WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Rocky" Spin-Off "Creed"
Jul 1st, 2015
Trailer for Gerard Butler's "Olympus Has Fallen" Sequel, "London Has Fallen"
Jul 1st, 2015
Marlon Wayans Threatening to Make "White Chicks" Sequel
Jul 1st, 2015
Teaser Trailer for Oliver Stone's "Snowden" Film, with Joseph Gordon-Levitt
Jul 1st, 2015
Robert Zemeckis Says He'll Stop Any "Back to the Future" Reboot
Jun 30th, 2015
Titles for "Star Trek 3" and "Guardians of the Galaxy 2" Revealed
Jun 30th, 2015
First Look at Costumes From "Ghostbusters" Reboot
Jun 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Ten Thousand Saints," with Ethan Hawke and Asa Butterfield
Jun 30th, 2015
"Ted 2" Underperforms at Box Office, "Jurassic World" Continues to Dominate
Jun 29th, 2015
"Lucy" and "Colombiana" Sequels in the Works
Jun 27th, 2015
Steven Spielberg Acquires Michael Crichton's "Micro" Novel
Jun 27th, 2015
New "Heroes Reborn" Trailer Arrives Online
Jun 26th, 2015
Photos From New Episodes of "The X-Files"
Jun 26th, 2015
New Trailer for Tom Hardy's "Legend" Thriller
Jun 26th, 2015
Adrian Grenier Would Make "Aquaman" Cameo
Jun 26th, 2015
Shia LaBeouf Hospitalized After Sustaining a Head Injury on Set
Jun 25th, 2015
Dwayne Johnson to Star in "Rampage" Video Game Movie
Jun 25th, 2015
First Look at Gerard Butler in "London Has Fallen"
Jun 25th, 2015
Emma Watson Joins Tom Hanks in "The Circle" Thriller
Jun 25th, 2015
"Spider-Man" Reboot Announces Actor and Director
Jun 24th, 2015
First Trailer for "Paranormal Activity: The Ghost Dimension"
Jun 24th, 2015
Channing Tatum Says He Hates "GI Joe: The Rise of Cobra"
Jun 24th, 2015
New Trailer for "Hitman: Agent 47" Reboot
Jun 24th, 2015
Arnold Schwarzenegger to Star in "478" Drama, Darren Aronofsky is Producing
Jun 24th, 2015
New Trailer for "Masterminds" Comedy, with Zach Galifianakis and Kristen Wiig
Jun 24th, 2015
Stan Lee Comments on Spider-Man Contractually Being White and Straight
Jun 23rd, 2015
"Star Wars" Actor Arrested After Insane Car Chase
Jun 23rd, 2015
First Look at Final "Paranormal Activity" Installment
Jun 23rd, 2015
"Titanic" Composer James Horner Dies in Plane Crash
Jun 23rd, 2015
New Trailer for "Dragon Blade," with Jackie Chan and John Cusack
Jun 23rd, 2015
Full Trailer for "7 Days in Hell" Tennis Comedy, with Andy Samberg and Kit Harington
Jun 23rd, 2015
Hugh Jackman Confirmed for "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Jun 21st, 2015
Spider-Man Contractually Cannot be Black or Gay
Jun 20th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Marvel Says "Captain America 2" is a Political Thriller

Posted: February 23rd, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Marvel Says "Captain America 2" is a Political ThrillerSubmit Comment
MTV caught up with Marvel head Kevin Feige, who spoke about the superhero genre and the studio's upcoming "Captain America" sequel, called "Captain America: The Winter Soldier," which is set to hit theaters on April 4th, 2014.

Feige first admitted that the superhero genre may be a fad, but one that will last for a long time. "If it is a fad, it's one that lasts 30 to 40 years, as the Western did, because each [film] is so different," he said. "There's an opportunity to graft almost sub-genres onto them."

And that's exactly the plan with the "Captain America" sequel. Feige continued: "Our first 'Captain America' film was a World War II picture, and the next is a political thriller."

Source: MTV


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 23 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Quidd writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 6:40:11 AM

Well he's right. The Dark Knight changed the game on comic book movies.
Wallace writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 6:41:56 AM

Three Days of the Condor? interesting...
bandolero999 writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 6:56:49 AM

its hard to take the movie seriously.when chris evans is the lead.
kate writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 7:47:24 AM

@bando

agreed.he looks gay as f*ck.
Avirex writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 7:52:51 AM

The directors' main experience is making sh*tty comedies so I seriously doubt this.
Ninjabear writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 8:30:46 AM

although I agree a Batman film changed the game for superhero movies I beg to differ that the Dark Knight was the sole movie to do this, I have more of a strong opinion that Time Burton's 2 Batman films were the game changer, although not recognized back then, but relive the tales of those 2 movies, they set the bar much earlier than Nolan's movies.
Ninjabear writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 8:40:15 AM

Tim not Time ... damn you keyboard!
Deaft0ne writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 8:55:07 AM

I heard from a lil birdy that Joel Mchale is replacing Chris Evans as Cappy USA.

Not enough time for Burton says Kuma/Panda!
BadChadB33 writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 10:14:12 AM

More action I slept thru the first.

Janus writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 10:44:16 AM

Oh no! Shouldn't heve done that. Now it's basically also confirmed what story will be used. We do know who infiltrated the US government as an American politian and yes, he is very much connected to the Winter Soldier.
Janus writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 10:47:49 AM

@Deaft0ne: Marvel is not going to waste the money to replace Chris Evans and his 9 picture deal of which he only appeared in 2 yet.
Deaft0ne writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 10:51:11 AM

@Janus

If you thought I was being serious I have a Pegasus I can sell you!

You ARE the only man alive to use a Toby McWire avatar though..
Rocksteddy writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 11:02:14 AM

Interesting, never seen Marvel take a turn as dark as a political thriller.
I'm In.
Stapes writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 12:12:21 PM

The first one had me until magic laser guns showed up.
BlackDynamite writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 12:13:46 PM

I really, really liked the first one, and I'm pretty excited to see where this one goes.

This could either be really awesome, or suck eggs.
cruzcontrol39 writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 12:15:31 PM

The first one didn't have enough WWII vibe in it.... Maybe it had something to do with the laser guns?
minkowski writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 3:08:16 PM

lol. Okay. The comic book genre has lasted a long time, as print media, because each iteration is slightly different, but that's true of ever genre or else people would have stopped going to movies decades ago.

Even horror flicks have a wide and deep amount of variation over a century of artistic exploration. Westerns, not so much, and they haven't displayed the staying power of almost every other genre. In fact, they've pretty much died, and what hasn't died has been absorbed into action and science fiction, like for example, Star Wars and Heat, both of which are inspired by the western genre.

The other thing...comic book movies are relatively new. Sure, there was Donner's Superman, and Burton Batman and a spate of sh*t in between, but until Singer's X-Men and Nolan's Batman, comic book movies were a rare treat. Only until recently have the come to predominate cinema, and in time, they'll wane off as people get bored with them and find other more innovative and interesting genres to explore.

So Mark, please, shut the hell up. Thanks.
minkowski writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 3:22:12 PM

^^Wrong article.
minkowski writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 3:23:32 PM

Right article, but I meant Kevin, not Mark.

This is what happens when I don't have my three Starbucks Vanilla Lattes.

Nappy time.
Ranger writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 3:26:41 PM

Funny... that suit in the cabinet, same as in the X-Men would NEVER fit the actors. Fricked waist on them (like Storm's was) like a wasp.
CelluloidMan writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 11:48:47 PM

Yeah, I can see what they're trying to do...sounds like a different (interesting) take, but I just don't see the directors being able to pull this off.

Nothing in their CVs made recently gives me that impression...
realgirl76 writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 12:57:34 AM

Wasp as in the bug or WASP like Gwyneth Paltrow??lol
Janus writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 3:00:37 AM

@Deaft0ne: LOL I didn't change my avatar. WP did. Used to have my own but I don't care. I don't make the effort to upload my pic again, not worth it with this bully site.

Hugh Jackman on Quitting Wolverine and Making "Deadpool" Cameo

Hugh Jackman Quit Wolverine Role Because of Jerry Seinfeld

It's Official: "Jurassic World" Beats "The Avengers" for Biggest Box Office Opening

Marvel and Sony Can't Agree on Which Actor Should Play Spider-Man

Spider-Man Contractually Cannot be Black or Gay

"Jurassic World" is a Massive Hit, Chris Pratt to Return for Sequel

"Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Plot Synopsis Revealed

Stan Lee Comments on Spider-Man Contractually Being White and Straight

Targon Egerton Wants to Replace Hugh Jackman as Wolverine

Hulk Hogan is the Villain in "The Expendables 4"?
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved