WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for Will Smith's "Concussion" Football Drama
Sep 3rd, 2015
Trailer: Eddie Redmayne is First Transgender Person in "The Danish Girl"
Sep 3rd, 2015
Vincent Cassel is Main Villain in New "Jason Bourne" Film
Sep 3rd, 2015
Trailer for Chloe Moretz's "The 5th Wave" Sci-Fi Thriller
Sep 3rd, 2015
Trailer for Nicolas Cage's "Pay the Ghost" Thriller
Sep 3rd, 2015
"Captain America: Civil War" Concept Art Shows Two Avengers Teams
Aug 30th, 2015
First Look at Michael Fassbender in "Assassin's Creed" Video Game Movie
Aug 29th, 2015
Matt Damon Reveals "Bourne" Sequel Plot Details
Aug 29th, 2015
New Trailer for Jack Black's "Goosebumps"
Aug 29th, 2015
Jennifer Lawrence and Amy Schumer Working on New Comedy
Aug 27th, 2015
Christopher Meloni Joins "Holding Patterns"
Aug 27th, 2015
Trailer for "Love the Coopers" Comedy, with John Goodman, Ed Helms and Olivia Wilde
Aug 27th, 2015
Trailer for Nicholas Hoult's "Kill Your Friends" Crime Thriller
Aug 26th, 2015
James Franco is a Tech Billionaire in "Why Him" Comedy
Aug 26th, 2015
General Zod to Have Flippers Instead of Hands in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Aug 20th, 2015
Dwayne Johnson to Star in "Jungle Cruise," Based on Disney's Theme Park Ride
Aug 20th, 2015
Trailer for "Blunt Force Trauma," with Mickey Rourke and Freida Pinto
Aug 20th, 2015
First Trailer for "Victor Frankenstein," with Daniel Radcliffe and James McAvoy
Aug 19th, 2015
"Prometheus 2" Delaying Neill Blomkamp's "Alien 5"
Aug 19th, 2015
Freddie Highmore and Odeya Rush Join "Holding Patterns"
Aug 19th, 2015
New Trailer for Matt Damon's "The Martian" is Here!
Aug 19th, 2015
Post-Apocalyptic "Zorro" Reboot is Moving Forward
Aug 19th, 2015
Hugh Jackman Hints at Sabertooth and Berserker Rage in "Wolverine 3"
Aug 18th, 2015
First Poster for "Star Wars: The Force Awakens"
Aug 18th, 2015
First Look at "Star Wars: Rogue One" Spin-Off Film
Aug 18th, 2015
First Look at Chris Hemsworth in "Ghostbusters" Reboot
Aug 18th, 2015
New Photo From Pixar's "Finding Dory"
Aug 18th, 2015
First Poster for Disney's Live-Action "The Jungle Book"
Aug 18th, 2015
Trailer for "Carol," with Cate Blanchett and Rooney Mara
Aug 18th, 2015
Trailer for Kevin Hart's "Ride Along" Sequel
Aug 15th, 2015
First Posters for "Alice in Wonderland" Sequel
Aug 15th, 2015
Bradley Cooper is a Chef in "Burnt" Trailer
Aug 15th, 2015
First Look at Black Panther on "Captain America: Civil War" Set
Aug 13th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Marvel Says "Captain America 2" is a Political Thriller

Posted: February 23rd, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Marvel Says "Captain America 2" is a Political ThrillerSubmit Comment
MTV caught up with Marvel head Kevin Feige, who spoke about the superhero genre and the studio's upcoming "Captain America" sequel, called "Captain America: The Winter Soldier," which is set to hit theaters on April 4th, 2014.

Feige first admitted that the superhero genre may be a fad, but one that will last for a long time. "If it is a fad, it's one that lasts 30 to 40 years, as the Western did, because each [film] is so different," he said. "There's an opportunity to graft almost sub-genres onto them."

And that's exactly the plan with the "Captain America" sequel. Feige continued: "Our first 'Captain America' film was a World War II picture, and the next is a political thriller."

Source: MTV


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 23 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Quidd writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 6:40:11 AM

Well he's right. The Dark Knight changed the game on comic book movies.
Wallace writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 6:41:56 AM

Three Days of the Condor? interesting...
bandolero999 writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 6:56:49 AM

its hard to take the movie seriously.when chris evans is the lead.
kate writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 7:47:24 AM

@bando

agreed.he looks gay as f*ck.
Avirex writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 7:52:51 AM

The directors' main experience is making sh*tty comedies so I seriously doubt this.
Ninjabear writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 8:30:46 AM

although I agree a Batman film changed the game for superhero movies I beg to differ that the Dark Knight was the sole movie to do this, I have more of a strong opinion that Time Burton's 2 Batman films were the game changer, although not recognized back then, but relive the tales of those 2 movies, they set the bar much earlier than Nolan's movies.
Ninjabear writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 8:40:15 AM

Tim not Time ... damn you keyboard!
Deaft0ne writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 8:55:07 AM

I heard from a lil birdy that Joel Mchale is replacing Chris Evans as Cappy USA.

Not enough time for Burton says Kuma/Panda!
BadChadB33 writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 10:14:12 AM

More action I slept thru the first.

Janus writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 10:44:16 AM

Oh no! Shouldn't heve done that. Now it's basically also confirmed what story will be used. We do know who infiltrated the US government as an American politian and yes, he is very much connected to the Winter Soldier.
Janus writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 10:47:49 AM

@Deaft0ne: Marvel is not going to waste the money to replace Chris Evans and his 9 picture deal of which he only appeared in 2 yet.
Deaft0ne writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 10:51:11 AM

@Janus

If you thought I was being serious I have a Pegasus I can sell you!

You ARE the only man alive to use a Toby McWire avatar though..
Rocksteddy writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 11:02:14 AM

Interesting, never seen Marvel take a turn as dark as a political thriller.
I'm In.
Stapes writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 12:12:21 PM

The first one had me until magic laser guns showed up.
BlackDynamite writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 12:13:46 PM

I really, really liked the first one, and I'm pretty excited to see where this one goes.

This could either be really awesome, or suck eggs.
cruzcontrol39 writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 12:15:31 PM

The first one didn't have enough WWII vibe in it.... Maybe it had something to do with the laser guns?
minkowski writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 3:08:16 PM

lol. Okay. The comic book genre has lasted a long time, as print media, because each iteration is slightly different, but that's true of ever genre or else people would have stopped going to movies decades ago.

Even horror flicks have a wide and deep amount of variation over a century of artistic exploration. Westerns, not so much, and they haven't displayed the staying power of almost every other genre. In fact, they've pretty much died, and what hasn't died has been absorbed into action and science fiction, like for example, Star Wars and Heat, both of which are inspired by the western genre.

The other thing...comic book movies are relatively new. Sure, there was Donner's Superman, and Burton Batman and a spate of sh*t in between, but until Singer's X-Men and Nolan's Batman, comic book movies were a rare treat. Only until recently have the come to predominate cinema, and in time, they'll wane off as people get bored with them and find other more innovative and interesting genres to explore.

So Mark, please, shut the hell up. Thanks.
minkowski writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 3:22:12 PM

^^Wrong article.
minkowski writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 3:23:32 PM

Right article, but I meant Kevin, not Mark.

This is what happens when I don't have my three Starbucks Vanilla Lattes.

Nappy time.
Ranger writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 3:26:41 PM

Funny... that suit in the cabinet, same as in the X-Men would NEVER fit the actors. Fricked waist on them (like Storm's was) like a wasp.
CelluloidMan writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 11:48:47 PM

Yeah, I can see what they're trying to do...sounds like a different (interesting) take, but I just don't see the directors being able to pull this off.

Nothing in their CVs made recently gives me that impression...
realgirl76 writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 12:57:34 AM

Wasp as in the bug or WASP like Gwyneth Paltrow??lol
Janus writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 3:00:37 AM

@Deaft0ne: LOL I didn't change my avatar. WP did. Used to have my own but I don't care. I don't make the effort to upload my pic again, not worth it with this bully site.

Did 20th Century Fox Leak Comic-Con Trailers for "X-Men: Apocalypse" and "Deadpool"?

General Zod to Have Flippers Instead of Hands in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

Two Ben Affleck Movies Delayed, "Batman" Reboot Happening Earlier?

Director Josh Trank Blames Studio for Terrible "Fantastic Four" Reviews

Charlie Hunnam Says "Pacific Rim 2" Must Focus More on Story Than Visuals

"Ant-Man" Gets Second Worst Marvel Opening

Ben Affleck to Direct "Batman" Reboot!

James Wan Joins "Mortal Kombat" Reboot

Superman Destroyed One of Bruce Wayne's Buildings in "Man of Steel"

Bryan Singer Says "X-Men" and "Fantastic Four" May Soon Unite
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved