WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Brad Pitt's "Fury" and Michael Keaton's "Birdman" Top Box Office
Oct 19th, 2014
New "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Concept Art Teases Hulkbuster's Giant Size
Oct 19th, 2014
Producer Gives "Halloween 3" Update
Oct 19th, 2014
Teaser for Disney's "Feast" Animated Short Film
Oct 19th, 2014
Tom Hardy May Play Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Oct 18th, 2014
Jena Malone is Female Robin in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"?
Oct 18th, 2014
Marvel in Talks with Colin Farrell and Benedict Cumberbatch to Star in "Doctor Strange"
Oct 18th, 2014
Channing Tatum Not Sure We Need "23 Jump Street"
Oct 18th, 2014
Poster For Tim Burton's "Big Eyes," with Amy Adams and Christoph Waltz
Oct 18th, 2014
Photos: Nicolas Cage Protesting Against His "Dying of the Light" Movie
Oct 17th, 2014
James Cameron Discusses Getting "Terminator" Rights Back in 2019
Oct 17th, 2014
Guillermo Del Toro Says "Pacific Rim 2" Sets Up "Pacific Rim 3"
Oct 17th, 2014
New Trailer For Angelina Jolie's "Unbroken" World War II Drama
Oct 17th, 2014
Scarlett Johansson Offered $10 Million to Star in "Ghost in the Shell"
Oct 17th, 2014
Trailer For Chris Rock's "Top Five" Comedy
Oct 17th, 2014
Trailer: Chris Hemsworth Fights a Whale in Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea"
Oct 16th, 2014
First Look at Chris Hemsworth in Ron Howard's "Heart of the Sea" Survival Film
Oct 16th, 2014
James Wan May Direct Another "Saw" Film in 2016
Oct 16th, 2014
Channing Tatum Provides "Gambit" Update
Oct 16th, 2014
Christian Bale in Talks to Star in Steve Jobs Biopic
Oct 16th, 2014
New Teaser For "The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1"
Oct 16th, 2014
Warner Bros Announces "The Flash," "Aquaman," "Justice League" and "Green Lantern" Movies
Oct 16th, 2014
Trailer for Nicolas Cage's "Dying of the Light" Thriller
Oct 16th, 2014
Edward Norton Says Today's Movies are Just As Good as Films From 1960s
Oct 15th, 2014
Photos: Michael Douglas is Hank Pym on "Ant-Man" Set
Oct 15th, 2014
Javier Bardem in Talks to Play Main Villain in "Pirates of the Caribbean 5"
Oct 15th, 2014
Trailer: Katie Holmes Kills Lots of People in "Miss Meadows"
Oct 15th, 2014
Ninth Character Poster For "The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies," Features Bilbo Baggins Again
Oct 15th, 2014
New "Jurassic World" Poster Arrives Online
Oct 15th, 2014
New "Toy Story That Time Forgot" Poster Features the Battlesaurs
Oct 15th, 2014
Penelope Cruz is Esquire's 2014 Sexiest Woman Alive
Oct 14th, 2014
See Concept Art of Krang, Bebop and Rocksteady For "Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles"
Oct 14th, 2014
Ben Affleck Was Studio's First and Only Choice to Play Batman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Oct 14th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Lawrence Kasdan Says New "Star Wars" Film Will Start Fresh

Posted: February 10th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Lawrence Kasdan Says New "Star Wars" Film Will Start FreshSubmit Comment
When Disney acquired Lucasfilm, the studio announced that it will be developing a new "Star Wars" trilogy, starting with JJ Abrams' "Star Wars: Episode VII" in 2015. Disney then revealed that it will also be making "Star Wars" spin-offs, focusing on such characters as Boba Fett and a young Han Solo.

LA Times now caught up with Lawrence Kasdan, who wrote "Empire Strikes Back" and "Return of the Jedi," and is also writing one of the upcoming spin-offs. "I'm trying to start fresh," he explained. "There are certain pleasures that we think the saga can bring to people that they've been missing, and we're hoping to bring them that, and at the same time, have them feel that it's all new."

Kasdan wouldn't confirm whether his film would follow the adventures of Boba Fett or a young Han Solo, but said that it was George Lucas who asked him to return to the franchise. "George brought me into this part of it," he revealed. "I think everyone's interested to see where this can go. It's been some very different places over 30 years. I think with JJ, we'll get something entirely new."

Source: LA Times


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 11 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Champ1432 writes:
on February 10th, 2013 at 9:22:09 PM

Its Star Wars, it already good, it's already popular. You don't need to reinvent the wheel to make these new movies successes.

Just have good scripts that are derived from good stories. And no more Jar Jar Binks BS.

There's no need to overthink this. Star Wars fans will want to like these new movies.
Tanman32123 writes:
on February 10th, 2013 at 10:23:36 PM

Who cares.. Did you guys watch the walking dead!?!?
minkowski writes:
on February 10th, 2013 at 10:57:19 PM

I like how he twists Kasdan's words.

Read it again people.

Kasdan says he's writing a spin-off film that'll start fresh. Okay. But that's not Star War 7.

He then says JJ Abrams will show us something new. Wow. Really? And to think I thought he'd just rehash The Phantom Menace with Robot Chicken clips.

Could have just titled the news "Kasdan Opines on Star War's sequel and spin offs", but then you couldn't put into our minds the notion Disney was leaving the other six films behind, now could you?
BadChadB33 writes:
on February 10th, 2013 at 11:40:19 PM

This has me worried, o wait nothing can be as bad as the prequels now can it?
Electro Rock writes:
on February 10th, 2013 at 11:56:17 PM

A Duro pilot would be nice.
pornfly writes:
on February 11th, 2013 at 3:15:54 AM

This isnt what i thought i was going to read about

Thx for playin tho
Taco writes:
on February 11th, 2013 at 4:58:52 AM

Star Wars episode 7 : Lens Flare!
nuttie30xx writes:
on February 11th, 2013 at 10:23:41 AM

f*ck jj the only good films he done whats ok in mi3 and star trek im looking forward to star trek 2 but come on he has directed about 10 things most of which is sh*t
matternm58 writes:
on February 11th, 2013 at 2:45:46 PM

Start Fresh with what?
matternm58 writes:
on February 12th, 2013 at 12:50:48 PM

How do you start fresh with something that's already good and fresh.
matternm58 writes:
on February 12th, 2013 at 12:51:06 PM

Start fresh sounds like they want to reboot it.

Will Marvel Split "Avengers 3" Into Two Films?

Christian Bale's "The Machinist" Co-Star Reveals Disturbing Story About Actor's Weight-Loss

Ben Affleck Regrets Making "Daredevil," Very Confident About "Batman v Superman"

Robert Downey Jr Would Make "Iron Man 4" If Mel Gibson Directs

Robert Downey Jr Now Says He Won't Return For "Iron Man 4"

Chris Cooper Gained 40 Pounds of Muscle For "American Sniper"

Penelope Cruz is Esquire's 2014 Sexiest Woman Alive

Why Ben Affleck Won't Get to Keep the Batman Costume

Amanda Bynes Placed in Psychiatric Care, Says Her Father Asked Her For Sex

Description of "Jurassic World" Trailer
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved