WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Lucy" Destroys "Hercules" at the Box Office
Jul 27th, 2014
"Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Comic-Con Trailer Leaked Online!
Jul 27th, 2014
First Look at Gal Gadot as Wonder Woman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Jul 27th, 2014
"King Kong" Prequel "Skull Island" Announced
Jul 27th, 2014
Full "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Banner Revealed
Jul 27th, 2014
"Guardians of the Galaxy" Sequel Confirmed, Release Date Announced
Jul 27th, 2014
"Godzilla 2" Announced, Three Monsters Revealed
Jul 27th, 2014
Four Character Posters for Tom Hardy's "Mad Max: Fury Road"
Jul 27th, 2014
First Look at The Thing From "Fantastic Four" Reboot?
Jul 26th, 2014
Trailer for Kevin Smith's "Tusk" Horror Film
Jul 26th, 2014
Chris Pratt Wants to Kill Iron Man in Future Marvel Film
Jul 26th, 2014
New Trailer for Daniel Radcliffe's "Horns" Supernatural Thriller
Jul 26th, 2014
First Bizarre Photo From "SpongeBob SquarePants: Sponge Out of Water" Movie
Jul 26th, 2014
First Look at Elsa From "Frozen" in "Once Upon a Time" TV Series
Jul 26th, 2014
New Trailer for "The Walking Dead" Season 5
Jul 26th, 2014
Colin Firth Gets Physical With Mark Hamill in "Kingsman: Secret Service" Photo
Jul 26th, 2014
Quicksilver, Hawkeye and Vision in New "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Posters
Jul 26th, 2014
Joaquin Phoenix in Talks for Marvel's "Doctor Strange"
Jul 26th, 2014
Someone Leaked "The Expendables 3" Online, Already Downloaded 200,000 Times
Jul 26th, 2014
Marvel's "Ant-Man" Loses Patrick Wilson and Two Other Actors
Jul 26th, 2014
"Argo" Writer in Talks for "Justice League"
Jul 25th, 2014
"24" Movie and "X-Files" Reboot May Happen
Jul 25th, 2014
Dwayne Johnson Confirms Role in "Shazam" Superhero Film
Jul 25th, 2014
"Dawn of the Planet of the Apes" Writer Hints at Direction of Third Film
Jul 25th, 2014
Vin Diesel on "xXx 3" and Guillermo Del Toro on "Pacific Rim 2"
Jul 25th, 2014
Poster for "Chappie" Robot Film, with Sharlto Copley and Hugh Jackman
Jul 25th, 2014
New Photo of Ben Affleck as Batman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Jul 25th, 2014
Restricted Trailer for "Hot Tub Time Machine 2" is Here!
Jul 25th, 2014
First Photos From "Hitman: Agent 47" Reboot
Jul 25th, 2014
Two New "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Posters, with Captain America and Black Widow
Jul 24th, 2014
Trailer for "50 Shades of Grey" Arrives Online
Jul 24th, 2014
First Two Posters for "Avengers: Age of Ultron" are Here!
Jul 24th, 2014
First Poster for Marvel's "Ant-Man" is Here!
Jul 24th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Marvel Says "Captain America 2" is a Political Thriller

Posted: February 23rd, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Marvel Says "Captain America 2" is a Political ThrillerSubmit Comment
MTV caught up with Marvel head Kevin Feige, who spoke about the superhero genre and the studio's upcoming "Captain America" sequel, called "Captain America: The Winter Soldier," which is set to hit theaters on April 4th, 2014.

Feige first admitted that the superhero genre may be a fad, but one that will last for a long time. "If it is a fad, it's one that lasts 30 to 40 years, as the Western did, because each [film] is so different," he said. "There's an opportunity to graft almost sub-genres onto them."

And that's exactly the plan with the "Captain America" sequel. Feige continued: "Our first 'Captain America' film was a World War II picture, and the next is a political thriller."

Source: MTV


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 23 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Quidd writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 6:40:11 AM

Well he's right. The Dark Knight changed the game on comic book movies.
Wallace writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 6:41:56 AM

Three Days of the Condor? interesting...
bandolero999 writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 6:56:49 AM

its hard to take the movie seriously.when chris evans is the lead.
kate writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 7:47:24 AM

@bando

agreed.he looks gay as f*ck.
Avirex writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 7:52:51 AM

The directors' main experience is making sh*tty comedies so I seriously doubt this.
Ninjabear writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 8:30:46 AM

although I agree a Batman film changed the game for superhero movies I beg to differ that the Dark Knight was the sole movie to do this, I have more of a strong opinion that Time Burton's 2 Batman films were the game changer, although not recognized back then, but relive the tales of those 2 movies, they set the bar much earlier than Nolan's movies.
Ninjabear writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 8:40:15 AM

Tim not Time ... damn you keyboard!
Deaft0ne writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 8:55:07 AM

I heard from a lil birdy that Joel Mchale is replacing Chris Evans as Cappy USA.

Not enough time for Burton says Kuma/Panda!
BadChadB33 writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 10:14:12 AM

More action I slept thru the first.

Janus writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 10:44:16 AM

Oh no! Shouldn't heve done that. Now it's basically also confirmed what story will be used. We do know who infiltrated the US government as an American politian and yes, he is very much connected to the Winter Soldier.
Janus writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 10:47:49 AM

@Deaft0ne: Marvel is not going to waste the money to replace Chris Evans and his 9 picture deal of which he only appeared in 2 yet.
Deaft0ne writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 10:51:11 AM

@Janus

If you thought I was being serious I have a Pegasus I can sell you!

You ARE the only man alive to use a Toby McWire avatar though..
Rocksteddy writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 11:02:14 AM

Interesting, never seen Marvel take a turn as dark as a political thriller.
I'm In.
Stapes writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 12:12:21 PM

The first one had me until magic laser guns showed up.
BlackDynamite writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 12:13:46 PM

I really, really liked the first one, and I'm pretty excited to see where this one goes.

This could either be really awesome, or suck eggs.
cruzcontrol39 writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 12:15:31 PM

The first one didn't have enough WWII vibe in it.... Maybe it had something to do with the laser guns?
minkowski writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 3:08:16 PM

lol. Okay. The comic book genre has lasted a long time, as print media, because each iteration is slightly different, but that's true of ever genre or else people would have stopped going to movies decades ago.

Even horror flicks have a wide and deep amount of variation over a century of artistic exploration. Westerns, not so much, and they haven't displayed the staying power of almost every other genre. In fact, they've pretty much died, and what hasn't died has been absorbed into action and science fiction, like for example, Star Wars and Heat, both of which are inspired by the western genre.

The other thing...comic book movies are relatively new. Sure, there was Donner's Superman, and Burton Batman and a spate of sh*t in between, but until Singer's X-Men and Nolan's Batman, comic book movies were a rare treat. Only until recently have the come to predominate cinema, and in time, they'll wane off as people get bored with them and find other more innovative and interesting genres to explore.

So Mark, please, shut the hell up. Thanks.
minkowski writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 3:22:12 PM

^^Wrong article.
minkowski writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 3:23:32 PM

Right article, but I meant Kevin, not Mark.

This is what happens when I don't have my three Starbucks Vanilla Lattes.

Nappy time.
Ranger writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 3:26:41 PM

Funny... that suit in the cabinet, same as in the X-Men would NEVER fit the actors. Fricked waist on them (like Storm's was) like a wasp.
CelluloidMan writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 11:48:47 PM

Yeah, I can see what they're trying to do...sounds like a different (interesting) take, but I just don't see the directors being able to pull this off.

Nothing in their CVs made recently gives me that impression...
realgirl76 writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 12:57:34 AM

Wasp as in the bug or WASP like Gwyneth Paltrow??lol
Janus writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 3:00:37 AM

@Deaft0ne: LOL I didn't change my avatar. WP did. Used to have my own but I don't care. I don't make the effort to upload my pic again, not worth it with this bully site.

Thousands of People Believe Steven Spielberg Killed a Dinosaur

Joaquin Phoenix in Talks for Marvel's "Doctor Strange"

Robert Downey Jr Discusses Returning for "Iron Man 4"

"The Patriot" Actress Skye McCole Bartusiak Dead at 21

Robert Downey Jr is Hollywood's Highest Paid Actor

First "Guardians of the Galaxy" Reviews are Incredibly Positive

Marvel Announces Release Date for Five New Superhero Films

Howard the Duck to Appear in "Guardians of the Galaxy"?

"X-Men vs Justice League" Movie is Now a Possibility

Gary Oldman Comments on "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved