WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
First Look at Jake Gyllenhaal in "Demolition," From Director of "Dallas Buyers Club"
Jul 31st, 2015
New Trailer for Johnny Depp's "Black Mass"
Jul 31st, 2015
Trailer for "The Night Before" Comedy, with Seth Rogen, Joseph Gordon-Levitt and Anthony Mackie
Jul 30th, 2015
Trailer for Michael Bay's "13 Hours" Benghazi Thriller
Jul 30th, 2015
Channing Tatum Quitting "Gambit" Film?
Jul 30th, 2015
Trailer for Mark Ruffalo's "Spotlight," About Pedophile Priests
Jul 30th, 2015
New Trailer for "Sicario" Thriller, with Emily Blunt and Josh Brolin
Jul 30th, 2015
Vince Vaughn Joins Mel Gibson's "Hacksaw Ridge" WWII Film
Jul 30th, 2015
Charlie Hunnam Says "Pacific Rim 2" Must Focus More on Story Than Visuals
Jul 25th, 2015
Bryan Singer Says "X-Men" and "Fantastic Four" May Soon Unite
Jul 25th, 2015
New Trailer for Zac Efron's "We Are Your Friends"
Jul 25th, 2015
"Jurassic World" Sequel Gets Release Date, Chris Pratt to Return
Jul 24th, 2015
Dwayne Johnson's "Baywatch" Movie Hires "Horrible Bosses" Director
Jul 24th, 2015
Russell Crowe in Talks to Join "King Kong" Prequel
Jul 24th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 2" is Here!
Jul 24th, 2015
New Trailer for "Maze Runner" Sequel
Jul 24th, 2015
LeBron James Signs Deal with Warner Bros, "Space Jam 2" Happening?
Jul 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Ryan Reynolds' "Mississippi Grind" Poker Film
Jul 23rd, 2015
Final Restricted Trailer for "Vacation" Sequel
Jul 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Patrick Wilson's "Zipper" Thriller
Jul 23rd, 2015
Full Trailer for "Spectre" James Bond Film
Jul 22nd, 2015
Full Trailer for Pixar's "The Good Dinosaur" Animated Film
Jul 22nd, 2015
"Kung Fu Panda" Director Making "Emoji" Movie
Jul 22nd, 2015
"Pacific Rim 2" to Begin Filming in November
Jul 22nd, 2015
Backstreet Boys and 'NSync Members Unite for "Dead 7" Low-Budget Horror Film
Jul 21st, 2015
Benicio Del Toro May Play Villain in "Star Wars: Episode VIII"
Jul 21st, 2015
Trailer for "Before We Go," Chris Evans' Directorial Debut
Jul 21st, 2015
"The Godfather" Actor Alex Rocco Dead at 79
Jul 21st, 2015
New Trailer for "American Ultra," with Jesse Eisenberg and Kristen Stewart
Jul 21st, 2015
"Ant-Man" Gets Second Worst Marvel Opening
Jul 20th, 2015
Ava DuVernay Explains Why She Isn't Directing Marvel's "Black Panther"
Jul 20th, 2015
Did 20th Century Fox Leak Comic-Con Trailers for "X-Men: Apocalypse" and "Deadpool"?
Jul 19th, 2015
Sam Raimi Comments on Marvel Rebooting "Spider-Man" Franchise
Jul 19th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Marvel Says "Captain America 2" is a Political Thriller

Posted: February 23rd, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Marvel Says "Captain America 2" is a Political ThrillerSubmit Comment
MTV caught up with Marvel head Kevin Feige, who spoke about the superhero genre and the studio's upcoming "Captain America" sequel, called "Captain America: The Winter Soldier," which is set to hit theaters on April 4th, 2014.

Feige first admitted that the superhero genre may be a fad, but one that will last for a long time. "If it is a fad, it's one that lasts 30 to 40 years, as the Western did, because each [film] is so different," he said. "There's an opportunity to graft almost sub-genres onto them."

And that's exactly the plan with the "Captain America" sequel. Feige continued: "Our first 'Captain America' film was a World War II picture, and the next is a political thriller."

Source: MTV


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 23 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Quidd writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 6:40:11 AM

Well he's right. The Dark Knight changed the game on comic book movies.
Wallace writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 6:41:56 AM

Three Days of the Condor? interesting...
bandolero999 writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 6:56:49 AM

its hard to take the movie seriously.when chris evans is the lead.
kate writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 7:47:24 AM

@bando

agreed.he looks gay as f*ck.
Avirex writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 7:52:51 AM

The directors' main experience is making sh*tty comedies so I seriously doubt this.
Ninjabear writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 8:30:46 AM

although I agree a Batman film changed the game for superhero movies I beg to differ that the Dark Knight was the sole movie to do this, I have more of a strong opinion that Time Burton's 2 Batman films were the game changer, although not recognized back then, but relive the tales of those 2 movies, they set the bar much earlier than Nolan's movies.
Ninjabear writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 8:40:15 AM

Tim not Time ... damn you keyboard!
Deaft0ne writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 8:55:07 AM

I heard from a lil birdy that Joel Mchale is replacing Chris Evans as Cappy USA.

Not enough time for Burton says Kuma/Panda!
BadChadB33 writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 10:14:12 AM

More action I slept thru the first.

Janus writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 10:44:16 AM

Oh no! Shouldn't heve done that. Now it's basically also confirmed what story will be used. We do know who infiltrated the US government as an American politian and yes, he is very much connected to the Winter Soldier.
Janus writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 10:47:49 AM

@Deaft0ne: Marvel is not going to waste the money to replace Chris Evans and his 9 picture deal of which he only appeared in 2 yet.
Deaft0ne writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 10:51:11 AM

@Janus

If you thought I was being serious I have a Pegasus I can sell you!

You ARE the only man alive to use a Toby McWire avatar though..
Rocksteddy writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 11:02:14 AM

Interesting, never seen Marvel take a turn as dark as a political thriller.
I'm In.
Stapes writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 12:12:21 PM

The first one had me until magic laser guns showed up.
BlackDynamite writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 12:13:46 PM

I really, really liked the first one, and I'm pretty excited to see where this one goes.

This could either be really awesome, or suck eggs.
cruzcontrol39 writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 12:15:31 PM

The first one didn't have enough WWII vibe in it.... Maybe it had something to do with the laser guns?
minkowski writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 3:08:16 PM

lol. Okay. The comic book genre has lasted a long time, as print media, because each iteration is slightly different, but that's true of ever genre or else people would have stopped going to movies decades ago.

Even horror flicks have a wide and deep amount of variation over a century of artistic exploration. Westerns, not so much, and they haven't displayed the staying power of almost every other genre. In fact, they've pretty much died, and what hasn't died has been absorbed into action and science fiction, like for example, Star Wars and Heat, both of which are inspired by the western genre.

The other thing...comic book movies are relatively new. Sure, there was Donner's Superman, and Burton Batman and a spate of sh*t in between, but until Singer's X-Men and Nolan's Batman, comic book movies were a rare treat. Only until recently have the come to predominate cinema, and in time, they'll wane off as people get bored with them and find other more innovative and interesting genres to explore.

So Mark, please, shut the hell up. Thanks.
minkowski writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 3:22:12 PM

^^Wrong article.
minkowski writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 3:23:32 PM

Right article, but I meant Kevin, not Mark.

This is what happens when I don't have my three Starbucks Vanilla Lattes.

Nappy time.
Ranger writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 3:26:41 PM

Funny... that suit in the cabinet, same as in the X-Men would NEVER fit the actors. Fricked waist on them (like Storm's was) like a wasp.
CelluloidMan writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 11:48:47 PM

Yeah, I can see what they're trying to do...sounds like a different (interesting) take, but I just don't see the directors being able to pull this off.

Nothing in their CVs made recently gives me that impression...
realgirl76 writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 12:57:34 AM

Wasp as in the bug or WASP like Gwyneth Paltrow??lol
Janus writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 3:00:37 AM

@Deaft0ne: LOL I didn't change my avatar. WP did. Used to have my own but I don't care. I don't make the effort to upload my pic again, not worth it with this bully site.

Did 20th Century Fox Leak Comic-Con Trailers for "X-Men: Apocalypse" and "Deadpool"?

It's Official: "Jurassic World" Beats "The Avengers" for Biggest Box Office Opening

Spider-Man Contractually Cannot be Black or Gay

Charlie Hunnam Says "Pacific Rim 2" Must Focus More on Story Than Visuals

"Ant-Man" Gets Second Worst Marvel Opening

Stan Lee Comments on Spider-Man Contractually Being White and Straight

Ben Affleck to Direct "Batman" Reboot!

"Star Wars" Actor Arrested After Insane Car Chase

"Spider-Man" Reboot Announces Actor and Director

Superman Destroyed One of Bruce Wayne's Buildings in "Man of Steel"
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved