WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
First Look at Tom Cruise on "Mission: Impossible 5" Set
Aug 22nd, 2014
"Harry Potter" Director David Yates to Return For "Fantastic Beasts" Spin-Off
Aug 22nd, 2014
Trailer For "The Woman in Black" Sequel
Aug 22nd, 2014
Photos: Chris Pratt Dressed as Star-Lord Visits Sick Children at Hospital
Aug 22nd, 2014
First Look at Keanu Reeves in "John Wick" Action Thriller
Aug 22nd, 2014
Steven Spielberg to Turn "Minority Report" Into a TV Series
Aug 22nd, 2014
New Trailer for "The Conjuring" Spin-Off "Annabelle"
Aug 22nd, 2014
New Trailer for "Young Ones" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Nicholas Hoult
Aug 22nd, 2014
New Trailer For Jake Gyllenhaal's "Nightcrawler" Thriller
Aug 21st, 2014
Trailer for Shailene Woodley's "White Bird in a Blizzard" Thriller
Aug 21st, 2014
Photo: Better Look at Henry Cavill in His Superman Costume on Set of "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Aug 21st, 2014
Teaser Trailer for Quentin Tarantino's "The Hateful Eight" Leaked Online
Aug 21st, 2014
Trailer for Nicolas Cage's Insane "Outcast" Film
Aug 21st, 2014
Christian Bale and Cate Blanchett Join "Jungle Book: Origins"
Aug 21st, 2014
Trailer: Katie Holmes is a Vigilante in "Miss Meadows"
Aug 21st, 2014
Pierce Brosnan Was Offered Lead in Tim Burton's "Batman," Thought It Was a Joke
Aug 20th, 2014
Trailer for Antonio Banderas' "Automata" Sci-Fi Film
Aug 20th, 2014
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "Men, Women and Children," Directed by Jason Reitman
Aug 20th, 2014
Daughters of Johnny Depp and Kevin Smith to Star in "Yoga Hosers"
Aug 20th, 2014
Photo: Is Scoot McNairy Playing The Flash in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"?
Aug 20th, 2014
Trailer For "A Good Marriage" Thriller, Based on Stephen King's Short Story
Aug 20th, 2014
New Trailer For "Ouija" Supernatural Thriller, Based on Board Game
Aug 20th, 2014
Benedict Cumberbatch is Shere Khan in "The Jungle Book" Film
Aug 20th, 2014
First Look at Paul Rudd in Marvel's "Ant-Man"
Aug 20th, 2014
Mark Wahlberg in Talks for "Deepwater Horizon" BP Oil Disaster Film
Aug 20th, 2014
Photos of Henry Cavill as Superman on Set of "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Aug 19th, 2014
Alfred Molina Wants to Return as Spider-Man Villain Doctor Octopus in "Sinister Six"
Aug 19th, 2014
Trailer for Lifetime's "Saved By the Bell" Movie
Aug 19th, 2014
"Olympus Has Fallen" Sequel Hires Director, Filming to Begin in October
Aug 19th, 2014
"The Fault in Our Stars" Director in Talks for Anne Rice's "Lestat" Vampire Film
Aug 19th, 2014
Milla Jovovich is Pregnant, "Resident Evil: The Final Chapter" Gets Delayed
Aug 18th, 2014
"Sharknado 3" Star Wants More Money, May Get Replaced
Aug 18th, 2014
"The Devil's Advocate" to Become a TV Series
Aug 18th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Academy Award Winners Announced!

Posted: February 24th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Academy Award Winners Announced!Submit Comment
The Oscars took place on Sunday with "Argo" ending up being the big winner of the night, despite the fact that Ben Affleck wasn't even nominated for Best Director. The film also won for Best Writing (Adapted Screenplay) and Best Editing.

"Lincoln" was nominated for twelve Oscars, but ended up winning only two, including Best Actor for Daniel Day-Lewis and Production Design. Quentin Tarantino got an Oscar for Best Writing (Original Screenplay) for "Django Unchained." Christoph Waltz won Best Supporting Actor award for the same movie.

Check out the full list of nominees and winners (marked in red) below. And let us know if you think the academy got it right.

BEST PICTURE:
* Argo
* Amour
* Beasts of the Southern Wild
* Django Unchained
* Les Miserables
* Life of Pi
* Lincoln
* Silver Linings Playbook
* Zero Dark Thirty

DIRECTING:
* Ang Lee (Life of Pi)
* Michael Haneke (Amour)
* Benh Zeitlin (Beasts of the Southern Wild)
* Steven Spielberg (Lincoln)
* David O. Russell (Silver Linings Playbook)

ACTOR IN A LEADING ROLE:
* Daniel Day-Lewis (Lincoln)
* Bradley Cooper (Silver Linings Playbook)
* Hugh Jackman (Les Miserables)
* Joaquin Phoenix (The Master)
* Denzel Washington (Flight)

ACTRESS IN A LEADING ROLE:
* Jennifer Lawrence (Silver Linings Playbook)
* Jessica Chastain (Zero Dark Thirty)
* Emmanuelle Riva (Amour)
* Quvenzhane Wallis (Beasts of the Southern Wild)
* Naomi Watts (The Impossible)

ACTOR IN A SUPPORTING ROLE:
* Christoph Waltz (Django Unchained)
* Alan Arkin (Argo)
* Robert De Niro (Silver Linings Playbook)
* Philip Seymour Hoffman (The Master)
* Tommy Lee Jones (Lincoln)

ACTRESS IN A SUPPORTING ROLE:
* Anne Hathaway (Les Miserables)
* Amy Adams (The Master)
* Sally Field (Lincoln)
* Helen Hunt (The Sessions)
* Jacki Weaver (Silver Linings Playbook)

WRITING (ADAPTED SCREENPLAY):
* Chris Terrio (Argo)
* Lucy Alibar and Benh Zeitlin (Beasts of the Southern Wild)
* David Magee (Life of Pi)
* Tony Kushner (Lincoln)
* David O. Russell (Silver Linings Playbook)

WRITING (ORIGINAL SCREENPLAY):
* Quentin Tarantino (Django Unchained)
* Michael Haneke (Amour)
* John Gatins (Flight)
* Wes Anderson and Roman Coppola (Moonrise Kingdom)
* Mark Boal (Zero Dark Thirty)

FOREIGN LANGUAGE FILM:
* Amour (Austria)
* Kon-Tiki (Norway)
* No (Chile)
* A Royal Affair (Denmark)
* War Witch (Canada)

ANIMATED FEATURE FILM:
* Brave
* Frankenweenie
* ParaNorman
* The Pirates! Band of Misfits
* Wreck-It Ralph

PRODUCTION DESIGN:
* Lincoln
* Anna Karenina
* The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey
* Les Miserables
* Life of Pi

CINEMATOGRAPHY:
* Claudio Miranda (Life of Pi)
* Seamus McGarvey (Anna Karenina)
* Robert Richardson (Django Unchained)
* Janusz Kaminski (Lincoln)
* Roger Deakins (Skyfall)

COSTUME DESIGN:
* Jacqueline Durran (Anna Karenina)
* Paco Delgado (Les Miserables)
* Joanna Johnston (Lincoln)
* Eiko Ishioka (Mirror Mirror)
* Colleen Atwood (Snow White and the Huntsman)

FILM EDITING:
* William Goldenberg (Argo)
* Tim Squyres (Life of Pi)
* Michael Kahn (Lincoln)
* Jay Cassidy and Crispin Struthers (Silver Linings Playbook)
* Dylan Tichenor and William Goldenberg (Zero Dark Thirty)

DOCUMENTARY (FEATURE):
* Searching for Sugar Man
* 5 Broken Cameras
* The Gatekeepers
* How to Survive a Plague
* The Invisible War

MAKEUP:
* Lisa Westcott and Julie Dartnell (Les Miserables)
* Howard Berger, Peter Montagna and Martin Samuel (Hitchcock)
* Peter Swords King, Rick Findlater and Tami Lane (The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey)

MUSIC (ORIGINAL SCORE):
* Mychael Danna (Life of Pi)
* Dario Marianelli (Anna Karenina)
* Alexandre Desplat (Argo)
* John Williams (Lincoln)
* Thomas Newman (Skyfall)

MUSIC (ORIGINAL SONG):
* "Skyfall" - Adele Adkins and Paul Epworth (Skyfall)
* "Before My Time" - J. Ralph (Chasing Ice)
* "Everybody Needs A Best Friend" - Walter Murphy and Seth MacFarlane (Ted)
* "Pi's Lullaby" - Mychael Danna and Bombay Jayashri (Life of Pi)
* "Suddenly" - Claude-Michel Schonberg, Herbert Kretzmer and Alain Boublil (Les Miserables)

SOUND MIXING:
* Les Miserables
* Argo
* Life of Pi
* Lincoln
* Skyfall

SOUND EDITING:
* Skyfall (tie)
* Zero Dark Thirty (tie)
* Argo
* Django Unchained
* Life of Pi

VISUAL EFFECTS:
* Life of Pi
* The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey
* The Avengers
* Prometheus
* Snow White and the Huntsman

DOCUMENTARY (SHORT SUBJECT):
* Inocente
* Kings Point
* Mondays at Racine
* Open Heart
* Redemption

SHORT FILM (ANIMATED):
* Paperman
* Adam and Dog
* Fresh Guacamole
* Head over Heels
* Maggie Simpson in "The Longest Daycare"

SHORT FILM (LIVE ACTION):
* Curfew
* Asad
* Buzkashi Boys
* Death of a Shadow (Dood van een Schaduw)
* Henry

Source: AMPAS


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 64 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Champ1432 writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 8:53:04 PM

Wow, already a surprise, Waltz wins for Supporting Actor.

Didn't see him winning going up against the heavyweights.
Kurskij writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 9:00:53 PM

Waltz? Go f@ck yourself! How did that happen?
mpiper821 writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 9:11:37 PM

Wow Roger Deakins gets snubbed again!!!
Kurskij writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 9:12:24 PM

Fir the first time it's so quiet here on Oscar night.
vincere01 writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 9:13:03 PM

That's bullsh*t. Tommy L J deserved that award. This tastes like the tom hanks/roberto bennini mistake all over again. I don't mind waltz at all, its just his performence was NOT the best. Even more reason to lose faith in the penny pusher old farts
vincere01 writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 9:14:26 PM

The hobbit only has one chance left now.
boogiel writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 9:16:05 PM

Waltz = white version of Denzel.
Champ1432 writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 9:18:06 PM

Yeah, really surprising Waltz took the trophy, I would have put his chances last in the group.

I'll tell you what I loved- Shatner!! Any appearance of Shatner is a good thing.
mpiper821 writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 9:18:36 PM

I didn't think Tommy L J was anything special in Lincoln. Although I was surprised Waltz won.
Champ1432 writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 9:46:31 PM

lol this Jaws music when people go long is ridiculous
pornfly writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 9:54:30 PM

MINK YOU BASTARD
YOU CUT OFF THE JAMES BOND TRIBUTE FEED AFTER SHIRLEY BASSEY PERFORMED GOLDFINGER ! !

HAH John Travolta 'has a great big treat for me'

i wouldnt be upset if Kate Upton banged Liam Neeson
pornfly writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 9:56:29 PM

^ tha man lost his wife for Gods sake

Is there anybody who lost their wife that they hated?
Our lines are open
*no OJ jokes plz*
Rocksteddy writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 9:59:23 PM

Waltz? WALTZ OVER ALAN ARKIN IN ARGO AND PHILLIP SEYMOUR HOFFMAN IN THE MASTER?
Suck my big black discostick, oscar community.
Champ1432 writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 10:05:40 PM

That Les Miserables musical number was pretty impressive, I must say.
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 11:06:00 PM

So glad the doc "Searching for Sugar Man" won an Oscar. It was an amazing movie.

Helen Hunt should have won over Anne Hathaway. The Sessions was a good movie and at least SHE went starkers in it.
Kurskij writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 11:07:16 PM

Is it bad translation or most of MacFarlanes jokes are falling flat?

Production design - Lincoln. huh? Karenina for all it's flaws had incredible PD. or they simply had to give Smth to Lincoln?
minkowski writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 11:14:11 PM

Meh. And the year they skipped over Channing Tatum for his role of Duke in GI JOE.

I tell ya, these f*cking awards are such a goddamned joke.

I have no idea what I'm saying and I don't care.
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 11:20:06 PM

Why am I not surprised Adele won for the song "Skyfall?
minkowski writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 11:20:35 PM

Looks like Nate Silver is calling BP for Argo as well. But he incorrectly prediction a Best Supporting Actor award for Tommy Lee Jones.

Eat that, Microsoft.
minkowski writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 11:21:12 PM

@Horror: fat women need love too.
mpiper821 writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 11:23:02 PM

Only they have to pay.
minkowski writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 11:28:49 PM

I assume Jennifer Lawrence and DDL are up next, right?
minkowski writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 11:29:42 PM

So, let's see....JL, DDL, SS, and Argo, right? Is that the remainder of the awards?
mpiper821 writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 11:31:46 PM

Nope, David O. Russell
mpiper821 writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 11:31:47 PM

Nope, David O. Russell
minkowski writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 11:34:59 PM

That's not what Nate f*cking Silver and Deaft0ne are predicting.
kate writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 11:46:04 PM

spielberg is eating a big fat d*ck so far...lol
minkowski writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 11:47:01 PM

What. the. f*cking. f*ck! Ang Lee won? f*ck. No love for Stevie anymore. That's what you get for being a lazy bastard.
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 11:47:24 PM

Quention Tarintino has won another Oscar so I'm pretty sure he will now feel he needs to make whatever black version of Inglorous Basterds.

I bet tonight he is gonna go suck some primium toes.
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 11:49:17 PM

Jennifer Lawrence won an Oscar, eh? I guess it will now cost them double to get her to do the last Hunger Games movie.
minkowski writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 11:50:44 PM

Well there goes DDL. I think we all knew that one was coming.
kate writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 11:51:25 PM

looks like it's going to be either Argo or life of pi for best picture
kate writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 11:52:10 PM

love DDL but his performance in that movie is so overrated.
minkowski writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 11:53:33 PM

He also got really lucky: he LOOKS like Lincoln.

Thus half the award should go to Lincoln's casting crew.
mpiper821 writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 11:54:47 PM

Yeah ok??
minkowski writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 11:56:23 PM

^^Sorry bro.
minkowski writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 11:57:14 PM

How could a movie about French hot dogs get nominated for best picture? Did I miss something?
kate writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 11:59:08 PM

lol...only 2 out of 12 for stevie,stop making boring movies for oscar you dip sh*t and go back to making fun movies like you used to in the 80's
minkowski writes:
on February 25th, 2013 at 12:00:24 AM

Stevie has HAD it. Go make Tin Tin 2 you old dried up Jew hack.
BadChadB33 writes:
on February 25th, 2013 at 12:04:06 AM

By the sounds of it I didn't miss anything, good to know.
Deaft0ne writes:
on February 25th, 2013 at 12:05:05 AM

Lol I predicted 6 out of 8. I was surprised by Waltz taking BSA. Thought it would be Bobby D. Ang Lee was unexpected too but I didn't see Life of PI.
minkowski writes:
on February 25th, 2013 at 12:06:47 AM

I didn't see ANY of them. That's my excuse.
kate writes:
on February 25th, 2013 at 12:07:39 AM

Argo was a really boring movie as much as most of the other nominees for 'best picture' - guess we'll have to suffer many more badly directed movies in the future by Ben Affleck
minkowski writes:
on February 25th, 2013 at 12:10:47 AM

Maybe he'll direct Armageddon 2.
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on February 25th, 2013 at 12:21:42 AM

I think Amour should have won but I guess a movie with old people in it didn't have a chance.
pornfly writes:
on February 25th, 2013 at 12:25:05 AM

No dirty Charlize Theron poo eating sex puns
pornfly writes:
on February 25th, 2013 at 12:25:26 AM

?
kate writes:
on February 25th, 2013 at 12:35:19 AM

Thomas Newman still without an oscar,that's a f*cking disgrace,the guy who composed masterpieces like 'meet joe black' 'the horse whisperer' and 'The Green Mile' should have had at least 3 oscars by now.
minkowski writes:
on February 25th, 2013 at 12:38:02 AM

It's okay. Randy Newman has two!
kate writes:
on February 25th, 2013 at 12:39:24 AM

and Paul Newman has 1 so together it makes 3...aahhh,it all makes sense now.
mpiper821 writes:
on February 25th, 2013 at 12:48:33 AM

You can say the same for Roger Deakins, what was this, His 10th nomination? And still no Oscar. Terrible!!
minkowski writes:
on February 25th, 2013 at 12:51:00 AM

What I meant: how does a schlub like Randy Newman get even one when the guy who scored TGM not get even one?
minkowski writes:
on February 25th, 2013 at 12:51:43 AM

^^That was terrible phrasing.

I'm going to f*cking bed.
Ranger writes:
on February 25th, 2013 at 1:17:39 AM

I'm going to lay some pipe.
kate writes:
on February 25th, 2013 at 1:39:30 AM

^shoot it.post it.
Ranger writes:
on February 25th, 2013 at 3:15:13 AM

lol.
Ranger writes:
on February 25th, 2013 at 3:29:13 AM

And oh... were The Oscars on tonight?
CelluloidMan writes:
on February 25th, 2013 at 3:37:23 AM

Didn't MustardMayonaise said he was friends with Chris Torrio? Torrio just got an Oscar...

Mustard must be celebrating with the guy...
Tanman32123 writes:
on February 25th, 2013 at 5:32:48 AM

Surprised Lincoln didn't sweep...
kate writes:
on February 25th, 2013 at 5:53:35 AM

f*ck lincoln - it was a poop fiesta on a grand scale,they made lincoln look and talk like a p*ssy in this movie,look at his original picture,you can see what a bad ass he was was in real life.and f*ck argo,amour,life of pi,django and all the other nominees.all sh*t boring movies which are masturbation material for old people like the academy members.
Patrick Bateman writes:
on February 25th, 2013 at 9:22:00 AM

Im happy ang lee won quite a suprise take that speilburg however I dont think anyone can be unhappy for Daniel Day Lewis winning he is just a class act all the way and arguably the best actor ever.
Kurskij writes:
on February 25th, 2013 at 11:37:20 AM

Very happy for Lee. He deserved it. Maybe Spielberg will make Smth. More risky now.

Because Lincoln was the epitome of well-made "meh".
ENFORCER writes:
on February 25th, 2013 at 6:38:07 PM

Bullit deserves an oscer for being the dumbest c*nt on WP !!!!!!
Tanman32123 writes:
on February 25th, 2013 at 10:36:51 PM

Lincoln was very boring but very well done..

"Sharknado 2" Breaks Records with 3.9 Million Viewers

Ronda Rousey Says She Should Have Been Wonder Woman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

Bruce Wayne's Age in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Revealed

Robin Williams' Cause of Death Revealed

Anthony Mackie Says He's Ready to Become Captain America

"The Expendables 3" Bombs at the Box Office, "Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles" Still On Top

James Gunn Says "Guardians and the Galaxy" and "Avengers" Superheroes May Soon Meet

"Batman v Superman" Director Zack Snyder Defends Aquaman's Powers

Jackie Chan Discusses "The Expendables 4" and "Rush Hour 4"

Trailer for Quentin Tarantino's "The Hateful Eight" Attached to "Sin City: A Dame to Kill For"
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved