WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Zoolander 2" Teaser Trailer Arrives Online
Aug 1st, 2015
First Look at Robert Redford as Dan Rather in "Truth"
Aug 1st, 2015
New Photos of Emma Watson in "Colonia" Cult Thriller
Aug 1st, 2015
"They Live" Actor and WWE Star "Rowdy" Roddy Piper Dead at 61
Aug 1st, 2015
First Look at Jake Gyllenhaal in "Demolition," From Director of "Dallas Buyers Club"
Jul 31st, 2015
New Trailer for Johnny Depp's "Black Mass"
Jul 31st, 2015
Trailer for "The Night Before" Comedy, with Seth Rogen, Joseph Gordon-Levitt and Anthony Mackie
Jul 30th, 2015
Trailer for Michael Bay's "13 Hours" Benghazi Thriller
Jul 30th, 2015
Channing Tatum Quitting "Gambit" Film?
Jul 30th, 2015
Trailer for Mark Ruffalo's "Spotlight," About Pedophile Priests
Jul 30th, 2015
New Trailer for "Sicario" Thriller, with Emily Blunt and Josh Brolin
Jul 30th, 2015
Vince Vaughn Joins Mel Gibson's "Hacksaw Ridge" WWII Film
Jul 30th, 2015
Charlie Hunnam Says "Pacific Rim 2" Must Focus More on Story Than Visuals
Jul 25th, 2015
Bryan Singer Says "X-Men" and "Fantastic Four" May Soon Unite
Jul 25th, 2015
New Trailer for Zac Efron's "We Are Your Friends"
Jul 25th, 2015
"Jurassic World" Sequel Gets Release Date, Chris Pratt to Return
Jul 24th, 2015
Dwayne Johnson's "Baywatch" Movie Hires "Horrible Bosses" Director
Jul 24th, 2015
Russell Crowe in Talks to Join "King Kong" Prequel
Jul 24th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 2" is Here!
Jul 24th, 2015
New Trailer for "Maze Runner" Sequel
Jul 24th, 2015
LeBron James Signs Deal with Warner Bros, "Space Jam 2" Happening?
Jul 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Ryan Reynolds' "Mississippi Grind" Poker Film
Jul 23rd, 2015
Final Restricted Trailer for "Vacation" Sequel
Jul 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Patrick Wilson's "Zipper" Thriller
Jul 23rd, 2015
Full Trailer for "Spectre" James Bond Film
Jul 22nd, 2015
Full Trailer for Pixar's "The Good Dinosaur" Animated Film
Jul 22nd, 2015
"Kung Fu Panda" Director Making "Emoji" Movie
Jul 22nd, 2015
"Pacific Rim 2" to Begin Filming in November
Jul 22nd, 2015
Backstreet Boys and 'NSync Members Unite for "Dead 7" Low-Budget Horror Film
Jul 21st, 2015
Benicio Del Toro May Play Villain in "Star Wars: Episode VIII"
Jul 21st, 2015
Trailer for "Before We Go," Chris Evans' Directorial Debut
Jul 21st, 2015
"The Godfather" Actor Alex Rocco Dead at 79
Jul 21st, 2015
New Trailer for "American Ultra," with Jesse Eisenberg and Kristen Stewart
Jul 21st, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Which Oscar-Winner is in Talks for "Spawn" Reboot?

Posted: February 15th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Which Oscar-Winner is in Talks for "Spawn" Reboot?Submit Comment
"Spawn" creator Todd McFarlane has been talking about rebooting the "Spawn" franchise for years, and it looks like he's now getting really close. MTV caught up with him at Toy Fair 2013 and asked for an update.

"I continue to write a page [of the script] here and there," he said. "We've got a guy waiting in the sidelines who's an Academy Award winning actor who phones every three weeks going 'Todd, where's the script? Where's the script?"

McFarlane didn't mention the actor's name, but added: "He came out to the office. The pitch I gave him was that we could do ten of these for the next ten years and he didn't have to be 22 for the rest of his life."

Based on that, we gather that the actor is black, won an Oscar, can do action films, and is worried about his age. The answer seems pretty easy, Cuba Gooding Jr.

Back in 2009, McFarlane said that he was planning to make a low-budget, R-rated horror version of "Spawn," instead of a big blockbuster. He said it would be for an older audience and compared it to "The Departed." There's no word if that's still the case.

Source: MTV


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 21 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
pornfly writes:
on February 15th, 2013 at 9:05:29 PM

Its either gonna bomb hard or it'll at least bring back Cuba from whatever dvd hell hes been drinkn at
TommyJarvis84 writes:
on February 15th, 2013 at 9:17:05 PM

My Guess would be Terrence Howard.
cress writes:
on February 15th, 2013 at 9:28:08 PM

McFarlane has been talking about a new Spawn film since the late nineties. And why would anyone want Cuba in a film? He's made terrible "take the money and run" film choices since winning his Oscar. He's become a joke.
Kurskij writes:
on February 15th, 2013 at 9:30:34 PM

Is Jamie Foxx really that desperate?

Or is it Holly Berry?..
Kurskij writes:
on February 15th, 2013 at 9:32:00 PM

Oh, thx cress, there's also Cuba!

"Gummy bears movie?!?! Why didn't you call?!?!"
blumpkin4 writes:
on February 15th, 2013 at 9:34:07 PM

This could be sweet. I wouldnt mind cuba i dont think. I remember watching that sick movie for my birthday party in like grade 5 lol and i loved it. I had the best toy of that fat clown
cress writes:
on February 15th, 2013 at 9:38:25 PM

And just like that, he was gone..
Champ1432 writes:
on February 15th, 2013 at 9:59:50 PM

I don't like the sound of any of this.
Man in Black writes:
on February 15th, 2013 at 10:59:37 PM

Really ... they're gonna go with Radio ? What's Gary Coleman doing ? ( sar ) Figured Jamie Fox would had jumped on this but with him now being Electro that would be spreading himself to thin . f*ck it give it to Denzel .
Avirex writes:
on February 15th, 2013 at 11:45:27 PM

Its obviously Adrien Brody.
slevin27 writes:
on February 16th, 2013 at 12:34:11 AM

Denzel Washington probably (sar)
Chandrasekhar writes:
on February 16th, 2013 at 12:48:39 AM

Who the f*ck cares? They call this place worst previews for a damned good reason I can easily see.
Chandrasekhar writes:
on February 16th, 2013 at 2:03:40 AM

And I bet that fat clown was an appropriate stand-in for your MIA father, Blumpkin.
Ranger writes:
on February 16th, 2013 at 4:02:28 AM

lol.... the timing of this. I ran into Todd's dad yesterday in a parking lot and we caught up. Too funny.
Slidefire writes:
on February 16th, 2013 at 5:49:00 AM

"I continue to write a page here and there"???
I do that with my script , it's called " I don't know what to wright about yet"
bandolero999 writes:
on February 16th, 2013 at 6:01:24 AM

cuba is as washed up as tiny lister from friday
ALIsuperstar writes:
on February 16th, 2013 at 8:17:47 AM

thisguyis crazy
SACdaddy writes:
on February 16th, 2013 at 9:25:29 AM

f*ck the Oscar winner. Get Elba. He's perfect for the part.
Deaft0ne writes:
on February 16th, 2013 at 2:35:56 PM

Snesley Wipes gets out of prison soon and he won an oscar inside his head..
SeWerin writes:
on February 16th, 2013 at 7:15:12 PM

I think it's more likely that it's Jamie Foxx since he is in superhero biz right now. Maybe even Denzel but i can't see him doing that.

Also f*ck Cuba Gooding Jr. he is now living DVD dream with wrestlers and failed reppers.

You know what, bring back Michael Jai Wite, he fiscally fits the part perfectly (even after 15 years). Under good director he could actually pull it right this time.
Curbcooler writes:
on February 18th, 2013 at 1:27:45 AM

Who in the hell would be dumb enough to cast Cuba as spawn?!' spawn has to be handsome, buff, badass, and grim. ver heard of "Idris Elba" mr. todd mcfarlane? (Eye roll).

Did 20th Century Fox Leak Comic-Con Trailers for "X-Men: Apocalypse" and "Deadpool"?

Spider-Man Contractually Cannot be Black or Gay

Charlie Hunnam Says "Pacific Rim 2" Must Focus More on Story Than Visuals

"Ant-Man" Gets Second Worst Marvel Opening

Stan Lee Comments on Spider-Man Contractually Being White and Straight

Ben Affleck to Direct "Batman" Reboot!

"Star Wars" Actor Arrested After Insane Car Chase

"Spider-Man" Reboot Announces Actor and Director

Superman Destroyed One of Bruce Wayne's Buildings in "Man of Steel"

"The Amazing Spider-Man 3" Would Have Brought Characters Back From the Dead
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved