WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
First Look at Liam Neeson in "Taken 3"
Sep 23rd, 2014
University of Baltimore Offering Course on Marvel Films
Sep 23rd, 2014
New Trailer for "Kingsman: The Secret Service" Comic Book Film, with Colin Firth and Samuel L. Jackson
Sep 23rd, 2014
Bryan Singer Confirmed to Direct "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Sep 23rd, 2014
Photo: Woman Implants Third Breast in Hopes of MTV Reality Show
Sep 23rd, 2014
William Shatner and Leonard Nimoy to Return For "Star Trek 3"?
Sep 23rd, 2014
"The Maze Runner" Sequel Already Gets Release Date and Concept Art
Sep 22nd, 2014
"Hansel and Gretel: Witch Hunters" Sequel Has a Finished Script
Sep 22nd, 2014
"The Maze Runner" Easily Beats Liam Neeson's "A Walk Among the Tombstones" at Box Office
Sep 22nd, 2014
Restricted Trailer For "The Interview" Comedy, with James Franco and Seth Rogen
Sep 21st, 2014
"Deadpool" Movie Will Be PG-13
Sep 21st, 2014
Marvel Says "Daredevil" TV Series Won't Make Same Mistakes As Ben Affleck's Movie
Sep 21st, 2014
Is Jennifer Lawrence's "Serena" a Terrible Movie?
Sep 21st, 2014
Roberto Orci Drops Out of "Power Rangers" to Direct "Star Trek 3"
Sep 21st, 2014
Did Aquaman Save superman in "Man of Steel"? Aquaman's Look Possibly Revealed
Sep 20th, 2014
Deadpool Creator Comments on "Deadpool" Movie Announcement
Sep 20th, 2014
Two New Posters for Christopher Nolan's "Interstellar" Sci-Fi Film
Sep 20th, 2014
"Olympus Has Fallen" Sequel Loses Director
Sep 20th, 2014
Angelina Jolie to Next Direct "Africa"
Sep 20th, 2014
Trailer For "Low Down," with John Hawkes and Elle Fanning
Sep 20th, 2014
If You Downloaded "The Expendables 3" Illegally, Lionsgate is Coming For You
Sep 19th, 2014
Trailer For Tim Burton's "Big Eyes," with Amy Adams and Christoph Waltz
Sep 19th, 2014
Matthew McConaughey NOT Returning For "Magic Mike" Sequel
Sep 19th, 2014
Restricted Trailer For "V/H/S: Viral" Horror Film Arrives Online
Sep 19th, 2014
"Insidious: Chapter 3" Unveils First Poster
Sep 19th, 2014
"X-Men" Spin-Off "Deadpool" is Finally Happening, Release Date Announced
Sep 18th, 2014
Trailer For "A Most Violent Year," From "Margin Call" Director
Sep 18th, 2014
Sony Unveils Animation Test For "Popeye" Movie
Sep 18th, 2014
See Batmobile in Action on "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Set
Sep 18th, 2014
"Jason Borne" Producer Says Both Matt Damon's and Jeremy Renner's Films are in the Works
Sep 18th, 2014
"Paranormal Activity 5" Gets New Title and Release Date
Sep 18th, 2014
New Posters For Matthew McConaughey's "Interstellar" and Brad Pitt's "Fury"
Sep 18th, 2014
New Trailer for Robert Downey Jr's "The Judge"
Sep 18th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Which Oscar-Winner is in Talks for "Spawn" Reboot?

Posted: February 15th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Which Oscar-Winner is in Talks for "Spawn" Reboot?Submit Comment
"Spawn" creator Todd McFarlane has been talking about rebooting the "Spawn" franchise for years, and it looks like he's now getting really close. MTV caught up with him at Toy Fair 2013 and asked for an update.

"I continue to write a page [of the script] here and there," he said. "We've got a guy waiting in the sidelines who's an Academy Award winning actor who phones every three weeks going 'Todd, where's the script? Where's the script?"

McFarlane didn't mention the actor's name, but added: "He came out to the office. The pitch I gave him was that we could do ten of these for the next ten years and he didn't have to be 22 for the rest of his life."

Based on that, we gather that the actor is black, won an Oscar, can do action films, and is worried about his age. The answer seems pretty easy, Cuba Gooding Jr.

Back in 2009, McFarlane said that he was planning to make a low-budget, R-rated horror version of "Spawn," instead of a big blockbuster. He said it would be for an older audience and compared it to "The Departed." There's no word if that's still the case.

Source: MTV


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 21 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
pornfly writes:
on February 15th, 2013 at 9:05:29 PM

Its either gonna bomb hard or it'll at least bring back Cuba from whatever dvd hell hes been drinkn at
TommyJarvis84 writes:
on February 15th, 2013 at 9:17:05 PM

My Guess would be Terrence Howard.
cress writes:
on February 15th, 2013 at 9:28:08 PM

McFarlane has been talking about a new Spawn film since the late nineties. And why would anyone want Cuba in a film? He's made terrible "take the money and run" film choices since winning his Oscar. He's become a joke.
Kurskij writes:
on February 15th, 2013 at 9:30:34 PM

Is Jamie Foxx really that desperate?

Or is it Holly Berry?..
Kurskij writes:
on February 15th, 2013 at 9:32:00 PM

Oh, thx cress, there's also Cuba!

"Gummy bears movie?!?! Why didn't you call?!?!"
blumpkin4 writes:
on February 15th, 2013 at 9:34:07 PM

This could be sweet. I wouldnt mind cuba i dont think. I remember watching that sick movie for my birthday party in like grade 5 lol and i loved it. I had the best toy of that fat clown
cress writes:
on February 15th, 2013 at 9:38:25 PM

And just like that, he was gone..
Champ1432 writes:
on February 15th, 2013 at 9:59:50 PM

I don't like the sound of any of this.
Man in Black writes:
on February 15th, 2013 at 10:59:37 PM

Really ... they're gonna go with Radio ? What's Gary Coleman doing ? ( sar ) Figured Jamie Fox would had jumped on this but with him now being Electro that would be spreading himself to thin . f*ck it give it to Denzel .
Avirex writes:
on February 15th, 2013 at 11:45:27 PM

Its obviously Adrien Brody.
slevin27 writes:
on February 16th, 2013 at 12:34:11 AM

Denzel Washington probably (sar)
Chandrasekhar writes:
on February 16th, 2013 at 12:48:39 AM

Who the f*ck cares? They call this place worst previews for a damned good reason I can easily see.
Chandrasekhar writes:
on February 16th, 2013 at 2:03:40 AM

And I bet that fat clown was an appropriate stand-in for your MIA father, Blumpkin.
Ranger writes:
on February 16th, 2013 at 4:02:28 AM

lol.... the timing of this. I ran into Todd's dad yesterday in a parking lot and we caught up. Too funny.
Slidefire writes:
on February 16th, 2013 at 5:49:00 AM

"I continue to write a page here and there"???
I do that with my script , it's called " I don't know what to wright about yet"
bandolero999 writes:
on February 16th, 2013 at 6:01:24 AM

cuba is as washed up as tiny lister from friday
ALIsuperstar writes:
on February 16th, 2013 at 8:17:47 AM

thisguyis crazy
SACdaddy writes:
on February 16th, 2013 at 9:25:29 AM

f*ck the Oscar winner. Get Elba. He's perfect for the part.
Deaft0ne writes:
on February 16th, 2013 at 2:35:56 PM

Snesley Wipes gets out of prison soon and he won an oscar inside his head..
SeWerin writes:
on February 16th, 2013 at 7:15:12 PM

I think it's more likely that it's Jamie Foxx since he is in superhero biz right now. Maybe even Denzel but i can't see him doing that.

Also f*ck Cuba Gooding Jr. he is now living DVD dream with wrestlers and failed reppers.

You know what, bring back Michael Jai Wite, he fiscally fits the part perfectly (even after 15 years). Under good director he could actually pull it right this time.
Curbcooler writes:
on February 18th, 2013 at 1:27:45 AM

Who in the hell would be dumb enough to cast Cuba as spawn?!' spawn has to be handsome, buff, badass, and grim. ver heard of "Idris Elba" mr. todd mcfarlane? (Eye roll).

Director James Gunn Comments on "Guardians of the Galaxy" Becoming Highest Grossing Movie of 2014

"The Sopranos" Creator Finally Reveals Whether Tony Soprano Died

Matt Damon to Return For "Jason Bourne 5"

"Guardians of the Galaxy" Wins Worst Box Office Weekend of the Year

"No Good Deed" Beats "Dolphin Tale 2" For First Place at Box Office

Did Aquaman Save superman in "Man of Steel"? Aquaman's Look Possibly Revealed

If You Downloaded "The Expendables 3" Illegally, Lionsgate is Coming For You

"Captain America 3" Director Hints at End of Chris Evans as Captain America

David Fincher Regrets Making "The Game," Says Superhero Film are Dull

What Happens to Jimmy Olsen in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"?
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved