WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Wonder Woman" Searching for Female Director
Oct 24th, 2014
"The Mummy" Reboot to Follow Navy SEAL in Iraq?
Oct 24th, 2014
Noomi Rapace Discusses "Prometheus 2" Storyline
Oct 24th, 2014
Christian Bale Confirmed For Steve Jobs Biopic, To Appear in Every Frame of the Film
Oct 24th, 2014
"Insidious Chapter 3" Trailer is Here!
Oct 23rd, 2014
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Trailer is Here!
Oct 23rd, 2014
"The Hobbit" Trilogy Becomes Most Expensive Production of All Time
Oct 23rd, 2014
Quicksilver to Return For "X-Men: Apocalypse" and Maybe Solo Film
Oct 23rd, 2014
Restricted Trailer For Mark Wahlberg's "The Gambler" Thriller
Oct 23rd, 2014
First Look at Evangeline Lilly as Hope Pym on Marvel's "Ant-Man" Set
Oct 23rd, 2014
New Trailer for "The Woman in Black" Sequel
Oct 23rd, 2014
First Look at Johnny Depp as The Wolf in Disney's "Into the Woods"
Oct 23rd, 2014
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Trailer Coming Next Week!
Oct 22nd, 2014
"John Carter" Reboot in the Works, Disney Not Involved
Oct 22nd, 2014
James Wan to Direct "The Conjuring 2," May Direct DC Superhero Film
Oct 22nd, 2014
Ghostface Will NOT Appear in "Scream" TV Series
Oct 22nd, 2014
Keanu Reeves Says Film Studios Don't Want to Work With Him
Oct 22nd, 2014
Adam McKay Plans to Make "Step Brothers 2" in a Few Years
Oct 22nd, 2014
George Lucas Says Movie Studios are Ruining Hollywood
Oct 21st, 2014
"Cabin Fever" Remake Started Filming, Using Eli Roth's Original Script
Oct 21st, 2014
Melissa McCarthy Discusses "Ghostbusters" Reboot
Oct 21st, 2014
"Sharknado 3" Location Revealed
Oct 21st, 2014
Is Key and Peele's New Comedy a Spoof of Keanu Reeves' "John Wick" Thriller?
Oct 21st, 2014
James Cameron Reveals Advice He Gave to "Terminator Genisys" Producer
Oct 21st, 2014
Marvel Surprised Robert Downey Jr With an Unexpected Gift
Oct 20th, 2014
"Guardians of the Galaxy" is Struggling in China Due to Terrible Subtitles
Oct 20th, 2014
French Theaters Cancel "Annabelle" Screenings Due to Damage Caused by Teenagers
Oct 20th, 2014
Jason Momoa's First Comments About Starring in "Aquaman"
Oct 20th, 2014
Brad Pitt's "Fury" and Michael Keaton's "Birdman" Top Box Office
Oct 19th, 2014
New "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Concept Art Teases Hulkbuster's Giant Size
Oct 19th, 2014
Producer Gives "Halloween 3" Update
Oct 19th, 2014
Teaser for Disney's "Feast" Animated Short Film
Oct 19th, 2014
Tom Hardy May Play Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Oct 18th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

First Photo of Matt Damon and Michael Douglas in "Behind the Candelabra"

Posted: February 7th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
First Photo of Matt Damon and Michael Douglas in "Behind the Candelabra"Submit Comment
A few days ago, Catherine Zeta Jones appeared on "The Ellen DeGeneres Show," bringing the first photo from "Behind the Candelabra," which stars Matt Damon and her husband Michael Douglas. The actress revealed that she's jealous of Michael, because she never got to kiss Matt. Check out the photo below.

"Behind the Candelabra" is a Liberace biopic that has an incredible cast and is directed by Oscar-winner Steven Soderbergh (Traffic, Ocean's Eleven). And even though it has a budget of only $5 million, no studio was interested in taking on the project. "Nobody would make it. We went to everybody in town. We needed $5 million. Nobody would do it," said Soderbergh. "They said it was too gay."

The story takes a look at the tempestuous relationship between Liberace (Douglas) and his much younger lover Scott Thorson (Damon), from their first meeting backstage at the Las Vegas Hilton to their bitter and public break-up. HBO will air the new movie in May.

Photo: (click to enlarge)


Source: HBO, PeliBlog.com


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 36 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 5:09:37 PM

Let me be the first: "gay".
Kurskij writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 5:14:52 PM

"We needed $5 million. Nobody would do it," said Soderbergh. "They said it was too gay"

Because it needs another $20 mil. to promote the thing. and it doesn't have naked it-guys as had your other $5mil. Gay movie "Magic Mike", Steven.

Thank you for Traffic and especially Che though. They were great.
cress writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 5:25:08 PM

I bet that candelabra has poo on it.
minkowski writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 5:25:54 PM

I bet it tastes like Vaseline.
cress writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 5:26:43 PM

@Kurskij. Traffic was great. And I'm a big fan of Solaris (don't hate me people)
cress writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 5:28:36 PM

@Mink. I double dog dare you to find out. You have to do it since it's a double dog dare. Just saying...
Kurskij writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 5:30:09 PM

^actually, it was pretty great. Not to mention, ambitious. It's different from Tarkovsky (which was basically east-European 2001), but still great.
cress writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 5:35:18 PM

@Kurskij. I want to see the original, but just havent come across a decent copy of it. For me, I thought Soderbergh's version works on so many levels.
Kurskij writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 5:39:41 PM

Original is an even bigger mind f*ck. But it's worth a watch,

Also check Tarkovsky's "Mirror" if you have a chance. Paul Thomas Anderson's, Malick's, Von Trier's and a couple of other legs grow from that one.
minkowski writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 5:42:07 PM

@Cress: I believe this is it

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GG9Anstjlro&wide=1

480p. Sorry, but watchable.



As for the candelabra...f*ck you. :)
Ranger writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 5:57:36 PM

Speaking of c*m-catching.
cress writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 6:00:48 PM

@Kurskij. Cool, I'll be keen to observe his style.

@Mink. Thanks. Sorry, but no backsies on a double dog dare.

^^What am I, eight years old?
Cannon writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 6:09:18 PM


Here's the thing: I once had the same hair that Damon has in that picture. I never put my stuff in other dudes though. That's for gays.















And Liberals.
cress writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 6:11:47 PM

I have never liked Michael Douglas as an actor. There, I said it. I feel like a great weight has been lifted.
minkowski writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 6:21:47 PM

lol@cannon
Kurskij writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 6:24:18 PM

@cannon

"Gay is your way".

Or, as liberals say "Every hole needs a filling"
cress writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 6:32:04 PM

I don't get why Soderberghis retiring. He hit it big in, what was it, '88 or '89 with "Sex, Lies, and Videotape." Then he was non-existent during the 90s. He then returned with a loud splash in 2000 and 2001 with "Erin Brokovich" and "Traffic", and has become a commercial and critical success ever since. He can get ANYONE in Hollywood to work for peanuts in his films as well. He's basically had 12-13 really, REALLY successful years, and now he wants to pack it up. Is he burnt out? Is he going to do thus "art thing"
cress writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 6:35:19 PM

(cont.) that I think I read somewhere? He's at his height in Hollwood. I hope it's nit a permanent retirement. This project about Liberace sounds like sh*t, but I enjoy him as a director for the most part.
cress writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 6:36:35 PM

I really need to f*cking spellcheck.
Kurskij writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 6:40:57 PM

Cress, find it or remind me to get you a link of his interview with indiewire.

Basically, he needs a break. He wants to paint, photograph an then, probably (and I bet you it'll happen sooner rather than later) he'll get back to making movies.

Few know that "Che" was originally a Terrence Malick project, but, being an old eccentric bastard' he bailed out. So in 7 pr 8 months Soderberg re-wrote a screenplay and started filming.

He's a wonderful filmmaker, but, I guess, he needs to take some time off to pursue other interests (hopefully partying and banging HAWT bitched)
KillerCOck writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 6:54:26 PM

the dude sux and needs to Damon's *sshole some more
cress writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 7:17:38 PM

@Kurskij. I'll check out "Che" as well. It has flown under my radar. Thanks
Kurskij writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 7:23:54 PM

^try finding 6 hour cut. Grueling, but worth it as I can see you dig these kind of movies.

Plus, probably, the best acting moments of Del Toro aside from "Hand me the f*cking keys, you c*cksucker, what the fuuuck?.."
Rambo writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 7:59:58 PM

and is directed by Oscar-winner Steven Soderbergh'

correction : and is directed by the worst director in Hollywood,Steven Soderbergh
BadChadB33 writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 10:11:59 PM

How was Tatum not cast in this c*m ctach of a movie???
Ranger writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 10:38:55 PM

He used too much teeth during the audition.
BadChadB33 writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 11:10:03 PM

Yea true Ranger, Douglas gummed his way into the movie.
Avirex writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 11:56:23 PM

Is it a coincidence that both Soderbergh and Channing Tatum are taking a break from film at the same time?

http://www.eonline.com/news/368730/channing-tatum-taking-a-break-from-acting

They're obviously going to take this time to go on a gay Cruise with Bryan Singer, Ian McKellen and Tom Cruise.


Anyway, I agree with everyone else about the Che films. Fantastic set of flicks that barely received any distribution whatsoever or promotion. I remember Soderbergh fighting to make sure it was filmed in Spanish instead of English. Good move. Also, I give it bonus points for being one of the few biopic projects not to feature coke or heroine addictions. That sh*t gets old. The only bad thing I could say is that the cameos by Matt Damon and Lou Diamond Phillips took me out of the film for a few minutes. But it was great reading the "Bolivian Diary" and then seeing it adapted for film in an effective well made way.
minkowski writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 11:59:43 PM

Matt f*ckING Damon!
Avirex writes:
on February 8th, 2013 at 12:58:33 AM

http://oi49.tinypic.com/2dugyoo.jpg
Deaft0ne writes:
on February 8th, 2013 at 2:36:54 AM

@cress

2 other really good longer movies on netflix are Carlos and Mesrine.
i124q writes:
on February 8th, 2013 at 2:56:28 AM

The reach around is going to be cringe worthy to watch....
i124q writes:
on February 8th, 2013 at 2:57:37 AM

Though to be fair, Douglas is probably used to a reach aroound from Catherine while she's doing him with her strap on. Just saying.
Patrick Bateman writes:
on February 8th, 2013 at 3:00:46 AM

I do not want to see matt damon try and act gay the film will burst into flames

on a side not im running out of films to watch any obscure suggestions please
Patrick Bateman writes:
on February 8th, 2013 at 3:01:52 AM

note*
pornfly writes:
on February 8th, 2013 at 3:02:41 AM

Matt be nimble
Mike be thick
Matt got stuck on his candlestick

Marvel Surprised Robert Downey Jr With an Unexpected Gift

Christian Bale's "The Machinist" Co-Star Reveals Disturbing Story About Actor's Weight-Loss

Ben Affleck Regrets Making "Daredevil," Very Confident About "Batman v Superman"

Robert Downey Jr Would Make "Iron Man 4" If Mel Gibson Directs

Robert Downey Jr Now Says He Won't Return For "Iron Man 4"

Penelope Cruz is Esquire's 2014 Sexiest Woman Alive

Chris Cooper Gained 40 Pounds of Muscle For "American Sniper"

Amanda Bynes Placed in Psychiatric Care, Says Her Father Asked Her For Sex

Description of "Jurassic World" Trailer

Tom Hardy May Play Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved