WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Will Smith's "Focus" Takes Top Spot at Box Office
Mar 2nd, 2015
Michelle Rodriguez Apologizes For White People's Superheroes Comment
Mar 1st, 2015
"Star Trek" Actor Leonard Nimoy Dead at 83
Feb 28th, 2015
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Unveils Black Widow, Thor and Nick Fury Posters
Feb 28th, 2015
First Look at Eddie Redmayne as First Transgender Person in "The Danish Girl"
Feb 28th, 2015
Leonardo DiCaprio to Have 24 Personalities in "The Crowded Room"
Feb 28th, 2015
"Brewster's Millions" Remake Gets a Director
Feb 28th, 2015
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Unveils The Hulk Poster
Feb 27th, 2015
Director Neill Blomkamp Says His "Elysium" Film is Not Very Good
Feb 27th, 2015
Harrison Ford Confirmed for "Blade Runner 2," Director Announced
Feb 27th, 2015
Neill Blomkamp Clarifies His "Alien 5" Comments
Feb 27th, 2015
"Red Sonja" is Happening Again
Feb 27th, 2015
Neill Blomkamp's "Alien" Sequel Will Give Ripley a Proper Ending
Feb 26th, 2015
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Unveils Iron Man Poster
Feb 26th, 2015
Official "Creed" Plot Synopsis Hints at Rocky's Health Issues
Feb 26th, 2015
Four New Photos From "Fantastic Four" Reboot
Feb 26th, 2015
"Tomb Raider" Reboot Hires "Divergent" Writer
Feb 26th, 2015
Poster for Marvel's "Avengers: Age of Ultron"
Feb 25th, 2015
Arnold Schwarzenegger Says He'll Return For "Terminator Genisys" Sequel
Feb 25th, 2015
Dark "Power Rangers" Short Film with James Van Der Beek
Feb 25th, 2015
"The LEGO Movie" Sequel Announces Director
Feb 25th, 2015
Next Spider-Man Will NOT Be White?
Feb 24th, 2015
Chris Pratt Comments on Starring in "Indiana Jones 5"
Feb 24th, 2015
Rooney Mara Says "Girl With the Dragon Tattoo" Sequel is Dead
Feb 24th, 2015
New Trailer for Sean Penn's "The Gunman" Action Film, From Director of "Taken"
Feb 24th, 2015
"Fifty Shades of Grey" Still First at Box Office, "Hot Tub Time Machine 2" Bombs
Feb 23rd, 2015
Academy Award Winners Announced!
Feb 22nd, 2015
Steven Spielberg May Direct Chris Pratt in "Indiana Jones 5"
Feb 22nd, 2015
Hugh Jackman Wants to Play Wolverine Until He Dies
Feb 22nd, 2015
"Wonder Woman" Set to Begin Filming This Fall
Feb 22nd, 2015
2015 Razzie Winners Announced!
Feb 22nd, 2015
Trailer for "Infinitely Polar Bear," with Mark Ruffalo and Zoe Saldana
Feb 22nd, 2015
First Look: Jason Momoa is Aquaman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Feb 21st, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Academy Award Winners Announced!

Posted: February 24th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Academy Award Winners Announced!Submit Comment
The Oscars took place on Sunday with "Argo" ending up being the big winner of the night, despite the fact that Ben Affleck wasn't even nominated for Best Director. The film also won for Best Writing (Adapted Screenplay) and Best Editing.

"Lincoln" was nominated for twelve Oscars, but ended up winning only two, including Best Actor for Daniel Day-Lewis and Production Design. Quentin Tarantino got an Oscar for Best Writing (Original Screenplay) for "Django Unchained." Christoph Waltz won Best Supporting Actor award for the same movie.

Check out the full list of nominees and winners (marked in red) below. And let us know if you think the academy got it right.

BEST PICTURE:
* Argo
* Amour
* Beasts of the Southern Wild
* Django Unchained
* Les Miserables
* Life of Pi
* Lincoln
* Silver Linings Playbook
* Zero Dark Thirty

DIRECTING:
* Ang Lee (Life of Pi)
* Michael Haneke (Amour)
* Benh Zeitlin (Beasts of the Southern Wild)
* Steven Spielberg (Lincoln)
* David O. Russell (Silver Linings Playbook)

ACTOR IN A LEADING ROLE:
* Daniel Day-Lewis (Lincoln)
* Bradley Cooper (Silver Linings Playbook)
* Hugh Jackman (Les Miserables)
* Joaquin Phoenix (The Master)
* Denzel Washington (Flight)

ACTRESS IN A LEADING ROLE:
* Jennifer Lawrence (Silver Linings Playbook)
* Jessica Chastain (Zero Dark Thirty)
* Emmanuelle Riva (Amour)
* Quvenzhane Wallis (Beasts of the Southern Wild)
* Naomi Watts (The Impossible)

ACTOR IN A SUPPORTING ROLE:
* Christoph Waltz (Django Unchained)
* Alan Arkin (Argo)
* Robert De Niro (Silver Linings Playbook)
* Philip Seymour Hoffman (The Master)
* Tommy Lee Jones (Lincoln)

ACTRESS IN A SUPPORTING ROLE:
* Anne Hathaway (Les Miserables)
* Amy Adams (The Master)
* Sally Field (Lincoln)
* Helen Hunt (The Sessions)
* Jacki Weaver (Silver Linings Playbook)

WRITING (ADAPTED SCREENPLAY):
* Chris Terrio (Argo)
* Lucy Alibar and Benh Zeitlin (Beasts of the Southern Wild)
* David Magee (Life of Pi)
* Tony Kushner (Lincoln)
* David O. Russell (Silver Linings Playbook)

WRITING (ORIGINAL SCREENPLAY):
* Quentin Tarantino (Django Unchained)
* Michael Haneke (Amour)
* John Gatins (Flight)
* Wes Anderson and Roman Coppola (Moonrise Kingdom)
* Mark Boal (Zero Dark Thirty)

FOREIGN LANGUAGE FILM:
* Amour (Austria)
* Kon-Tiki (Norway)
* No (Chile)
* A Royal Affair (Denmark)
* War Witch (Canada)

ANIMATED FEATURE FILM:
* Brave
* Frankenweenie
* ParaNorman
* The Pirates! Band of Misfits
* Wreck-It Ralph

PRODUCTION DESIGN:
* Lincoln
* Anna Karenina
* The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey
* Les Miserables
* Life of Pi

CINEMATOGRAPHY:
* Claudio Miranda (Life of Pi)
* Seamus McGarvey (Anna Karenina)
* Robert Richardson (Django Unchained)
* Janusz Kaminski (Lincoln)
* Roger Deakins (Skyfall)

COSTUME DESIGN:
* Jacqueline Durran (Anna Karenina)
* Paco Delgado (Les Miserables)
* Joanna Johnston (Lincoln)
* Eiko Ishioka (Mirror Mirror)
* Colleen Atwood (Snow White and the Huntsman)

FILM EDITING:
* William Goldenberg (Argo)
* Tim Squyres (Life of Pi)
* Michael Kahn (Lincoln)
* Jay Cassidy and Crispin Struthers (Silver Linings Playbook)
* Dylan Tichenor and William Goldenberg (Zero Dark Thirty)

DOCUMENTARY (FEATURE):
* Searching for Sugar Man
* 5 Broken Cameras
* The Gatekeepers
* How to Survive a Plague
* The Invisible War

MAKEUP:
* Lisa Westcott and Julie Dartnell (Les Miserables)
* Howard Berger, Peter Montagna and Martin Samuel (Hitchcock)
* Peter Swords King, Rick Findlater and Tami Lane (The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey)

MUSIC (ORIGINAL SCORE):
* Mychael Danna (Life of Pi)
* Dario Marianelli (Anna Karenina)
* Alexandre Desplat (Argo)
* John Williams (Lincoln)
* Thomas Newman (Skyfall)

MUSIC (ORIGINAL SONG):
* "Skyfall" - Adele Adkins and Paul Epworth (Skyfall)
* "Before My Time" - J. Ralph (Chasing Ice)
* "Everybody Needs A Best Friend" - Walter Murphy and Seth MacFarlane (Ted)
* "Pi's Lullaby" - Mychael Danna and Bombay Jayashri (Life of Pi)
* "Suddenly" - Claude-Michel Schonberg, Herbert Kretzmer and Alain Boublil (Les Miserables)

SOUND MIXING:
* Les Miserables
* Argo
* Life of Pi
* Lincoln
* Skyfall

SOUND EDITING:
* Skyfall (tie)
* Zero Dark Thirty (tie)
* Argo
* Django Unchained
* Life of Pi

VISUAL EFFECTS:
* Life of Pi
* The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey
* The Avengers
* Prometheus
* Snow White and the Huntsman

DOCUMENTARY (SHORT SUBJECT):
* Inocente
* Kings Point
* Mondays at Racine
* Open Heart
* Redemption

SHORT FILM (ANIMATED):
* Paperman
* Adam and Dog
* Fresh Guacamole
* Head over Heels
* Maggie Simpson in "The Longest Daycare"

SHORT FILM (LIVE ACTION):
* Curfew
* Asad
* Buzkashi Boys
* Death of a Shadow (Dood van een Schaduw)
* Henry

Source: AMPAS


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 64 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Champ1432 writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 8:53:04 PM

Wow, already a surprise, Waltz wins for Supporting Actor.

Didn't see him winning going up against the heavyweights.
Kurskij writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 9:00:53 PM

Waltz? Go f@ck yourself! How did that happen?
mpiper821 writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 9:11:37 PM

Wow Roger Deakins gets snubbed again!!!
Kurskij writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 9:12:24 PM

Fir the first time it's so quiet here on Oscar night.
vincere01 writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 9:13:03 PM

That's bullsh*t. Tommy L J deserved that award. This tastes like the tom hanks/roberto bennini mistake all over again. I don't mind waltz at all, its just his performence was NOT the best. Even more reason to lose faith in the penny pusher old farts
vincere01 writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 9:14:26 PM

The hobbit only has one chance left now.
boogiel writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 9:16:05 PM

Waltz = white version of Denzel.
Champ1432 writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 9:18:06 PM

Yeah, really surprising Waltz took the trophy, I would have put his chances last in the group.

I'll tell you what I loved- Shatner!! Any appearance of Shatner is a good thing.
mpiper821 writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 9:18:36 PM

I didn't think Tommy L J was anything special in Lincoln. Although I was surprised Waltz won.
Champ1432 writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 9:46:31 PM

lol this Jaws music when people go long is ridiculous
pornfly writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 9:54:30 PM

MINK YOU BASTARD
YOU CUT OFF THE JAMES BOND TRIBUTE FEED AFTER SHIRLEY BASSEY PERFORMED GOLDFINGER ! !

HAH John Travolta 'has a great big treat for me'

i wouldnt be upset if Kate Upton banged Liam Neeson
pornfly writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 9:56:29 PM

^ tha man lost his wife for Gods sake

Is there anybody who lost their wife that they hated?
Our lines are open
*no OJ jokes plz*
Rocksteddy writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 9:59:23 PM

Waltz? WALTZ OVER ALAN ARKIN IN ARGO AND PHILLIP SEYMOUR HOFFMAN IN THE MASTER?
Suck my big black discostick, oscar community.
Champ1432 writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 10:05:40 PM

That Les Miserables musical number was pretty impressive, I must say.
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 11:06:00 PM

So glad the doc "Searching for Sugar Man" won an Oscar. It was an amazing movie.

Helen Hunt should have won over Anne Hathaway. The Sessions was a good movie and at least SHE went starkers in it.
Kurskij writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 11:07:16 PM

Is it bad translation or most of MacFarlanes jokes are falling flat?

Production design - Lincoln. huh? Karenina for all it's flaws had incredible PD. or they simply had to give Smth to Lincoln?
minkowski writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 11:14:11 PM

Meh. And the year they skipped over Channing Tatum for his role of Duke in GI JOE.

I tell ya, these f*cking awards are such a goddamned joke.

I have no idea what I'm saying and I don't care.
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 11:20:06 PM

Why am I not surprised Adele won for the song "Skyfall?
minkowski writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 11:20:35 PM

Looks like Nate Silver is calling BP for Argo as well. But he incorrectly prediction a Best Supporting Actor award for Tommy Lee Jones.

Eat that, Microsoft.
minkowski writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 11:21:12 PM

@Horror: fat women need love too.
mpiper821 writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 11:23:02 PM

Only they have to pay.
minkowski writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 11:28:49 PM

I assume Jennifer Lawrence and DDL are up next, right?
minkowski writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 11:29:42 PM

So, let's see....JL, DDL, SS, and Argo, right? Is that the remainder of the awards?
mpiper821 writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 11:31:46 PM

Nope, David O. Russell
mpiper821 writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 11:31:47 PM

Nope, David O. Russell
minkowski writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 11:34:59 PM

That's not what Nate f*cking Silver and Deaft0ne are predicting.
kate writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 11:46:04 PM

spielberg is eating a big fat d*ck so far...lol
minkowski writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 11:47:01 PM

What. the. f*cking. f*ck! Ang Lee won? f*ck. No love for Stevie anymore. That's what you get for being a lazy bastard.
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 11:47:24 PM

Quention Tarintino has won another Oscar so I'm pretty sure he will now feel he needs to make whatever black version of Inglorous Basterds.

I bet tonight he is gonna go suck some primium toes.
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 11:49:17 PM

Jennifer Lawrence won an Oscar, eh? I guess it will now cost them double to get her to do the last Hunger Games movie.
minkowski writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 11:50:44 PM

Well there goes DDL. I think we all knew that one was coming.
kate writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 11:51:25 PM

looks like it's going to be either Argo or life of pi for best picture
kate writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 11:52:10 PM

love DDL but his performance in that movie is so overrated.
minkowski writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 11:53:33 PM

He also got really lucky: he LOOKS like Lincoln.

Thus half the award should go to Lincoln's casting crew.
mpiper821 writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 11:54:47 PM

Yeah ok??
minkowski writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 11:56:23 PM

^^Sorry bro.
minkowski writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 11:57:14 PM

How could a movie about French hot dogs get nominated for best picture? Did I miss something?
kate writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 11:59:08 PM

lol...only 2 out of 12 for stevie,stop making boring movies for oscar you dip sh*t and go back to making fun movies like you used to in the 80's
minkowski writes:
on February 25th, 2013 at 12:00:24 AM

Stevie has HAD it. Go make Tin Tin 2 you old dried up Jew hack.
BadChadB33 writes:
on February 25th, 2013 at 12:04:06 AM

By the sounds of it I didn't miss anything, good to know.
Deaft0ne writes:
on February 25th, 2013 at 12:05:05 AM

Lol I predicted 6 out of 8. I was surprised by Waltz taking BSA. Thought it would be Bobby D. Ang Lee was unexpected too but I didn't see Life of PI.
minkowski writes:
on February 25th, 2013 at 12:06:47 AM

I didn't see ANY of them. That's my excuse.
kate writes:
on February 25th, 2013 at 12:07:39 AM

Argo was a really boring movie as much as most of the other nominees for 'best picture' - guess we'll have to suffer many more badly directed movies in the future by Ben Affleck
minkowski writes:
on February 25th, 2013 at 12:10:47 AM

Maybe he'll direct Armageddon 2.
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on February 25th, 2013 at 12:21:42 AM

I think Amour should have won but I guess a movie with old people in it didn't have a chance.
pornfly writes:
on February 25th, 2013 at 12:25:05 AM

No dirty Charlize Theron poo eating sex puns
pornfly writes:
on February 25th, 2013 at 12:25:26 AM

?
kate writes:
on February 25th, 2013 at 12:35:19 AM

Thomas Newman still without an oscar,that's a f*cking disgrace,the guy who composed masterpieces like 'meet joe black' 'the horse whisperer' and 'The Green Mile' should have had at least 3 oscars by now.
minkowski writes:
on February 25th, 2013 at 12:38:02 AM

It's okay. Randy Newman has two!
kate writes:
on February 25th, 2013 at 12:39:24 AM

and Paul Newman has 1 so together it makes 3...aahhh,it all makes sense now.
mpiper821 writes:
on February 25th, 2013 at 12:48:33 AM

You can say the same for Roger Deakins, what was this, His 10th nomination? And still no Oscar. Terrible!!
minkowski writes:
on February 25th, 2013 at 12:51:00 AM

What I meant: how does a schlub like Randy Newman get even one when the guy who scored TGM not get even one?
minkowski writes:
on February 25th, 2013 at 12:51:43 AM

^^That was terrible phrasing.

I'm going to f*cking bed.
Ranger writes:
on February 25th, 2013 at 1:17:39 AM

I'm going to lay some pipe.
kate writes:
on February 25th, 2013 at 1:39:30 AM

^shoot it.post it.
Ranger writes:
on February 25th, 2013 at 3:15:13 AM

lol.
Ranger writes:
on February 25th, 2013 at 3:29:13 AM

And oh... were The Oscars on tonight?
CelluloidMan writes:
on February 25th, 2013 at 3:37:23 AM

Didn't MustardMayonaise said he was friends with Chris Torrio? Torrio just got an Oscar...

Mustard must be celebrating with the guy...
Tanman32123 writes:
on February 25th, 2013 at 5:32:48 AM

Surprised Lincoln didn't sweep...
kate writes:
on February 25th, 2013 at 5:53:35 AM

f*ck lincoln - it was a poop fiesta on a grand scale,they made lincoln look and talk like a p*ssy in this movie,look at his original picture,you can see what a bad ass he was was in real life.and f*ck argo,amour,life of pi,django and all the other nominees.all sh*t boring movies which are masturbation material for old people like the academy members.
Patrick Bateman writes:
on February 25th, 2013 at 9:22:00 AM

Im happy ang lee won quite a suprise take that speilburg however I dont think anyone can be unhappy for Daniel Day Lewis winning he is just a class act all the way and arguably the best actor ever.
Kurskij writes:
on February 25th, 2013 at 11:37:20 AM

Very happy for Lee. He deserved it. Maybe Spielberg will make Smth. More risky now.

Because Lincoln was the epitome of well-made "meh".
ENFORCER writes:
on February 25th, 2013 at 6:38:07 PM

Bullit deserves an oscer for being the dumbest c*nt on WP !!!!!!
Tanman32123 writes:
on February 25th, 2013 at 10:36:51 PM

Lincoln was very boring but very well done..

Joss Whedon Blames Edgar Wright for Not Having Ant-Man in "Avengers: Age of Ultron"

Will Smith Trashes "Another Earth," Vince Vaughn Trashes "The Internship"

More Details on Marvel's Spider-Man Deal, New Spider-Man to be Younger

Mark Ruffalo Discusses The Hulk in "Avengers: Age of Ultron" and in New Solo Film

It's Official: Spider-Man to Appear in Marvel Films

Next Spider-Man Will NOT Be White?

Matthew Vaughn Reveals His Version of Quicksilver Scene in "X-Men: Days of Future Past"

Director Matthew Vaughn Wanted Two Wolverines in "X-Men: Days of Future Past"

Confirmed: Neill Blomkamp Will Direct New "Alien" Film

Jared Leto Talks Playing The Joker in "Suicide Squad"
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved