WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"The Interview" Illegally Downloaded 1 Million Times in 24 Hours
Dec 26th, 2014
George Clooney Lied About Sending "The Interview" Petition to Film Studios?
Dec 26th, 2014
Chris Pine Says "Jack Ryan: Shadow Recruit" is One of His Deep Regrets
Dec 25th, 2014
First Look at JJ Abrams' HBO Sci-Fi TV Series "Westworld"
Dec 25th, 2014
Trailer for Kat Dennings' "To Write Love On Her Arms"
Dec 25th, 2014
Adam Sandler is Hollywood's Most Overpaid Actor, Again
Dec 24th, 2014
Tim Burton Was Replaced on "Batman Forever" Because of McDonalds
Dec 24th, 2014
First Look at Jake Gyllenhaal in "Everest" Thriller
Dec 24th, 2014
Sony to Release "The Interview" on Christmas, See List of Theaters
Dec 24th, 2014
Trailer for "Entourage" Movie is Here!
Dec 24th, 2014
Trailer for Disney's "McFarland, USA" Sports Drama, with Kevin Costner
Dec 23rd, 2014
Trailer for "Woman in Gold," with Helen Mirren and Ryan Reynolds
Dec 23rd, 2014
"Star Trek 3" Hires "Fast Five" Director Justin Lin
Dec 23rd, 2014
Trailer: Chris Hemsworth Fights a Whale in Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea"
Dec 23rd, 2014
Trailer for "The Longest Ride," Based on Nicholas Sparks Novel
Dec 23rd, 2014
New Trailer for Will Smith's "Focus" Heist Comedy
Dec 23rd, 2014
Sony Wanted Tom Hardy as Sandman and Sean Penn as Doctor Octopus in "Sinister Six"
Dec 22nd, 2014
"Wonder Woman" Director Says There's No Script, Release Date or Green Light
Dec 22nd, 2014
"The Hobbit 3" Dominates Box Office Weekend, "Night at the Museum 3" and "Annie" Bomb
Dec 22nd, 2014
Two Posters for Will Smith's "Focus" Heist Comedy
Dec 22nd, 2014
Photos: Better Look at Iron Man's Hulkbuster Suit From "Avengers: Age of Ultron"
Dec 21st, 2014
First Look at "Sisters" Comedy, Re-Teaming Tina Fey and Amy Poehler
Dec 21st, 2014
Trailer: Sex Has Terrible Consequences in "It Follow" Horror Film
Dec 21st, 2014
New Photo From Joseph Gordon-Levitt's "The Walk," Directed by Robert Zemeckis
Dec 21st, 2014
Trailer for Sarah Michelle Gellar's "Veronika Decides to Die" Thriller
Dec 21st, 2014
Sony Considering Idris Elba as Next James Bond
Dec 20th, 2014
Peter Jackson Will Never Direct a Marvel Film
Dec 20th, 2014
First Look at Guillermo Del Toro's "Crimson Peak" Horror Film
Dec 20th, 2014
Two New Photos From Marvel's "Daredevil" TV Series
Dec 20th, 2014
Trailer for "Get Hard" Comedy, with Will Ferrell and Kevin Hart
Dec 20th, 2014
First Look at Mark Wahlberg in "Ted" Sequel
Dec 20th, 2014
Mark Wahlberg Will Return for "Transformers 5"
Dec 19th, 2014
"Team America: World Police" Screenings Also Cancelled Due to Terrorist Threats
Dec 19th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Marvel Says "Captain America 2" is a Political Thriller

Posted: February 23rd, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Marvel Says "Captain America 2" is a Political ThrillerSubmit Comment
MTV caught up with Marvel head Kevin Feige, who spoke about the superhero genre and the studio's upcoming "Captain America" sequel, called "Captain America: The Winter Soldier," which is set to hit theaters on April 4th, 2014.

Feige first admitted that the superhero genre may be a fad, but one that will last for a long time. "If it is a fad, it's one that lasts 30 to 40 years, as the Western did, because each [film] is so different," he said. "There's an opportunity to graft almost sub-genres onto them."

And that's exactly the plan with the "Captain America" sequel. Feige continued: "Our first 'Captain America' film was a World War II picture, and the next is a political thriller."

Source: MTV


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 23 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Quidd writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 6:40:11 AM

Well he's right. The Dark Knight changed the game on comic book movies.
Wallace writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 6:41:56 AM

Three Days of the Condor? interesting...
bandolero999 writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 6:56:49 AM

its hard to take the movie seriously.when chris evans is the lead.
kate writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 7:47:24 AM

@bando

agreed.he looks gay as f*ck.
Avirex writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 7:52:51 AM

The directors' main experience is making sh*tty comedies so I seriously doubt this.
Ninjabear writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 8:30:46 AM

although I agree a Batman film changed the game for superhero movies I beg to differ that the Dark Knight was the sole movie to do this, I have more of a strong opinion that Time Burton's 2 Batman films were the game changer, although not recognized back then, but relive the tales of those 2 movies, they set the bar much earlier than Nolan's movies.
Ninjabear writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 8:40:15 AM

Tim not Time ... damn you keyboard!
Deaft0ne writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 8:55:07 AM

I heard from a lil birdy that Joel Mchale is replacing Chris Evans as Cappy USA.

Not enough time for Burton says Kuma/Panda!
BadChadB33 writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 10:14:12 AM

More action I slept thru the first.

Janus writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 10:44:16 AM

Oh no! Shouldn't heve done that. Now it's basically also confirmed what story will be used. We do know who infiltrated the US government as an American politian and yes, he is very much connected to the Winter Soldier.
Janus writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 10:47:49 AM

@Deaft0ne: Marvel is not going to waste the money to replace Chris Evans and his 9 picture deal of which he only appeared in 2 yet.
Deaft0ne writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 10:51:11 AM

@Janus

If you thought I was being serious I have a Pegasus I can sell you!

You ARE the only man alive to use a Toby McWire avatar though..
Rocksteddy writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 11:02:14 AM

Interesting, never seen Marvel take a turn as dark as a political thriller.
I'm In.
Stapes writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 12:12:21 PM

The first one had me until magic laser guns showed up.
BlackDynamite writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 12:13:46 PM

I really, really liked the first one, and I'm pretty excited to see where this one goes.

This could either be really awesome, or suck eggs.
cruzcontrol39 writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 12:15:31 PM

The first one didn't have enough WWII vibe in it.... Maybe it had something to do with the laser guns?
minkowski writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 3:08:16 PM

lol. Okay. The comic book genre has lasted a long time, as print media, because each iteration is slightly different, but that's true of ever genre or else people would have stopped going to movies decades ago.

Even horror flicks have a wide and deep amount of variation over a century of artistic exploration. Westerns, not so much, and they haven't displayed the staying power of almost every other genre. In fact, they've pretty much died, and what hasn't died has been absorbed into action and science fiction, like for example, Star Wars and Heat, both of which are inspired by the western genre.

The other thing...comic book movies are relatively new. Sure, there was Donner's Superman, and Burton Batman and a spate of sh*t in between, but until Singer's X-Men and Nolan's Batman, comic book movies were a rare treat. Only until recently have the come to predominate cinema, and in time, they'll wane off as people get bored with them and find other more innovative and interesting genres to explore.

So Mark, please, shut the hell up. Thanks.
minkowski writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 3:22:12 PM

^^Wrong article.
minkowski writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 3:23:32 PM

Right article, but I meant Kevin, not Mark.

This is what happens when I don't have my three Starbucks Vanilla Lattes.

Nappy time.
Ranger writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 3:26:41 PM

Funny... that suit in the cabinet, same as in the X-Men would NEVER fit the actors. Fricked waist on them (like Storm's was) like a wasp.
CelluloidMan writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 11:48:47 PM

Yeah, I can see what they're trying to do...sounds like a different (interesting) take, but I just don't see the directors being able to pull this off.

Nothing in their CVs made recently gives me that impression...
realgirl76 writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 12:57:34 AM

Wasp as in the bug or WASP like Gwyneth Paltrow??lol
Janus writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 3:00:37 AM

@Deaft0ne: LOL I didn't change my avatar. WP did. Used to have my own but I don't care. I don't make the effort to upload my pic again, not worth it with this bully site.

Shia LaBeouf Says He Was Raped During His #IAmSorry Stunt

TIME Magazine's Top 10 Best and Worst Films of 2014

It's Official: Jared Leto is The Joker and Will Smith is Deadshot in "Suicide Squad"

Christian Bale Says He'll Never Work With "Terminator Salvation" Director Again

Oscar Isaac is the Villainous Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse"

Marvel Would Have Recast Spider-Man in "Captain America: Civil War"

"Demolition Man" Writer Explains How He Came Up with The Three Seashells

"The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1" Still Rules Box Office, "The Pyramid" Bombed

Sylvester Stallone Discusses "The Expendables 4" Ideas and Rating

Josh Brolin Says Thanos Will Fight Everyone in "Avengers: Infinity War"
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved