WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Oct 9th, 2015
"Ant-Man" Gets a Sequel, Marvel's Phase Three Release Dates Announced
Oct 9th, 2015
Pixar's "Toy Story 4," "Cars 3" and "The Incredibles 2" Get New Release Dates
Oct 9th, 2015
First Look at Disney's New Princess "Moana"
Oct 9th, 2015
Steve McQueen's "Papillon" is Getting a Remake
Oct 9th, 2015
Four Directors Considered for "Fast and Furious 8"
Oct 7th, 2015
"The Flash" Movie Hires Director
Oct 7th, 2015
Restricted Trailer for "Triple Nine," with Casey Affleck and Woody Harrelson
Oct 7th, 2015
Nicolas Cage Turned Down Lead Role in "Lord of the Rings"
Oct 5th, 2015
First Look at Matthew McConaughey in "Gold"
Oct 5th, 2015
"Thor 3" Found Its Director
Oct 5th, 2015
"Power Rangers" Reboot is Testing These Eight Actors
Oct 5th, 2015
James McAvoy in Talks for M. Night Shyamalan's New Supernatural Thriller
Oct 5th, 2015
Final Trailer for "Spectre" James Bond Film
Oct 3rd, 2015
Trailer for Kurt Russell's "Bone Tomahawk" Western
Oct 3rd, 2015
Reboot of "MacGyver" TV Series in the Works with James Wan
Oct 3rd, 2015
Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Oct 2nd, 2015
Final Poster for "The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 2"
Oct 2nd, 2015
Trailer for "The Forest" Supernatural Thriller
Oct 2nd, 2015
New Trailer for Leonardo DiCaprio's "The Revenant" Thriller
Oct 1st, 2015
First Look: Andrew Garfield in Mel Gibson's "Hacksaw Ridge"
Oct 1st, 2015
Matthew Vaughn to Direct "I Am Pilgrim" Thriller
Oct 1st, 2015
Vin Diesel Says "Furious 8" is Part of Last Trilogy
Sep 29th, 2015
Danny Boyle to Shoot "Trainspotting" Sequel Next Summer
Sep 29th, 2015
Matt Damon Would Play Daredevil if Christopher Nolan Directed
Sep 27th, 2015
Ridley Scott Says "Prometheus 2" Will Have Connections to Ripley
Sep 27th, 2015
Sigourney Weaver Joins "Ghostbusters" Reboot
Sep 27th, 2015
Matt Damon Discusses "Bourne" Plot Details
Sep 27th, 2015
First Look at Woody Harrelson as President Johnson in "LBJ" Biopic
Sep 27th, 2015
Title of "Prometheus" Sequel Revealed
Sep 26th, 2015
New "Men in Black" Film Moving Forward Without Will Smith
Sep 26th, 2015
Hugh Jackman Wants Tom Hardy to Replace Him as Wolverine
Sep 26th, 2015
Trailer for "Truth," with Robert Redford and Cate Blanchett
Sep 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Which Oscar-Winner is in Talks for "Spawn" Reboot?

Posted: February 15th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Which Oscar-Winner is in Talks for "Spawn" Reboot?Submit Comment
"Spawn" creator Todd McFarlane has been talking about rebooting the "Spawn" franchise for years, and it looks like he's now getting really close. MTV caught up with him at Toy Fair 2013 and asked for an update.

"I continue to write a page [of the script] here and there," he said. "We've got a guy waiting in the sidelines who's an Academy Award winning actor who phones every three weeks going 'Todd, where's the script? Where's the script?"

McFarlane didn't mention the actor's name, but added: "He came out to the office. The pitch I gave him was that we could do ten of these for the next ten years and he didn't have to be 22 for the rest of his life."

Based on that, we gather that the actor is black, won an Oscar, can do action films, and is worried about his age. The answer seems pretty easy, Cuba Gooding Jr.

Back in 2009, McFarlane said that he was planning to make a low-budget, R-rated horror version of "Spawn," instead of a big blockbuster. He said it would be for an older audience and compared it to "The Departed." There's no word if that's still the case.

Source: MTV

Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 21 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
pornfly writes:
on February 15th, 2013 at 9:05:29 PM

Its either gonna bomb hard or it'll at least bring back Cuba from whatever dvd hell hes been drinkn at
TommyJarvis84 writes:
on February 15th, 2013 at 9:17:05 PM

My Guess would be Terrence Howard.
cress writes:
on February 15th, 2013 at 9:28:08 PM

McFarlane has been talking about a new Spawn film since the late nineties. And why would anyone want Cuba in a film? He's made terrible "take the money and run" film choices since winning his Oscar. He's become a joke.
Kurskij writes:
on February 15th, 2013 at 9:30:34 PM

Is Jamie Foxx really that desperate?

Or is it Holly Berry?..
Kurskij writes:
on February 15th, 2013 at 9:32:00 PM

Oh, thx cress, there's also Cuba!

"Gummy bears movie?!?! Why didn't you call?!?!"
blumpkin4 writes:
on February 15th, 2013 at 9:34:07 PM

This could be sweet. I wouldnt mind cuba i dont think. I remember watching that sick movie for my birthday party in like grade 5 lol and i loved it. I had the best toy of that fat clown
cress writes:
on February 15th, 2013 at 9:38:25 PM

And just like that, he was gone..
Champ1432 writes:
on February 15th, 2013 at 9:59:50 PM

I don't like the sound of any of this.
Man in Black writes:
on February 15th, 2013 at 10:59:37 PM

Really ... they're gonna go with Radio ? What's Gary Coleman doing ? ( sar ) Figured Jamie Fox would had jumped on this but with him now being Electro that would be spreading himself to thin . f*ck it give it to Denzel .
Avirex writes:
on February 15th, 2013 at 11:45:27 PM

Its obviously Adrien Brody.
slevin27 writes:
on February 16th, 2013 at 12:34:11 AM

Denzel Washington probably (sar)
Chandrasekhar writes:
on February 16th, 2013 at 12:48:39 AM

Who the f*ck cares? They call this place worst previews for a damned good reason I can easily see.
Chandrasekhar writes:
on February 16th, 2013 at 2:03:40 AM

And I bet that fat clown was an appropriate stand-in for your MIA father, Blumpkin.
Ranger writes:
on February 16th, 2013 at 4:02:28 AM

lol.... the timing of this. I ran into Todd's dad yesterday in a parking lot and we caught up. Too funny.
Slidefire writes:
on February 16th, 2013 at 5:49:00 AM

"I continue to write a page here and there"???
I do that with my script , it's called " I don't know what to wright about yet"
bandolero999 writes:
on February 16th, 2013 at 6:01:24 AM

cuba is as washed up as tiny lister from friday
ALIsuperstar writes:
on February 16th, 2013 at 8:17:47 AM

thisguyis crazy
SACdaddy writes:
on February 16th, 2013 at 9:25:29 AM

f*ck the Oscar winner. Get Elba. He's perfect for the part.
Deaft0ne writes:
on February 16th, 2013 at 2:35:56 PM

Snesley Wipes gets out of prison soon and he won an oscar inside his head..
SeWerin writes:
on February 16th, 2013 at 7:15:12 PM

I think it's more likely that it's Jamie Foxx since he is in superhero biz right now. Maybe even Denzel but i can't see him doing that.

Also f*ck Cuba Gooding Jr. he is now living DVD dream with wrestlers and failed reppers.

You know what, bring back Michael Jai Wite, he fiscally fits the part perfectly (even after 15 years). Under good director he could actually pull it right this time.
Curbcooler writes:
on February 18th, 2013 at 1:27:45 AM

Who in the hell would be dumb enough to cast Cuba as spawn?!' spawn has to be handsome, buff, badass, and grim. ver heard of "Idris Elba" mr. todd mcfarlane? (Eye roll).

General Zod to Have Flippers Instead of Hands in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

Two Ben Affleck Movies Delayed, "Batman" Reboot Happening Earlier?

Director Josh Trank Blames Studio for Terrible "Fantastic Four" Reviews

James Wan Joins "Mortal Kombat" Reboot

Hugh Jackman Hints at Sabertooth and Berserker Rage in "Wolverine 3"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Transformers 5" Plot Details Revealed

Universal Pictures Already Broke the Record for Highest-Grossing Year

Jennifer Lawrence and Amy Schumer Working on New Comedy

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved