WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Video: Joaquin Phoenix Drowns in Banned PETA Ad

Posted: February 16th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Video: Joaquin Phoenix Drowns in Banned PETA AdSubmit Comment
Joaquin Phoenix took some time to record a commercial for PETA and its campaign to get people to stop eating fish and go vegan. The video shows the actor drowning, which is meant to illustrate what it's like for fish to be pulled from the water and left to suffocate to death.

"Fish don't want to suffocate on land any more than we want to drown in water," said PETA, adding that suffocation is a "slow, painful and frightening" death and people do this to "more than one trillion fish every year."

Since Phoenix is nominated for a Best Actor Oscar, PETA was hoping to show the commercial during the Academy Awards, but the awards show banned it. Instead, ABC will air it during the post-show, hosted by Jimmy Kimmel.

Back in 1996, Phoenix explained that he decided to become vegan during a fishing trip at three years old. "My family and I were on a boat catching fish," he said. "As one fish was caught, he was writhing. Then he was thrown against the side of the boat. You couldn't disguise what it was. This was what we did to animals to eat them. The animal went from a living, vibrant creature fighting for life to a violent death."

Video:


Source: PETA


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 28 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
bandolero999 writes:
on February 16th, 2013 at 6:08:52 AM

vegans are c*nts
lppinto writes:
on February 16th, 2013 at 6:19:11 AM

To be in the bottom of the food chain is a motherf*cker.. Lucky for us that we are on top!
Now, on to my juicy and blood dripping steak!
Yummy!
Tanman32123 writes:
on February 16th, 2013 at 6:23:53 AM

Yea.. That's kind of stupid.. People have been eating fish for Thousands of years Peta, without eating animals i kinda doubt we'd be here today.. so suck it up lol
cress writes:
on February 16th, 2013 at 6:46:29 AM

Plants are living things just as much as fish or other animals. Where's the righteous indignation over the slaughter of them? Maybe in another commercial someone can take a knife and start slicing away at Phoenix to show what it's like for a plant to die. PETA and its followers are *ssholes. I love animals, and if I could stop eating meat altogether I would. But this "holier than thou" attitude they have against meat-eaters is f*cking bullsh*t. If they really are against slaughtering living things, they'd quit eating plants as well and start eating dirt. Or better yet, they can chomp down a hefty bowl of my sh*t.
M. Bullitt writes:
on February 16th, 2013 at 7:05:15 AM

PETA is running out of ideas just like Hollywood! f*ck them!

Well said Cress, I think the same.

According to PETA we're not supposed to eat any animals or fish! Just plants?! Not even eggs!? f*ck off! This is what humans do, it's in our nature and I'm not going against it just because some other loonies think it's wrong.
boogiel writes:
on February 16th, 2013 at 7:10:47 AM

Stop eating fish? I love my fishes. Besides, watching that video makes me want to go out and have a steak.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on February 16th, 2013 at 8:31:06 AM

Because fish are sentient, right?
Deaft0ne writes:
on February 16th, 2013 at 8:59:10 AM

I love fish tacos
SACdaddy writes:
on February 16th, 2013 at 9:18:35 AM

Gay
Stapes writes:
on February 16th, 2013 at 9:43:36 AM

Fish don't WANT anything, they're instinct -driven. Phoenix is a twit.
i124q writes:
on February 16th, 2013 at 10:08:06 AM

I'm with Cress. We need an organisation to stand up for the rights of vegetables and fruit. Nobody says anything when a cabbage screams as it's pulled from the ground. So I say let's all stop eating veg and stick to meat!
BadChadB33 writes:
on February 16th, 2013 at 10:18:07 AM

How many PETA f*ck heads ate fish in the last week alone. f*ck off!!!
rick1641 writes:
on February 16th, 2013 at 10:30:22 AM

can we just drown phoenix for real and call it good
Deaft0ne writes:
on February 16th, 2013 at 11:38:42 AM

He was great in The Master which at it's very core examines the problems with belief at it's very core and why you should always question the source.

Ironic that he would do an ad for PETA which is one of the most propaganda-laden organizations in human history.

Terrible ad btw.
FBO writes:
on February 16th, 2013 at 1:19:25 PM

f*ck you PETA you bunch of pretensions *ssholes. I am fonna ducking go eat a fish today because of this ridiculous add.
FBO writes:
on February 16th, 2013 at 1:20:30 PM

Damn, I misspelled everything in that post.
Chandrasekhar writes:
on February 16th, 2013 at 1:27:13 PM

Dogs and cats aren't sentient either, Spooky c*mcakes. Sentient: Sentience is the ability to feel, perceive, or be conscious, or to have subjective experiences. So fish are either sentient, or they're no more sentient than dogs and cats, which we laboriously protect. Perhaps consult a dictionary next time before you post? Yes.
Chandrasekhar writes:
on February 16th, 2013 at 1:32:25 PM

Wonder what clinically absurd causes Hollywood wackos will support once they've entirely exhausted the semi insane ones they're rallying behind now? Save the moon cheese? Support the right for turnips to form unions? March against the tyranny of man against those poor oxygen atoms we so callously consume every second of our lives? "Free H2O" bumper stickers?
Tyrkae writes:
on February 16th, 2013 at 2:39:03 PM

Where i live we had a PETA sign up that said "Santa's not coming to town this year" (Milk causes Impotence) Well the local radio stations rallied around this sign!!!!
They decided it be a great place to cook steak and burgers for charity PETA members not happy at all it was a good day for meat eaters!
Chandrasekhar writes:
on February 16th, 2013 at 4:41:00 PM

Too bad Phantom of the Opera Face didn't drown for real, his performance in The Master not withstanding.
Deaft0ne writes:
on February 16th, 2013 at 7:38:17 PM

WANT TO f*ck?

whoever writes:
on February 16th, 2013 at 10:34:35 PM

I like to think that I am an environmentalist by eating the animals killing the plants!
j-man writes:
on February 17th, 2013 at 4:40:56 AM

'I decided to become a vegan at 3'

So he was a c*nt from an early age
sedibus writes:
on February 17th, 2013 at 4:53:57 AM

@Cress:

I support your opinion all the way. I wont get personal, but there is Burger King and McDonalds, and are business that sells animals meat.

Probably those industrial companies are PETA
supporters or his sons and daughters have shares from PETA.

I wont even try to laugh at this.
cress writes:
on February 17th, 2013 at 6:35:02 AM

@Sedibus. Thanks. I've actually tried to quit eating red meat in the past year(no burgers, etc.). It was tough at first, and I still get a craving for it from time to time, but it can be done. I've never been a big vegetable eater, so fir me to completely quit eating any form of meat would be impossible. So I stick to chicken and fish. A LOT OF CHICKEN. There are so many ways to prepare it, I don't think I could ever get tired of it.

I'm serious about what I said in my previous post. PETA suporters are hypocrites. Plants are living things just like animals. But since PETA people can't see eyes on a plant, or a mouth, or hear a plant communicating, they don't empathize with it, like they do with animals. Maybe if they thought about that, then they would realize what snobby, stupid pricks they are.
sedibus writes:
on February 17th, 2013 at 8:03:30 AM

@Cress:

By the way, speaking of chickens, you can eat it
breaded chicken inside hamburger bread, also chicken aka cordon blue, chicken nuggets.

Well, I must say I prefer chicken more greasy, but if you prepare it with some vegetables or a nice good old chicken soup.

I wont mention fish, shrimps, whoa! Cheers!
Deaft0ne writes:
on February 17th, 2013 at 1:13:53 PM

I don't eat a lot of red meat either, but I do have a ribeye on the weekend.

Usually chicken & fish and pork chops or bacon.

Mmm. Bacon.

And Leaf is lying trying to say he became a f*cking vegan @ 3! A growing douche like him needs the proteins from meat so he does not end up developmentally disabled.

Plus whenever his harelip surgery was done the hospital was not feeding him f*cking salads.

GTFO!
TheSkippySpartan writes:
on February 17th, 2013 at 10:36:55 PM

I am gonna catch some fish, i wont eat them, i will eat some steak in stead.

The fact they say we shouldn't eat meat goes against human nature. We evolved from a species that ate meat over being a herbivore, through that amazing things happen.

Sam Neil said so, so eat some red meat or Sam Neil will get pissed

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved