WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Skyfall" Surpasses "The Dark Knight Rises" at Worldwide Box Office

Posted: February 6th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Skyfall" Surpasses "The Dark Knight Rises" at Worldwide Box OfficeSubmit Comment
"The Dark Knight Rises" did it's job. It concluded Christopher Nolan's "Batman" trilogy and went on to break the $1 billion mark in theaters, becoming the highest grossing installment in the franchise.

"The Dark Knight Rises" grossed $1.08 billion in its 147 days of release. It failed to surpass "The Avengers" ($1.5 billion), and now comes word that "Skyfall" has also surpassed the Batman film.

"Skyfall" also broke the $1 billion mark, the first James Bond film to do so. It's total earnings now stand at $1.09 billion, an accomplishment made in only 87 days. The film grossed so much that it almost doubled the box office gross of the previous installment, "Quantum of Solace."

"Skyfall," which will be released on DVD and Blu-ray on February 12th, is now the seventh highest-grossing film of all-time, behind "The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King" ($1.119 billion), "Transformers: Dark of the Moon" ($1.123 billion), "Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows - Part 2 ($1.328 billion), "The Avengers" ($1.511 billion), "Titanic" ($2.185 billion) and "Avatar" ($2.782 billion).

Click here to read our "Skyfall" review.

Source: PeliBlog.com


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 22 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on February 6th, 2013 at 6:39:46 PM

And? In other news, a one legged retarded gimp was beat out by Usain Bolt at the Olympics.
Rambo writes:
on February 6th, 2013 at 7:21:40 PM

so I guess they should bring Adel to sing every new James Bond movie from now on...else,i don't understand how this movie made so much money.It was average at best.
Chris_G writes:
on February 6th, 2013 at 8:06:47 PM

Great movie, it deserves every penny.
Fightclub1 writes:
on February 6th, 2013 at 8:33:41 PM

Skyfall kicked ass
Fightclub1 writes:
on February 6th, 2013 at 8:34:38 PM

Skyfall kicked ass
BadChadB33 writes:
on February 6th, 2013 at 11:43:06 PM

I loved Skyfall. I still hate TDKR.
Avirex writes:
on February 6th, 2013 at 11:54:16 PM

Ironically, Skyfall also borrowed plenty of it's plot and inspiration from The Dark Knight.
CelluloidMan writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 12:57:11 AM

I don't know if comparing TDKR to any blockbuster would actually be fair. If you recall, the film was hurt badly from the tragedy that happened in the midnight screening in Colorado for which many may have avoided it all together for fear of a copy cat...unfortunately, that fear was actually correct.

To compare TDKR is really hard to gauge since one doesn't know how many people avoided the movie...the movie opening, without the tragedy, could have potentially beaten out THE AVENGERS, I'd think.

Who knows?
BlackDynamite writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 1:26:13 AM

Considering how boring TDKR was for a good portion of the movie, I doubt the tragedy really had any impact on sales, especially not international sales.
Tanman32123 writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 1:50:28 AM

-This is a comment-
ZenShark writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 2:06:02 AM

I really wish they would state grosses in real terms. Nominal term bullsh*t is misleading.
Kurskij writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 6:35:02 AM

Happened about a week ago.
Taco writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 9:54:43 AM

@ Rambo
Couldnt agree more.
was the most pedestrian Bond movie made. It had the least amount of creativity, the least action, least original or interesting vilian; not to mention the least villian screen time too. And all I got out of Skyfall was things we already knew. He was an orphan! We knew that. Kill some bad guys "home alone" style, be impervious to hypothermia and throw a knife to kill the baddie at the end. (Shakes head)
SACdaddy writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 10:27:44 AM

TDKR was hurt more by its stupidity and sloppiness than the shooting in Colorado. Please stop making excuses for it.

Skyfall wasn't much better but at least it made sense. Both are highly mediocre and extremely overhyped. The Avengers shouldn't win any awards but it was 10x more entertaining than either of these wannabes imo.
minkowski writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 12:17:44 PM

TDKR made sense, being a rip of The Dark Knight Returns.

TDK, now that sh*t made no goddamned sense, at least among the smarter people here.
SACdaddy writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 3:20:04 PM

How does this sense?

The daughter of a terrorist plots for 8 years to avenge her father by developing a cold fusion machine that can bring peace to the world and end corruption, but instead turns it into a weapon to destroy a city that is now completely devoid of crime and corruption.
jdl107 writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 5:45:17 PM

"The daughter of a terrorist plots for 8 years to avenge her father by developing a cold fusion machine that can bring peace to the world and end corruption, but instead turns it into a weapon to destroy a city that is now completely devoid of crime and corruption"

You Somewhat just shamelessly answered your own question.

Since Ra's & Co. whole goal was just to destroy Gotham (Why just Gotham specifically, idk), she knew such a machine could do just that. Completely evaporate Gotham. But I'm sure she also knew the only way to turn said thing into a bomb was with the Dr. Pavel. So there you go.

You don't develop a cold fusion machine overnight, so once it was done, she turned it into the bomb.

It's something called: A long, gestating plan in progress. Sounds like you've never heard of such a thing.
jdl107 writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 5:46:30 PM

*with the Dr. Pavel

- Sans the "the"
jdl107 writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 5:55:31 PM

"completely devoid of crime and corruption."

No corruption? That's pretty funny. The lie that Batman & Jim Gordon told Gotham about Harvey Dent may have been for the greater good, but it was a means of corruption nonetheless.

If you could recall what Ra's said in Begins, the city has been a disgusting place since it's inception. It's inhabitants, it's politicians, etc. And if you can remember how the citizens of Gotham were in all three films, you'd know that to be true.

In all three films the citizens of Gotham were: whiny, spoiled, ungrateful & just total f*cking sheep (If I were Batman I probably would've just left that bomb there).
jdl107 writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 5:57:23 PM

But, on topic, finally: I don't understand the Skyfall hype, the movie wasn't as good as everyone says. Casino Royale was far better.

ChristianNYC writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 8:15:12 PM

I am not sure why the hell people think Batman rocks., for 1, he copied ZORro even down to the Butler, Batman isn't original, 2, Batman has a fetish of training little boys and 3 The only reason The Dark Knight made a killing at the box office it was because of Heath Ledger's death.

The Nolan movies were good but I seriously preferred Tim Burton's version. Skyfall deserved it's success. Batman needs to be put to rest for at least 10 years. I am tired of that character already
SACdaddy writes:
on February 8th, 2013 at 10:10:28 AM

@jdl: Thx for the input and sorry for the late response. I have to say that I agree with most of your assessment and I admit that my "city devoid of corruption" statement was absolutely wrong. Like you said, even if it was for the greater good the Dent cover up did lead to a law based on a lie. That doesn't mean the law wasn't effective. It was just what the city needed at the time just like Batman was needed for awhile, but that doesn't make the law or vigilantism right.

After thinking about it I also agree that the citizens of Gotham were whiny sheep. I thought they had proven their worth by the end of TDK, but then they just laid down for the next criminal mastermind that came to town with a handful of goons and a bomb. Their unwillingness to take a stand on their own and willingness to give into simple fear essentially makes Batman's past efforts pointless. Maybe a good cleansing was in order.

I still question Talia's part in this. For a series based somewhat in reality her whole revenge motive seems somewhat petty. First of all what does she really owe her father. Sure he allowed her to overcome her fear by throwing her in a pit to be raised and raped by criminals, but that hardly gives her a reason to complete his vision. For the past 8 years she was able to see the city change from a cesspool to a thriving crime-free metropolis. Whatever her problems with the Dent Act she still can't deny what she sees. Her contributions to the cold fusion project could continue her father's mission to strike at corruption but instead of using it for good and to really change the world she decides to kill millions of people for simple revenge. I understand that rationalizing a villain's (or a woman's) train of thought is sometimes pointless, but Nolan went out of his way throughout the series to do just that (especially in TDK). This way of thinking fits the Joker and even Ras but it doesn't make as much sense for Talia, and that really bothered me. It just doesn't back up the rest of the series' efforts as well as the last two installments. Add in a useless catwoman, a whiny broken Batman, a ton of plots holes, and some really sh*tty editing and the film falls way short of its hype for me. But you do make some very good points that does make it more acceptable for me. Thx, I actually don't hate the film anymore.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved