WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Captain America: Civil War" Concept Art Shows Two Avengers Teams
Aug 30th, 2015
First Look at Michael Fassbender in "Assassin's Creed" Video Game Movie
Aug 29th, 2015
Matt Damon Reveals "Bourne" Sequel Plot Details
Aug 29th, 2015
New Trailer for Jack Black's "Goosebumps"
Aug 29th, 2015
Jennifer Lawrence and Amy Schumer Working on New Comedy
Aug 27th, 2015
Christopher Meloni Joins "Holding Patterns"
Aug 27th, 2015
Trailer for "Love the Coopers" Comedy, with John Goodman, Ed Helms and Olivia Wilde
Aug 27th, 2015
Trailer for Nicholas Hoult's "Kill Your Friends" Crime Thriller
Aug 26th, 2015
James Franco is a Tech Billionaire in "Why Him" Comedy
Aug 26th, 2015
General Zod to Have Flippers Instead of Hands in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Aug 20th, 2015
Dwayne Johnson to Star in "Jungle Cruise," Based on Disney's Theme Park Ride
Aug 20th, 2015
Trailer for "Blunt Force Trauma," with Mickey Rourke and Freida Pinto
Aug 20th, 2015
First Trailer for "Victor Frankenstein," with Daniel Radcliffe and James McAvoy
Aug 19th, 2015
"Prometheus 2" Delaying Neill Blomkamp's "Alien 5"
Aug 19th, 2015
Freddie Highmore and Odeya Rush Join "Holding Patterns"
Aug 19th, 2015
New Trailer for Matt Damon's "The Martian" is Here!
Aug 19th, 2015
Post-Apocalyptic "Zorro" Reboot is Moving Forward
Aug 19th, 2015
Hugh Jackman Hints at Sabertooth and Berserker Rage in "Wolverine 3"
Aug 18th, 2015
First Poster for "Star Wars: The Force Awakens"
Aug 18th, 2015
First Look at "Star Wars: Rogue One" Spin-Off Film
Aug 18th, 2015
First Look at Chris Hemsworth in "Ghostbusters" Reboot
Aug 18th, 2015
New Photo From Pixar's "Finding Dory"
Aug 18th, 2015
First Poster for Disney's Live-Action "The Jungle Book"
Aug 18th, 2015
Trailer for "Carol," with Cate Blanchett and Rooney Mara
Aug 18th, 2015
Trailer for Kevin Hart's "Ride Along" Sequel
Aug 15th, 2015
First Posters for "Alice in Wonderland" Sequel
Aug 15th, 2015
Bradley Cooper is a Chef in "Burnt" Trailer
Aug 15th, 2015
First Look at Black Panther on "Captain America: Civil War" Set
Aug 13th, 2015
First Look at Dolph Lundgren in "Kindergarten Cop" Sequel
Aug 13th, 2015
Trailer for Quentin Tarantino's "The Hateful Eight" is Here!
Aug 13th, 2015
Trailer for "Life," with Dane DeHaan as James Dean
Aug 13th, 2015
Trailer for "Trumbo," with Bryan Cranston and Helen Mirren
Aug 13th, 2015
Two Ben Affleck Movies Delayed, "Batman" Reboot Happening Earlier?
Aug 9th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Which Oscar-Winner is in Talks for "Spawn" Reboot?

Posted: February 15th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Which Oscar-Winner is in Talks for "Spawn" Reboot?Submit Comment
"Spawn" creator Todd McFarlane has been talking about rebooting the "Spawn" franchise for years, and it looks like he's now getting really close. MTV caught up with him at Toy Fair 2013 and asked for an update.

"I continue to write a page [of the script] here and there," he said. "We've got a guy waiting in the sidelines who's an Academy Award winning actor who phones every three weeks going 'Todd, where's the script? Where's the script?"

McFarlane didn't mention the actor's name, but added: "He came out to the office. The pitch I gave him was that we could do ten of these for the next ten years and he didn't have to be 22 for the rest of his life."

Based on that, we gather that the actor is black, won an Oscar, can do action films, and is worried about his age. The answer seems pretty easy, Cuba Gooding Jr.

Back in 2009, McFarlane said that he was planning to make a low-budget, R-rated horror version of "Spawn," instead of a big blockbuster. He said it would be for an older audience and compared it to "The Departed." There's no word if that's still the case.

Source: MTV


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 21 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
pornfly writes:
on February 15th, 2013 at 9:05:29 PM

Its either gonna bomb hard or it'll at least bring back Cuba from whatever dvd hell hes been drinkn at
TommyJarvis84 writes:
on February 15th, 2013 at 9:17:05 PM

My Guess would be Terrence Howard.
cress writes:
on February 15th, 2013 at 9:28:08 PM

McFarlane has been talking about a new Spawn film since the late nineties. And why would anyone want Cuba in a film? He's made terrible "take the money and run" film choices since winning his Oscar. He's become a joke.
Kurskij writes:
on February 15th, 2013 at 9:30:34 PM

Is Jamie Foxx really that desperate?

Or is it Holly Berry?..
Kurskij writes:
on February 15th, 2013 at 9:32:00 PM

Oh, thx cress, there's also Cuba!

"Gummy bears movie?!?! Why didn't you call?!?!"
blumpkin4 writes:
on February 15th, 2013 at 9:34:07 PM

This could be sweet. I wouldnt mind cuba i dont think. I remember watching that sick movie for my birthday party in like grade 5 lol and i loved it. I had the best toy of that fat clown
cress writes:
on February 15th, 2013 at 9:38:25 PM

And just like that, he was gone..
Champ1432 writes:
on February 15th, 2013 at 9:59:50 PM

I don't like the sound of any of this.
Man in Black writes:
on February 15th, 2013 at 10:59:37 PM

Really ... they're gonna go with Radio ? What's Gary Coleman doing ? ( sar ) Figured Jamie Fox would had jumped on this but with him now being Electro that would be spreading himself to thin . f*ck it give it to Denzel .
Avirex writes:
on February 15th, 2013 at 11:45:27 PM

Its obviously Adrien Brody.
slevin27 writes:
on February 16th, 2013 at 12:34:11 AM

Denzel Washington probably (sar)
Chandrasekhar writes:
on February 16th, 2013 at 12:48:39 AM

Who the f*ck cares? They call this place worst previews for a damned good reason I can easily see.
Chandrasekhar writes:
on February 16th, 2013 at 2:03:40 AM

And I bet that fat clown was an appropriate stand-in for your MIA father, Blumpkin.
Ranger writes:
on February 16th, 2013 at 4:02:28 AM

lol.... the timing of this. I ran into Todd's dad yesterday in a parking lot and we caught up. Too funny.
Slidefire writes:
on February 16th, 2013 at 5:49:00 AM

"I continue to write a page here and there"???
I do that with my script , it's called " I don't know what to wright about yet"
bandolero999 writes:
on February 16th, 2013 at 6:01:24 AM

cuba is as washed up as tiny lister from friday
ALIsuperstar writes:
on February 16th, 2013 at 8:17:47 AM

thisguyis crazy
SACdaddy writes:
on February 16th, 2013 at 9:25:29 AM

f*ck the Oscar winner. Get Elba. He's perfect for the part.
Deaft0ne writes:
on February 16th, 2013 at 2:35:56 PM

Snesley Wipes gets out of prison soon and he won an oscar inside his head..
SeWerin writes:
on February 16th, 2013 at 7:15:12 PM

I think it's more likely that it's Jamie Foxx since he is in superhero biz right now. Maybe even Denzel but i can't see him doing that.

Also f*ck Cuba Gooding Jr. he is now living DVD dream with wrestlers and failed reppers.

You know what, bring back Michael Jai Wite, he fiscally fits the part perfectly (even after 15 years). Under good director he could actually pull it right this time.
Curbcooler writes:
on February 18th, 2013 at 1:27:45 AM

Who in the hell would be dumb enough to cast Cuba as spawn?!' spawn has to be handsome, buff, badass, and grim. ver heard of "Idris Elba" mr. todd mcfarlane? (Eye roll).

Did 20th Century Fox Leak Comic-Con Trailers for "X-Men: Apocalypse" and "Deadpool"?

General Zod to Have Flippers Instead of Hands in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

Two Ben Affleck Movies Delayed, "Batman" Reboot Happening Earlier?

Director Josh Trank Blames Studio for Terrible "Fantastic Four" Reviews

Charlie Hunnam Says "Pacific Rim 2" Must Focus More on Story Than Visuals

"Ant-Man" Gets Second Worst Marvel Opening

Ben Affleck to Direct "Batman" Reboot!

James Wan Joins "Mortal Kombat" Reboot

Superman Destroyed One of Bruce Wayne's Buildings in "Man of Steel"

Bryan Singer Says "X-Men" and "Fantastic Four" May Soon Unite
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved