WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Robert Downey Jr on Being Replaced as Iron Man

Posted: February 27th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Robert Downey Jr on Being Replaced as Iron ManSubmit Comment
Marvel head Kevin Feige previously said that there are no plans to replace Robert Downey Jr as Iron Man. The actor is already set to return for "Iron Man 3" and "The Avengers 2," but after that, he may be too expensive for the studio to not consider bringing on someone else to play the character.

Empire magazine now caught up with Downey to get his thoughts on possibly being replaced. "It would probably be the best thing in the world for me. Sometimes ego just has to be smashed," he said. "Let's see what happens. I take the audience very seriously - I feel bad when I see folks doing movies and the audience is like, 'Don't do that anymore.' I don't have to overstay my welcome."

He continued: "I feel that the first time I played Tony, I did it best. Sorry!"

Source: Empire


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 32 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Taco writes:
on February 27th, 2013 at 6:49:49 AM

He's too important to loose. They better keep him.
KillerCOck writes:
on February 27th, 2013 at 7:34:27 AM

He's so Right. I think he's just being smart.
Bunny X writes:
on February 27th, 2013 at 8:42:49 AM

he so has them over a barrel. They can't replace him because he IS Tony Stark but they can't keep him out of fear he'll dominate the landscape. They don't want it to be IronMan and his Amazing Friends.
Personally I would love for him to stay as long as they make the movies but I wont cry a river if he was replaced. I used to think Tobey was the ONLY one who could play Parker/Spiderman, but (not that I'm a fan of the new guy) I don't even miss him.
sleepingshane writes:
on February 27th, 2013 at 9:42:26 AM

the british guy who played his dad in captain america should take the roll he looks pretty much like a younger downey and marvel would get him cheap and ive seen him in a few films and hes quite likeable and a good actor.
Ranger writes:
on February 27th, 2013 at 10:04:05 AM

Ha! I KNEW this would happen. Marvel is a sh*t-show. First (granted it was a 'different dept.') they ran the world's greatest comic company into bankruptcy (Marvel Comics), then when they thought they needed RDJ (a 'name' in Hollywood) they signed him up to an 'open ended' contract with no upper limit - which we see their regret in their crappy contract to Chris Evans starting Capt. America at $300K (but $30mil. after he's in MANY movies). Bunny is right (as usual) RDJ has them over a barrel. He's talking about over-staying his welcome. He doesn't give a sh*t about that if they ponied up $30mil per movie PLUS a percentage at the box office. Hell, Harrison Ford made $60mil for Air Force One back when. Downey cares about the ca$h... that's all (and who can blame him?), while painting himself the kind, caring (for IM and it's audience) person. Please.
supaflywill writes:
on February 27th, 2013 at 10:39:09 AM

Yeah ...it would fail without him tbh ....
Deaft0ne writes:
on February 27th, 2013 at 12:45:55 PM

Jeffrey Dean Morgan
kate writes:
on February 27th, 2013 at 12:47:06 PM

Kirk Douglas
Tanman32123 writes:
on February 27th, 2013 at 12:50:02 PM

There's not a hope in hell that they'll replace him!
Ranger writes:
on February 27th, 2013 at 1:32:38 PM

RDJ isn't the good guy here folks. The ONLY way the studio would have to replace him, is if Downey continues his massively increased salary. So, don't blame the studio if Downey has to go.
Ranger writes:
on February 27th, 2013 at 1:34:53 PM

Agreed though it would suck without him. And with what Iron Man has made (and don't forget a lot of that is because IM is kewl no matter who is in the suit), they could offer him $30mil a movie + 5% of the box office take and they wouldn't miss the $'s. But wealthy Hollywood is one thing... they're cheap. That's right, cheap. And there's NO gratitude in the biz. They replaced Singer for X-Men III because they wouldn't wait for him to be done with Superman (although, I think script-wise alone X3 would have tanked anyway). Hollywood can lick my balls.
Bunny X writes:
on February 27th, 2013 at 1:57:47 PM

And the last thing a studio will do is get held hostage by an actor. What happened when Tobey pitched a fit? They didn't just bounce him and recast, they scrapped the entire franchise and started over. Fantastic Four? Flush and start anew.
I love RDJ but Ranger is right, he's the bad guy right now trying to play cutesy innocent. But beware dear RDJ, they can toss you and get a cheaper more compliant guy. As much as it would kill them, they'd rather kill the monster now while they can.
Deaft0ne writes:
on February 27th, 2013 at 2:17:21 PM

My guess though is Marvel will pony up the cash for RDJ to do Iron Man 4 for phase 3 to lead into The Avengers 3 and either kill him off or replace him with another actor to play Tiny OR if he is killed off some new character becomes Iron Man.
Deaft0ne writes:
on February 27th, 2013 at 2:18:01 PM

Tony^
SquirrelFlyer writes:
on February 27th, 2013 at 2:20:46 PM

Its like if they tried to replace wesley snipes in Blade (not counting the crappy tv show). It just plain wouldn't work cause he IS Blade. I hope the Iron Man franchise ends when he is too old to play the part instead of driving it into the pavement. But hey..its Hollywood.
Ranger writes:
on February 27th, 2013 at 2:33:41 PM

Thx. Bunny.

A replaced RDJ and IM would still make bank. RDJ is an incredible Tony Stark... absolutely amazing. But some of the ticket sales are to see IM in action.
Ranger writes:
on February 27th, 2013 at 2:34:55 PM

Good reference on Tobey. Yes... his 3 movie contract was up. And I remember posting on here that they're were either going to cough up that $30mil (or was it $50mil he was asking?) or re-cast. Despite the BILLION$ that the Spidey moves made... they chose to re-cast and re-boot.
Champ1432 writes:
on February 27th, 2013 at 3:28:51 PM

Yeah, at this point, it's EXTREMELY difficult to picture anyone else playing Iron Man/Tony Stark, because as has already been mentioned here, RDJ just IS Stark.

Still, you can never say never with Hollywood, and I can certainly imagine scenarios in which they would ATTEPMT to replace him. How successful that would be, who knows?

Again, it's extremely hard for me to see happening, and something I definitely wouldn'y want to see happen.
minkowski writes:
on February 27th, 2013 at 4:23:06 PM

They replace RDJ, they can count me the f*ck right out!
minkowski writes:
on February 27th, 2013 at 4:29:53 PM

And RDJ is going to be here for a bit. Avengers was HUGE, Avengers 2 is likely going to be at least as big, so there will be an Avengers 3, and Iron Man/Stony Stark is that series' Batman, so they'll have to bring in RDJ for the third film at least, which means that while there won't be an RDJ IM4, it does mean RDJ will likely get a huge payout to stay with Marvel at least through Avengers 3, and that's another 5 years. In the meantime, they'll focus on other characters, which I think will coincide with a fizzling of interest in Marvel films and perhaps comic book movies, so by that point, Marvel will either try to reboot Iron Man with someone else, and RDJ will be too old anyway, or they'll just move on to making other films entirely.

Don't get though why RDJ is a "bad guy". He simply wants what he sees is his fair share of a very, very lucrative franchise/series.

Yes, he is associated with the character of Stark, and yes, he has Marvel over a barrel to use that phrase, but only in such a way that Marvel can afford to pay him whatever he wants anyway, and Marvel knows he brings in the revenue, so really, instead of looking at it negatively, I see is is mutually beneficial to both parties.
minkowski writes:
on February 27th, 2013 at 4:31:37 PM

Oh, and please, RDJ is nothing to the 15-28 year-old crowd, thus by the time Iron Man 4 comes to possible fruition, they could reboot the series with some 22 year old kid in the titular role and still bank.
pornfly writes:
on February 27th, 2013 at 4:55:13 PM

*titular*

dont apologise RDJ
minkowski writes:
on February 27th, 2013 at 5:17:30 PM

I can tell you didn't read any of what I wrote because you quoted one of the last few words in my final post.
Rocksteddy writes:
on February 27th, 2013 at 6:00:25 PM

And it all goes downhill after The Avengers 2.
mustardayonnaise writes:
on February 27th, 2013 at 6:22:30 PM

I'm sorry, but everyone is replaceable. EVERYONE.
Rocksteddy writes:
on February 27th, 2013 at 6:27:15 PM

Marvel can replace him, just give him work at least. Here's an Idea: Replace the boring and bland James Bond played by Danny Craig with RDJ. That could work.
Ranger writes:
on February 27th, 2013 at 6:39:32 PM

@mustard - agreed. I hear women yell to me 'JESUS!' every time I poke 'em in the bum.
pornfly writes:
on February 27th, 2013 at 7:31:55 PM

*words*
elrei writes:
on February 27th, 2013 at 7:49:25 PM

Kill him in Avengers 2 then.
Ranger writes:
on February 28th, 2013 at 1:40:51 AM

Or give him a bag of coke and let him do it himself.



Hey Ranger... that's not very nice!
shamusot00le writes:
on February 28th, 2013 at 6:38:28 AM

Love RDJ , but I don't think they'd hesitate replacing him if it came down to him being irrelevant to whatever their target market is/becomes. They'd replace him and then the next movie that has the new Stark along side returning actors would have the dialogue "Hey you look different. Lost some weight? Done something with your hair?" and we would forget RDJ was even a part of it by the next marvel movie.
Shogo1307 writes:
on February 28th, 2013 at 9:04:14 AM

He is going to get old and will be unable to do it eventually but until that time i would keep him no matter the price. I mean look at the man, gets out of jail after 5 years for one of the worse drug habits to kick, lands Iron Man, and lets face it Iron Man the first one was the bar setter and i dont think its been passed but Avengers came close.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved