WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Iran Reacts to "Argo" Oscar Win, Angry at Ben Affleck and Michelle Obama

Posted: February 25th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Iran Reacts to "Argo" Oscar Win, Angry at Ben Affleck and Michelle ObamaSubmit Comment
After "Argo" hit theaters, Iran announced that it will release its own movie, promising to tell the "truth" about the events. Now that "Argo" won the Best Picture Oscar, Iran is releasing more statements about the film, which it's calling an "advertisement for the CIA."

Minister of culture and Islamic guidance, Mohammad Hosseini, said that Hollywood "distorted history." Iran's official news agency, Fars News, said: "The First Lady announced the prize for the anti-Iran film 'Argo,' which was produced by Zionist company Warner Bros."

The country's Mehr News said that Obama's involvement revealed that Hollywood sacrificed artistic value for "political slogans and distortions," claiming that the White House made sure that "Argo" was chosen despite that most movie critics preferred "Lincoln."

Mehr News also had an issue with Ben Affleck's acceptance speech, in which he thanked "our friends in Iran who live under terrible circumstances." The agency said: "After distorting history, Ben Affleck continues to present a bleak picture of Iran."

According to these statements, one would think that Hollywood hates Iran, which doesn't mistreat its citizens. But in reality, Iran's "A Separation" won last year's Best Foreign Film Oscar. And in recent years dozens of Iranian directors and actors have been arrested and jailed for "spreading propaganda."

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 19 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
vincere01 writes:
on February 25th, 2013 at 8:49:31 PM

Rag heads be crazy........I kid
cress writes:
on February 25th, 2013 at 8:51:28 PM

Iran also condemned Meryl Streep, suggesting her actions were signifying that its citizens were stuck in a sh*thole.
kate writes:
on February 25th, 2013 at 8:56:36 PM

please bomb afleck's house...please.
padfootbob writes:
on February 25th, 2013 at 10:06:15 PM

Did you just say Iran doesn't mistreat it's citizens, you f*cking idiot?
ENFORCER writes:
on February 25th, 2013 at 11:04:34 PM

Suck my c*ck Iran !
And shove Islam up your mums bearded clam!!!
jdl107 writes:
on February 25th, 2013 at 11:07:11 PM

^^^

Lol.

Got nothing I wan to say about this. But I will say I think it's time to roll out the welcome mat, I'm sure Mink would have a field day with this article, and potential (Inevitable) idiotic commenters.
jdl107 writes:
on February 25th, 2013 at 11:11:06 PM

*t
minkowski writes:
on February 25th, 2013 at 11:31:52 PM

I think we all missed the deleted scenes wherein some random Muslims stone a rape victim, decapitate a homosexual, and f*ck a six pack of sheep.

Yep. Religion of Peace my ass. More like Religion of Piece of sh*t.

But not all Iranians are bad of course, and many hate their government. Hell, a lot of them don't even consider Islam their religion. Many also call themselves Persians and actually like the West.
jdl107 writes:
on February 25th, 2013 at 11:35:10 PM

:)
Ranger writes:
on February 26th, 2013 at 12:05:07 AM

'...stone a rape victim, decapitate a homosexual, and f*ck a six pack of sheep.' --- or what I call Friday night at my house.
Ranger writes:
on February 26th, 2013 at 12:09:29 AM

Or drink a 6-pack then stone and rape a decapitated homosexual.

You can mix it up. We call it 'Musical WTF Ever!'
Kurskij writes:
on February 26th, 2013 at 1:42:15 AM

Meanwhile Ben Affleck is still rich, handsome and has two Oscars at 40.
minkowski writes:
on February 26th, 2013 at 1:50:10 AM

Yeah but he doesn't a nuclear bomb, now does he?

Iran 1

Ben 0
minkowski writes:
on February 26th, 2013 at 2:00:20 AM

have.

Typing slower than I'm thinking again.
jeffw1978 writes:
on February 26th, 2013 at 3:29:41 AM

Durka Durka Mohammed Jihad
kate writes:
on February 26th, 2013 at 3:48:54 AM

is there anyone here that didn't fall asleep while watching 'Argo'?
Taco writes:
on February 26th, 2013 at 5:04:55 AM

Damn Ranger, just when I think minks comment couldnt be topped. Lmao
Tanman32123 writes:
on February 26th, 2013 at 8:03:42 AM

Lol Rangers house sounds like a Good time!
holtlt writes:
on February 27th, 2013 at 12:54:27 AM

Iran needs to admit that is not on any good conditions. They need to be grateful that Affleck worried about making the movie.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved