WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Final Trailer for "X-Men: Days of Future Past"
Apr 16th, 2014
"Sinister Six" Spin-Off May NOT Feature Classic Spider-Man Villains
Apr 16th, 2014
Leonardo DiCaprio to Star in "The Revenant" Revenge Thriller
Apr 16th, 2014
Will Ferrell, John C. Reilly and Adam McKay Re-Team for "Border Guards" Comedy
Apr 16th, 2014
Trailer for Chrloe Moretz's "If I Stay"
Apr 16th, 2014
"Fast and Furious 7" Hires Paul Walker's Brothers to Help Finish the Film
Apr 16th, 2014
Trailer for "Third Person," with Liam Neeson and James Franco
Apr 16th, 2014
Andrew Garfield Says Spider-Man is Jewish
Apr 15th, 2014
Channing Tatum Confirms Talks to Play Gambit in "X-Men" Film
Apr 15th, 2014
David Fincher to be Replaced on Steve Jobs Biopic Due to Unreasonable Requests
Apr 15th, 2014
Harrison Ford Excited to Return for "Blade Runner" Sequel
Apr 15th, 2014
Trailer for David Cronenberg's "Maps to the Stars," with John Cusack and Julianne Moore
Apr 15th, 2014
Trailer for Philip Seymour Hoffman's "God's Pocket" Thriller
Apr 15th, 2014
Trailer for Zoe Saldana's "Rosemary's Baby" TV Series
Apr 15th, 2014
Trailer for Tommy Lee Jones' "The Homesman"
Apr 15th, 2014
Trailer for Jay-Z's "Annie" Remake, With Jamie Foxx and Cameron Diaz
Apr 15th, 2014
Trailer for Ben Affleck's "Gone Girl" Thriller, Directed by David Fincher
Apr 14th, 2014
Pierce Brosnan Says He Was NOT Good Enough as James Bond
Apr 14th, 2014
"Captain America: The Winter Soldier" Remains Box Office Champ
Apr 14th, 2014
Watch Opening Battle Sequence From "X-Men: Days of Future Past"
Apr 14th, 2014
Spider-Man Battles Electro in New "The Amazing Spider-Man 2" Clip
Apr 14th, 2014
First "Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles" TV Spot Shows Splinter
Apr 14th, 2014
"Transformers: Age of Extinction" TV Spot From MTV Movie Awards
Apr 14th, 2014
New TV Spot for Tom Cruise's "Edge of Tomorrow" Sci-Fi Thriller
Apr 14th, 2014
Dwayne Johnson's "Hercules" TV Spot, From MTV Movie Awards
Apr 14th, 2014
Seth MacFarlane's "A Million Ways to Die in the West" TV Spot
Apr 14th, 2014
New TV Spot for "22 Jump Street," with Channing Tatum and Jonah Hill
Apr 14th, 2014
Anthony Mackie Almost Got Arrested Signing "Captain America 2" Falcon Posters
Apr 14th, 2014
James Cameron Gives "Avatar" Sequels Update, Comments on Arnold Schwarzenegger Rumor
Apr 13th, 2014
James Cameron Doesn't Like Last Two "Terminator" Films, Says T-800 Would Beat Alien Queen and Na'vi in Battle
Apr 13th, 2014
James Cameron Discusses "True Lies 2" and "Prometheus"
Apr 13th, 2014
Will Spider-Man Appear in "Sinister Six" Spin-Off?
Apr 12th, 2014
"Guardians of the Galaxy" is Connected to "Avengers 3"
Apr 12th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Academy Award Winners Announced!

Posted: February 24th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Academy Award Winners Announced!Submit Comment
The Oscars took place on Sunday with "Argo" ending up being the big winner of the night, despite the fact that Ben Affleck wasn't even nominated for Best Director. The film also won for Best Writing (Adapted Screenplay) and Best Editing.

"Lincoln" was nominated for twelve Oscars, but ended up winning only two, including Best Actor for Daniel Day-Lewis and Production Design. Quentin Tarantino got an Oscar for Best Writing (Original Screenplay) for "Django Unchained." Christoph Waltz won Best Supporting Actor award for the same movie.

Check out the full list of nominees and winners (marked in red) below. And let us know if you think the academy got it right.

BEST PICTURE:
* Argo
* Amour
* Beasts of the Southern Wild
* Django Unchained
* Les Miserables
* Life of Pi
* Lincoln
* Silver Linings Playbook
* Zero Dark Thirty

DIRECTING:
* Ang Lee (Life of Pi)
* Michael Haneke (Amour)
* Benh Zeitlin (Beasts of the Southern Wild)
* Steven Spielberg (Lincoln)
* David O. Russell (Silver Linings Playbook)

ACTOR IN A LEADING ROLE:
* Daniel Day-Lewis (Lincoln)
* Bradley Cooper (Silver Linings Playbook)
* Hugh Jackman (Les Miserables)
* Joaquin Phoenix (The Master)
* Denzel Washington (Flight)

ACTRESS IN A LEADING ROLE:
* Jennifer Lawrence (Silver Linings Playbook)
* Jessica Chastain (Zero Dark Thirty)
* Emmanuelle Riva (Amour)
* Quvenzhane Wallis (Beasts of the Southern Wild)
* Naomi Watts (The Impossible)

ACTOR IN A SUPPORTING ROLE:
* Christoph Waltz (Django Unchained)
* Alan Arkin (Argo)
* Robert De Niro (Silver Linings Playbook)
* Philip Seymour Hoffman (The Master)
* Tommy Lee Jones (Lincoln)

ACTRESS IN A SUPPORTING ROLE:
* Anne Hathaway (Les Miserables)
* Amy Adams (The Master)
* Sally Field (Lincoln)
* Helen Hunt (The Sessions)
* Jacki Weaver (Silver Linings Playbook)

WRITING (ADAPTED SCREENPLAY):
* Chris Terrio (Argo)
* Lucy Alibar and Benh Zeitlin (Beasts of the Southern Wild)
* David Magee (Life of Pi)
* Tony Kushner (Lincoln)
* David O. Russell (Silver Linings Playbook)

WRITING (ORIGINAL SCREENPLAY):
* Quentin Tarantino (Django Unchained)
* Michael Haneke (Amour)
* John Gatins (Flight)
* Wes Anderson and Roman Coppola (Moonrise Kingdom)
* Mark Boal (Zero Dark Thirty)

FOREIGN LANGUAGE FILM:
* Amour (Austria)
* Kon-Tiki (Norway)
* No (Chile)
* A Royal Affair (Denmark)
* War Witch (Canada)

ANIMATED FEATURE FILM:
* Brave
* Frankenweenie
* ParaNorman
* The Pirates! Band of Misfits
* Wreck-It Ralph

PRODUCTION DESIGN:
* Lincoln
* Anna Karenina
* The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey
* Les Miserables
* Life of Pi

CINEMATOGRAPHY:
* Claudio Miranda (Life of Pi)
* Seamus McGarvey (Anna Karenina)
* Robert Richardson (Django Unchained)
* Janusz Kaminski (Lincoln)
* Roger Deakins (Skyfall)

COSTUME DESIGN:
* Jacqueline Durran (Anna Karenina)
* Paco Delgado (Les Miserables)
* Joanna Johnston (Lincoln)
* Eiko Ishioka (Mirror Mirror)
* Colleen Atwood (Snow White and the Huntsman)

FILM EDITING:
* William Goldenberg (Argo)
* Tim Squyres (Life of Pi)
* Michael Kahn (Lincoln)
* Jay Cassidy and Crispin Struthers (Silver Linings Playbook)
* Dylan Tichenor and William Goldenberg (Zero Dark Thirty)

DOCUMENTARY (FEATURE):
* Searching for Sugar Man
* 5 Broken Cameras
* The Gatekeepers
* How to Survive a Plague
* The Invisible War

MAKEUP:
* Lisa Westcott and Julie Dartnell (Les Miserables)
* Howard Berger, Peter Montagna and Martin Samuel (Hitchcock)
* Peter Swords King, Rick Findlater and Tami Lane (The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey)

MUSIC (ORIGINAL SCORE):
* Mychael Danna (Life of Pi)
* Dario Marianelli (Anna Karenina)
* Alexandre Desplat (Argo)
* John Williams (Lincoln)
* Thomas Newman (Skyfall)

MUSIC (ORIGINAL SONG):
* "Skyfall" - Adele Adkins and Paul Epworth (Skyfall)
* "Before My Time" - J. Ralph (Chasing Ice)
* "Everybody Needs A Best Friend" - Walter Murphy and Seth MacFarlane (Ted)
* "Pi's Lullaby" - Mychael Danna and Bombay Jayashri (Life of Pi)
* "Suddenly" - Claude-Michel Schonberg, Herbert Kretzmer and Alain Boublil (Les Miserables)

SOUND MIXING:
* Les Miserables
* Argo
* Life of Pi
* Lincoln
* Skyfall

SOUND EDITING:
* Skyfall (tie)
* Zero Dark Thirty (tie)
* Argo
* Django Unchained
* Life of Pi

VISUAL EFFECTS:
* Life of Pi
* The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey
* The Avengers
* Prometheus
* Snow White and the Huntsman

DOCUMENTARY (SHORT SUBJECT):
* Inocente
* Kings Point
* Mondays at Racine
* Open Heart
* Redemption

SHORT FILM (ANIMATED):
* Paperman
* Adam and Dog
* Fresh Guacamole
* Head over Heels
* Maggie Simpson in "The Longest Daycare"

SHORT FILM (LIVE ACTION):
* Curfew
* Asad
* Buzkashi Boys
* Death of a Shadow (Dood van een Schaduw)
* Henry

Source: AMPAS


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 64 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Champ1432 writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 8:53:04 PM

Wow, already a surprise, Waltz wins for Supporting Actor.

Didn't see him winning going up against the heavyweights.
Kurskij writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 9:00:53 PM

Waltz? Go f@ck yourself! How did that happen?
mpiper821 writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 9:11:37 PM

Wow Roger Deakins gets snubbed again!!!
Kurskij writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 9:12:24 PM

Fir the first time it's so quiet here on Oscar night.
vincere01 writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 9:13:03 PM

That's bullsh*t. Tommy L J deserved that award. This tastes like the tom hanks/roberto bennini mistake all over again. I don't mind waltz at all, its just his performence was NOT the best. Even more reason to lose faith in the penny pusher old farts
vincere01 writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 9:14:26 PM

The hobbit only has one chance left now.
boogiel writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 9:16:05 PM

Waltz = white version of Denzel.
Champ1432 writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 9:18:06 PM

Yeah, really surprising Waltz took the trophy, I would have put his chances last in the group.

I'll tell you what I loved- Shatner!! Any appearance of Shatner is a good thing.
mpiper821 writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 9:18:36 PM

I didn't think Tommy L J was anything special in Lincoln. Although I was surprised Waltz won.
Champ1432 writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 9:46:31 PM

lol this Jaws music when people go long is ridiculous
pornfly writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 9:54:30 PM

MINK YOU BASTARD
YOU CUT OFF THE JAMES BOND TRIBUTE FEED AFTER SHIRLEY BASSEY PERFORMED GOLDFINGER ! !

HAH John Travolta 'has a great big treat for me'

i wouldnt be upset if Kate Upton banged Liam Neeson
pornfly writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 9:56:29 PM

^ tha man lost his wife for Gods sake

Is there anybody who lost their wife that they hated?
Our lines are open
*no OJ jokes plz*
Rocksteddy writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 9:59:23 PM

Waltz? WALTZ OVER ALAN ARKIN IN ARGO AND PHILLIP SEYMOUR HOFFMAN IN THE MASTER?
Suck my big black discostick, oscar community.
Champ1432 writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 10:05:40 PM

That Les Miserables musical number was pretty impressive, I must say.
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 11:06:00 PM

So glad the doc "Searching for Sugar Man" won an Oscar. It was an amazing movie.

Helen Hunt should have won over Anne Hathaway. The Sessions was a good movie and at least SHE went starkers in it.
Kurskij writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 11:07:16 PM

Is it bad translation or most of MacFarlanes jokes are falling flat?

Production design - Lincoln. huh? Karenina for all it's flaws had incredible PD. or they simply had to give Smth to Lincoln?
minkowski writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 11:14:11 PM

Meh. And the year they skipped over Channing Tatum for his role of Duke in GI JOE.

I tell ya, these f*cking awards are such a goddamned joke.

I have no idea what I'm saying and I don't care.
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 11:20:06 PM

Why am I not surprised Adele won for the song "Skyfall?
minkowski writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 11:20:35 PM

Looks like Nate Silver is calling BP for Argo as well. But he incorrectly prediction a Best Supporting Actor award for Tommy Lee Jones.

Eat that, Microsoft.
minkowski writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 11:21:12 PM

@Horror: fat women need love too.
mpiper821 writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 11:23:02 PM

Only they have to pay.
minkowski writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 11:28:49 PM

I assume Jennifer Lawrence and DDL are up next, right?
minkowski writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 11:29:42 PM

So, let's see....JL, DDL, SS, and Argo, right? Is that the remainder of the awards?
mpiper821 writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 11:31:46 PM

Nope, David O. Russell
mpiper821 writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 11:31:47 PM

Nope, David O. Russell
minkowski writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 11:34:59 PM

That's not what Nate f*cking Silver and Deaft0ne are predicting.
kate writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 11:46:04 PM

spielberg is eating a big fat d*ck so far...lol
minkowski writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 11:47:01 PM

What. the. f*cking. f*ck! Ang Lee won? f*ck. No love for Stevie anymore. That's what you get for being a lazy bastard.
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 11:47:24 PM

Quention Tarintino has won another Oscar so I'm pretty sure he will now feel he needs to make whatever black version of Inglorous Basterds.

I bet tonight he is gonna go suck some primium toes.
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 11:49:17 PM

Jennifer Lawrence won an Oscar, eh? I guess it will now cost them double to get her to do the last Hunger Games movie.
minkowski writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 11:50:44 PM

Well there goes DDL. I think we all knew that one was coming.
kate writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 11:51:25 PM

looks like it's going to be either Argo or life of pi for best picture
kate writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 11:52:10 PM

love DDL but his performance in that movie is so overrated.
minkowski writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 11:53:33 PM

He also got really lucky: he LOOKS like Lincoln.

Thus half the award should go to Lincoln's casting crew.
mpiper821 writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 11:54:47 PM

Yeah ok??
minkowski writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 11:56:23 PM

^^Sorry bro.
minkowski writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 11:57:14 PM

How could a movie about French hot dogs get nominated for best picture? Did I miss something?
kate writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 11:59:08 PM

lol...only 2 out of 12 for stevie,stop making boring movies for oscar you dip sh*t and go back to making fun movies like you used to in the 80's
minkowski writes:
on February 25th, 2013 at 12:00:24 AM

Stevie has HAD it. Go make Tin Tin 2 you old dried up Jew hack.
BadChadB33 writes:
on February 25th, 2013 at 12:04:06 AM

By the sounds of it I didn't miss anything, good to know.
Deaft0ne writes:
on February 25th, 2013 at 12:05:05 AM

Lol I predicted 6 out of 8. I was surprised by Waltz taking BSA. Thought it would be Bobby D. Ang Lee was unexpected too but I didn't see Life of PI.
minkowski writes:
on February 25th, 2013 at 12:06:47 AM

I didn't see ANY of them. That's my excuse.
kate writes:
on February 25th, 2013 at 12:07:39 AM

Argo was a really boring movie as much as most of the other nominees for 'best picture' - guess we'll have to suffer many more badly directed movies in the future by Ben Affleck
minkowski writes:
on February 25th, 2013 at 12:10:47 AM

Maybe he'll direct Armageddon 2.
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on February 25th, 2013 at 12:21:42 AM

I think Amour should have won but I guess a movie with old people in it didn't have a chance.
pornfly writes:
on February 25th, 2013 at 12:25:05 AM

No dirty Charlize Theron poo eating sex puns
pornfly writes:
on February 25th, 2013 at 12:25:26 AM

?
kate writes:
on February 25th, 2013 at 12:35:19 AM

Thomas Newman still without an oscar,that's a f*cking disgrace,the guy who composed masterpieces like 'meet joe black' 'the horse whisperer' and 'The Green Mile' should have had at least 3 oscars by now.
minkowski writes:
on February 25th, 2013 at 12:38:02 AM

It's okay. Randy Newman has two!
kate writes:
on February 25th, 2013 at 12:39:24 AM

and Paul Newman has 1 so together it makes 3...aahhh,it all makes sense now.
mpiper821 writes:
on February 25th, 2013 at 12:48:33 AM

You can say the same for Roger Deakins, what was this, His 10th nomination? And still no Oscar. Terrible!!
minkowski writes:
on February 25th, 2013 at 12:51:00 AM

What I meant: how does a schlub like Randy Newman get even one when the guy who scored TGM not get even one?
minkowski writes:
on February 25th, 2013 at 12:51:43 AM

^^That was terrible phrasing.

I'm going to f*cking bed.
Ranger writes:
on February 25th, 2013 at 1:17:39 AM

I'm going to lay some pipe.
kate writes:
on February 25th, 2013 at 1:39:30 AM

^shoot it.post it.
Ranger writes:
on February 25th, 2013 at 3:15:13 AM

lol.
Ranger writes:
on February 25th, 2013 at 3:29:13 AM

And oh... were The Oscars on tonight?
CelluloidMan writes:
on February 25th, 2013 at 3:37:23 AM

Didn't MustardMayonaise said he was friends with Chris Torrio? Torrio just got an Oscar...

Mustard must be celebrating with the guy...
Tanman32123 writes:
on February 25th, 2013 at 5:32:48 AM

Surprised Lincoln didn't sweep...
kate writes:
on February 25th, 2013 at 5:53:35 AM

f*ck lincoln - it was a poop fiesta on a grand scale,they made lincoln look and talk like a p*ssy in this movie,look at his original picture,you can see what a bad ass he was was in real life.and f*ck argo,amour,life of pi,django and all the other nominees.all sh*t boring movies which are masturbation material for old people like the academy members.
Patrick Bateman writes:
on February 25th, 2013 at 9:22:00 AM

Im happy ang lee won quite a suprise take that speilburg however I dont think anyone can be unhappy for Daniel Day Lewis winning he is just a class act all the way and arguably the best actor ever.
Kurskij writes:
on February 25th, 2013 at 11:37:20 AM

Very happy for Lee. He deserved it. Maybe Spielberg will make Smth. More risky now.

Because Lincoln was the epitome of well-made "meh".
ENFORCER writes:
on February 25th, 2013 at 6:38:07 PM

Bullit deserves an oscer for being the dumbest c*nt on WP !!!!!!
Tanman32123 writes:
on February 25th, 2013 at 10:36:51 PM

Lincoln was very boring but very well done..

"The Goonies" Sequel is Confirmed by Director

James Cameron Gives "Avatar" Sequels Update, Comments on Arnold Schwarzenegger Rumor

"Captain America: The Winter Soldier" Remains Box Office Champ

Marvel Hints at "Iron Man 4" Development

Hugh Jackman Wants Channing Tatum to Take Over Wolverine Role

Chris Evans Says He Almost Turned Down "Captain America" Because of "Fantastic Four"

Lindsay Lohan Says She Was Almost in "The Avengers," But as Which Character?

"Guardians of the Galaxy" is Connected to "Avengers 3"

Marvel Already Set Up Films Through 2028, Lots of Spin-Offs in the Works

"Captain America 3" Directors Hint at Plot Details
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved