WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Brad Pitt's "Fury" and Michael Keaton's "Birdman" Top Box Office
Oct 19th, 2014
New "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Concept Art Teases Hulkbuster's Giant Size
Oct 19th, 2014
Producer Gives "Halloween 3" Update
Oct 19th, 2014
Teaser for Disney's "Feast" Animated Short Film
Oct 19th, 2014
Tom Hardy May Play Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Oct 18th, 2014
Jena Malone is Female Robin in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"?
Oct 18th, 2014
Marvel in Talks with Colin Farrell and Benedict Cumberbatch to Star in "Doctor Strange"
Oct 18th, 2014
Channing Tatum Not Sure We Need "23 Jump Street"
Oct 18th, 2014
Poster For Tim Burton's "Big Eyes," with Amy Adams and Christoph Waltz
Oct 18th, 2014
Photos: Nicolas Cage Protesting Against His "Dying of the Light" Movie
Oct 17th, 2014
James Cameron Discusses Getting "Terminator" Rights Back in 2019
Oct 17th, 2014
Guillermo Del Toro Says "Pacific Rim 2" Sets Up "Pacific Rim 3"
Oct 17th, 2014
New Trailer For Angelina Jolie's "Unbroken" World War II Drama
Oct 17th, 2014
Scarlett Johansson Offered $10 Million to Star in "Ghost in the Shell"
Oct 17th, 2014
Trailer For Chris Rock's "Top Five" Comedy
Oct 17th, 2014
Trailer: Chris Hemsworth Fights a Whale in Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea"
Oct 16th, 2014
First Look at Chris Hemsworth in Ron Howard's "Heart of the Sea" Survival Film
Oct 16th, 2014
James Wan May Direct Another "Saw" Film in 2016
Oct 16th, 2014
Channing Tatum Provides "Gambit" Update
Oct 16th, 2014
Christian Bale in Talks to Star in Steve Jobs Biopic
Oct 16th, 2014
New Teaser For "The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1"
Oct 16th, 2014
Warner Bros Announces "The Flash," "Aquaman," "Justice League" and "Green Lantern" Movies
Oct 16th, 2014
Trailer for Nicolas Cage's "Dying of the Light" Thriller
Oct 16th, 2014
Edward Norton Says Today's Movies are Just As Good as Films From 1960s
Oct 15th, 2014
Photos: Michael Douglas is Hank Pym on "Ant-Man" Set
Oct 15th, 2014
Javier Bardem in Talks to Play Main Villain in "Pirates of the Caribbean 5"
Oct 15th, 2014
Trailer: Katie Holmes Kills Lots of People in "Miss Meadows"
Oct 15th, 2014
Ninth Character Poster For "The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies," Features Bilbo Baggins Again
Oct 15th, 2014
New "Jurassic World" Poster Arrives Online
Oct 15th, 2014
New "Toy Story That Time Forgot" Poster Features the Battlesaurs
Oct 15th, 2014
Penelope Cruz is Esquire's 2014 Sexiest Woman Alive
Oct 14th, 2014
See Concept Art of Krang, Bebop and Rocksteady For "Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles"
Oct 14th, 2014
Ben Affleck Was Studio's First and Only Choice to Play Batman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Oct 14th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Jack the Giant Slayer" is First Box Office Disaster of 2013

Posted: March 3rd, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Jack the Giant Slayer" is First Box Office Disaster of 2013Submit Comment
Bryan Singer's 3D fantasy-adventure "Jack the Giant Slayer," which cost a whopping $195 million to make, took first place at the box office this weekend, but only with a dismal $28 million. The film will have to heavily rely on international revenues to make back the budget, which is nearly $300 million, when you factor in the marketing costs. "Jack" has a 52% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes.

"21 and Over," attempted to replicate the results of "Project X," but failed. The new comedy opened to $9 million, which was good enough for third place. Since the movie cost only $13 million to make, it will easily become profitable. "21 and Over" has a 32% fresh rating.

The other wide release of the weekend was Eli Roth's "The Last Exorcism Part II," which landed in fourth place with $8 million. That's far less than the $20.4 million that the first film grossed in its opening weekend. The good news is that the sequel cost only $5 million. It has a 13% fresh rating.

Meanwhile, Ed Harris' "Phantom" opened in 1,118 theaters and grossed only $475,000, which is one of the worst debuts of all time for a film playing in more than 1,000 theaters. It has a 22% fresh rating.

On the specialty side, "Oldboy" director Park Chan-wook released his first English-language film "Stoker," which grossed $158,000 from seven theaters for a $22,500 per theater. The $12 million film, starring Nicole Kidman, Matthew Goode and Mia Wasikowska, will likely expand next weekend. It has a 69% fresh rating.

In related news, "The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey" has now surpassed the $1 billion mark in theaters, becoming only the 15th films to reach the milestone.

Click here to read our "Jack the Giant Slayer" review.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 47 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
mpiper821 writes:
on March 3rd, 2013 at 10:49:16 PM

Not that surprising!!
Rocksteddy writes:
on March 3rd, 2013 at 10:57:18 PM

JESUS f*ckING CHRIST!
That is f*cking AWFUL. I mean, the film was bad on itself, but I did NOT expect THAT to happen.





Jesus Christ!
mpiper821 writes:
on March 3rd, 2013 at 10:58:19 PM

"The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey" has now surpassed the $1 billion mark in theaters, becoming only the 15th films to reach the milestone."

It's not really a milestone anymore since every year now theres at least one or two movies to make at least $1 billion.
In the last 5 years 11 of those films have done so. Doesn't seem too hard anymore. 20 bucks a ticket will do that.
minkowski writes:
on March 3rd, 2013 at 11:05:16 PM

For Bryan Singer:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ll3uipTO-4A
kate writes:
on March 3rd, 2013 at 11:13:43 PM

it amazes me how some projects which are clearly doomed to flop get the green light...'John Carter' 'Jack The giant Slayer' any nicole kidman movie
KillerCOck writes:
on March 3rd, 2013 at 11:21:59 PM

hahahaha! it still got the #1 spot doh! thats f*ckery!
Patrick Bateman writes:
on March 3rd, 2013 at 11:28:59 PM

not a suprise at all Iv been calling this on any bryan singer thread on WP's for a year because it was so obvious it was going to be a pile of cgi crap
mustardayonnaise writes:
on March 3rd, 2013 at 11:34:59 PM

of course it got the #1 spot... what did it have in the way of competition? nothing. remember, jan+feb (and early mar, i guess) are the dumping ground for sh*t movies. no studio knowingly puts a great film on the schedule in those months. they've got years of data and models to predict this kind of sh*t- teams of number crunchers- so that $28 mil figure is probably no surprise to them. the studios figure, "hey, it's a sh*t movie, it'll help when we need to write down a loss at some point, and if it exceeds our prediction, that's just gravy."

that said, who the f*ck greenlit that movie in the first place. and $195 million for it? on WHAT?!
Fightclub1 writes:
on March 3rd, 2013 at 11:54:08 PM

I called it
minkowski writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 12:05:45 AM

lol. I think everyone here guessed this pile of sh*t-stained cash would bomb.

Hell, did anyone even see any marketing for it outside Alex's articles? Anything on television? Trailers before prominent films? Teasers 3-6 months out? Anything? I sure as f*ck didn't.

And on top of that, it looks like a sh*tty luxury CGI flick with no target audience. Who the f*ck wants to watch this crap? Kids? Families? Action-hungry adults?

Know your audience and target it appropriately. Rule number one for box-office success. That didn't happen here at all, thus...failure.

Seriously, who the f*ck do they hire to target and market sh*t like this and John Carter? And yeah they dumped it in the graveyard of winter cinema, but that implied they KNEW they had a behemoth failure on their hands, so why make it? Why proceed with production?!

f*cking ridiculous.
ENFORCER writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 12:14:04 AM

^kinda like Bullits life HAHAHAHA!!!!
Janus writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 12:22:54 AM

The initial release postponing was the second sign... unfortunately. The first sign: it's based on a children's story, people might think it's only a movie for children.
kate writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 1:29:36 AM

next flop : OZ
jdl107 writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 1:45:15 AM

Hey, you sonsa' bitches.

Link to the new Iron man trailer: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=so1Jt6FI4ys&feature=youtu.be

Hopefully it's still there, it is in spanish, so if you can't wait 'til Tuesday then this is for you. Pretty watchable.

I guess they really are going with the Hulbuster thing, almost makes no sense, but whatever.
minkowski writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 1:49:39 AM

f*ck.
jdl107 writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 2:11:29 AM

?

You mean "f*ck" you don't like watching ridicuous looking, physically impossible suits smashing schtuff? Well that makes two of us.

But, if it's "f*ck" you never bothered to learn to speak the language, then... You suck.
jdl107 writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 2:13:53 AM

Forgot a "k", and an "l".

Yeah... I'm pretty tired.
minkowski writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 2:14:00 AM

Actually, I said "f*ck" because I thought that trailer you posted was, is pretty f*cking impressive. Greatly looking forewarn to the HD English version.
jdl107 writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 2:16:53 AM

"next flop : OZ"

Actually, early pre-release tracking had "Jack" at an abysmal opening at least a month before it came out, OZ comes out very soon and from what I've been reading it's being tracked for a rather large opening. Almost exceptional, if not.

Lol, my "source"... I was reading Entertainment Weekly. Still, credible, no?
kate writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 2:19:37 AM

yep,trailer looked great - hopefully don cheadel's screen time is limited - f*cking hate this guy.
jdl107 writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 2:20:10 AM

Was just kidding saying you suck.

But I find it pretty amusing you're saying it's awesome, and I'm here still questioning what I saw.

Looked cool, no doubt. But so did the scenes in Die Hard 5. Can't see anyone rooting for that movie except for someone all full-retarded and sh*t.
jdl107 writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 2:23:03 AM

"yep,trailer looked great - hopefully don cheadel's screen time is limited - f*cking hate this guy."

Definately makes two of us, and I'm not scared to say I highly preferred Terrence Howard for the part. Maybe they'll do something with Cheadle this time around, but all in all his Rhodey f*cking bugged me.

This is coming from someone who really likes Cheadle too.
minkowski writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 2:23:39 AM

^^Hey man, this is Shane Black, not that hat-f*cker who directed sh*t Hard 5.
kate writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 2:25:16 AM

don't know if this been posted already but hunger games 2 trailer:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WP-hOqEgckc
kate writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 2:26:50 AM

Terrence Howard was solid in the first one - too bad he was greedy and asked too much money,bad move considering his career went nowhere.
jdl107 writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 2:29:13 AM

Mink you haven't finished Kiss Kiss Bang Bang, have you? You need to go back do just that.

I understand the plight, it honestly took me a couple years to finish it, but it pays off. It reminds me of Repo Man. I barely finished it last week (f*ck off, seriously) and I realized I'd been missing out.
minkowski writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 2:31:18 AM

Kiss Kiss Bang Bang? Yeah, I finished that a while back. Well made movie, but not nearly enough Shane Black action and witticisms to go to to the top of his filmography.
jdl107 writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 2:31:59 AM

"Terrence Howard was solid in the first one - too bad he was greedy and asked too much money,bad move considering his career went nowhere."

Hmm, I always overlook that. I preferred his Rhodey, but he chose to be an ungrateful d*ck about it.

Life works in funny ways.
jdl107 writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 2:35:24 AM

How weird, I could swear I remember you saying you became bored and didn't finish it, that's been happening to me a lot this week.

Anyway, yeah, I agree.

But when I think of how much Black had to refrain in order for more Marvel sh*t (Which probably was alot) I just can't get impressed. I'm sorry.
kate writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 2:35:47 AM

I sure hope they'll make a proper die hard 6 to redeem this franchise.

this guy is spot on about what needs to be done:

http://www.geekbinge.com/2013/02/20/five-things-the-inevitable-die-hard-6-needs-to-do-to-redeem-the-franchise/
jdl107 writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 2:37:16 AM

I'm all for avoiding cliche but if you motherf*ckers won't show that Hulkbuster getting Hulkbusted I'm seriously going to re-consider shelling money out for you guys.
jdl107 writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 2:49:49 AM

"I sure hope they'll make a proper die hard 6 to redeem this franchise.

this guy is spot on about what needs to be done:"

There was many things that made Die Hard what it was, and while I agree with that writer, he picked the far too simple and obvious.

Or maybe that's just me.

But I think one of the biggest reasons Die Hard was so good (Whose success really can't be replicated, sorry) was because of all the effort and thought put into it. If you notice McTiernan put alot of little symbols and posters in the halls McClane walked. It made a great sense of geography, that was the point. And we need something better than just a director who knows how to shoot action, we need a director who has a heart as well. Scaling back would be the best thing for the series, no more over the top plots or stunts. Just it's 20
jdl107 writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 2:52:27 AM

Thank you, you stupid f*cking button, for cutting off my post.

Anyway, I don't remember what I was saying.

Yeah, whatever. I just hope they try a little harder next time, if they're given a next time.
jdl107 writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 2:57:16 AM

I just realized I basically compared John Moore to Shane Black.

Oh do I feel like a chump.
Ranger writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 3:24:18 AM

I had a lady friend Jack my beanstalk this morning.
Ranger writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 3:39:18 AM

I had a lady friend, Jack my beanstalk this morning.

Ranger writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 3:39:37 AM

Punctuation is everything.
pornfly writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 5:18:34 AM

Not having cable i saw adverts for Jack all the time.
But the ads just throw alot of cgi in the viewers face
No tension building
No witty banter
Nothing to get you interested in Jack or his motivations
All flash, bells and whistles
pornfly writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 5:23:47 AM

It is after all a childrens story
Parents were probably freaked about their kids being able to handle IMAX pg13 giants

It shouldve been pg and only a glimpse of 'A' giant not his entire posse in the adverts
Deaft0ne writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 5:32:03 AM

Ed Harris was the bomb in PHANTOM YO!
pornfly writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 5:57:44 AM

thanks DEAF
Always down for a good submarine flick and was wonderin about that one since i saw the Duchovny/Harris clip
boogiel writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 7:29:06 AM

$300 mil turd
BadChadB33 writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 9:07:27 AM

March has become the month of the big turds.
Ranger writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 12:08:48 PM

I know I've dropped a few lately.
bandolero999 writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 4:57:34 PM

that was so obvious jack was gonna bomb.not enough starpower,weak cast
Tanman32123 writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 6:53:08 PM

LOL 195 Million, Are they f*cking nuts!
BillyBunter writes:
on March 4th, 2013 at 9:37:35 PM

Do you guys think this will do well overseas? It might break even at the very least. Oz does not look great, i have no idea why studios feel the need to make kids story tales.

Will Marvel Split "Avengers 3" Into Two Films?

Christian Bale's "The Machinist" Co-Star Reveals Disturbing Story About Actor's Weight-Loss

Ben Affleck Regrets Making "Daredevil," Very Confident About "Batman v Superman"

Robert Downey Jr Would Make "Iron Man 4" If Mel Gibson Directs

Robert Downey Jr Now Says He Won't Return For "Iron Man 4"

Chris Cooper Gained 40 Pounds of Muscle For "American Sniper"

Penelope Cruz is Esquire's 2014 Sexiest Woman Alive

Why Ben Affleck Won't Get to Keep the Batman Costume

Amanda Bynes Placed in Psychiatric Care, Says Her Father Asked Her For Sex

Description of "Jurassic World" Trailer
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved