WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
First Look at Jared Leto as The Joker from "Suicide Squad"!
Apr 25th, 2015
Trailer for M. Night Shyamalan's "The Visit" Thriller
Apr 25th, 2015
Trailer for "Area 51" Horror Film, From Director of "Paranormal Activity"
Apr 25th, 2015
First Look at Jamie Dornan in "Fifty Shades of Grey" Sequel
Apr 25th, 2015
Creepy Trailer for Johnny Depp's "Black Mass"
Apr 25th, 2015
First Look at Daniel Radcliffe and James McAvoy in "Victor Frankenstein"
Apr 25th, 2015
Trailer for "Barely Lethal" Action Comedy, with Hailee Steinfeld and Jessica Alba
Apr 25th, 2015
Five Actors in Talks for "Spider-Man" Reboot
Apr 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Point Break" Remake
Apr 23rd, 2015
EL James' Husband to Write "Fifty Shades of Grey" Sequel
Apr 23rd, 2015
"21 Jump Street" Directors to Helm Animated "Spider-Man" Movie
Apr 23rd, 2015
Photo: Johnny Depp is Crime Boss Whitey Bulger in "Black Mass"
Apr 23rd, 2015
First Look at Johnny Depp in "Pirates of the Caribbean 5"
Apr 22nd, 2015
New Trailer for George Clooney's "Tomorrowland" Sci-Fi Film
Apr 22nd, 2015
First Poster for M. Night Shyamalan's "The Visit" Thriller
Apr 22nd, 2015
Poster for Jake Gyllenhaal's "Southpaw" Boxing Film
Apr 22nd, 2015
New "Jurassic World" Trailer is Here!
Apr 21st, 2015
First Look at Jared Leto as The Joker From "Suicide Squad"?
Apr 21st, 2015
Photos: Marvel Putting Up Tiny "Ant-Man" Billboards
Apr 21st, 2015
"Transformers 5" Coming in 2017
Apr 21st, 2015
Photo: Full Batman Costume From "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Revealed
Apr 21st, 2015
Full "Fantastic Four" Trailer is Here!
Apr 20th, 2015
Teaser for "Star Wars" Spin-Off Film Leaked Online!
Apr 20th, 2015
Two "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Teaser Posters
Apr 20th, 2015
"Furious 7" Crosses $1 Billion at Box Office
Apr 20th, 2015
Trailer for Ridiculous "Mega Shark vs Kolossus"
Apr 20th, 2015
Chris Pratt and His Raptors in New "Jurassic World" Poster
Apr 20th, 2015
George Lucas Says Marvel May Remake "Howard the Duck"
Apr 19th, 2015
Dinosaur vs Shark in New "Jurassic World" Poster
Apr 19th, 2015
Official "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Trailer is Here!
Apr 18th, 2015
Restricted Trailer for Salma Hayek's "The Tale of Tales" Fantasy Film
Apr 18th, 2015
New Poster for Joseph Gordon-Levitt's "The Walk," Directed by Robert Zemeckis
Apr 18th, 2015
New Poster for "Jurassic World," New Trailer Coming on Monday
Apr 18th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

First Photo of Matt Damon and Michael Douglas in "Behind the Candelabra"

Posted: February 7th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
First Photo of Matt Damon and Michael Douglas in "Behind the Candelabra"Submit Comment
A few days ago, Catherine Zeta Jones appeared on "The Ellen DeGeneres Show," bringing the first photo from "Behind the Candelabra," which stars Matt Damon and her husband Michael Douglas. The actress revealed that she's jealous of Michael, because she never got to kiss Matt. Check out the photo below.

"Behind the Candelabra" is a Liberace biopic that has an incredible cast and is directed by Oscar-winner Steven Soderbergh (Traffic, Ocean's Eleven). And even though it has a budget of only $5 million, no studio was interested in taking on the project. "Nobody would make it. We went to everybody in town. We needed $5 million. Nobody would do it," said Soderbergh. "They said it was too gay."

The story takes a look at the tempestuous relationship between Liberace (Douglas) and his much younger lover Scott Thorson (Damon), from their first meeting backstage at the Las Vegas Hilton to their bitter and public break-up. HBO will air the new movie in May.

Photo: (click to enlarge)


Source: HBO, PeliBlog.com


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 36 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 5:09:37 PM

Let me be the first: "gay".
Kurskij writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 5:14:52 PM

"We needed $5 million. Nobody would do it," said Soderbergh. "They said it was too gay"

Because it needs another $20 mil. to promote the thing. and it doesn't have naked it-guys as had your other $5mil. Gay movie "Magic Mike", Steven.

Thank you for Traffic and especially Che though. They were great.
cress writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 5:25:08 PM

I bet that candelabra has poo on it.
minkowski writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 5:25:54 PM

I bet it tastes like Vaseline.
cress writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 5:26:43 PM

@Kurskij. Traffic was great. And I'm a big fan of Solaris (don't hate me people)
cress writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 5:28:36 PM

@Mink. I double dog dare you to find out. You have to do it since it's a double dog dare. Just saying...
Kurskij writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 5:30:09 PM

^actually, it was pretty great. Not to mention, ambitious. It's different from Tarkovsky (which was basically east-European 2001), but still great.
cress writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 5:35:18 PM

@Kurskij. I want to see the original, but just havent come across a decent copy of it. For me, I thought Soderbergh's version works on so many levels.
Kurskij writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 5:39:41 PM

Original is an even bigger mind f*ck. But it's worth a watch,

Also check Tarkovsky's "Mirror" if you have a chance. Paul Thomas Anderson's, Malick's, Von Trier's and a couple of other legs grow from that one.
minkowski writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 5:42:07 PM

@Cress: I believe this is it

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GG9Anstjlro&wide=1

480p. Sorry, but watchable.



As for the candelabra...f*ck you. :)
Ranger writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 5:57:36 PM

Speaking of c*m-catching.
cress writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 6:00:48 PM

@Kurskij. Cool, I'll be keen to observe his style.

@Mink. Thanks. Sorry, but no backsies on a double dog dare.

^^What am I, eight years old?
Cannon writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 6:09:18 PM


Here's the thing: I once had the same hair that Damon has in that picture. I never put my stuff in other dudes though. That's for gays.















And Liberals.
cress writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 6:11:47 PM

I have never liked Michael Douglas as an actor. There, I said it. I feel like a great weight has been lifted.
minkowski writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 6:21:47 PM

lol@cannon
Kurskij writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 6:24:18 PM

@cannon

"Gay is your way".

Or, as liberals say "Every hole needs a filling"
cress writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 6:32:04 PM

I don't get why Soderberghis retiring. He hit it big in, what was it, '88 or '89 with "Sex, Lies, and Videotape." Then he was non-existent during the 90s. He then returned with a loud splash in 2000 and 2001 with "Erin Brokovich" and "Traffic", and has become a commercial and critical success ever since. He can get ANYONE in Hollywood to work for peanuts in his films as well. He's basically had 12-13 really, REALLY successful years, and now he wants to pack it up. Is he burnt out? Is he going to do thus "art thing"
cress writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 6:35:19 PM

(cont.) that I think I read somewhere? He's at his height in Hollwood. I hope it's nit a permanent retirement. This project about Liberace sounds like sh*t, but I enjoy him as a director for the most part.
cress writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 6:36:35 PM

I really need to f*cking spellcheck.
Kurskij writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 6:40:57 PM

Cress, find it or remind me to get you a link of his interview with indiewire.

Basically, he needs a break. He wants to paint, photograph an then, probably (and I bet you it'll happen sooner rather than later) he'll get back to making movies.

Few know that "Che" was originally a Terrence Malick project, but, being an old eccentric bastard' he bailed out. So in 7 pr 8 months Soderberg re-wrote a screenplay and started filming.

He's a wonderful filmmaker, but, I guess, he needs to take some time off to pursue other interests (hopefully partying and banging HAWT bitched)
KillerCOck writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 6:54:26 PM

the dude sux and needs to Damon's *sshole some more
cress writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 7:17:38 PM

@Kurskij. I'll check out "Che" as well. It has flown under my radar. Thanks
Kurskij writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 7:23:54 PM

^try finding 6 hour cut. Grueling, but worth it as I can see you dig these kind of movies.

Plus, probably, the best acting moments of Del Toro aside from "Hand me the f*cking keys, you c*cksucker, what the fuuuck?.."
Rambo writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 7:59:58 PM

and is directed by Oscar-winner Steven Soderbergh'

correction : and is directed by the worst director in Hollywood,Steven Soderbergh
BadChadB33 writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 10:11:59 PM

How was Tatum not cast in this c*m ctach of a movie???
Ranger writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 10:38:55 PM

He used too much teeth during the audition.
BadChadB33 writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 11:10:03 PM

Yea true Ranger, Douglas gummed his way into the movie.
Avirex writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 11:56:23 PM

Is it a coincidence that both Soderbergh and Channing Tatum are taking a break from film at the same time?

http://www.eonline.com/news/368730/channing-tatum-taking-a-break-from-acting

They're obviously going to take this time to go on a gay Cruise with Bryan Singer, Ian McKellen and Tom Cruise.


Anyway, I agree with everyone else about the Che films. Fantastic set of flicks that barely received any distribution whatsoever or promotion. I remember Soderbergh fighting to make sure it was filmed in Spanish instead of English. Good move. Also, I give it bonus points for being one of the few biopic projects not to feature coke or heroine addictions. That sh*t gets old. The only bad thing I could say is that the cameos by Matt Damon and Lou Diamond Phillips took me out of the film for a few minutes. But it was great reading the "Bolivian Diary" and then seeing it adapted for film in an effective well made way.
minkowski writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 11:59:43 PM

Matt f*ckING Damon!
Avirex writes:
on February 8th, 2013 at 12:58:33 AM

http://oi49.tinypic.com/2dugyoo.jpg
Deaft0ne writes:
on February 8th, 2013 at 2:36:54 AM

@cress

2 other really good longer movies on netflix are Carlos and Mesrine.
i124q writes:
on February 8th, 2013 at 2:56:28 AM

The reach around is going to be cringe worthy to watch....
i124q writes:
on February 8th, 2013 at 2:57:37 AM

Though to be fair, Douglas is probably used to a reach aroound from Catherine while she's doing him with her strap on. Just saying.
Patrick Bateman writes:
on February 8th, 2013 at 3:00:46 AM

I do not want to see matt damon try and act gay the film will burst into flames

on a side not im running out of films to watch any obscure suggestions please
Patrick Bateman writes:
on February 8th, 2013 at 3:01:52 AM

note*
pornfly writes:
on February 8th, 2013 at 3:02:41 AM

Matt be nimble
Mike be thick
Matt got stuck on his candlestick

New Spider-Man is 15-Year-Old Peter Parker, No Origin Story

Disney Making Live-Action "Winnie the Pooh" Film

Arnold Schwarzenegger Happy He Didn't Star in "Terminator Salvation"

"Avengers: Infinity Wars" Officially Replaces Director Joss Whedon

"Insurgent" Takes First Place at Box Office, Sean Penn's "The Gunman" Flops

"Spectre" Opening Sequence is Biggest in History

"Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles 2" Title Revealed

"Home" and "Get Hard" Perform Well at Box Office

Jennifer Lawrence Says "X-Men: Apocalypse" is Her Last "X-Men" Film

"Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Footage Coming Tomorrow
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved