WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Bryan Singer Discusses Being Replaced on "Man of Steel"

Posted: February 10th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Bryan Singer Discusses Being Replaced on "Man of Steel"Submit Comment
After Christopher Reeve's "Superman" movies, Warner Bros attempted to reboot the franchise several times. The studio eventually succeed in 2006 with "Superman Returns." A $270 million budget was given and director Bryan Singer (X-Men) was hired. Unfortunately, the film underperformed in theaters and failed to impress Superman fans.

A sequel was rumored, with Singer promising a lot more action, but Warner Bros decided to go in a different direction. In a few months, we'll get another reboot, "Man of Steel," which is directed by Zack Snyder (Watchmen, 300) and produced by Christopher Nolan (The Dark Knight). And now, Singer commented on the studio's decision not to bring him back for "Superman Returns 2."

"If this was a few year ago, I might have [felt disappointed] - but so much time has passed," he said. "I've done two movies [since 'Superman Returns'], I'll be on my third movie now in the ['X-Men'] universe. So while it would have been nice [to make 'Superman Returns 2'] then, now I'm actually genuinely looking forward to seeing Zack's movie."

Singer continued: "I got very nostalgic with my movie, but even if you take it in another direction, it's very challenging. Inherently [Superman] is such a good guy. What's easier about X-Men is that they're all so conflicted."

Source: TotalFilm


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 49 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Biz Malarkey writes:
on February 10th, 2013 at 7:04:43 AM

Wasn't what I was expecting
M. Bullitt writes:
on February 10th, 2013 at 7:49:50 AM

Bryan Singer this, Bryan singer that!

Better no news than repetitive, useless news!
boogiel writes:
on February 10th, 2013 at 8:11:37 AM

Singer sucks! His superman returns is none other than a semisequel of Reeve's movies.
yoshi187 writes:
on February 10th, 2013 at 9:17:37 AM

"Singer sucks" - Literally.

He's not even sly in getting young boys back to his trailer on set.
Kurskij writes:
on February 10th, 2013 at 10:10:47 AM

That budget figure is waay over-inflated. But Singer showed some class here.
SoftimusPrime writes:
on February 10th, 2013 at 10:46:18 AM

Umm.. wasn't Superman Returns a sequel to Reeve's films and NOT a reboot?? Anyway, I thought it was great. Not that much action but a solid film.
Crazyhorse writes:
on February 10th, 2013 at 10:59:35 AM

Hopefully this new Superman wont be as boring as Watchmen, Superman Returns and unwatchable as Sucker Punch cause if it is Superman probably wont hit a theatre again until man inhabits Pluto
Stapes writes:
on February 10th, 2013 at 12:04:30 PM

Never seen a Singer movie that I've liked. I personally think the guy is as overrated as it gets.
Stapes writes:
on February 10th, 2013 at 12:06:22 PM

Take that back, Apt Pupil was watchable.
matternm58 writes:
on February 10th, 2013 at 12:23:34 PM

I liked Superman Returns as far as, graphics goes. Seeing Superman with today's graphics and stuff like that was pretty cool. Now I remember talking about how cool it would be to see that fight between Superman and Zod from number 2 with today's technology and graphics now it looks like I get my wish. I just hope there is no Superboy. I think that was my only problem with Superman Returns mother effing Superman's kid, stupid idea and the fact that there are countless of enemies of Superman and they chose Lex again. Cmon. I want to see Helspont in a superman movie after this new one. Or Darkseid.
KillerCOck writes:
on February 10th, 2013 at 1:16:59 PM

This guy needs to stop talking.
FBO writes:
on February 10th, 2013 at 1:33:45 PM

I liked Superman Returns. It wasn't the perfect superman movie by any means but it was solid.

The only other Singer movie worth owning is Valkyrie. The x-men movies were great... when they came out but now they suck to watch. And the usual suspects wan't all that enjoyable.
BadChadB33 writes:
on February 10th, 2013 at 1:54:57 PM

I didn't mind Returns so much until it's time to bring out the bastard child
cress writes:
on February 10th, 2013 at 3:05:22 PM

"Superman Returns" is a great film....for 1983. This is essentially a loose sequel to Superman 2, ignoring the Richard Pryor 1983 Superman 3. "Returns" would have been a great trilogy-capper had it been the basis Superman 3.
Singer's idea is admirable, but it is essentially stupid. Superman needed to be reintroduced to todays' audiences in a fresh and exciting new way. This was to be a franchise starter, and it landed with a thud. I love the Reeve films (1&2 only), and they captured the imagination of moviegoers by proclaiming, "You will be a man can fly." And we did. But Singer's film had none of that excitement, and failed to enthrall any moviegoers. It was a Superman film where he did very little that was "super." He saved a plane, got shot in the eye, and took a kryptonite-tarball in space--that's it. And everyone is tired of Lex Luthor as Supes only nemesis in these films.
I thought Brandon Routh was a fine Superman, but Lois Lane was terribly miscast. I can't even remember the actress' name. Spacey was fine, but he's essentially doing a riff on Hackman's portrayal.
As much as I love the Donner films(watch the Donner cut of Superman 2), Superman needed a reboot, a fresh take for a new generation. And Singer's film did none of that. It was a film whose heart and head was in another time.
cress writes:
on February 10th, 2013 at 3:06:35 PM

"You will believe a man can fly"...sorry
Stapes writes:
on February 10th, 2013 at 3:26:39 PM

You failed to mention the epicly awful time capsule that was the quest for peace, cress.
minkowski writes:
on February 10th, 2013 at 3:27:51 PM

Translation: I got sucker punched by Christopher Nolan. End story.
cress writes:
on February 10th, 2013 at 3:33:46 PM

@Stapes. That Golan Globus abortion is a masterpiece of sh*t cinema.
Verde writes:
on February 10th, 2013 at 3:49:14 PM

Singer you son of a bitch, X-men was a piece of sh*t and you made Superman look even more boring than it was supposed... who would have thought you got replaced
Deaft0ne writes:
on February 10th, 2013 at 4:22:44 PM

@mink

I had already seen Looper and Flight, both solid movies.

What I ended up doing was downloading Dredd and Karl Urban was a hell of s lot of fun to watch as the titular protagonist.

I followed that up by seeing Bullet to the Head earlier this afternoon and now I am watching Harry Brown starring My Cocaine on Crackle.
Deaft0ne writes:
on February 10th, 2013 at 4:23:23 PM

a^
minkowski writes:
on February 10th, 2013 at 4:24:34 PM

^^Harry Brown was a lot of fun, but I saw it years and years ago.

I'll watch Dredd soon when I get a chance since everyone refuses to admit it's action-gore-porn and swears it's awesome, or something.
tolgaboy writes:
on February 10th, 2013 at 4:25:03 PM

Singerman guymen you f:::kt the greatest hero in the world you moron
Deaft0ne writes:
on February 10th, 2013 at 4:36:30 PM

Yeah Harry Brown is good so far. It's very somber but I understand his warpath is the last 30 minutes or so.

Dredd is like an ultraviolent weird dream. That's the best way I can describe it and it is FAR removed from the Sly trainwreck.
pornfly writes:
on February 10th, 2013 at 6:07:09 PM

Its a logical but unfortunate conclusion to think a movie is overrated.
When one doesnt see a movie when its released whether its from not being able to or youre just born too late
You hear and read peoples opinions and movie quotes over time and the hype is near impossible to justify.

Of course youll think the party sucked when youre tardy to the party or you get to the party and youre too young to get in
Deaft0ne writes:
on February 10th, 2013 at 6:09:17 PM

Ur a cool guy pornfly
minkowski writes:
on February 10th, 2013 at 6:17:19 PM

Yep. Pornfly is the Lance Armstrong of WorstPreviews.
Deaft0ne writes:
on February 10th, 2013 at 6:20:15 PM

Lol mink I just finished Hairy Brown and it was incredibly hilarious how brutal My Cocaine became.
pornfly writes:
on February 10th, 2013 at 6:21:51 PM

I swear my statement was a lucid one!

Sheryl Crowes' fried egg boobs will back me up
Deaft0ne writes:
on February 10th, 2013 at 6:25:05 PM

Its ok to b lifted pf
DRzFiNe$T writes:
on February 10th, 2013 at 6:35:28 PM

@ Cress

I kinda agree with u there..I actually thought Superman Returns was a good movie..it wasnt "terrible".. but it was "outdated"..i think thats what hurt it..as u said, it needed to be re-introduced to a new generation in a new fresh way but Singer was too in love with the donner universe of superman to completely make it fresh and new..its ironic sort of..it was meant to be the start of a new series yet instead it ended up being the closing gap of the donner universe..and if u love Superman the movie and superman 2 then i guess it serves as an honorable closure to those movies if u ignore superman 3 and 4
Ranger writes:
on February 10th, 2013 at 6:45:29 PM

@cress - re: your review. I couldn't have said it better myself.
Deaft0ne writes:
on February 10th, 2013 at 6:50:23 PM

S Returns was ok for being a real Superman III but Singer sh*t the bed.
Champ1432 writes:
on February 10th, 2013 at 7:04:30 PM

I don't think I could say it much better than a few others have.

Superman Returns wasn't terrible, just a few bad spots held it down (another Luthor go-round, the kid, etc.).

I also didn't like Bosworth as Lois Lane.

Hopefully Man of Steel can re-ignite the series, not just for the sake of Superman but for the sake of Justice League.
minkowski writes:
on February 10th, 2013 at 7:07:07 PM

Meh. All this talk about time and space. Please. Singer's Superman film would have been decent if it hadn't suffered from the indescribable "something" that pervades all his films. A listlessness. A deadened sense of timing. I can't really explain it. I mean, Superman didn't do much, true. No villain to battle except Luthor, whose entire ambition was to build a continent in the ocean. No Doomsday, no Brainiac, no Mongul. Just Spacey aping Hackman.

I think if they had dropped the kid, given Superman a proper villain, and revised the Lois Lane character to better fit the original's tender interior and tough can-do Modern Woman exterior, than I think people would have enjoyed the film a hell of a lot more than they did.

In fact, I think the ONLY thing that went right with SR was Routh's Superman, so I disagree with all of you who say Donner's particular incarnation of Supes is "outdated", when especially if you consider all the redone retro horrors and whatnot that go on to bank despite being somewhat quaint, like that Cabin in the Woods crap.


Whatever. I just think you're wrong, because The Artist, being black and white and silent and sent to a limited number of theaters and screenings (about 1/3 those of SR) still made an impressive 1/3 of what SR made.

So maybe it's not that SR is, was "outdated", but maybe it was just boring and insipid?
Deaft0ne writes:
on February 10th, 2013 at 7:17:58 PM

@mink

You kinda TL;DR that last post but I feel like bs made an effort on SR.
minkowski writes:
on February 10th, 2013 at 7:28:51 PM

I think he did too, and I think most of the film's problems lie with the script, which Singer didn't write.

Always funny how we often credit the director of a film when it fails, and credit the producer either when it succeeds (a Michael Bay/Steven Spielberg Production) or when we think the director's name can't fill the seats.
DRzFiNe$T writes:
on February 10th, 2013 at 7:50:00 PM

@ Mink

Perhaps "outdated" was too strong of a word..I love what Donnor did..dont get me wrong..I can still watch Superman the movie and superman 2 to this day and enjoy them..what i probably should have said was that its a "classic" version of Superman..a simple old school classic version of the hero that ppl from a certain generation enjoyed..that today's kids may not appreciate or enjoy as much..what i also meant by outdated was for example Lex Luther..there is no modern luther of the last 20 some years that havnt been put in the big screen yet..the corporate evil scheming Lex..not the criminal that hides out with lesser goons like Otis or Kal Penn..although i do enjoy that..but i'd like to see the version that is the guy sitting on top of LexCorp.
pornfly writes:
on February 10th, 2013 at 8:22:30 PM

lol thanks DEAFT
i like your Crackle joke

i would never turn off my x-ray vision if i crashed on Earth and was found by Diane Lane
cress writes:
on February 10th, 2013 at 9:11:25 PM

@DrZ & Ranger. Thanks
minkowski writes:
on February 10th, 2013 at 10:44:28 PM

@DRzFiNe$T:

I agree with your points and I wonder why they felt the need to go with Lex again anyway. Could have introduced a far more intimidating villain and then perhaps brought in a more fiercesome and less buffoonish Lex in the sequel.



I also think people forget the hand Siegel's family had in the 2006 fiasco, which is IIRC, a huge reason WB didn't do a fresh reboot.

Anyway, I certainly don't think SR is outdated. Perhaps there's too much of that deference to the Donner vision, too much ancestral baggage, but for me, that's certainly NOT the reason the film sucks.

But to each his own as usual, I guess.
Ranger writes:
on February 11th, 2013 at 12:31:19 AM

1. The bastard kid.
2. Lois was a bitch (as always).
3. Lex was a buffoon.
4. Clark and Supes showing up at the same time after 5 years.

Otherwise, the jet rescue was fab. as were the bullet to the eye, and flying in front of the mini-gun. Seeing/haring a bit o' Brando again, John Williams music, Supes holding up the car in 'Action Comics #1 (1938) - cover fashion, flying through the building, and even Routh... all good. Still... I think we've all grown up enough to see a 'realistic' Superman for a change. Real alien trying to fit in, find his place on this adoptive planet of his. Learning his responsibility. Knowing he can't be everywhere at the same time to save all things, and living with that.
minkowski writes:
on February 11th, 2013 at 1:07:01 AM

^^^Yeah, but what the f*ck is *realistic* about a comic book for Christ's sake? That's the ENTIRE point of having them, the lack of realism, the freefall into fantasy.

Besides, who the f*ck can say what's realistic about a guy in blue plastic pajamas and China's flag on his back flying around battling bald CEO's and aliens escaping from bathroom mirrors?


All this *realism* is just STUPID, and even more stupid when you consider how new it is, and how we all did just fine without it for decades.

There's NOTHING realistic about Superman. Maybe Batman, but not Superman. Demanding "realism' for this fantastical character not only defies belief, it entirely undermines the entire existential point of Superman and his and all comics themselves.


You guys are STRANGE. On one hand you whine and pine for ancient movies like Die Hard, which wasn't all that damned realistic either, and on the other hand you decry older comic book movies because the titular character isn't some mopey-dopey dour dude estranged-from-the-world young adult still battling superhuman bedwetting and supersonic premature ejaculation.

f*ck.
minkowski writes:
on February 11th, 2013 at 1:08:33 AM

At some point this Nolanism of fantasy is going to hit a brick wall, ab absurdum, and people are going to wonder just where the f*ck we all took a wrong turn at Albuquerque.
TheSkippySpartan writes:
on February 11th, 2013 at 4:01:53 AM

http://imgur.com/gallery/r3s4V

High res shots of Superman, Jor EL, Zod and Faora collectable figures
TheSkippySpartan writes:
on February 11th, 2013 at 4:01:55 AM

http://imgur.com/gallery/r3s4V

High res shots of Superman, Jor EL, Zod and Faora collectable figures
TheSkippySpartan writes:
on February 11th, 2013 at 4:06:26 AM

http://imgur.com/gallery/r3s4V

Some hi res shots of Superman, Jor El, Zod and Faora collectable figures
Deaft0ne writes:
on February 11th, 2013 at 9:23:45 AM

@bane

lmao yeah that was great!
minkowski writes:
on February 11th, 2013 at 11:22:34 AM

I guess I should have added yesterday, not that there's anyone on this thread still reading, that Superman Returns isn't outdated, it's that they made a direct sequel movie to a movie most people sitting in theaters 2006 hadn't ever seen.

Same thing with Tron Legacy.

Lesson learned.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved