WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Scientist Creates Spider-Man Suit That Detects Threats

Posted: February 24th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Scientist Creates Spider-Man Suit That Detects ThreatsSubmit Comment
Victor Mateevitsi from the University of Illinois is a big fan of Spider-Man, which gave him an idea to build a suit mimicking the superhero's ability to feel and approaching threat.

The suit is called SpiderSense and has seven small robotic arms that monitor ultrasonic reflections from objects. When the arms feel that someone is moving closer, they respond by exerting pressure on the body.

"When someone is [about to punch] Spider-Man, he feels the sensation and can avoid it. Our suit is the same concept," said Mateevitsi, adding that the suit can help blind people move around easier and can boost cyclists' awareness of other traffic on the road. In the future, the suit will even be able to pick up on such threats as radiation.

Mateevitsi tested SpiderSense on students by blindfolding them and letting them "feel" for approaching attackers. Each wearer had ninja stars to use whenever they sensed a threat. "95% of the time they were able to sense someone approaching and throw the star at them," said Mateevitsi.

Source: NewScientist, CBM


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 14 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
boogiel writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 7:08:12 AM

Spider sense? riight. I've got that built in but mine's called "Common" sense. I think it's basically a proximity vibrator. Looks more beneficial to women if you know what I mean.
cress writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 7:37:58 AM

Can it detect an 'immediate bowel evacuation' though? That is the greatest threat--the one that comes from the inside.
BadChadB33 writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 8:01:25 AM

And I could care less.
ENFORCER writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 8:20:11 AM

Mr chad your quite a morose c*nt. Please stick to Bullit comments!

Spider sence should come naturally with his abilities shouldn't it?
ENFORCER writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 8:21:51 AM

I want it to detect when Bullit has a piss so we can avoid splashing.
Tanman32123 writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 11:44:46 AM

Interesting.
Ranger writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 12:02:44 PM

And the remaining 5% got the sh*t kicked out of them?

Is there a Velcro crotch for quick blow-jobs from the lady fans?

The the physically impaired, I'm for all these kinds of inventions. For more capable people... the more help we get, the lazier we'll become. In another 10, 20 years for sure, people will weight 100lbs more than they should, they'll look like upright garden slugs. This accident avoidance systems in vehicles now... are aiding the already bad drivers into some really bad habits of relying on more equipment, where previously they just expected the world to drive around their stupidity. And if Charlize Theron is reading this... drop the restraining order bitch... I LOVE YOU!!!

ozzie writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 2:01:51 PM

That sounds cool as sh*t, but I find myself wondering what's up with that guy from before who built his own tumbler and batsuit.
supaflywill writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 2:42:10 PM

Jeez , these stories are getting worse ...just give me news on hellboy 3 - Ancorman 2 - district 9 sequal - hangover 3 - Prometheus 2 - a good terminator sequal to finish it off . And plase please ....make Star Wars dark and serious please .
BadChadB33 writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 4:14:51 PM

Enforcer- Calling you stupid would be an insult to stupid people.
Just wondering my good friend do you still love nature, despite what it did to you?
Tanman32123 writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 4:34:51 PM

Burn!!!
minkowski writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 4:50:33 PM

Spider sense. I never got that one. The spider sense to which they are referring is based on the web on which a spider often sits. Humans would call such a thing a "trip wire", and you can use actual wires or lasers, and they've been around a long time and are far more advanced than what a spider has at its disposal.

So Spiderman's spider sense is kind of a non sequitur, without the actual web, and I always thought Parker just had a psychic capability, like an invisible web around him extending in all directions. Doubt science can replicate that one easily. But if they did, surely it would use a suit made of pin-point cameras, a large spine-mounted dedicated CPU, and some form of headgear for sensory input.
Stapes writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 5:59:44 PM

In Zen philosophy when one uses all five senses to their utmost you gain what people refer to as a sixth sense. Many misconstrue this to be supernatural, but it isnt, it's just being aware of your surroundings, in the military they call it situational awareness. Intuition, synchronicity, etc
That's what the spidey sense always reminded me of.
Ranger writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 10:52:42 PM

@Stapes. Interesting.

@mink - yes, in Spiderman 1, it was explained to the students on the field trip that the spider's had a 'sense' bordering on pre-cognition (if that's right... I'm really f*cking tired).

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved