WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Mark Millar Says "Justice League of America" Movie is a Waste of Money

Posted: February 6th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Mark Millar Says "Justice League of America" Movie is a Waste of MoneySubmit Comment
Mark Millar, the creator of such comic books as "Wanted" and "Kick-Ass," was recently hired by 20th Century Fox to oversee their superhero properties. Now, in an interview with Sci-Fi Now, Millar commented on Warner Bros' upcoming "Justice League of America" movie, stating that it's a waste of money.

"I actually think the big problem for them is the characters are just too out of date," he said. "The characters were created 75 years ago, even the newest major character was created 68 years ago, so they're in a really weird time. The actual logistics of each member of the Justice League is disastrous, and you put them all together and I think you get an excellent way of losing $200 million."

Millar went on to say that he was a huge fan of the DC comics, but doesn't believe they can translate well to the big screen. He pointed out that Green Lantern's power is silly and that fight sequences usually consist of the character manifesting weapons from a distance. "The best one is definitely Aquaman," he continued. "Aquaman can't even talk under water. In comics it's fine, you just have a speech balloon, but how do you have Atlantis and people talking under water? Are they gonna talk telepathically?"

Click here to read more about "Justice League of America."

Source: Sci-Fi Now


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 26 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on February 6th, 2013 at 6:40:31 PM

In other late-breaking news, Mark Millar says water is wet. Film at eleven.
Electro Rock writes:
on February 6th, 2013 at 7:12:36 PM

Like Bill Bonds saying "tonight in Detroit....hundreds of homeless people have no where to go."
pornfly writes:
on February 6th, 2013 at 7:18:30 PM

Wanted was a waste of my money
johnny_boy writes:
on February 6th, 2013 at 7:28:26 PM

Whatever happened to that one DC guy who was all proud and mentioned how DC has better and well known characters than Marvel? Can't recall his name.
Rambo writes:
on February 6th, 2013 at 7:32:12 PM

doesn't look like a waste of time to me:

http://www.cavemancircus.com/wp-content/uploads/images/2009/october/denise_milani_wonder_woman_pic.jpg
johnny_boy writes:
on February 6th, 2013 at 7:35:48 PM

^That is my dream girl
minicooperz writes:
on February 6th, 2013 at 7:53:50 PM

Mark Millar Says "Justice League of America" Movie is a Waste of Money.
-> no, movie 43 was a waste of money

bspence writes:
on February 6th, 2013 at 9:26:11 PM

Isn't that the exact point of Justice League, or even the Avengers? Their powers alone aren't good enough so they have to work together?

I believe Wonder Woman is the only character showing up in the film they may not transfer well to film. Just depends how she's handled. I still believe Green Lantern could make a quality summer flick in the right hands with the right cast.
sedibus writes:
on February 6th, 2013 at 9:28:18 PM

I don't know, I can't even recall what myth and legends are.

Sorry.

Proud to say things that even anybody else can use against myself.

Cheers!
Crazyhorse writes:
on February 6th, 2013 at 9:33:43 PM

I would rather seen these characters than the Avengers
boogiel writes:
on February 6th, 2013 at 9:41:11 PM

I disagree with millar. JLA XXX was awesome and made an impact on me and my tissue purchase, so I believe the JLA movie can also work.
CelluloidMan writes:
on February 6th, 2013 at 10:09:29 PM

Millar is being too hard on the characters...but I tell you, for a guy that hasn't had that much involvement in directing major Marvel/ DC character movies, he sure has a big mouth.

Disregard Millar's rant...he's talking out of his ass on this one. It just SEEMS important because of his title...It wouldn't shock me if the guy had a beer in his hand when doing this interview...

BTW, "Green Lantern's power is silly and that fight sequences usually consist of the character manifesting weapons from a distance."....(cough)*Hawkeye*(cough)
Biz Malarkey writes:
on February 6th, 2013 at 10:15:08 PM

Maybe jj Abrahams can do it ten years since its so big and stuffs

Makes me want to change my name to Biz Mehlakry
BadChadB33 writes:
on February 6th, 2013 at 11:39:44 PM

I still have a bad feeling about this movie.
Avirex writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 12:00:20 AM

I love how unimaginative narrow minded people always blame the characters when films suck balls. Its not the characters' fault you c*nts, its your inability to put something great together using several decades of creative material.

I've never liked Millar, he talks too much sh*t as if he's some Leonardo Davinci or something.
CelluloidMan writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 12:16:01 AM

Millar seems so childish, ignorant or dare I say naive about the whole JUSTICE LEAGUE project setup...let me say, he should just stick to classy fan boy excitement of Kevin Feige, IMHO.

And for that, Millar, let me give you sir an adequate rebuttle...(ahem)

Your mother was a waste of money...

So there, we just settled this like serious adults..."isn't that right, Mr. Poopy-pants?"
minkowski writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 12:21:18 AM

I wonder if it ever occurred to Millar that maybe most of an Aquaman movie wouldn't occur in the water amidst dialogue?

Sure, there's a lot of reasons why a Justice League movie will probably not do as we well as Avengers did, but Millar should perhaps refrain from straw men.

Also: isn't Millar the guy everyone said was god like a year ago? Strange who things change and how people roll with the crowd. I guess conformity is more important than honesty...
minkowski writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 12:32:48 AM

how.

Chief Sitting Mink.
BlackDynamite writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 1:24:03 AM

1. f*ck Mark Millar. He is almost as overrated as Frank Miller is. He's done some good stuff, I'll admit, but currently he's just been riding the Kick-Ass money train, and making nothing but sh*t related to that, or in the same vein as that, such as the Hit-Girl Series and Nemesis.

I think he did Irredeemable as well, but I'd actually like to see that adapted into a movie, since the premise is basically what if a Superman-like character decided to stop being a hero, and do whatever the hell he felt like. Lots of innocent children die.
Rambo writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 1:28:07 AM

any speculations are pointless until 'Man of steal' will be released.Henry Cavill is a big question mark.
Ranger writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 1:28:43 AM

@Cell - LOL. I was going to do the mother joke.
sedibus writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 3:57:37 AM

LOL,lol,LOL, to you all guys. Still where is Alejandro Jodorowsky?

In other news.

..."An interviewer asked master artist Jean Cocteau the next question:

-Master, how did you went on to be homosexual?

To which the wise auteur, after a couple of a brief bunch of silent and meditative seconds said to the younger one:

-Asking, kid, just asking.
jikae writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 5:53:08 AM

@BlackDynamite I haven't seen it, but wasn't "Hanc*ck" about what you're describing?

As for the JLA discussion, I think it can work out. It really depends on who's in charge and whether they can get a quality script in place. As simple as "The Avengers" script seemed like, it did very well in bringing the characters together even if you didn't watch the stand-alone films. In that regard, the script was really good. As for the rest of the film, it wasn't anything special, but who cares. You wanted to see a bunch of kick-ass (no pun intended) super heroes get together and just wreck havoc.

Besides, just like "The Avengers," all you have to do is create one bad ass super hero (Superman) and make him the main character a la Iron Man. Except, in JLA, Batman is an interesting enough character to carry his own. Flash done right can create similar amount of buzz like the Hulk.

In short, take your time, get the right people, and make it right.
Bunny X writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 8:34:13 AM

So Millar has never seen any of the DC animation properties from JL Unlimited to Young Justice to the movies? Hey Mark, those worked pretty damn good IMO and if followed (Bruce Timm NEEDS to be involved) a JL live action film would do pretty good.
billofill writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 11:48:54 AM

Aweeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee is someone still bitter Warner Brothers didn't bite at his horrible Superman Trilogy idea?
Champ1432 writes:
on February 7th, 2013 at 11:53:11 AM

So Millar holds up the one DC hero who the most people hate, and who isn't even a part of the Justice League movie, as proof that the movie will fail and their heroes suck? Nice job, ass.

We've already seen that Superman and Batman can translate well to the big screen. If you do it correctly, I'm sure Wonder Woman could as well, even though most people these days don't seem too keen on women superheroes. I think the comparison between Flash and Hulk that was made by jikae was pretty inspired, as well. Not that their powers are similar, obviously, but that I think if done coorrectly, Flash could be that unexpected character that steals the show, the way Hulk did a bit in the Avengers.

Either way, Millar is entitled to his opinion, but I for one happen to think he's wrong. I think there's a lot of fans out there who really want to see a good Justice League movie and the money will be there if it's done half decently.

So he should stick to his Kick-Ass BS, which is way overrated anyway.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved