WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"X-Men" Director Bryan Singer Accused of Raping 17-Year-Old Boy
Apr 17th, 2014
Robin Williams to Return for "Mrs. Doubtfire" Sequel
Apr 17th, 2014
Jerry Bruckheimer on "Pirates of the Caribbean 5," "Top Gun 2" and "Beverly Hills Cop 4"
Apr 17th, 2014
James Franco Didn't Know He Has a Cameo in "Dawn of the Planet of the Apes"
Apr 17th, 2014
Poster for Denzel Washington's "The Equalizer" Thriller
Apr 17th, 2014
"The Amazing Spider-Man 2" Contains a Surprising Post-Credits Scene
Apr 17th, 2014
Trailer for Eli Roth's "The Green Inferno" Cannibal Horror Film
Apr 17th, 2014
Antonio Banderas Says "Puss in Boots 2" is Already Being Made
Apr 16th, 2014
"Friday the 13th" Reboot in Talks with "V/H/S" Director
Apr 16th, 2014
Sneak Peek at Marvel's "Guardians of the Galaxy"
Apr 16th, 2014
Final Trailer for "X-Men: Days of Future Past"
Apr 16th, 2014
"Sinister Six" Spin-Off May NOT Feature Classic Spider-Man Villains
Apr 16th, 2014
Leonardo DiCaprio to Star in "The Revenant" Revenge Thriller
Apr 16th, 2014
Will Ferrell, John C. Reilly and Adam McKay Re-Team for "Border Guards" Comedy
Apr 16th, 2014
Trailer for Chrloe Moretz's "If I Stay"
Apr 16th, 2014
"Fast and Furious 7" Hires Paul Walker's Brothers to Help Finish the Film
Apr 16th, 2014
Trailer for "Third Person," with Liam Neeson and James Franco
Apr 16th, 2014
Andrew Garfield Says Spider-Man is Jewish
Apr 15th, 2014
Channing Tatum Confirms Talks to Play Gambit in "X-Men" Film
Apr 15th, 2014
David Fincher to be Replaced on Steve Jobs Biopic Due to Unreasonable Requests
Apr 15th, 2014
Harrison Ford Excited to Return for "Blade Runner" Sequel
Apr 15th, 2014
Trailer for David Cronenberg's "Maps to the Stars," with John Cusack and Julianne Moore
Apr 15th, 2014
Trailer for Philip Seymour Hoffman's "God's Pocket" Thriller
Apr 15th, 2014
Trailer for Zoe Saldana's "Rosemary's Baby" TV Series
Apr 15th, 2014
Trailer for Tommy Lee Jones' "The Homesman"
Apr 15th, 2014
Trailer for Jay-Z's "Annie" Remake, With Jamie Foxx and Cameron Diaz
Apr 15th, 2014
Trailer for Ben Affleck's "Gone Girl" Thriller, Directed by David Fincher
Apr 14th, 2014
Pierce Brosnan Says He Was NOT Good Enough as James Bond
Apr 14th, 2014
"Captain America: The Winter Soldier" Remains Box Office Champ
Apr 14th, 2014
Watch Opening Battle Sequence From "X-Men: Days of Future Past"
Apr 14th, 2014
Spider-Man Battles Electro in New "The Amazing Spider-Man 2" Clip
Apr 14th, 2014
First "Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles" TV Spot Shows Splinter
Apr 14th, 2014
"Transformers: Age of Extinction" TV Spot From MTV Movie Awards
Apr 14th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Director Says Adding Son to "A Good Day to Die Hard" Was Bruce Willis' Idea

Posted: February 10th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Director Says Adding Son to "A Good Day to Die Hard" Was Bruce WillisSubmit Comment
When it was first announced that "Die Hard 5," called "A Good Day to Die Hard," will revolve around John McClane (Bruce Willis) and his son (Jai Courtney), many rolled their eyes, knowing that Hollywood loves to use the "son" technique to either give new life to a dying franchise or to possibly replace the aging hero.

But according to director John Moore, adding the son to the story was not part of some Hollywood plan. "This was a story that Bruce pitched to us. He said, 'I think in this 'Die Hard' it will be good to go find my son'," he revealed at the London premiere of the movie.

Moore continued: "The son has always existed, even in the very first movie he was a little kid, if you remember. I think if the kid hadn't existed and it had been a manufactured pitch, people would be rightly cynical and go, 'Oh f*ck off.' But this is a very naturally occurring story."

Willis already said that he will be returning for a sixth installment, so the son isn't taking over for his dad quite yet.

Source: Entertainment Wise


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 26 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on February 10th, 2013 at 8:18:43 AM

Meh. If Bruce is so brillant, then let him write the next script.
boogiel writes:
on February 10th, 2013 at 8:28:54 AM

So what will be the next? his grandson?
AngryAngel writes:
on February 10th, 2013 at 9:18:49 AM

I figured after die hard 4 the son just made sense. Not a ploy by anyone. But at least this time his kid won't just get kidnapped.
Kurskij writes:
on February 10th, 2013 at 10:12:52 AM

I'll wait for the movie, thank you.
But directors are talkie these days, aren't they.
billofill writes:
on February 10th, 2013 at 11:15:10 AM

The son was originally the hacker kid in 4 but um that changed............
Gates writes:
on February 10th, 2013 at 12:03:21 PM

Gerard, I agree. The thing that made "Die Hard" great was the fact McClane was just an average NYPD cop who was at the wrong place and time in LA. He got hurt, he wasn't an expert marksman, and he didn't jump on and off fighter jets. The "craziest" thing he did in "Die Hard" was jump off the roof, only being held by a fire hose.

With all that said, I still enjoy the new movies. They are definitely not as good as the original but I think we can all agree there are hardly any movies like "Die Hard" anymore. It's sad, but true.
Tanman32123 writes:
on February 10th, 2013 at 12:08:22 PM

I concur ^

f*ck I love this franchise more then any other action franchise ever :)

I hope he goes back to being solo in Die Hard 6, Gotta love when it's jump him VS Like 12 Terrorists lol
FBO writes:
on February 10th, 2013 at 1:38:01 PM

My die hard ranking:

1
4
3
2
BadChadB33 writes:
on February 10th, 2013 at 1:58:55 PM

Ehh, we'll see if this bombs.
james236 writes:
on February 10th, 2013 at 2:20:44 PM

I can't get over the run time. Do you remember that story about the premier of the original where after fifteen minutes a guy walked out and said "boring". Because there wasn't a gunshot for eighteen minutes. How can we expect that with a 97 minute run time? I will still go in with an open mind.


I HATED the Last Stand. I'm seeing Bullet to the Head Wednesday, hope it's better. it flopped already though. I'm already questioning The Tomb.
SACdaddy writes:
on February 10th, 2013 at 2:46:33 PM

@FBO: I'm not usually someone to critique other people's opinions on movie (outside of critics) but really bro wtf you doing putting Live Free as the 2nd best Die Hard. That movie had its nuts cut off in post production, it had some lame Asian superbitch as a bad guy and a completely robotic/underused Olyphant, and worst of all it had the annoying Jewish sidekick mucking up all the action. If it weren't for Willis and a couple of decent action sequences that film would be one of the worst sequels EVER.

Gerard had it right, that movie was more cartoon than film. The Die Hard films just lost steam as they went, which is usually the norm for most long series. 1,2,3,4 with the R rating hopefully 5 can replace 3 or 4. And yes I know 3 was R but it still felt muted and not very violent, especially following the huge body count of 2.
cress writes:
on February 10th, 2013 at 3:22:21 PM

I had always hoped they would use John McClane as a spring board for the sequels. Instead, it was always him against a bunch of bad guys. Take "Speed" for example. That could've totally worked as vehicle for the John McClane character. It had a unique, quick-paced story, with great action sequences. Audiences would've got their "Die Hard-esque" thrills without it being a retread of the terrorists vs. McClane theme. The only sequel that kinda worked was "Vengeance", with its 'Simon Says' plot.
Gerard said everything about the Die Hard series perfectly.
minkowski writes:
on February 10th, 2013 at 3:25:20 PM

Even Willis is smart enough to know most people, aka kids, don't want to see grandpa fighting baddies. If only he was smart enough to realize they don't want to see Jai Courtney (who?!) either.
Verde writes:
on February 10th, 2013 at 3:32:22 PM

Moore continued: "The son has always existed, even in the very first movie he was a little kid, if you remember."

All I remember is Reginald VelJohnson and that limo driver kid.
FBO writes:
on February 10th, 2013 at 5:52:42 PM

@SAC - The quick answer is the humor. I really liked the humor.

The long answer is that I am not a fan of useless violence. Actually I am not a fan of useless anything even nudity. It's not that I have problem with either violence or nudity in movies it just has to actually be needed. Which is probably why I am not a huge fan of all the 80's action movies. Because the stories where nothing more than a vehicle to highlight blood and gore instead having a good story that used blood and gore for emotional effect.

Useless violence, like the kind in Die Hard 2, are really nothing more than displays of power and I am not terribly impressed by giant displays of power. Mostly because I am not in junior high anymore. It's a 'roid head. Sure you look strong and some people might even think you like more manly than other men but really you just have a small penis now.

Die Hard 2 was all show, no substance and a way for people with inferiority complexes to reinforce their skewed views of manliness. Live Free Die Hard, however, was fun and entertaining and didn't take itself too seriously.
FBO writes:
on February 10th, 2013 at 5:55:14 PM

It's LIKE* 'roid heads...

...some people might even think you LOOK* more manly...
minkowski writes:
on February 10th, 2013 at 6:04:00 PM

I hate Die Hard 2 because it's nothing but Die Hard 1 dressed up in a wino's dumpster wardrobe.
AngryAngel writes:
on February 10th, 2013 at 7:04:17 PM

I like the way cracked.com talks about die hard. Die hard 1 is the one that started it all. Die hard 2 was a poor attempt at a die hard. Die Hard 3 was not a die hard, but a good movie. Die Hard 4 is not a die hard and missing many key aspects of a due hard movie. Die Hards 1 and 2 for the most part stay in one place. 3 is all over New York. What's so different about 4? No Black sidekick. Die hard 5 needs a black sidekick. And a good villain. The Grubers are great. Die Hard 2s bad guy was first seen doing naked martial arts, not classy like hans. Timothy Olyphat is no Mastermind either.
pornfly writes:
on February 10th, 2013 at 8:27:43 PM

Bruce won and Armageddon was nominated for Razzie Awards?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!
SACdaddy writes:
on February 10th, 2013 at 8:57:52 PM

@FBO: I get that and appreciate it. I'm a child of the 80s so you must forgive my bloodlust but as AA said 2 still embodied the principles of the first film. LF isn't a Die Hard film. Its all over the place, has ridiculously unbelievable villains, and has no balls whatsoever. Say what you want to say about manliness in 80s films, but just compare it to what we have now. Its not like they replaced that machismo with context and plot. They just muted the violence with shaky camerawork and CGI effects. LAME. I'm all for substance, but it finding it now beneath the layer of million FX and p*ssy narratives is even harder than it was in the 80s. And wasn't that funny imo. But to each his own.
SACdaddy writes:
on February 10th, 2013 at 8:59:45 PM

Forgive the mistakes, its a lazy sunday and I'm a little drunk.
FBO writes:
on February 10th, 2013 at 9:17:42 PM

Hhaha, you've got a seriously solid point there SAC. It's been a crazy long time since Hollywood knew how to write a story with content.

Hollywood sucks
minkowski writes:
on February 11th, 2013 at 12:27:56 AM

"2 still embodied the principles of the first film."

lol, well that's one way to put it.



Die Hard 2: true to the original Die Hard 1 formula, sh*tty, sh*tty film.
Tanman32123 writes:
on February 11th, 2013 at 7:52:28 AM

It's hard for me to agree or disagree with you mink, because when someone generally LOVES a franchise or.. Well anything.. They always look over the flaws..

You feel me right homie? :)
i124q writes:
on February 11th, 2013 at 8:01:00 AM

Here's a UK review of the film

http://www.denofgeek.com/movies/a-good-day-to-die-hard/24282/a-good-day-to-die-hard-uk-rating-confirmed

So it's a 12A certificate. I don't think I'll bother going to the cinema to see it then, it'll be full of kids.
Deaft0ne writes:
on February 11th, 2013 at 9:31:35 AM

If 20th century Fox has any balls they will get John McTiernan to direct Old Habits Die Hard and John McClane dies at the end.

"The Goonies" Sequel is Confirmed by Director

James Cameron Gives "Avatar" Sequels Update, Comments on Arnold Schwarzenegger Rumor

"Captain America: The Winter Soldier" Remains Box Office Champ

Marvel Hints at "Iron Man 4" Development

Hugh Jackman Wants Channing Tatum to Take Over Wolverine Role

Lindsay Lohan Says She Was Almost in "The Avengers," But as Which Character?

Anthony Mackie Almost Got Arrested Signing "Captain America 2" Falcon Posters

"Guardians of the Galaxy" is Connected to "Avengers 3"

Marvel Already Set Up Films Through 2028, Lots of Spin-Offs in the Works

"Captain America 3" Directors Hint at Plot Details
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved