WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Joe Carnahan Drops Out of "Death Wish" Remake Because of Bruce Willis

Posted: February 23rd, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Joe Carnahan Drops Out of "Death Wish" Remake Because of Bruce WillisSubmit Comment
Back in September, director Joe Carnahan (The Grey) said that he completed the script for his upcoming "Death Wish" remake and was already deep into casting. But now comes word that Carnahan has officially dropped out of the project over a disagreement with MGM regarding which actor should play the lead role.

Whenever Carnahan talks about casting and working with actors, he says the same thing over and over again. He is not interesting in working with people who show up on set and make everyone's lives miserable. So which actor did Carnahan refuse to work with? Bruce Willis, who is known for being an *sshole on set.

While this was never confirmed, Carnahan was planning to turn the Charles Bronson character from the original film into two brothers. He wanted Russell Crowe and Frank Grillo (The Grey) to play the brothers.

Now that Carnahan dropped out, it's likely that MGM will keep Willis and find another director to take on the remake.

Source: Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 34 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Wallace writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 6:40:30 AM

Russell and Liam Neeson would have been nice.
M. Bullitt writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 6:40:46 AM

Bruce Willis as the Charles Bronson character?
Well at least Bronson gave you the willies when he was pointing the gun at the sc*ms, Willis not so much...
bandolero999 writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 6:49:00 AM

bruce willis was the only reason i watched Looper.but yea its another easy paycheck for him though.
cress writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 7:27:18 AM

It's terrible quality, but this is what it looks like between Bruce Willis and directors on set....


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p6KUzQzpx9U&feature=youtube_gdata_player
kate writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 7:44:24 AM

I love Willis but he doesn't fit the role.Russel Crowe would be a perfect cast but if you want it to be a box office hit then go with Liam Neeson.
M. Bullitt writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 7:54:00 AM

Funny how Liam Neeson in his old age is suggested in every action film. Still, he's 10 times better than Willis that's for sure.
Avirex writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 7:54:32 AM

Wasn't Stallone attached to star in this not too long ago?
Wallace writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 8:09:46 AM


@ Avirex:

from http://www.hollywoodreporter.com/news/the-grey-liam-neeson-joe-carnahan-charles-bronson-death-wish-remake-286136:

"Sylvester Stallone also attempted to launch a remake several years ago but the project stalled during development."
bandolero999 writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 8:34:17 AM

neeson needs to be in expendables 3
Deaft0ne writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 9:00:49 AM

Time then to get crackin on The A-Team II:The Secret of the Ooze
BadChadB33 writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 10:09:06 AM

Meh... Crowe or Neeson.
trailertrash writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 11:08:19 AM

Joe Carnahan Drops Out of "Death Wish" Remake Because of Bruce Willis

Really where does it say that then WP ??
Ranger writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 11:18:00 AM

So he's turning this into Boondock Saints?
Stapes writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 12:14:32 PM

Didnt they already remake death wish with Jodie Foster a few years ago.
Skywalker121289 writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 12:59:20 PM

Willis sucks. Screw him. Get Carnahan back.
nawtnt writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 1:06:54 PM

For f***'s sake, another remake.

First Total Recall, then Robocop and now this?

I think the remake for The Goonies should be made to destory all classic movies.
minkowski writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 3:00:28 PM

Frank Grillo would be great, if you don't care about how much money you make. Russell Crowe would be great, if you don't care if your lead is a fat ass.

Don't get why he's insisting on brothers anyway. This isn't the f*cking Mechanic. Just one lone wolf on a long wide sweep of rage-induced destruction.

And why the f*ck Willis? People are tired of him, even the people who grew up watching Die Hard. Let it go Joe.
Ranger writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 3:08:26 PM

Goonies remake:

http://mediabreach.com/2010/04/01/news-goonies-remake-gets-greenlit-shia-labeouf-signed/
minkowski writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 3:12:27 PM

^^That's it. I'm getting my gun.
minkowski writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 3:15:06 PM

lol! I like how the article thinks the Goonies 2 game is a sequel to the movie. That's a VERY common myth.

In fact, the NES Goonies 2 game is a sequel to the Famicon Disk System game Goonies 1, NOT the friggin' movie.

Come on people, do a little research and go play some classic 8-bit games today. You'll be glad you did!
minkowski writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 3:21:20 PM

Very good, Ranger. Very good indeed, you dirty bastard.

That link is an April Fool's joke. From 2010.
SACdaddy writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 5:18:52 PM

Looks like Bruce's rep is finally catching up to him. Either that or someone in Hwood finally realized he doesn't give a sh*t anymore.
minkowski writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 5:24:20 PM

The Bruce Willis Song (to Demi Moore and Hollywood)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xLpfbcXTeo8


Well you can tell ev'ryone I'm a down disgrace
Drag my name all over the place.
I don't care anymore.
You can tell ev'rybody 'bout the state I'm in
You won't catch me crying 'cos I just can't win.
I don't care anymore I don't care anymore

I don't care what you say
I don't play the same games you play.

'Cos I've been talking to the people that you call your friends
And it seems to me there's a means to and end.
They don't care anymore.
And as for me I can sit here and bide my time
I got nothing to lose if I speak my mind.
I don't care anymore I don't care no more

I don't care what you say
We never played by the same rules anyway.

I won't be there anymore
Get out of my way
Let me by
I got better things to do with my time
I don't care anymore I don't care anymore
I don't care anymore I don't care anymore

Well, I don't care now what you say
'Cos ev'ry day I'm feeling fine with myself
And I don't care now what you say
Hey I'll do alright by myself
'Cos I know.

'Cos I remember all the times I tried so hard
And you laughed in my face 'cos you held all the cards.
I don't care anymore.
And I really ain't bothered what you think of me
'Cos all I want of you is just a let me be.
I don't care anymore D'you hear? I don't care no more

I don't care what you say
I never did believe you much anyway.

I won't be there no more
So get out of my way.
Let me by
I got better things to do with my time
I don't care anymore
D'you hear? I don't care anymore
I don't care no more
You listening? I don't care no more
No more!

You know I don't care no more!
Anal Spray writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 5:42:39 PM

I never knew there was a music video for that song. Collins sure had some kick-ass music back in the day.

To those who suggested Liam Neeson to replace Willis in this, I agree. Nowadays, he seems to be more reliable than Willis in terms of box office revenue anyway. And of course, he's a better actor, to boot, and just as convincing in terms of coming across as a bad-ass. Man, I wish I could come across as being tough like these guys. I also wish I wasn't losing my hair.
minkowski writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 5:49:23 PM

Didn't he though, Anal Spray? Right up until he sold his sold to Disney for Tarzan.

And Liam for Death Wish...need anyone look any further? Perfect. Absolutely perfect.
Ranger writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 10:04:41 PM

Death Wish Taken to The Grey!

KICK-ASS!
CelluloidMan writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 11:44:35 PM

As a couple of you already said (insightfully) before, they altready did a remake: DEATH SENTENCE.

If anybody wants to tackle the subject, DEATH SENTENCE is the movie to beat....and I find that they'll have their work cut out for them...

Anyway, is Carnahan really good for this project? Will he he be taking this project seriously?

Ever since I heard he supposedly didn't care about THE A-TEAM & wanted to experiment with the action flick, I haven't been able to trust the guy. Truth be told, his stock went down in my book.
Stapes writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 11:50:57 PM

Post appreciated, kook boy.
minkowski writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 12:05:32 AM

Death Sentence was pretty effing awesome. The Brave One not so much.

Jodie is almost always a difficult watch with her sterile cold persona, and Howard's just an effeminate wallpaper of a joke. ht efilm itself was overly brutal, and for a film that seemed to want to enjoy the act of vengeance, I went through the entire movie feeling very uncomfortable with what Jodie's character did to her attackers and her fiance's murderers.

The overbearing darkness sapped away any vicarious joy one might experience seeing the villains get their comeuppance, and yet there was no cautionary tale told about the dark side of revenge either.

Ultimately an entirely pointless retelling of Death Wish.
Stapes writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 12:53:43 AM

I enjoyed Death sentence, feel that it cribbed quite a bit from James O'Barr's Crow though.
minkowski writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 1:21:13 AM

That's fair. The Crow is a highly influential film to many.
Stapes writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 1:33:25 AM

Not the film, the graphic novel. That said, The Crow cribbed from movies like Taxi Driver and Rolling Thunder, however, as Jim Jarmusch would say: everyone steals, it's what you do with it that's important.
SACdaddy writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 8:49:12 AM

Death Sentence was awesome. One of Kevin Bacon's best roles by far. The villains were pretty lame but the camerawork and the directing made up for a lot of the acting downfalls. A Death Wish remake is unnecessary, Death Sentence was better than Death Wish anyway.
japaninmotion writes:
on February 24th, 2013 at 9:02:11 PM

guess kevin smith was right about bruce

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved