WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Henry Cavill Says "Man of Steel" Sequel Will Happen
Jul 7th, 2015
Watch Two Action Scenes From "Mission: Impossible - Rogue Nation"
Jul 7th, 2015
First Look at Pixar's "Sanjay's Super Team" Short Film
Jul 7th, 2015
Disney Making Live-Action "Prince Charming" Movie
Jul 7th, 2015
"Terminator Genisys" and "Magic Mike XXL" Flop in Theaters
Jul 6th, 2015
"Deadpool" on EW's Comic-Con Magazine Cover
Jul 6th, 2015
The Falcon in New "Ant-Man" TV Spot
Jul 6th, 2015
Superman Destroyed One of Bruce Wayne's Buildings in "Man of Steel"
Jul 5th, 2015
First Photo of Daniel Radcliffe and James McAvoy in "Victor Frankenstein"
Jul 4th, 2015
Two More Photos From "Deadpool" Comic Book Film
Jul 4th, 2015
"Hello Kitty" to Become $200 Million Movie
Jul 4th, 2015
New Photos From "Pride and Prejudice and Zombies"
Jul 4th, 2015
Lots of New "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Photos and Story Details
Jul 3rd, 2015
New Photo From Ryan Reynolds' "Deadpool" Comic Book Film
Jul 3rd, 2015
"Monopoly" Movie Hires "The Truman Show" Writer
Jul 3rd, 2015
New Photo From Quentin Tarantino's "The Hateful Eight"
Jul 3rd, 2015
"Terminator Genisys" - What Did You Think?
Jul 2nd, 2015
New Trailer for Michael Fassbender's "Steve Jobs" Biopic is Here!
Jul 2nd, 2015
New Trailer for "Transporter" Reboot
Jul 2nd, 2015
Trailer for "Rocky" Spin-Off "Creed"
Jul 1st, 2015
Trailer for Gerard Butler's "Olympus Has Fallen" Sequel, "London Has Fallen"
Jul 1st, 2015
Marlon Wayans Threatening to Make "White Chicks" Sequel
Jul 1st, 2015
Teaser Trailer for Oliver Stone's "Snowden" Film, with Joseph Gordon-Levitt
Jul 1st, 2015
Robert Zemeckis Says He'll Stop Any "Back to the Future" Reboot
Jun 30th, 2015
Titles for "Star Trek 3" and "Guardians of the Galaxy 2" Revealed
Jun 30th, 2015
First Look at Costumes From "Ghostbusters" Reboot
Jun 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Ten Thousand Saints," with Ethan Hawke and Asa Butterfield
Jun 30th, 2015
"Ted 2" Underperforms at Box Office, "Jurassic World" Continues to Dominate
Jun 29th, 2015
"Lucy" and "Colombiana" Sequels in the Works
Jun 27th, 2015
Steven Spielberg Acquires Michael Crichton's "Micro" Novel
Jun 27th, 2015
New "Heroes Reborn" Trailer Arrives Online
Jun 26th, 2015
Photos From New Episodes of "The X-Files"
Jun 26th, 2015
New Trailer for Tom Hardy's "Legend" Thriller
Jun 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

First Photo of Matt Damon and Michael Douglas in "Behind the Candelabra"

Posted: February 7th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
First Photo of Matt Damon and Michael Douglas in "Behind the Candelabra"Submit Comment
A few days ago, Catherine Zeta Jones appeared on "The Ellen DeGeneres Show," bringing the first photo from "Behind the Candelabra," which stars Matt Damon and her husband Michael Douglas. The actress revealed that she's jealous of Michael, because she never got to kiss Matt. Check out the photo below.

"Behind the Candelabra" is a Liberace biopic that has an incredible cast and is directed by Oscar-winner Steven Soderbergh (Traffic, Ocean's Eleven). And even though it has a budget of only $5 million, no studio was interested in taking on the project. "Nobody would make it. We went to everybody in town. We needed $5 million. Nobody would do it," said Soderbergh. "They said it was too gay."

The story takes a look at the tempestuous relationship between Liberace (Douglas) and his much younger lover Scott Thorson (Damon), from their first meeting backstage at the Las Vegas Hilton to their bitter and public break-up. HBO will air the new movie in May.

Photo: (click to enlarge)


Source: HBO, PeliBlog.com


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 36 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 5:09:37 PM

Let me be the first: "gay".
Kurskij writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 5:14:52 PM

"We needed $5 million. Nobody would do it," said Soderbergh. "They said it was too gay"

Because it needs another $20 mil. to promote the thing. and it doesn't have naked it-guys as had your other $5mil. Gay movie "Magic Mike", Steven.

Thank you for Traffic and especially Che though. They were great.
cress writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 5:25:08 PM

I bet that candelabra has poo on it.
minkowski writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 5:25:54 PM

I bet it tastes like Vaseline.
cress writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 5:26:43 PM

@Kurskij. Traffic was great. And I'm a big fan of Solaris (don't hate me people)
cress writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 5:28:36 PM

@Mink. I double dog dare you to find out. You have to do it since it's a double dog dare. Just saying...
Kurskij writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 5:30:09 PM

^actually, it was pretty great. Not to mention, ambitious. It's different from Tarkovsky (which was basically east-European 2001), but still great.
cress writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 5:35:18 PM

@Kurskij. I want to see the original, but just havent come across a decent copy of it. For me, I thought Soderbergh's version works on so many levels.
Kurskij writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 5:39:41 PM

Original is an even bigger mind f*ck. But it's worth a watch,

Also check Tarkovsky's "Mirror" if you have a chance. Paul Thomas Anderson's, Malick's, Von Trier's and a couple of other legs grow from that one.
minkowski writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 5:42:07 PM

@Cress: I believe this is it

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GG9Anstjlro&wide=1

480p. Sorry, but watchable.



As for the candelabra...f*ck you. :)
Ranger writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 5:57:36 PM

Speaking of c*m-catching.
cress writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 6:00:48 PM

@Kurskij. Cool, I'll be keen to observe his style.

@Mink. Thanks. Sorry, but no backsies on a double dog dare.

^^What am I, eight years old?
Cannon writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 6:09:18 PM


Here's the thing: I once had the same hair that Damon has in that picture. I never put my stuff in other dudes though. That's for gays.















And Liberals.
cress writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 6:11:47 PM

I have never liked Michael Douglas as an actor. There, I said it. I feel like a great weight has been lifted.
minkowski writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 6:21:47 PM

lol@cannon
Kurskij writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 6:24:18 PM

@cannon

"Gay is your way".

Or, as liberals say "Every hole needs a filling"
cress writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 6:32:04 PM

I don't get why Soderberghis retiring. He hit it big in, what was it, '88 or '89 with "Sex, Lies, and Videotape." Then he was non-existent during the 90s. He then returned with a loud splash in 2000 and 2001 with "Erin Brokovich" and "Traffic", and has become a commercial and critical success ever since. He can get ANYONE in Hollywood to work for peanuts in his films as well. He's basically had 12-13 really, REALLY successful years, and now he wants to pack it up. Is he burnt out? Is he going to do thus "art thing"
cress writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 6:35:19 PM

(cont.) that I think I read somewhere? He's at his height in Hollwood. I hope it's nit a permanent retirement. This project about Liberace sounds like sh*t, but I enjoy him as a director for the most part.
cress writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 6:36:35 PM

I really need to f*cking spellcheck.
Kurskij writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 6:40:57 PM

Cress, find it or remind me to get you a link of his interview with indiewire.

Basically, he needs a break. He wants to paint, photograph an then, probably (and I bet you it'll happen sooner rather than later) he'll get back to making movies.

Few know that "Che" was originally a Terrence Malick project, but, being an old eccentric bastard' he bailed out. So in 7 pr 8 months Soderberg re-wrote a screenplay and started filming.

He's a wonderful filmmaker, but, I guess, he needs to take some time off to pursue other interests (hopefully partying and banging HAWT bitched)
KillerCOck writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 6:54:26 PM

the dude sux and needs to Damon's *sshole some more
cress writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 7:17:38 PM

@Kurskij. I'll check out "Che" as well. It has flown under my radar. Thanks
Kurskij writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 7:23:54 PM

^try finding 6 hour cut. Grueling, but worth it as I can see you dig these kind of movies.

Plus, probably, the best acting moments of Del Toro aside from "Hand me the f*cking keys, you c*cksucker, what the fuuuck?.."
Rambo writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 7:59:58 PM

and is directed by Oscar-winner Steven Soderbergh'

correction : and is directed by the worst director in Hollywood,Steven Soderbergh
BadChadB33 writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 10:11:59 PM

How was Tatum not cast in this c*m ctach of a movie???
Ranger writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 10:38:55 PM

He used too much teeth during the audition.
BadChadB33 writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 11:10:03 PM

Yea true Ranger, Douglas gummed his way into the movie.
Avirex writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 11:56:23 PM

Is it a coincidence that both Soderbergh and Channing Tatum are taking a break from film at the same time?

http://www.eonline.com/news/368730/channing-tatum-taking-a-break-from-acting

They're obviously going to take this time to go on a gay Cruise with Bryan Singer, Ian McKellen and Tom Cruise.


Anyway, I agree with everyone else about the Che films. Fantastic set of flicks that barely received any distribution whatsoever or promotion. I remember Soderbergh fighting to make sure it was filmed in Spanish instead of English. Good move. Also, I give it bonus points for being one of the few biopic projects not to feature coke or heroine addictions. That sh*t gets old. The only bad thing I could say is that the cameos by Matt Damon and Lou Diamond Phillips took me out of the film for a few minutes. But it was great reading the "Bolivian Diary" and then seeing it adapted for film in an effective well made way.
minkowski writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 11:59:43 PM

Matt f*ckING Damon!
Avirex writes:
on February 8th, 2013 at 12:58:33 AM

http://oi49.tinypic.com/2dugyoo.jpg
Deaft0ne writes:
on February 8th, 2013 at 2:36:54 AM

@cress

2 other really good longer movies on netflix are Carlos and Mesrine.
i124q writes:
on February 8th, 2013 at 2:56:28 AM

The reach around is going to be cringe worthy to watch....
i124q writes:
on February 8th, 2013 at 2:57:37 AM

Though to be fair, Douglas is probably used to a reach aroound from Catherine while she's doing him with her strap on. Just saying.
Patrick Bateman writes:
on February 8th, 2013 at 3:00:46 AM

I do not want to see matt damon try and act gay the film will burst into flames

on a side not im running out of films to watch any obscure suggestions please
Patrick Bateman writes:
on February 8th, 2013 at 3:01:52 AM

note*
pornfly writes:
on February 8th, 2013 at 3:02:41 AM

Matt be nimble
Mike be thick
Matt got stuck on his candlestick

Hugh Jackman on Quitting Wolverine and Making "Deadpool" Cameo

Hugh Jackman Quit Wolverine Role Because of Jerry Seinfeld

It's Official: "Jurassic World" Beats "The Avengers" for Biggest Box Office Opening

Marvel and Sony Can't Agree on Which Actor Should Play Spider-Man

Spider-Man Contractually Cannot be Black or Gay

"Jurassic World" is a Massive Hit, Chris Pratt to Return for Sequel

Stan Lee Comments on Spider-Man Contractually Being White and Straight

"Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Plot Synopsis Revealed

"Star Wars" Actor Arrested After Insane Car Chase

Targon Egerton Wants to Replace Hugh Jackman as Wolverine
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved