid will it look when Wonder Woman and Martian d*ckhunter try to take down, say, a psycho terrorist with a penchant for face paint, or a gay steroidal freak with a face mask fetich?

On the other hand, how stupid will it look when Nolan's Batman starts crying for Lucius Fox when his the Tumbler gets stomped flat by the likes of Darkseid? Yeah, all the deep-throated voice-acting in the world won't save his ass.

We'll see with Man of Steel. Seems that's a more Nolan-esque film, and how they handle someone not so "realistic" will determine if and how well they'll proceed towards a JLA movie, but the way I see it, they're now walking an infinitesimally thin fine line between Nolan's "realism" and the absolute crap camp of Green Lantern.
sedibus writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 6:47:28 PM

No surprise, I'm not a f*cking charlatan prophet or something, but I knew this was comin'.

So, yeah, pretty much they will do this.
OneTime writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 7:46:47 PM

i want a billion dollars please.
Bunny X writes:
on March 5th, 2013 at 8:10:39 AM

Grrr @mink, here we go seeing eye to eye again. Can we not make this a running theme??

That was THE BIGGEST PROBLEM with Nolan's Batman. He wasn't the Greatest Detective Batman. He was just some trinket tossing Lucius Fox slurping voice grumbler. There's no way in hell Nolan's Batman would get into an ltercation with Superman just to tag a tracker on him to figure out his secret identity. There's no way he devises a strategy to neutralize every JLA member. Nolan's BM just isn't that guy. And that's why there's no way he fits in the JLA. So in order to make an effective JLA movie, they absolutey MUST have the greatest detective Batman. Without that version, the JLA does not work.
i124q writes:
on March 5th, 2013 at 9:42:46 AM

I can't see Bale's Batman fitting in with this. It wouldn't work.

Just give the gig to someone else, move on.

It's probably been said before but surely John Hamm from Mad Men would be a prefect choice? Surely my American cousins are fed up of us Brits nabbing all the best superhero roles? Lol. ;-)

"Sin City 2" Bombs at Box Office, "Guardians of the Galaxy" Smashing Records

"The Sopranos" Creator Finally Reveals Whether Tony Soprano Died

Ronda Rousey Says She Should Have Been Wonder Woman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

Bruce Wayne's Age in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Revealed

"Sin City 2" is a Box Office Disaster

New "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Story Details Revealed

Bruce Wayne Enjoys MMA Fights in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

Robin Williams' Cause of Death Revealed

"The Expendables 3" Bombs at the Box Office, "Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles" Still On Top

Joss Whedon Discusses Iron Man's Hulkbuster Suit in "Avengers: Age of Ultron"
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved