WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Watch 5 Minutes From "The Simpsons" and "Family Guy" Crossover Episode
Jul 29th, 2014
Sam Raimi and Bruce Campbell Developing "Evil Dead" TV Series
Jul 29th, 2014
"King Kong" Prequel Makes Offer to "Attack the Block" Director Joe Cornish
Jul 29th, 2014
Jodie Foster to Direct George Clooney in "Money Monster" Thriller
Jul 29th, 2014
Trailer For The Asylum's "The Expendables" Rip-Off, With Brigitte Nielsen and Vivica A. Fox
Jul 29th, 2014
New Poster for "The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies"
Jul 29th, 2014
Extended Restricted Trailer for "Sin City 2: A Dame to Kill For"
Jul 29th, 2014
First Photos From Ben Stiller's "Night at the Museum 3"
Jul 29th, 2014
Photos: Lots of "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Props On Display at Comic-Con
Jul 28th, 2014
"Deadpool" Movie Test Footage Leaked Online
Jul 28th, 2014
Trailer for "The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1" is Here!
Jul 28th, 2014
"Mad Max: Fury Road" Comic-Con Trailer is Here!
Jul 28th, 2014
Trailer for "Air" Sci-Fi Film, From Creator of "The Walking Dead"
Jul 28th, 2014
New Trailer for "Batman" Prequel TV Series "Gotham"
Jul 28th, 2014
Comic-Con Trailer For DC's "Constantine" TV Series
Jul 28th, 2014
"Lucy" Destroys "Hercules" at the Box Office
Jul 27th, 2014
"Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Comic-Con Trailer Leaked Online!
Jul 27th, 2014
First Look at Gal Gadot as Wonder Woman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Jul 27th, 2014
"King Kong" Prequel "Skull Island" Announced
Jul 27th, 2014
Full "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Banner Revealed
Jul 27th, 2014
"Guardians of the Galaxy" Sequel Confirmed, Release Date Announced
Jul 27th, 2014
"Godzilla 2" Announced, Three Monsters Revealed
Jul 27th, 2014
Four Character Posters for Tom Hardy's "Mad Max: Fury Road"
Jul 27th, 2014
First Look at The Thing From "Fantastic Four" Reboot?
Jul 26th, 2014
Trailer for Kevin Smith's "Tusk" Horror Film
Jul 26th, 2014
Chris Pratt Wants to Kill Iron Man in Future Marvel Film
Jul 26th, 2014
New Trailer for Daniel Radcliffe's "Horns" Supernatural Thriller
Jul 26th, 2014
First Bizarre Photo From "SpongeBob SquarePants: Sponge Out of Water" Movie
Jul 26th, 2014
First Look at Elsa From "Frozen" in "Once Upon a Time" TV Series
Jul 26th, 2014
New Trailer for "The Walking Dead" Season 5
Jul 26th, 2014
Colin Firth Gets Physical With Mark Hamill in "Kingsman: Secret Service" Photo
Jul 26th, 2014
Quicksilver, Hawkeye and Vision in New "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Posters
Jul 26th, 2014
Joaquin Phoenix in Talks for Marvel's "Doctor Strange"
Jul 26th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Astrophysicist Calculates Weight of Thor's Hammer

Posted: February 8th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Astrophysicist Calculates Weight of ThorSubmit Comment
Neil deGrasse Tyson is an astrophysicist, who has appeared on "The Universe," "Nova ScienceNow," countless talk shows, and was voted "Sexiest Astrophysicist Alive" by People magazine in 2000. But his greatest strength is to apply his knowledge to pop-culture in order to get more people interested in science. This is why he has over a million Twitter followers.

He recently was asked to approximate how much Thor's hammer, Mjolnir, would really weigh. He replied: "If Thor's hammer is made of neutron-star matter, implied by legend, then it weighs as much as a herd of 300-billion elephants."

After some quick math, it turns out that 300 billion elephants is actually 4.5 quadrillion (4,500,000,000,000,000) pounds. That may be the reason why The Hulk had so much trouble with it in "The Avengers." Then again, it looks like Tyson didn't consider that it may only be heavy when an "unworthy" person lifts it. But in Thor's hands, it goes something like this:



Source: Twitter


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 88 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on February 8th, 2013 at 8:00:57 PM

This Tyson "physicist" is a waste of time.

I've never heard the guy do any actually work in physics. No theories are named after him, none of which I'm aware anyway, but he's always mugging his diverse and politically correct face for some stupid cause or idea. I doubt the guy's even ever published a research paper, probably a high school physics teacher.

Anyway. Just wanted to throw it out there that this isn't science, it's bullsh*t, a waste of time, and an insult and whoring out of some dude because he's black and into science, supposedly.

Kind of degrading to black people, really.
cress writes:
on February 8th, 2013 at 8:05:55 PM

I like Tyson chicken.
cress writes:
on February 8th, 2013 at 8:08:17 PM

Hey Neil, can you calculate the weight of Susan Sarandon's knockers next? I always wondered what the poundage was on those beautiful udders.
minkowski writes:
on February 8th, 2013 at 8:09:03 PM

"If Thor's hammer is made of neutron-star matter, implied by legend, then it weighs as much as a herd of 300-billion elephants."


Because ancient Norse people knew how much neutron stars weigh.

Dude basically picked the most massively heavy known object in the universe and said how much would a hammer weigh if it was made of neutron star matter.

Any of us could have done that one.
cress writes:
on February 8th, 2013 at 8:25:43 PM

"...and was voted "Sexiest Astrophysicist Alive" by People magazine in 2000."

Whatever. I don't know how he beat out Stephen Hawking. I'm not gay, be he exudes super sexiness--all slouched down in his wheelchair, staring at you(well, more like off to the side) with those baby blues. And that sexy robot voice! It must have the ladies dropping their panties.
Detrimental writes:
on February 8th, 2013 at 8:27:20 PM

Wonder how long it took to find the gif.
Really. It's "creative."

But honestly, the best part of it is Chris Evans punching air. He's unleashing his inner rock star.
Stapes writes:
on February 8th, 2013 at 8:32:24 PM

Tyson schmyson, just to bolster black ego, i think the one of the only guys out there seriously working on time travel right now is a black dude ironically enough named Hammer, not so ironic is *sshole spike lee wants to make a movie about the guy.
cress writes:
on February 8th, 2013 at 8:42:28 PM

Oddly enough, this weight is nowhere near the amount of the rocks Charlie Sheen smokes on a daily basis.
pornfly writes:
on February 8th, 2013 at 8:52:10 PM

Wutta load of michio kaku
BadChadB33 writes:
on February 8th, 2013 at 8:55:37 PM

Tyson Chicken sounds good thanks Cress.
pornfly writes:
on February 8th, 2013 at 9:03:32 PM

Smokin rocks sounds good
Thx CRESS
Shimigushu123 writes:
on February 8th, 2013 at 9:07:52 PM

Ok I am a very long time lurker on this site and the comments on this section are fking retarded. I created a bullsh*t account just so I respond respond to y'all. Tyson is one of the smartest people alive to date and the fact y'all don't know who he is is just disappointing. Google him and then re-comment
pornfly writes:
on February 8th, 2013 at 9:13:29 PM

We sit corrected SHIMI
he IS sexy!
Stapes writes:
on February 8th, 2013 at 9:44:52 PM

Really shimi, ive got better things to do than listen to npr, tyson trying to sell king obama on a reinvigorated space prgram or read you virtually blowing the guy.
pornfly writes:
on February 8th, 2013 at 10:09:12 PM

^so thats not a telescope?
cress writes:
on February 8th, 2013 at 10:20:13 PM

Shim is right. We are retarded--at least I am. I have a certificate that says "Full Retard". I'm proud of that sh*t too. Well, I'm off to my basement to play with my GI Joes. Later goof troop!
cress writes:
on February 8th, 2013 at 10:26:23 PM

@PORNFLY & BADCHAD. No problem. I'm here to either fatten you up or make you lose a lot of weight. I'm on a mission from god. A retarded mission.
Jarmiez writes:
on February 8th, 2013 at 10:31:18 PM

minkowski wishes he was a physicist, its ok buddy according to that pictur your already a king...

and if we got anything from that i liked the little video clip of the failed attempt at a catch, and i also liked knowing how much the hammer weighed, and to b fair minkowski how much of a physicist are you, it was a fun question and bringing actual science to unreal characters is awesome u r just a sourpuss bc hes the sexiest physicist alive
minkowski writes:
on February 8th, 2013 at 10:36:15 PM

"i think the one of the only guys out there seriously working on time travel right now is a black dude ironically enough named Hammer"

You mean the black dude trying to get back to his dad? Yeah, I know. A black guy with a father.

Maybe he'll actually succeed in building a time machine since he's already batting a trillion to one, right?




To shimi: you're an idiot. I know who he is, and he's hardly one of the smartest people alive. Name one thing he's done to earn that appellation. Just one.

Weighing Thor's hammer isn't one, btw.
minkowski writes:
on February 8th, 2013 at 10:45:47 PM

@Jarmiez: lol. Sourpuss because I call it like I see it? Because this fat black guy was essentially invented to get black people interested in science instead of shooting each other?

Leonard Susskind, now there's a physicist, but he doesn't even have a twitter or Facebook account because he's a real scientist doing REAL science, instead of calculating the mass of Thor's dildo for the moronic masses, of which you apparently count yourself.

Anyway, I'll bring my lame attempt at humor to the next thread that doesn't greatly diminish, cheapen and insult something I love.
cress writes:
on February 8th, 2013 at 11:07:15 PM

I think Shim's comment was intended for the Paul Walker thread.
minkowski writes:
on February 8th, 2013 at 11:08:43 PM

lol.
Rambo writes:
on February 8th, 2013 at 11:13:23 PM

That's it.I'm done with this site.

bye.
minkowski writes:
on February 8th, 2013 at 11:16:10 PM

6^You have to stay, dude, or who else will bring us hot redheaded bitches each and every day?
BadChadB33 writes:
on February 8th, 2013 at 11:37:14 PM

Cress - I use to be on a mission from God until he put a restraining order on me.
Ranger writes:
on February 8th, 2013 at 11:56:19 PM

Thor's hammer is actually weightless... to him.

It's my cack that weighs 300 billion elephants.
Ranger writes:
on February 9th, 2013 at 12:05:16 AM

And Thor's hammer isn't a weight thing. It's enchanted. It's the whomever be worthy, kinda thing. So... I could lift it (with my cack)... were I worthy (I'm not, but my heavy cack is).
boogiel writes:
on February 9th, 2013 at 12:09:34 AM

who gives a sh*t.
minkowski writes:
on February 9th, 2013 at 12:18:39 AM

I feel like chicken tonight!!
pornfly writes:
on February 9th, 2013 at 12:22:10 AM

Play this and watch Capt. America
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HZGMVKaLLOI&feature=youtube_gdata_player

The actual full length vid with AVIREXs pops, i could watch all day
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TId2NDiuu2s&feature=youtube_gdata_player

LOLCRESS
Ranger writes:
on February 9th, 2013 at 12:31:15 AM

@mink - I had chicken today.
minkowski writes:
on February 9th, 2013 at 12:35:47 AM

^^When you say chicken, you mean chicken right and not some code word for "dead hooker"?
Ranger writes:
on February 9th, 2013 at 12:37:01 AM

No, real chicken... this time.
minkowski writes:
on February 9th, 2013 at 12:40:19 AM

^^Just had to check, Mr Folgers.
Ranger writes:
on February 9th, 2013 at 5:12:22 AM

lol.
Daigoro writes:
on February 9th, 2013 at 6:42:37 AM

8 clean grabs at it! in AFL thats a mark lol
SACdaddy writes:
on February 9th, 2013 at 6:59:40 AM

Lol, Yeah screw this guy for trying to get people interested in science. Remember he's black so he must have a liberal agenda (even though he worked for the Bush administration) and any knowledge he's gained over the years he must have stolen....right Ranger?

I'm actually surprised Mink was able to jump on this thread so quickly this time. Upon seeing a black astrophysicist I figured his head would have exploded like that white supremacist when he found out Clayton Bigsby was black.
SACdaddy writes:
on February 9th, 2013 at 7:09:17 AM

Nice work Alex. I imagine this thread would have been pretty boring if you hadn't included a picture of the scientist.
Kurskij writes:
on February 9th, 2013 at 10:46:38 AM

Cool.
Now that you've calculated the mass of Thor's hammer, tell me the mass and physics behind Cap's shield necessary to hold a blow (sic) with it.
SACdaddy writes:
on February 9th, 2013 at 11:08:28 AM

If we can get passed his skin color for a minute here are a couple of fun facts about Tyson that are relative to this site:

He actually got James Cameron to change Titanic from its original major release. (Skip to 26mins to hear how)

http://www.anonymousfo.com/doc*mentaries/SpaceDocs/CosmicQuandariesWithDrNeildeGrasseTyson.html

He also loves Deep Impact and Nolan's Batman films.
minkowski writes:
on February 9th, 2013 at 11:32:57 AM

He got Cameron to change one f*cking scene in Titanic. Why? The stars in that particular scene weren't accurate for that night.

Wow. I think I could have done that with RedShift, or whatever they had back then, since stars change position in the sky so excruciating slowly...

I hear his next incredible feat is to make Bay change that scene in Dark of the Moon, the one with the flipping robots, because we all know robots don't do gymnastics...


Mr. Chicken Farm is a toiler of diversity. He should be hired by Obama, another worthless toiler of diversity, to promote good feelings to Muslims.
minkowski writes:
on February 9th, 2013 at 11:36:27 AM

"even though he worked for the Bush administration"

Powell was pretty liberal too. The only conservative aspect of that man was his military upbringing, and as if Bush didn't hire more moderate people. Fact is, Tyson was hired by the government at the time Bush was in, which is a hell of a lot different than this guy being a cabinet appointee.

Get your "facts" straight, Sac.
minkowski writes:
on February 9th, 2013 at 11:42:33 AM

"Yeah screw this guy for trying to get people interested in science."

Why? Can't black people get interested in science without some token negro? I did. Why can't they? Not good enough? Seriously. Drop the bag of crack and the gun and pick up a book. It's a lot easier than wielding Thor's hammer.



"Upon seeing a black astrophysicist I figured his head would have exploded like that white supremacist when he found out Clayton Bigsby was black."

I already knew about this fool a long time ago, probably before YOU.

Next thing I know, you'll say I hate Asians for ridiculing that media hack imbecile Michio Kaku.

Besides, I can't afford a nice white sheet just for lynchings. I only have a lowly, lowly bathrobe.


You're so dumb and pretentious, Sac. I know you're from Texas, from Austin, and that makes you dump and pretentious by default, but give it up. Drop the act and realize you're not even remotely as special as you think, even if you live in the Union's sh*ttiest state.
minkowski writes:
on February 9th, 2013 at 11:43:53 AM

dumb.
minkowski writes:
on February 9th, 2013 at 11:49:49 AM

"I figured his head would have exploded like that white supremacist when he found out Clayton Bigsby was black."



Just keep calling me a racist, Sac. I'm sure it'll make the truth go away. Besides, it's all you can do, apparently.

Must suck having to have that chip on your shoulder, being black and all, living down there in the heart of America's most conservative state, with all those hillbilly racist crackers. Must really suck. For you.
SACdaddy writes:
on February 9th, 2013 at 2:24:35 PM

Lol, like anyone needs me to point out your racism. I just do it to give other readers alternative to your narrow train of thought.

You're the one making allegations of liberal motives and questioning Tyson's credentials and popularity. Alex's article never implied or brought any of that up. You chose to make this about the race of the scientist and not about the topic he was referencing. But that's how it usually goes with you whenever a black person
is involved in a thread on this site.

Alex told you why Tyson was relevant. He has a unique ability to break down science that may otherwise be too complex or out of the social norm to relatively understandable terms. He does this to ignite interest in science and build people's understanding in the universe. It doesn't matter which race he influences just as long as people in general benefit from this greater understanding of things.
SACdaddy writes:
on February 9th, 2013 at 2:31:47 PM

You also say he's a waste of time because he hasn't published research papers or a theory. So I guess you're a waste of time by those standards too.

SACdaddy writes:
on February 9th, 2013 at 2:45:32 PM

I put link to his Cosmic Quandaries interview on an earlier post. That interview was not done at a Black university, no one asking him the questions on the panel was black. In fact I didn't hear one question or reference to anyone's race the whole time I was tuned in. So why do you automatically assume that this guys whole purpose in life is to get only black people interested in science. The man wanted to be an astrophysicist from the age of 10. There was no alternative agenda involved.
minkowski writes:
on February 9th, 2013 at 3:05:01 PM

You're an idiot, Sac, as always, and I'll tell you why, point by point, so please try to pay attention, if you can afford the mental energy.

Here we go.




"Lol, like anyone needs me to point out your racism."

Lol, like anyone needs to understand the definition of racism any more when we can just label anyone with a politically incorrect viewpoint a card-carrying member of the KKK just to shut them up and shut them down, right, but then we say from the other side of our mouths "tolerance, tolerance!", whereas I prefer Chomsky's take:

If we don't believe in freedom of expression for people we despise, we don't believe in it at all.


Thing is, you may believe in free expression, but you're immune to it's consequences.










"I just do it to give other readers alternative to your narrow train of thought."

Yes, because a black guy swooping in like a starving hawk with mucho gusto every single time someone says something concerning black people really screams open-mindedness and no agenda, right, but hey, you are WorstPreviews' very own token black guy, so I can understand the limited kneejerk deference you seem to occasionally earn.

It just seems to me you're afraid people might hear the truth, Sac, or at least a different side to the story to which most people are mindlessly inculcated nowadays.














"You're the one making allegations of liberal motives and questioning Tyson's credentials and popularity."

They're not allegations, they're obvious and common sense conclusions arrived at by a mind not steeped in the nonsensical ideology people such as yourself pass off as "thinking", which I can tell isn't something you do very often.

You know, think.














"Alex's article never implied or brought any of that up."

So we're deferring to the factual content of a WorstPreviews article, now, the same website that makes claims based on something Alex saw in a fifty year old comic book or a f*cking toy from 2002? Right? Is that the basis of your appeal to authority, because if you believe I should rely on what Alex throws out there to facilitate my opinion, you're twice as foolish as you look.













"You chose to make this about the race of the scientist and not about the topic he was referencing."


Actually, Cro-Magnon Man, aka "Texan", I addressed very specifically the idiotic and worthless topic, going so far as to say in general how he came to his idiotic conclusion, to whit, Tyson used the known mass of a neutron star per given volume and compared that to the supposedly known volume of Thor's hammer, or more directly, he said Thor's hammer is ridiculously heavy, thus it must be made out of neutron matter, but in his mad rush to look smart he made two mistakes: a) he claimed ancient people "implied" Mjolnir was made of neutron matter even though they didn't have a clue with respect to stellar evolution, and b), if the damned hammer had been made of what he says, it would have crushed through the earth's f*cking crust into the core.

Tyson is a pop-cultural IDIOT.

Only then did I address the fact he's a f*cking liberal media invention, and I think he is and I think it's pretty f*cking obvious.














"But that's how it usually goes with you whenever a black person
is involved in a thread on this site."

Probably because most black people discussed on this site are either f*cking sh*tty rappers pretending to be talented actors and directors, or celebrity retard morons like this Tyson fag, but then again, I've had nothing but love for Denzel, so that refutes your claim of "usually", as he's the most talked about black person on this site.

Then again, you're obviously allergic to intellectual honesty, as usual.

f*ckhead racist.
















"Alex told you why Tyson was relevant."

And I told you why he isn't. Who the f*ck you going to believe? The f*cker who lies in every article and bombards your computer with browser choking ads and spyware, or the knowledgeable *sshole who always, always tells the truth no matter how painful.

Oh, but that's right Sac. You can't handle the truth. You're a mental weakling, using politically correct tropes and an emotional and intellectual crutch like an old lady uses Jesus to stave off her fear of death.

Well, good luck with that, Ms. Daisy.

















"He has a unique ability to break down science that may otherwise be too complex or out of the social norm to relatively understandable terms."

lol! Sure he does, but oddly enough people like Paul Davies, Kip Thorne, Stephen Hawking, and a million other far more brilliant WHITE scientists don't have Twitter and Facebook followings and aren't being mugged constantly by a left-wing media enraptured by their latest religion, aka "diversity", right?

f*ck, Davies was explaining science to the morons DECADES before Tyson arrived, and Davies was never whored out by the media, and hell, Davies can explain the most difficult concepts in terms a baby can comprehend.


By the way, Sac, something you should know: Tyson stole that white neutron star matter comparison from other scientists. It isn't his. In fact, it's really, really old. I heard the comparison back in the f*cking 90s.

Astrophysicist or not, Tyson's stardom a f*cking FRAUD, an invention of the media for ideological means. Period. End of f*cking story. But believe what you want, Retardimus Prime.














"He does this to ignite interest in science and build people's understanding in the universe."


Sure, and getting paid far better than he could ever earn naming stars in a career devoid of much, or any, real accomplishment wouldn't have sh*t to do with it either, right?

Of course not!











"It doesn't matter which race he influences just as long as people in general benefit from this greater understanding of things."


Motive ALWAYS MATTERS, pun intended, to people who prefer the truth over well-crafted illusion and self-serving delusion, but again, neither is for you, obviously.


Good day to you.
minkowski writes:
on February 9th, 2013 at 3:06:52 PM

"You also say he's a waste of time because he hasn't published research papers or a theory. So I guess you're a waste of time by those standards too."

Only if I'm a fat black dork who claims to be an astrophysicist with a million Twitter followers and a compulsion to dumb science down so far it's actually incorrect and damned near nonsensical, like the hammer thing.

Oh wait, that's not me.
minkowski writes:
on February 9th, 2013 at 3:14:12 PM

"I put link to his Cosmic Quandaries interview on an earlier post. That interview was not done at a Black university, no one asking him the questions on the panel was black. In fact I didn't hear one question or reference to anyone's race the whole time I was tuned in."


lol. And Barack Obama wasn't elected in large part by white people chomping at the chance to disavow their racism and cleanse their wicked souls, right?

Of course not.



"So why do you automatically assume that this guys whole purpose in life is to get only black people interested in science."


...because I didn't, Straw Man. I never said any of that. I said he was largely invented and extolled by a largely white media. Maybe Tyson started his stupid rush to dumb down science for the mouthbreathers, but he would have NEVER got to where he is without white people rushing to support him in their cathartic question to purge them and evil wicked white society of racism, because damned, if they can't elevate that rare black scientist to mythical status, how else will the world see the redemptive power of progressive's religion of diversity, right?




"The man wanted to be an astrophysicist from the age of 10. There was no alternative agenda involved."

Who the f*ck said his goal of being an astrophysicist was, is part of some kind of agenda? I clearly didn't, so you're a f*cking LIAR, which is my first suspicion, or you're just downright stupid. Which is it? Is it deliberate?





You should go work in Washington, Sac, because that's where all the other dumb intellectual crooks go.
minkowski writes:
on February 9th, 2013 at 3:18:50 PM

Oh, and the entire Sexiest Astrophysicist thing isn't just f*cking repulsive, it isn't just the nadir of America's idiotic "popularization" of science, it's downright sick and very wrong too, because Lisa Randall is the sexiest scientist alive, but she isn't f*cking black.

http://img.timeinc.net/time/time100/2007/images/lisa_randall.jpg


f*cker.
minkowski writes:
on February 9th, 2013 at 3:24:43 PM

Hey Sac, if all that's too much for your mind, let me put it all into a media you can better comprehend.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=saemBRFp7_4
minkowski writes:
on February 9th, 2013 at 3:27:19 PM

question=quest.
SACdaddy writes:
on February 9th, 2013 at 4:22:53 PM

"This Tyson "physicist" is a waste of time.

I've never heard the guy do any actually work in physics. No theories are named after him, none of which I'm aware anyway, but he's always mugging his diverse and politically correct face for some stupid cause or idea. I doubt the guy's even ever published a research paper, probably a high school physics teacher.

Anyway. Just wanted to throw it out there that this isn't science, it's bullsh*t, a waste of time, and an insult and whoring out of some dude because he's black and into science, supposedly.

Kind of degrading to black people, really."

Just to remind people through all this BS what you actually said. If your problem is with the media putting a black face on astrophysics fine. But don't tell me its to guilt white people into learning more about science. That's just "dumb" as you would put it. If you were to tell me the media created him to build a bigger market for science based entertainment then that would be a different story all together. In fact I'd agree, he's actually a great salesperson for science. There would be a point or an end game to it, but guilting people to learn more is pointless.

You're right, great scientific minds have been trying to popularize science for a long time, but if you don't have the tools and (more importantly) the timing to convey the message effectively to the masses outside of your peers the effectiveness is lessened. The end result is all I care about. Sagan had a radio show for years and several publications, but look at the science entertainment market now. There's probably 20-30 different tv shows completely based on science, whole networks exist surrounding it now, and even late night radio is steeply based in psuedo scientific programming. Sagan and others helped this result, but people like Tyson are at the forefront of popularizing it. Why, because he's able to convey Sagan, Hawking, Einstein's work in relative terms the masses understand. That's not exactly dumbing things down as much as it is being an effective teacher. In the longrun its the end result that matters most. If the people of this country (just saying that because I don't know the level of exposure elsewhere), young or old, get a better understanding or just become more curious because of it, we'll all be better off. Things like religion, prejudice, and fear can't hold us back as much with the greater knowledge and problem solving this instills. sh*t drop Tyson and replace him with a hot blonde with big tits for all I care. if people get smarter because of it then I'm good. I don't understand why you or anybody else would have a problem with that.
SACdaddy writes:
on February 9th, 2013 at 4:45:06 PM

As for influencing inner city kids, people like Tyson are very important. Not because of his skin color, but because of the way he chooses to influence. In that Cosmic interview I posted Tyson breaks down how he and other eventually changed the scientific community's thinking about Pluto's classification as a planet. He broke down what led to the change and the evidence that led to it. He caught a lot of flack from educators for eliminating it from the planet classification it had held for years, mostly because of how they had taught their students to "learn" or memorize it to pass a test. But Tyson emphasized that teaching to pass a test was not learning or real science. Using scientific method he was able to group Pluto based on its properties and not on our comforts.

That type of educating is extremely important in the inner cities where children are being "taught" to pass a test while not learning much at all about problem solving or the scientific method. To be honest its important to all budding minds but kids in more influential schools are not as burdened with this test teaching style of education.
minkowski writes:
on February 9th, 2013 at 4:45:33 PM

I have a problem with it because it's dishonest, because it's done for the wrong reasons, but you have a far more Machiavellian view: the end justifies the means, and in this case, the end isn't either determined or even viable, as I doubt using comic book allusions is going to divest kids of ignorance and invest in them a love of science.

I mean, can you name even one person who went on to become an actual scientist because of Tyson? Even just one?? Maybe. Maybe a few.

But all in all, it comes down to motive. I know why he's popular, and it's not because he's "smart". It's because he's black and because people think he's hip and cool and "diverse". And "sexy".

So part leftwing/liberal ideology (we just have to have a black guy in here!!! Look, here he is now!!!!) and part media stupefying and debasing science, like they've done with news reporting and pretty much every other anything they've touched.


Sad thing is, like I said, the Chinese, the Koreans, they don't have some black guy dumbing science down, sexing it up, and they're BLOWING Americans away in science and math.

Another thing: if you're too damned dumb to learn real science, learning a really idiotic rendition and comic book version of it from some talking mannequin like Tyson isn't going to improve matters for you.

And when kids realize they aren't weighing Thor's hammer but instead computing long tedious masses and integrals and whatnot, they're going to be annoyed and pissed, because you sold them candy and now they have to eat a mountain of sh*t instead.



On the other hand, if Tyson were to say limit his interests to Sesame Street, then in all seriousness I'd say he has a genuine, albeit limited, use.



Finally, like I also said, people, REAL scientists, have been popularizing science for decades. Decades and decades. Long before this Kevin Clash look-alike came along, and none of them had a fawning media coterie with a hidden ulterior motive behind them, and they didn't need it, and America was leading the world in science and math.

So...think about that, maybe.
minkowski writes:
on February 9th, 2013 at 4:46:58 PM

"As for influencing inner city kids, people like Tyson are very important. Not because of his skin color, but because of the way he chooses to influence"

You're right. Inner city urban black kids don't care if you're white or black, all they care about is the message, and you know this because you live in lily white liberal Austin and not ghetto urban sh*tholes like Memphis, right?
minkowski writes:
on February 9th, 2013 at 4:57:55 PM

"In that Cosmic interview I posted Tyson breaks down how he and other eventually changed the scientific community's thinking about Pluto's classification as a planet. He broke down what led to the change and the evidence that led to it. He caught a lot of flack from educators for eliminating it from the planet classification it had held for years, mostly because of how they had taught their students to "learn" or memorize it to pass a test. But Tyson emphasized that teaching to pass a test was not learning or real science. Using scientific method he was able to group Pluto based on its properties and not on our comforts."


Wow. He did all that huh? Made Pluto into a non-planet, because of what, exactly? Composition? Size? Distance? Location?

So someone arbitrarily defined the word planet and then said "Pluto ain't one.".

And this has what to do with tests, exactly? Because kid's were told to memorize nine planets and some guy like Tyson comes in and arbitrarily takes what they thought they knew and turns it upside down, and for what?

What did demoting Pluto do? Nothing. Did the kid's get smarter? No. Just more confused with nothing gained.

But I get your point. Rote memorization of facts and passing tests isn't all their is, but it's damned more than nothing, and that's what most black inner city kids have as far as education go.

Funny thing is, rote memorization and tests were more than enough for the finest minds of Western civilization, but someone like Tyson comes in and says "you're being too hard on them. If they say 2+2=5, give 'em credit for creative thinking, because memorizing answers and passing tests is bullsh*t, especially for dummies like them".


To be honest, I have no idea what you or Tyson is trying to say. Passing tests is the only way to gauge learning. Memorization is the only way to store facts and develop an intellectual worldview. Sure, thinking and imagination are very important, but without the structure of memorization and testable knowledge, it's just mental masturbation, and that's EXACTLY what this guy's expose on Thor's hammer resembles.


Finally:

"But Tyson emphasized that teaching to pass a test was not learning or real science."


No, of course not, but if you're just prepping kids to pass tests without them learning the material then they've already failed. Teaching them the concepts, the known facts, and then testing them to see what they remember, what they've learned, though, is the only known way to educate, really, so sure, if they're telling the kids to learn the answers, then these so-called teachers are just creating soulless vending machines of information.
SACdaddy writes:
on February 9th, 2013 at 5:00:19 PM

Hey Sac, if all that's too much for your mind, let me put it all into a media you can better comprehend.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=saemBRFp7_4

You know the only racial thing I've heard Tyson reference has something to do with this. He once said that he never really considered his race because in the logical way he thinks of things it was irrelevant. That is until he had his first tv program on PBS back in the early 90s. He said upon seeing himself on TV he finally realized that there weren't anymore black scientists on TV or Radio. Furthermore, the only other black images on television were entertainment related or negative. He realized that he could offer an alternative view of a black man by merely being himself and preaching scientific thinking. In the long run what does he have to offer, an intelligent, logical perspective not influenced by religion or society but by science. If there's something wrong with that then so be it.
minkowski writes:
on February 9th, 2013 at 5:03:11 PM

"That type of educating is extremely important in the inner cities where children are being "taught" to pass a test while not learning much at all about problem solving or the scientific method."


What's wrong with applying the SAME educational standards to black kids that are applied to Asians and most whites?

Why do black kids have to have some kind of prosthetic educational system to have just half a hope of competing?
minkowski writes:
on February 9th, 2013 at 5:07:21 PM

"Furthermore, the only other black images on television were entertainment related or negative. He realized that he could offer an alternative view of a black man by merely being himself and preaching scientific thinking."


Why was he thinking of himself as a black man at all? Why wasn't he thinking of himself as just a man? Why haven't black people, to this day, even tried to adopt a color blind view of the world, as King asked? Why is it always "I'm a BLACK man", and not just a man?

And don't say racism because that's bullsh*t. As white racism has declined black racism has ticked upwards.

Anyway, I never said it was Tyson's plan to exploit his melanin levels, I said it was the agenda of white people in the media who demand diversity.
SACdaddy writes:
on February 9th, 2013 at 5:11:04 PM

No, of course not, but if you're just prepping kids to pass tests without them learning the material then they've already failed. Teaching them the concepts, the known facts, and then testing them to see what they remember, what they've learned, though, is the only known way to educate, really, so sure, if they're telling the kids to learn the answers, then these so-called teachers are just creating soulless vending machines of information."

LOL!!! Why can't you just admit that you agree with me. Memorization is not learn the HOW and WHY behind things. Passing a test is one thing but all it gauges is an individual's ability to pass something he's been prepped for. Teaching problem solving is whole different thing. It gives the individual the ability to think his way through any situation whether he's prepped for it or not.

BTW I live in Austin but I grew up in inner Houston.
minkowski writes:
on February 9th, 2013 at 5:12:25 PM

"In the long run what does he have to offer, an intelligent, logical perspective not influenced by religion or society but by science. If there's something wrong with that then so be it"

If Tyson is America's best hope for reinvigorating our slumping math and science skills, we're already f*cked, but I guess you see him as some kind of educational savior to inner city black kids, and maybe he is, in some small insignificant way, but he can't save them, and he can't save America's scientific decline. If anything, the only thing propping America up in that regard is the influx of highly educated and motivated Asians.

So you see him as important, I see him as a perhaps rightly motivated but ideological exploited impotency.
SACdaddy writes:
on February 9th, 2013 at 5:12:49 PM

learning
SACdaddy writes:
on February 9th, 2013 at 5:13:33 PM

Why aren't you color blind?
minkowski writes:
on February 9th, 2013 at 5:14:20 PM

"Memorization is not learn the HOW and WHY behind things."

Buddy, it's the biggest part of learning an instrument, in learning any math discipline or any language.

So yeah, memorization is HUGELY important, educationally, it's just not the end all and be all of education. Not *quite entirely*, which was my point.
minkowski writes:
on February 9th, 2013 at 5:16:16 PM

"Why aren't you color blind?"

Ah, et toque as an ad hominem! Clever!


And I am, fundamentally in principle, it's the evil and duplicity of other people's agendas that puts ruin to my otherwise impartial vision.
SACdaddy writes:
on February 9th, 2013 at 5:16:55 PM

Not to speak for him but maybe he thought as I do, that if a group can grow in intelligence and shed its fears that all of society will benefit.
minkowski writes:
on February 9th, 2013 at 5:17:16 PM

"BTW I live in Austin but I grew up in inner Houston."

So basically you admit you've never lived inside the belly of the beast, which is quite common for people espousing such rote naivete.
SACdaddy writes:
on February 9th, 2013 at 5:18:24 PM

“For me, I am driven by two main philosophies: know more today about the world than I knew yesterday and lessen the suffering of others. You'd be surprised how far that gets you.”
― Neil deGrasse Tyson
SACdaddy writes:
on February 9th, 2013 at 5:18:58 PM

“We are all connected; To each other, biologically. To the earth, chemically. To the rest of the universe atomically.”
― Neil deGrasse Tyson
minkowski writes:
on February 9th, 2013 at 5:19:58 PM

"Not to speak for him but maybe he thought as I do, that if a group can grow in intelligence and shed its fears that all of society will benefit."

And teaching them about Pluto's demotion is going to do that?

Maybe they should put down the guns, the crack, stay married, get a f*cking GED, stay in school and out of prison, and perhaps read book or two every now and then, but hey, if you believe "teaching" kids about how Pluto isn't a planet now (another remembered fact!) and how they don't have to remember anything or worry about passing tests is going to save them, well good luck to you and Tyson with that pipedream.
SACdaddy writes:
on February 9th, 2013 at 5:21:26 PM

“Curious that we spend more time congratulating people who have succeeded than encouraging people who have not.”
― Neil deGrasse Tyson

God I love the way this guy thinks!!!
minkowski writes:
on February 9th, 2013 at 5:23:16 PM

That's great Sac. You're quoting this dude like he's Gandhi, but only after you've exhausted your limited intellectually store. Good job.

And both of his quotes sound more like New Age Eastern Zen bullsh*t than actual science. Sounds like he's spiritualizing a very spiritless discipline, never mind that his waxing on and on about being connected to the universe "atomically" is total bunk.

Right, like I care if one of my carbon atoms is identical to a carbon atom in the Andromeda galaxy. Like that "fact" defines me as a human being.

Whatever.

Have to go get something to eat.
SACdaddy writes:
on February 9th, 2013 at 5:23:47 PM

Guess you missed my point. Its about teaching them another way of thinking not just to pass a test in school but how to pass tests (like you just mentioned) in life.
minkowski writes:
on February 9th, 2013 at 5:24:50 PM

"God I love the way this guy thinks!!!"

Sure you do. It's all feel good empty rhetoric, and that's your staple, sac. Empty feel-good rhetoric, like a dude on a high instead of facing reality sober.

Well, I for one welcome our new Chinese overlords.
minkowski writes:
on February 9th, 2013 at 5:25:59 PM

"Guess you missed my point. Its about teaching them another way of thinking not just to pass a test in school but how to pass tests (like you just mentioned) in life."

Maybe just teach them how to learn like everyone else instead?
SACdaddy writes:
on February 9th, 2013 at 5:31:52 PM

It might not define you as a person but its means we're all a part of a much bigger thing and shouldn't be so jaded in beliefs. Thought you'd agree.
SACdaddy writes:
on February 9th, 2013 at 5:33:34 PM

Maybe just teach them how to learn like everyone else instead?


Teach them like everyone else and we'll talk :-)
SACdaddy writes:
on February 9th, 2013 at 5:36:03 PM

Funny I think this is the first time I've had a chance and the time to debate you outside of work and life obligations. Its been real.
minkowski writes:
on February 9th, 2013 at 6:27:08 PM

Fo sho bro.
worstuser writes:
on February 9th, 2013 at 7:46:06 PM

4,500,000,000,000,000 pounds...wow!!!

Whew! Thank goodness the earth weighs way more than that hammer and The Avengers together - 13,200,000,000,000,000,000,000,000 pounds.
darthnoah writes:
on February 10th, 2013 at 5:39:23 AM

Mink - ur a f*ckin idiot
minkowski writes:
on February 10th, 2013 at 4:26:13 PM

^^So is your mother, faggot loser. But at least *she* knows how to suck d*ck properly. You could learn a lot from her.
Blitzer_Rhames writes:
on February 10th, 2013 at 9:03:54 PM

Minkowski you are being a Critic of Tyson, and your opening statement is "I've never heard the guy do any actually work in physics."

Over an estimate on Fiction? Are you the smartest man on the internets? Yes you are! little puppy, yes you are!
Gunslinger writes:
on February 10th, 2013 at 11:12:38 PM

A million followers on Twitter. That means a million people actually give a sh*t about what he has to say. Mink wishes he could say the same about the useless drivel he spews. What? You jelly, bro?
minkowski writes:
on February 11th, 2013 at 4:54:19 PM

^^A million people give a sh*t about Lindsay Lohan, the Kardashians, Jersey Shore.

What's your point?

Thousands of People Believe Steven Spielberg Killed a Dinosaur

Joaquin Phoenix in Talks for Marvel's "Doctor Strange"

Robert Downey Jr Discusses Returning for "Iron Man 4"

"The Patriot" Actress Skye McCole Bartusiak Dead at 21

Robert Downey Jr is Hollywood's Highest Paid Actor

First "Guardians of the Galaxy" Reviews are Incredibly Positive

Marvel Announces Release Date for Five New Superhero Films

Howard the Duck to Appear in "Guardians of the Galaxy"?

"X-Men vs Justice League" Movie is Now a Possibility

Gary Oldman Comments on "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved