WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Star Trek" Actor Leonard Nimoy Dead at 83
Feb 28th, 2015
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Unveils Black Widow, Thor and Nick Fury Posters
Feb 28th, 2015
First Look at Eddie Redmayne as First Transgender Person in "The Danish Girl"
Feb 28th, 2015
Leonardo DiCaprio to Have 24 Personalities in "The Crowded Room"
Feb 28th, 2015
"Brewster's Millions" Remake Gets a Director
Feb 28th, 2015
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Unveils The Hulk Poster
Feb 27th, 2015
Director Neill Blomkamp Says His "Elysium" Film is Not Very Good
Feb 27th, 2015
Harrison Ford Confirmed for "Blade Runner 2," Director Announced
Feb 27th, 2015
Neill Blomkamp Clarifies His "Alien 5" Comments
Feb 27th, 2015
"Red Sonja" is Happening Again
Feb 27th, 2015
Neill Blomkamp's "Alien" Sequel Will Give Ripley a Proper Ending
Feb 26th, 2015
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Unveils Iron Man Poster
Feb 26th, 2015
Official "Creed" Plot Synopsis Hints at Rocky's Health Issues
Feb 26th, 2015
Four New Photos From "Fantastic Four" Reboot
Feb 26th, 2015
"Tomb Raider" Reboot Hires "Divergent" Writer
Feb 26th, 2015
Poster for Marvel's "Avengers: Age of Ultron"
Feb 25th, 2015
Arnold Schwarzenegger Says He'll Return For "Terminator Genisys" Sequel
Feb 25th, 2015
Dark "Power Rangers" Short Film with James Van Der Beek
Feb 25th, 2015
"The LEGO Movie" Sequel Announces Director
Feb 25th, 2015
Next Spider-Man Will NOT Be White?
Feb 24th, 2015
Chris Pratt Comments on Starring in "Indiana Jones 5"
Feb 24th, 2015
Rooney Mara Says "Girl With the Dragon Tattoo" Sequel is Dead
Feb 24th, 2015
New Trailer for Sean Penn's "The Gunman" Action Film, From Director of "Taken"
Feb 24th, 2015
"Fifty Shades of Grey" Still First at Box Office, "Hot Tub Time Machine 2" Bombs
Feb 23rd, 2015
Academy Award Winners Announced!
Feb 22nd, 2015
Steven Spielberg May Direct Chris Pratt in "Indiana Jones 5"
Feb 22nd, 2015
Hugh Jackman Wants to Play Wolverine Until He Dies
Feb 22nd, 2015
"Wonder Woman" Set to Begin Filming This Fall
Feb 22nd, 2015
2015 Razzie Winners Announced!
Feb 22nd, 2015
Trailer for "Infinitely Polar Bear," with Mark Ruffalo and Zoe Saldana
Feb 22nd, 2015
First Look: Jason Momoa is Aquaman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Feb 21st, 2015
Joss Whedon Blames Edgar Wright for Not Having Ant-Man in "Avengers: Age of Ultron"
Feb 21st, 2015
Jared Leto Talks Playing The Joker in "Suicide Squad"
Feb 21st, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

First Photo of Matt Damon and Michael Douglas in "Behind the Candelabra"

Posted: February 7th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
First Photo of Matt Damon and Michael Douglas in "Behind the Candelabra"Submit Comment
A few days ago, Catherine Zeta Jones appeared on "The Ellen DeGeneres Show," bringing the first photo from "Behind the Candelabra," which stars Matt Damon and her husband Michael Douglas. The actress revealed that she's jealous of Michael, because she never got to kiss Matt. Check out the photo below.

"Behind the Candelabra" is a Liberace biopic that has an incredible cast and is directed by Oscar-winner Steven Soderbergh (Traffic, Ocean's Eleven). And even though it has a budget of only $5 million, no studio was interested in taking on the project. "Nobody would make it. We went to everybody in town. We needed $5 million. Nobody would do it," said Soderbergh. "They said it was too gay."

The story takes a look at the tempestuous relationship between Liberace (Douglas) and his much younger lover Scott Thorson (Damon), from their first meeting backstage at the Las Vegas Hilton to their bitter and public break-up. HBO will air the new movie in May.

Photo: (click to enlarge)


Source: HBO, PeliBlog.com


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 36 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 5:09:37 PM

Let me be the first: "gay".
Kurskij writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 5:14:52 PM

"We needed $5 million. Nobody would do it," said Soderbergh. "They said it was too gay"

Because it needs another $20 mil. to promote the thing. and it doesn't have naked it-guys as had your other $5mil. Gay movie "Magic Mike", Steven.

Thank you for Traffic and especially Che though. They were great.
cress writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 5:25:08 PM

I bet that candelabra has poo on it.
minkowski writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 5:25:54 PM

I bet it tastes like Vaseline.
cress writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 5:26:43 PM

@Kurskij. Traffic was great. And I'm a big fan of Solaris (don't hate me people)
cress writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 5:28:36 PM

@Mink. I double dog dare you to find out. You have to do it since it's a double dog dare. Just saying...
Kurskij writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 5:30:09 PM

^actually, it was pretty great. Not to mention, ambitious. It's different from Tarkovsky (which was basically east-European 2001), but still great.
cress writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 5:35:18 PM

@Kurskij. I want to see the original, but just havent come across a decent copy of it. For me, I thought Soderbergh's version works on so many levels.
Kurskij writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 5:39:41 PM

Original is an even bigger mind f*ck. But it's worth a watch,

Also check Tarkovsky's "Mirror" if you have a chance. Paul Thomas Anderson's, Malick's, Von Trier's and a couple of other legs grow from that one.
minkowski writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 5:42:07 PM

@Cress: I believe this is it

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GG9Anstjlro&wide=1

480p. Sorry, but watchable.



As for the candelabra...f*ck you. :)
Ranger writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 5:57:36 PM

Speaking of c*m-catching.
cress writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 6:00:48 PM

@Kurskij. Cool, I'll be keen to observe his style.

@Mink. Thanks. Sorry, but no backsies on a double dog dare.

^^What am I, eight years old?
Cannon writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 6:09:18 PM


Here's the thing: I once had the same hair that Damon has in that picture. I never put my stuff in other dudes though. That's for gays.















And Liberals.
cress writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 6:11:47 PM

I have never liked Michael Douglas as an actor. There, I said it. I feel like a great weight has been lifted.
minkowski writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 6:21:47 PM

lol@cannon
Kurskij writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 6:24:18 PM

@cannon

"Gay is your way".

Or, as liberals say "Every hole needs a filling"
cress writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 6:32:04 PM

I don't get why Soderberghis retiring. He hit it big in, what was it, '88 or '89 with "Sex, Lies, and Videotape." Then he was non-existent during the 90s. He then returned with a loud splash in 2000 and 2001 with "Erin Brokovich" and "Traffic", and has become a commercial and critical success ever since. He can get ANYONE in Hollywood to work for peanuts in his films as well. He's basically had 12-13 really, REALLY successful years, and now he wants to pack it up. Is he burnt out? Is he going to do thus "art thing"
cress writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 6:35:19 PM

(cont.) that I think I read somewhere? He's at his height in Hollwood. I hope it's nit a permanent retirement. This project about Liberace sounds like sh*t, but I enjoy him as a director for the most part.
cress writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 6:36:35 PM

I really need to f*cking spellcheck.
Kurskij writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 6:40:57 PM

Cress, find it or remind me to get you a link of his interview with indiewire.

Basically, he needs a break. He wants to paint, photograph an then, probably (and I bet you it'll happen sooner rather than later) he'll get back to making movies.

Few know that "Che" was originally a Terrence Malick project, but, being an old eccentric bastard' he bailed out. So in 7 pr 8 months Soderberg re-wrote a screenplay and started filming.

He's a wonderful filmmaker, but, I guess, he needs to take some time off to pursue other interests (hopefully partying and banging HAWT bitched)
KillerCOck writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 6:54:26 PM

the dude sux and needs to Damon's *sshole some more
cress writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 7:17:38 PM

@Kurskij. I'll check out "Che" as well. It has flown under my radar. Thanks
Kurskij writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 7:23:54 PM

^try finding 6 hour cut. Grueling, but worth it as I can see you dig these kind of movies.

Plus, probably, the best acting moments of Del Toro aside from "Hand me the f*cking keys, you c*cksucker, what the fuuuck?.."
Rambo writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 7:59:58 PM

and is directed by Oscar-winner Steven Soderbergh'

correction : and is directed by the worst director in Hollywood,Steven Soderbergh
BadChadB33 writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 10:11:59 PM

How was Tatum not cast in this c*m ctach of a movie???
Ranger writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 10:38:55 PM

He used too much teeth during the audition.
BadChadB33 writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 11:10:03 PM

Yea true Ranger, Douglas gummed his way into the movie.
Avirex writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 11:56:23 PM

Is it a coincidence that both Soderbergh and Channing Tatum are taking a break from film at the same time?

http://www.eonline.com/news/368730/channing-tatum-taking-a-break-from-acting

They're obviously going to take this time to go on a gay Cruise with Bryan Singer, Ian McKellen and Tom Cruise.


Anyway, I agree with everyone else about the Che films. Fantastic set of flicks that barely received any distribution whatsoever or promotion. I remember Soderbergh fighting to make sure it was filmed in Spanish instead of English. Good move. Also, I give it bonus points for being one of the few biopic projects not to feature coke or heroine addictions. That sh*t gets old. The only bad thing I could say is that the cameos by Matt Damon and Lou Diamond Phillips took me out of the film for a few minutes. But it was great reading the "Bolivian Diary" and then seeing it adapted for film in an effective well made way.
minkowski writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 11:59:43 PM

Matt f*ckING Damon!
Avirex writes:
on February 8th, 2013 at 12:58:33 AM

http://oi49.tinypic.com/2dugyoo.jpg
Deaft0ne writes:
on February 8th, 2013 at 2:36:54 AM

@cress

2 other really good longer movies on netflix are Carlos and Mesrine.
i124q writes:
on February 8th, 2013 at 2:56:28 AM

The reach around is going to be cringe worthy to watch....
i124q writes:
on February 8th, 2013 at 2:57:37 AM

Though to be fair, Douglas is probably used to a reach aroound from Catherine while she's doing him with her strap on. Just saying.
Patrick Bateman writes:
on February 8th, 2013 at 3:00:46 AM

I do not want to see matt damon try and act gay the film will burst into flames

on a side not im running out of films to watch any obscure suggestions please
Patrick Bateman writes:
on February 8th, 2013 at 3:01:52 AM

note*
pornfly writes:
on February 8th, 2013 at 3:02:41 AM

Matt be nimble
Mike be thick
Matt got stuck on his candlestick

Joss Whedon Blames Edgar Wright for Not Having Ant-Man in "Avengers: Age of Ultron"

Will Smith Trashes "Another Earth," Vince Vaughn Trashes "The Internship"

More Details on Marvel's Spider-Man Deal, New Spider-Man to be Younger

Mark Ruffalo Discusses The Hulk in "Avengers: Age of Ultron" and in New Solo Film

It's Official: Spider-Man to Appear in Marvel Films

Matthew Vaughn Reveals His Version of Quicksilver Scene in "X-Men: Days of Future Past"

Next Spider-Man Will NOT Be White?

Director Matthew Vaughn Wanted Two Wolverines in "X-Men: Days of Future Past"

Confirmed: Neill Blomkamp Will Direct New "Alien" Film

Jared Leto Talks Playing The Joker in "Suicide Squad"
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved