WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Game of Thrones" Director Says Illegal Downloads Help the Show

Posted: February 27th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Game of Thrones" Director Says Illegal Downloads Help the ShowSubmit Comment
"Game of Thrones" is the most-pirated television show of last year, with some episodes being downloaded as many as four million times. But David Petrarca, who directed several of the episodes, says that illegal downloads don't hurt the show. In fact, they help.

Speaking at a writers festival at the University of Western Australia, Petrarca explained that piracy creates "cultural buzz" and increases the show's popularity. In other words, the more people that see the show, the more talk about it. "That's how [shows] survive," he added.

There are many ways to looks at this. On one hand, "Game of Thrones" loses millions of dollars due to piracy. On the other, the show broke HBO's record for the biggest DVD and Blu-ray sales. The second season sold 44% more DVDs than the first season. And another spike is expected for the third season.

Source: The Age


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 31 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on February 26th, 2013 at 9:01:15 PM

No sh*t. Illegal downloading helps sell music too. Study after study has shown that those who pirate media, be it music or video, buy more than those who don't.
Rocksteddy writes:
on February 26th, 2013 at 9:02:29 PM

No, your show survives by Peter f*cking Dinklage.




"How I want to die? at the age of eighty, in my own bed, with a belly full of Wine and a Maiden's mouth around my c*ck." - Incredible motherf*cker, right next to Mr. White.
SACdaddy writes:
on February 26th, 2013 at 9:32:17 PM

It's just a damn good show hands down. It might be something you pirate at first but its so good you gotta have it on the mantle or in the DVD collection. You can't roll out the bootleg copies or the laptop to play for the family or friends when you want to educate them on the best show on tv, so you gotta buy the retail set eventually. I've got mine sitting on the shelf right next my entire 24 anthology,so guests know how much respect it holds in my household.
cress writes:
on February 26th, 2013 at 9:32:59 PM

I wonder if Peter Dinklage ever dressed up at Halloween as Brain from "Pinky and the Brain"?
velocityknown writes:
on February 26th, 2013 at 9:43:04 PM

I agree. I pirated the entire second season, but I'm also buying the blu-ray and ordering HBO so that I can watch the 3rd.
boogiel writes:
on February 26th, 2013 at 9:57:14 PM

I love my torrent.
Stapes writes:
on February 26th, 2013 at 9:57:59 PM

Pirating movies and music is great. It increases the quality of the products sold.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on February 26th, 2013 at 10:20:52 PM

Welp, he's fired.
Donyae 420 writes:
on February 26th, 2013 at 10:48:15 PM

Make great product and we the public will buy it as well as download it before it's available in stores.
pornfly writes:
on February 26th, 2013 at 10:53:05 PM

Hotels recognise the value of word of mouth
thats why they dont care if you take towels,bathrobes or slippers
But dont let them catch you skippin out on the adult movie bill
HOOHOOHOO! dont do that
BadChadB33 writes:
on February 26th, 2013 at 10:57:17 PM

Well no sh*t been reading that for years. I miss lime wire and kazaa to get my music.
ENFORCER writes:
on February 26th, 2013 at 11:30:24 PM

Mr Chad you are a noob are you not?
ENFORCER writes:
on February 26th, 2013 at 11:39:51 PM

I must say , have not seen that piss drenched fool for at least a week. Obviously under an alias, as he pops up when needs to blurt boring sh*t. But if he keeps away then Worstpreviews is finally cured of it's horrible cancer !!!
minkowski writes:
on February 27th, 2013 at 12:41:24 AM

He's been here almost every day dude.
minkowski writes:
on February 27th, 2013 at 12:45:17 AM

@Trig: I sen you a reply. Sorry for the delay. Wasn't trying to be a d*ck. Later.
minkowski writes:
on February 27th, 2013 at 12:45:25 AM

t
Ranger writes:
on February 27th, 2013 at 2:01:07 AM

@Rock - exactly. Peter D. steals every scene. AMAZING show. I'm into season 2. Already need a f*cking flow-chart to follow the plots!
ENFORCER writes:
on February 27th, 2013 at 2:06:40 AM

@Mink I was unaware, the cancer is alluding me!

Come out you gutless c*nt Bullit.
Ranger writes:
on February 27th, 2013 at 2:26:12 AM

Related...

Anyone watch: Old Horny Bitches S1

At The Hut?

WTF did I just watch?!
i124q writes:
on February 27th, 2013 at 3:08:29 AM

Of course people are going to pirate this show, especially when in other countries you have to pay to watch certain channels. If the quality of the show is great, then people, like myself, will go out and by the DVD or Blu-Ray boxset. Simples.
kate writes:
on February 27th, 2013 at 3:14:51 AM

i tried to watch 1 or 2 episodes of this show...don't really get all the hype,but anyhow for those who like it - have fun.
Ranger writes:
on February 27th, 2013 at 3:17:18 AM

The king's wife bangs her brother.

What's not to like?!
kate writes:
on February 27th, 2013 at 3:28:35 AM

If I want porn - I have the internet.
afterkwiss writes:
on February 27th, 2013 at 5:30:18 AM

Enough said ...
Cinemaisdead writes:
on February 27th, 2013 at 5:47:45 AM

I watched Season 1 and 2 online and will definitely be buying them on Blu Ray when i can be agged to buy a blu ray player. Even though the website I stream tv and films from has near enough DVD quality I've started to appreciate better quality now and shows like this deserve high definition.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on February 27th, 2013 at 5:53:38 AM

Mink- Have you had a chance to watch Game Of Thrones yet mate?
M. Bullitt writes:
on February 27th, 2013 at 8:42:55 AM

What a sweet lovebirds you too make Minky!

Btw, how did it go on Valentine's day? Did you give yourself a treat with a silky red ribbon on your right wrist with a very smooth lotion bottle and a box of kleenex to celebrate it?

For a man of 47 years of age who has absolutely nothing else to do in life than to spend his entire days on WP with a mongoloid sidekick like Enforcer is just incredibly pathetic, what a lonely wanker you are!
ENFORCER writes:
on February 27th, 2013 at 8:57:06 AM

I am the one who mentioned you, senile old f*ck
TrueAvenger12 writes:
on February 27th, 2013 at 8:59:10 AM

I just streamed Skyfall yesterday and I plan to buy the dvd now that i've seen it.A lot of the movies I have I watch online first.
supaflywill writes:
on February 27th, 2013 at 10:40:35 AM

Well hurry up and give me breaking bad season 6 now !!!!
elrei writes:
on February 27th, 2013 at 8:54:57 PM

I bought a Blue Ray player just a couple of months ago... The first think a got was this show.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved