WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Why Did Jennifer Lawrence Turn Down Invitation to White House?

Posted: February 21st, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Why Did Jennifer Lawrence Turn Down Invitation to White House?Submit Comment
Bradley Cooper, Jennifer Lawrence and director David O Russell (pictured) were invited by Vice President Joe Biden to come to the White House to talk about mental health, which is the topic of their latest film "Silver Linings Playbook."

The visit is a great marketing move for The Weinstein Company, since any association with the White House automatically makes it seem like the film is more important than it really is. But why would the White House want to invite a bunch of actors, who are far from experts on the topic?

That's exactly how Lawrence feels, because she rejected the offer to meet with the Vice President to publicly talk about mental illness. "They were like, 'Do you want to come?' I was like, 'What am I gonna say to the vice president?,'" she told THR.

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 30 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on February 21st, 2013 at 7:57:31 PM

Obama is America's first Celebrity in Chief, so this doesn't surprise me very much.

Just more dumbing down of my country, I guess.
Tanman32123 writes:
on February 21st, 2013 at 7:57:58 PM

Not a bad point if you think about it.. she basically saw that it was a marketing ploy and wanted nothing to do with it lol

in other news: I'd still bang the f*ck out of this women.. sooo Sexy lol :P
minkowski writes:
on February 21st, 2013 at 8:00:21 PM

I do like how Lawrence basically said "why would I want to talk to Crazy Uncle Joe".

Then again, she's probably so spoiled, she thinks meeting with the vice-President is beneath her high standing. After all, she rubs shoulders with gods like Bradley Cooper.
Tanman32123 writes:
on February 21st, 2013 at 8:01:33 PM

yea, but doesn't everybody? :)
vincere01 writes:
on February 21st, 2013 at 8:20:40 PM

From her interviews she actually sounds quite down to earth. Like she has her head on right. One of the few I'd say
Sleuth1989 writes:
on February 21st, 2013 at 9:43:41 PM

@vincere01
I don't know what interviews you are watching but she says some seriously stupid crap. I think I saw an article where she talked about staring at John Stamos all night. This girl is spoiled and has no appreciation for her art form. She has even said she though acting was stupid. Dead again I heard this girl basically has her parents take her to New York to get an agent.

@Everybody
Is something wrong with me guys? I frikkin' hate this girl. She's obviously cute but she talks like she is on Jersey Shore and all her roles seem the same. Always confident, tough as nails, but any time she displays emotion it feels like it is over the top. I can safely say she to me she is the biggest overrated actress I've ever seen.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on February 21st, 2013 at 9:46:07 PM

And while I think Hollywood is grasping at straws the level of attention Silver Lining Playbook brings to mental illness I get Russell's personal stake in it in terms of his son. Te movie though really only covered it for maybe the first 40 minutes before becoming a very poorly made love/sport story.
Deaft0ne writes:
on February 21st, 2013 at 9:46:53 PM

Sleuth is in his own crazy little world.
Deaft0ne writes:
on February 21st, 2013 at 9:48:36 PM

And Sleuth, you already said all this on another thread. Joe Biden is a f*ckin douchenozzle and that's why she didn't go.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on February 21st, 2013 at 10:03:43 PM

@Deaft0ne
In all fairness everyone in the government is.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on February 21st, 2013 at 10:05:26 PM

And yeah I know I said it before. Good memory. Just it was actually related to this topic so I was curious.
SACdaddy writes:
on February 21st, 2013 at 10:34:08 PM

Considering Ronald Reagan was a pretty famous Hollywood actor before he became president, I'd say he's technically the first celebrity in chief. Oh yeah, I forgot Hwood shunned his holiness for selling out ALL of his friends and coworkers in the film industry during the McCarthy Communist witch hunt. Guess that makes him more of a Douchebag-in-chief than anything.

Btw mink, wtf does Obama have to do with this thread anyway? Shilling for retards and crazies is something usually left to the vice president and the first lady. The Prez has better things to do like kill terrorists and play 36 holes with Tiger. Plus if he feels the need to be around the mentally ill he could always just take a trip to Congress.
Deaft0ne writes:
on February 21st, 2013 at 11:01:57 PM

^This guy thinks that Marc Webb directed The Incredibles^
jeffw1978 writes:
on February 21st, 2013 at 11:11:15 PM

Well I have a new found respect for her for turning down the *ssholes
minkowski writes:
on February 21st, 2013 at 11:13:54 PM

Reagan served as a President, not a celebrity. He had a small career making movies, but he left his minor celebrity status behind and became a leader. Obama isn't a leader. He's a glorified media figurehead. An empty shirt, like Clint Eastwood aptly implied. Nothing there, nothing going on upstairs. Just a huge left-wing dumb ass ruining what's left, no pun intended, of America.

As for Reagan testifying against Communists, well thank god someone did it. They were everywhere. According to the Venona Project, they were even installed at some of the highest positions within our very own federal government. I mean, McCarthy was a blowhard *sshole big mouth, but his enemy was the the enemy of America.

As for what this has to do with Obama, well it is his administration, and when someone comments about some low level screwball federal staffer from 2001-2009, they always say he or she worked in the "Bush Administration", so I think it's only fair to point out Biden's overture to Hollywood retards has Obama's media circus hand prints all over it.

After all, Obama is the guy who told NASA to make Muslims feel good about their scientific heritage at a time when we were wrapping up our shuttle project. He's the same joker who held a "beer summit" because he's just so cool, who shot his mouth off about cops he didn't know, said some dead black thug would look like his son if he had one, and so on.

Just more nonsense from the trans-American guy single-handedly destroying America.
minkowski writes:
on February 21st, 2013 at 11:19:28 PM

Joe Biden is the same guy, by the way, who told people to defend their homes and themselves with shotguns, because to him, that's the extent of the Second Amendment, naturally forgetting what Thomas Jefferson, that bastion of right-wing politics, had to say about the matter:

"No free man shall ever be debarred the use of arms. The strongest reason for the people to retain the right to keep and bear arms is, as a last resort, to protect themselves against tyranny in government"
minkowski writes:
on February 21st, 2013 at 11:34:23 PM

Obama's Administration is probably one of the most laughable presidency's America has ever had.

Biden spoke, a few weeks ago, thus showing Alex gets his news extremely late, to Bradley Cooper and David Russell regarding mental issues.

http://www.politico.com/blogs/click/2013/02/bradley-cooper-to-meet-with-biden-156370.html

Now, I don't know about you, but I'm pretty damned sure neither Russell nor Cooper know sh*t about mental issues, or much of anything else for that matter, so why is Obama and Biden "reaching out to celebrities", as the article states, with respect to important issues? Here's why

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bread_and_circuses



In other news, Michelle Obama wishes to meet with Quentin Tarantino, Rambo and the guy who invented Megatron to discuss improving America's gun control policy.
Deaft0ne writes:
on February 21st, 2013 at 11:37:43 PM

Lol irl @ "muslim science" the ultimate oxymoron.
Fightclub1 writes:
on February 21st, 2013 at 11:39:39 PM

@mink well spoken dude, well spoken.

Anyway, Jennifer is strikingly gorgeous and a good actress
minkowski writes:
on February 21st, 2013 at 11:49:00 PM

^^She also has very nice tits.

@Deaft0ne: Muslims, at one point, were more advanced scientifically than Europeans, about the time Euro's were at their cultural nadir.

After all, "algebra" is an Arabic word.

Unfortunately for them, we're talking more than 500 years ago, or even more if you want to discuss their peak, and the advancements they made, significant no doubt, vanish when compared to what Dead White Males discovered and created.

Hell, Newton's/Liebniz's calculus alone is worth ten of their entire civilization.
minkowski writes:
on February 21st, 2013 at 11:53:40 PM

ei.
RapeVanDamn writes:
on February 22nd, 2013 at 12:18:46 AM

Maybe she doesn't give a damn about meeting any of these people. I wouldn't want to. I'd rather stay home and stare at my pretty cooze in the mirror if I were her.
kate writes:
on February 22nd, 2013 at 1:05:06 AM

'What am I gonna say to the vice president?

Dear Jennifer ,you were not invited there for this use of the mouth but more of the other...

ALIsuperstar writes:
on February 22nd, 2013 at 3:50:27 AM

She had enough with the everybody want to taste her... and when it comes to black guys white girls allways choose to run... maybe
Curbcooler writes:
on February 22nd, 2013 at 4:35:06 AM

MINK:

"Dead black thug?!"

Oh im sorry mink, are you talking about the innocent black 17 year old with a pack of skittles and iced tea who was murdered by that overzeales wannabe cop, wife abusing/child molester "George Zimmerman"?! Thought so it figures some another right-wing nut like you would be his defender.
SACdaddy writes:
on February 22nd, 2013 at 7:43:12 AM

Lol just the crazy right wing response expected. On one hand Obama is a dictator controlling everything and everybody with an iron fist and on the other he's a dumb empty shirt (suit/seat?) in control of absolutely nothing. Funny coming from someone defending Reagan who by most accounts (including his own at times) slept through most of his 2nd term and controlled very little as the country collapsed into recession. So let me get all this straight, you're defending one man for ratting out friends and coworkers just because they had different views than him and you're sh*tting on another man for trying to bring awareness to mental illness by any means necessary. Yep sounds about par for the course for any conservative nut out there.
Crazyhorse writes:
on February 22nd, 2013 at 7:46:49 AM

Anyone know what Actor will be called to discuss the failing economy
TommyJarvis84 writes:
on February 22nd, 2013 at 9:10:06 AM

While she hasn't said anything, I get the vibe she is a right winger. What with her talk of using her Hunger Games money to Buy a Compound and stockpile weapons.
thisisntme writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 2:55:44 AM

Mink, take that right wing bullsh*t to some teabagger website and ahut the f*ck up about politics. As far as laughable, W. Bush is the biggest joke in presidential history.
thisisntme writes:
on February 23rd, 2013 at 3:04:37 AM

I can see both sides of this. While Jennifer Lawrence isn't exactly qualified to discuss this important issue, her celebrity status will make people pay attention more than a person who is actually qualified to speak on it.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved