WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Mark Wahlberg Will Return for "Transformers 5"
Dec 19th, 2014
"Team America: World Police" Screenings Also Cancelled Due to Terrorist Threats
Dec 19th, 2014
20th Century Fox Cancels It's Own North Korea-Based Film
Dec 19th, 2014
First Look: Tom Hanks in Steven Spielberg's Cold War Thriller
Dec 19th, 2014
First Look at Viggo Mortensen's "Captain Fantastic"
Dec 19th, 2014
Trailer for "True Story" Drama, with James Franco and Jonah Hill
Dec 18th, 2014
New Trailer for Clint Eastwood's "American Sniper," with Bradley Cooper
Dec 18th, 2014
"Fifty Shades of Grey" and "Star Wars" are Top Trailers of 2014
Dec 18th, 2014
Hugh Jackman in Talks for "X-Men: Apocalypse" and "The Wolverine 2"
Dec 18th, 2014
Peter Jackson Wants to Make More Tolkien Movies
Dec 18th, 2014
Theaters Refusing to Show "The Interview," Sony Cancels Premiere, Press and Release
Dec 17th, 2014
Chris Pratt and a Dinosaur in New "Jurassic World" Photo
Dec 17th, 2014
Tim Burton Doesn't Like Marvel Films, Says Superheroes Should Be Happier
Dec 17th, 2014
Orlando Bloom Says "Pirates of the Caribbean 5" is a Reboot
Dec 17th, 2014
Tim Burton Will Direct "Beetlejuice 2," Confirms Winona Ryder Will Return
Dec 17th, 2014
Adam Sandler's "Pixels" Action Comedy Unveils Pac-Man and Donkey Kong Posters
Dec 17th, 2014
New Trailer for Disney's Live-Action "Cinderella"
Dec 17th, 2014
First Look at "True Story" Drama, with James Franco and Jonah Hill
Dec 16th, 2014
Quentin Tarantino Interested in "Django Unchained" and "Zorro" Crossover Film
Dec 16th, 2014
Lots of "Ghostbusters 3" Story Details Leaked
Dec 16th, 2014
Trailer for Terrence Malick's "Knight of Cups," with Christian Bale and Natalie Portman
Dec 16th, 2014
"King Kong" Prequel Gets New Title and Release Date, JK Simmons Joins Cast
Dec 16th, 2014
Five Actresses in Talks for "Pirates of the Caribbean 5" Role
Dec 16th, 2014
20th Century Fox Planning to Merge "Fantastic Four" With "X-Men"
Dec 15th, 2014
"Aquaman" Film Considering "Mud" Director Jeff Nichols
Dec 15th, 2014
Tim Burton Says "Beetlejuice 2" is Closer Than Ever
Dec 15th, 2014
First Look at Batman's Suit From "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" in Color
Dec 15th, 2014
Jeremy Irons Says Alfred in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" is Very Different
Dec 15th, 2014
"Exodus: Gods and Kings" Underperforms at Box Office
Dec 15th, 2014
Disney Still Planning to Make "Indiana Jones 5"
Dec 14th, 2014
Trailer for Fake Movie "MoonQuake Lake," with Ashton Kutcher and Mila Kunis
Dec 14th, 2014
Concept Art From Disney's Live-Action "The Jungle Book"
Dec 14th, 2014
First Teaser for "Descendants," About Children of Maleficent, Jafar, Cruella and Other Disney Villains
Dec 14th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Jack the Giant Slayer" is First Box Office Disaster of 2013

Posted: March 3rd, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Jack the Giant Slayer" is First Box Office Disaster of 2013Submit Comment
Bryan Singer's 3D fantasy-adventure "Jack the Giant Slayer," which cost a whopping $195 million to make, took first place at the box office this weekend, but only with a dismal $28 million. The film will have to heavily rely on international revenues to make back the budget, which is nearly $300 million, when you factor in the marketing costs. "Jack" has a 52% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes.

"21 and Over," attempted to replicate the results of "Project X," but failed. The new comedy opened to $9 million, which was good enough for third place. Since the movie cost only $13 million to make, it will easily become profitable. "21 and Over" has a 32% fresh rating.

The other wide release of the weekend was Eli Roth's "The Last Exorcism Part II," which landed in fourth place with $8 million. That's far less than the $20.4 million that the first film grossed in its opening weekend. The good news is that the sequel cost only $5 million. It has a 13% fresh rating.

Meanwhile, Ed Harris' "Phantom" opened in 1,118 theaters and grossed only $475,000, which is one of the worst debuts of all time for a film playing in more than 1,000 theaters. It has a 22% fresh rating.

On the specialty side, "Oldboy" director Park Chan-wook released his first English-language film "Stoker," which grossed $158,000 from seven theaters for a $22,500 per theater. The $12 million film, starring Nicole Kidman, Matthew Goode and Mia Wasikowska, will likely expand next weekend. It has a 69% fresh rating.

In related news, "The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey" has now surpassed the $1 billion mark in theaters, becoming only the 15th films to reach the milestone.

Click here to read our "Jack the Giant Slayer" review.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 47 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
mpiper821 writes:
on March 3rd, 2013 at 10:49:16 PM

Not that surprising!!
Rocksteddy writes:
on March 3rd, 2013 at 10:57:18 PM

JESUS f*ckING CHRIST!
That is f*cking AWFUL. I mean, the film was bad on itself, but I did NOT expect THAT to happen.





Jesus Christ!
mpiper821 writes:
on March 3rd, 2013 at 10:58:19 PM

"The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey" has now surpassed the $1 billion mark in theaters, becoming only the 15th films to reach the milestone."

It's not really a milestone anymore since every year now theres at least one or two movies to make at least $1 billion.
In the last 5 years 11 of those films have done so. Doesn't seem too hard anymore. 20 bucks a ticket will do that.
minkowski writes:
on March 3rd, 2013 at 11:05:16 PM

For Bryan Singer:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ll3uipTO-4A
kate writes:
on March 3rd, 2013 at 11:13:43 PM

it amazes me how some projects which are clearly doomed to flop get the green light...'John Carter' 'Jack The giant Slayer' any nicole kidman movie
KillerCOck writes:
on March 3rd, 2013 at 11:21:59 PM

hahahaha! it still got the #1 spot doh! thats f*ckery!
Patrick Bateman writes:
on March 3rd, 2013 at 11:28:59 PM

not a suprise at all Iv been calling this on any bryan singer thread on WP's for a year because it was so obvious it was going to be a pile of cgi crap
mustardayonnaise writes:
on March 3rd, 2013 at 11:34:59 PM

of course it got the #1 spot... what did it have in the way of competition? nothing. remember, jan+feb (and early mar, i guess) are the dumping ground for sh*t movies. no studio knowingly puts a great film on the schedule in those months. they've got years of data and models to predict this kind of sh*t- teams of number crunchers- so that $28 mil figure is probably no surprise to them. the studios figure, "hey, it's a sh*t movie, it'll help when we need to write down a loss at some point, and if it exceeds our prediction, that's just gravy."

that said, who the f*ck greenlit that movie in the first place. and $195 million for it? on WHAT?!
Fightclub1 writes:
on March 3rd, 2013 at 11:54:08 PM

I called it
minkowski writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 12:05:45 AM

lol. I think everyone here guessed this pile of sh*t-stained cash would bomb.

Hell, did anyone even see any marketing for it outside Alex's articles? Anything on television? Trailers before prominent films? Teasers 3-6 months out? Anything? I sure as f*ck didn't.

And on top of that, it looks like a sh*tty luxury CGI flick with no target audience. Who the f*ck wants to watch this crap? Kids? Families? Action-hungry adults?

Know your audience and target it appropriately. Rule number one for box-office success. That didn't happen here at all, thus...failure.

Seriously, who the f*ck do they hire to target and market sh*t like this and John Carter? And yeah they dumped it in the graveyard of winter cinema, but that implied they KNEW they had a behemoth failure on their hands, so why make it? Why proceed with production?!

f*cking ridiculous.
ENFORCER writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 12:14:04 AM

^kinda like Bullits life HAHAHAHA!!!!
Janus writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 12:22:54 AM

The initial release postponing was the second sign... unfortunately. The first sign: it's based on a children's story, people might think it's only a movie for children.
kate writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 1:29:36 AM

next flop : OZ
jdl107 writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 1:45:15 AM

Hey, you sonsa' bitches.

Link to the new Iron man trailer: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=so1Jt6FI4ys&feature=youtu.be

Hopefully it's still there, it is in spanish, so if you can't wait 'til Tuesday then this is for you. Pretty watchable.

I guess they really are going with the Hulbuster thing, almost makes no sense, but whatever.
minkowski writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 1:49:39 AM

f*ck.
jdl107 writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 2:11:29 AM

?

You mean "f*ck" you don't like watching ridicuous looking, physically impossible suits smashing schtuff? Well that makes two of us.

But, if it's "f*ck" you never bothered to learn to speak the language, then... You suck.
jdl107 writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 2:13:53 AM

Forgot a "k", and an "l".

Yeah... I'm pretty tired.
minkowski writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 2:14:00 AM

Actually, I said "f*ck" because I thought that trailer you posted was, is pretty f*cking impressive. Greatly looking forewarn to the HD English version.
jdl107 writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 2:16:53 AM

"next flop : OZ"

Actually, early pre-release tracking had "Jack" at an abysmal opening at least a month before it came out, OZ comes out very soon and from what I've been reading it's being tracked for a rather large opening. Almost exceptional, if not.

Lol, my "source"... I was reading Entertainment Weekly. Still, credible, no?
kate writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 2:19:37 AM

yep,trailer looked great - hopefully don cheadel's screen time is limited - f*cking hate this guy.
jdl107 writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 2:20:10 AM

Was just kidding saying you suck.

But I find it pretty amusing you're saying it's awesome, and I'm here still questioning what I saw.

Looked cool, no doubt. But so did the scenes in Die Hard 5. Can't see anyone rooting for that movie except for someone all full-retarded and sh*t.
jdl107 writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 2:23:03 AM

"yep,trailer looked great - hopefully don cheadel's screen time is limited - f*cking hate this guy."

Definately makes two of us, and I'm not scared to say I highly preferred Terrence Howard for the part. Maybe they'll do something with Cheadle this time around, but all in all his Rhodey f*cking bugged me.

This is coming from someone who really likes Cheadle too.
minkowski writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 2:23:39 AM

^^Hey man, this is Shane Black, not that hat-f*cker who directed sh*t Hard 5.
kate writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 2:25:16 AM

don't know if this been posted already but hunger games 2 trailer:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WP-hOqEgckc
kate writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 2:26:50 AM

Terrence Howard was solid in the first one - too bad he was greedy and asked too much money,bad move considering his career went nowhere.
jdl107 writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 2:29:13 AM

Mink you haven't finished Kiss Kiss Bang Bang, have you? You need to go back do just that.

I understand the plight, it honestly took me a couple years to finish it, but it pays off. It reminds me of Repo Man. I barely finished it last week (f*ck off, seriously) and I realized I'd been missing out.
minkowski writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 2:31:18 AM

Kiss Kiss Bang Bang? Yeah, I finished that a while back. Well made movie, but not nearly enough Shane Black action and witticisms to go to to the top of his filmography.
jdl107 writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 2:31:59 AM

"Terrence Howard was solid in the first one - too bad he was greedy and asked too much money,bad move considering his career went nowhere."

Hmm, I always overlook that. I preferred his Rhodey, but he chose to be an ungrateful d*ck about it.

Life works in funny ways.
jdl107 writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 2:35:24 AM

How weird, I could swear I remember you saying you became bored and didn't finish it, that's been happening to me a lot this week.

Anyway, yeah, I agree.

But when I think of how much Black had to refrain in order for more Marvel sh*t (Which probably was alot) I just can't get impressed. I'm sorry.
kate writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 2:35:47 AM

I sure hope they'll make a proper die hard 6 to redeem this franchise.

this guy is spot on about what needs to be done:

http://www.geekbinge.com/2013/02/20/five-things-the-inevitable-die-hard-6-needs-to-do-to-redeem-the-franchise/
jdl107 writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 2:37:16 AM

I'm all for avoiding cliche but if you motherf*ckers won't show that Hulkbuster getting Hulkbusted I'm seriously going to re-consider shelling money out for you guys.
jdl107 writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 2:49:49 AM

"I sure hope they'll make a proper die hard 6 to redeem this franchise.

this guy is spot on about what needs to be done:"

There was many things that made Die Hard what it was, and while I agree with that writer, he picked the far too simple and obvious.

Or maybe that's just me.

But I think one of the biggest reasons Die Hard was so good (Whose success really can't be replicated, sorry) was because of all the effort and thought put into it. If you notice McTiernan put alot of little symbols and posters in the halls McClane walked. It made a great sense of geography, that was the point. And we need something better than just a director who knows how to shoot action, we need a director who has a heart as well. Scaling back would be the best thing for the series, no more over the top plots or stunts. Just it's 20
jdl107 writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 2:52:27 AM

Thank you, you stupid f*cking button, for cutting off my post.

Anyway, I don't remember what I was saying.

Yeah, whatever. I just hope they try a little harder next time, if they're given a next time.
jdl107 writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 2:57:16 AM

I just realized I basically compared John Moore to Shane Black.

Oh do I feel like a chump.
Ranger writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 3:24:18 AM

I had a lady friend Jack my beanstalk this morning.
Ranger writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 3:39:18 AM

I had a lady friend, Jack my beanstalk this morning.

Ranger writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 3:39:37 AM

Punctuation is everything.
pornfly writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 5:18:34 AM

Not having cable i saw adverts for Jack all the time.
But the ads just throw alot of cgi in the viewers face
No tension building
No witty banter
Nothing to get you interested in Jack or his motivations
All flash, bells and whistles
pornfly writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 5:23:47 AM

It is after all a childrens story
Parents were probably freaked about their kids being able to handle IMAX pg13 giants

It shouldve been pg and only a glimpse of 'A' giant not his entire posse in the adverts
Deaft0ne writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 5:32:03 AM

Ed Harris was the bomb in PHANTOM YO!
pornfly writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 5:57:44 AM

thanks DEAF
Always down for a good submarine flick and was wonderin about that one since i saw the Duchovny/Harris clip
boogiel writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 7:29:06 AM

$300 mil turd
BadChadB33 writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 9:07:27 AM

March has become the month of the big turds.
Ranger writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 12:08:48 PM

I know I've dropped a few lately.
bandolero999 writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 4:57:34 PM

that was so obvious jack was gonna bomb.not enough starpower,weak cast
Tanman32123 writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 6:53:08 PM

LOL 195 Million, Are they f*cking nuts!
BillyBunter writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 9:37:35 PM

Do you guys think this will do well overseas? It might break even at the very least. Oz does not look great, i have no idea why studios feel the need to make kids story tales.

Shia LaBeouf Says He Was Raped During His #IAmSorry Stunt

Christian Bale Says He Wanted to Play Batman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

TIME Magazine's Top 10 Best and Worst Films of 2014

It's Official: Jared Leto is The Joker and Will Smith is Deadshot in "Suicide Squad"

Christian Bale Says He'll Never Work With "Terminator Salvation" Director Again

Oscar Isaac is the Villainous Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse"

Marvel Would Have Recast Spider-Man in "Captain America: Civil War"

"Demolition Man" Writer Explains How He Came Up with The Three Seashells

"The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1" Still Rules Box Office, "The Pyramid" Bombed

Sylvester Stallone Discusses "The Expendables 4" Ideas and Rating
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved