WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Disney Confirms "Star Wars" Spin-Off Films

Posted: February 5th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Disney Confirms "Star Wars" Spin-Off FilmsSubmit Comment
We just reported on a rumor that Disney is planning to make "Star Wars" spin-off films, in addition to the new "Star Wars" trilogy that's currently in development. Now comes word directly from Disney CEO Bob Iger that this is absolutely true.

"There has been speculation about some stand-alone films that are in development," he told CNBC. "I can confirm to you today that, in fact, we are working on a few stand-alone films. Larry Kasdan and Simon Kinberg are both working on films derived from great 'Star Wars' characters that are not part of the overall saga. We still plan to make Episodes 7, 8, and 9, roughly over a six-year period of time, starting in 2015. There are going to be a few other films released in that time, too."

Iger did not confirm that one of the stand-alone films will be based on Yoda, as rumored. But it seems that Disney is in fact following Marvel's strategy of developing films around specific characters before bringing them together for "The Avengers"-style movie.

Source: CNBC


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 38 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
cress writes:
on February 5th, 2013 at 7:08:34 PM

Follow the further adventures of the midi-chlorians, as they're shot onto the faces Twilek sluts throughout the galaxy.
Damon242 writes:
on February 5th, 2013 at 7:18:22 PM

Just do Knights of the Old Republic...
minkowski writes:
on February 5th, 2013 at 7:18:34 PM

Just when you thought the whoring couldn't get any more whoretacular.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on February 5th, 2013 at 7:26:13 PM

They're still sticking to that year 2015.

All those VFX shots, filming schedule, there's no way it'll be released in two years time.
cress writes:
on February 5th, 2013 at 7:30:40 PM

@Spooky. I don't know. Abrams is free after May. He's probably working loosely with Arndt until then, and after Trek's release, he'll be totally immersed into every aspect. They've said pre-production has begun-- locations are being scouted now, I'm sure. I think principal photography could begin as soon as next January.
KillerCOck writes:
on February 5th, 2013 at 7:31:45 PM

There use to be a Star Wars game for N64 that had a pretty good story, that's what got me to watch the crappy Star Wars films in the first place. The game was dope but I can't remember what it was called. They should make that into a movie doh.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on February 5th, 2013 at 7:44:52 PM

If production begins next january then it'll wrap in june at the earliest, which is a highly liberal estimate, more realistically it'll probably wrap at around august or september. Post production for films like these take anywhere from 6-8 months and if this is the first of many new star wars movies to arrive then we can bet this will be cram packed with all sorts of setpieces so I'd be willing to bet around 8 months post production.

Well then, now that I think about it, a summer release is likely.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on February 5th, 2013 at 7:45:26 PM

@c*ck, by crappy star wars films you mean the prequels right?
KillerCOck writes:
on February 5th, 2013 at 8:07:46 PM

No. I mean all of them fan boy
minkowski writes:
on February 5th, 2013 at 8:26:22 PM

"No. I mean all of them fag boy"

FTFY.
minkowski writes:
on February 5th, 2013 at 8:27:50 PM

Just kidding, Spunks.
mustardayonnaise writes:
on February 5th, 2013 at 8:32:01 PM

Spooky, I'm sure they're pushing this franchise through as fast as humanly possible- reason being, in my opinion, that Star Wars' luster is tarnishing pretty quickly. Not from ill-will, mind you, but from disuse.. it's rusting over, it's old and creaky.

I have a daughter in kindergarten, and I can tell you that none of the boys in her class seem to be big Star Wars afficionados. When I was in grade school, there wasn't a boy out there that didn't have at least one toy, or lunchbox, or some sort of paraphrenalia. Different era, of course, I'm sure the bean counters at Disney are very wary of the public conciousness of the the Star Wars franchise, and how it can affect the bottom line of something they just blew $4 billion on. The longer it languishes, the less they're gonna get out of it. A 2015 premiere is going to come hell or high water, and I'm sure they're going to wallpaper the hell out of the planet with new Star Wars crap for years thereafter.
KillerCOck writes:
on February 5th, 2013 at 8:37:08 PM

The Fans and Nerds are the reason this sh*t will always be around. It'll never die. Don't believe me? Watch King of the Nerds. That's the f*cking future right there.
minkowski writes:
on February 5th, 2013 at 8:38:09 PM

^^This is what I was thinking about last night, among other sh*t.

Who cares about Star Wars? Some guys in their forties, a minimum of 18-35 year olds, but that's it.

The farther 1977 recedes into history, the more ancient the franchise appears, especially to the people growing up on Bieber and GLEE, and Lucas did the series no favors with the last three films.

My whole point is, I expect a reboot at some point, especially if the next two to three films don't do as well as Disney anticpates, so we may see a boundary transition in the franchise like we saw between Star Trek: Nemesis and Star Trek: Lens Flare.
Jabba_RT writes:
on February 5th, 2013 at 8:56:27 PM

@c*ck...

That game was called "Star Wars: Shadows of the Empire". That was one of the first games I got for the N64. It was pretty good. Had a Han Solo-type named Dash Rendar along with some girl sidekick against some green guy named Xizor or something like that. It was supposed to span the time between Empire and Jedi.
cress writes:
on February 5th, 2013 at 9:06:20 PM

Here are two articles showing that it's more than old fart fanboys like me who are driving the Star Wars brand. A film hasn't been released in 8 years, yet it's still a huge moneymaker. This is why Disney bought this property. It sees the neverending cash flow it will create. We all want great films, first and foremost. But at the end of the day, its still a huge cash cow. And it appeals to young and old alike.


http://www.npr.org/2012/10/02/162151736/how-star-wars-seduced-another-generation-of-kids

http://www.licensing.biz/news/8569/US-Star-Wars-is-top-boys-toy-property-in-2011

SpookyCupcakes writes:
on February 5th, 2013 at 9:14:47 PM

I'm sorry that you pseudo-intellectuals can't enjoy three very good sci-fi adventure films and you let the popculture dictate your viewing habits.
minkowski writes:
on February 5th, 2013 at 9:22:16 PM

^^^Where's the science fiction in Star Wars?? The f*ckers ramble on about midicholorians and talk to dead Jedi ghosts while using the supernatural Force to masturbate.

Not much science in that...



"you let the popculture dictate your viewing habits."

So says the kid ensuring he's inclusive to one of the most corporatized movie franchises of all times...



@cress: all those links say is that Lucas has managed to sell more bullsh*t toys to yet another generation of kids. Nothing there that says younger people today give much of a rat's ass about Star Wars like they did from 1977 to whenever Jedi sh*tted onto the screen.
minkowski writes:
on February 5th, 2013 at 9:23:42 PM

And Lucas got his fat meat hooks into LEGO, one of the most educational toys a parent can buy, so call me cynical, but I say whatever study(s) those links used is more than a skewed....
BadChadB33 writes:
on February 5th, 2013 at 9:24:16 PM

Let's see some Dark Sith only movies and maybe I'll care.
sdpepper writes:
on February 5th, 2013 at 10:05:23 PM

I just love Star Wars.
It is the greatest movie saga of all time.

I am excited that Disney is taking over Star Wars from George Lucas. I have to admit it but the prequels were sub-par. With Disney in charge, bringing on J J Abrams and all of the other people that they have already brought on board, this is an awesome time to look to the future of Star Wars.

What cracks me up is reading all of the negativity here on this site.

Get a job, a wife or just get laid. Whatever you need to do to get yourself in a good mood, just do it.................
minkowski writes:
on February 5th, 2013 at 10:07:42 PM

^^Negaphobe!
Tanman32123 writes:
on February 5th, 2013 at 10:29:54 PM

Meh, whatever..
minkowski writes:
on February 5th, 2013 at 10:33:07 PM

Are you sick, tanman?
Rambo writes:
on February 5th, 2013 at 10:37:44 PM

I hope that doesn't mean a separate movie on the life of R2-D2...
KillerCOck writes:
on February 5th, 2013 at 11:28:55 PM


"I'm sorry that you pseudo-intellectuals can't enjoy three very good sci-fi adventure films and you let the popculture dictate your viewing habits."

hahahahahahahahaha! f*ck you, you sad fat idiot! I hope you live forever as the joke you are. I truly do.

@Jabba
thats it!!!!! thank you! That game was awesome and so was that story. If they made that into a movie, i'd be open to the whole idea of new star wars films, but that's me.

On a side note, I like how some of you are just calling me "c*ck" now. hahaha! it makes me giggle and reminds me of BASEketball. Love that movie!


Electro Rock writes:
on February 5th, 2013 at 11:54:53 PM

I think they should do a doc*mentary about wookies. Morgan Freeman to narrate. I'd totally watch that.

@Mink: Not a Return of the Jedi fan?

@Chad: Yes, a Tyrranus or Maul film would be the whip.
minkowski writes:
on February 6th, 2013 at 12:22:18 AM

@Electro: actually, I was just f*cking with the stereotypical hate for Jedi. You know, because of the Ewoks. I have nothing against it really, and I find that the first three ORIGINAL films (New Hope, Empire, RotJ) are clear and clean and groundbreakingly fantastic cinema.

The sequels can suck my d*ck.
Donyae 420 writes:
on February 6th, 2013 at 12:29:59 AM

I love all of them and will love all the new ones, can't wait!!
CelluloidMan writes:
on February 6th, 2013 at 12:30:38 AM

Spinoffs?! Okay milk it, Disney, that's what you bought it for.... but just remember this ain't no f*ckin' STAR WARS: Tokyo Space Drift...

These movies were decades in the making...since the original, I mean. I really don't think anybody really wanted to see Vader's origin. Not me, anyways...

In a way, I'm glad the SW is still around...in the culture's Americana...be it in CGI kiddie shows, references in movies, or novels.

But you gotta believe me none of these upcoming ones will match the first time the audiences were captivated & thrilled by the first trilogy....sadly, never. Just like there will never be another Woodstock, another birth of Rap...it was just a genuine, original product of it's time, IMO.
Electro Rock writes:
on February 6th, 2013 at 12:48:37 AM

@Mink: Yeah I dont get the hate. Luke totally owns motherf*ckers in that film. I didn't hate the ewoks either. People keep forgetting that they were about to f*cking eat those poor bastards.

@Celluloid: Did you hate Vaders origin, or just the people they cast in the role? That's what killed it for me.
minkowski writes:
on February 6th, 2013 at 1:14:13 AM

Thought the story of Vader in the making was okay, but the way it was told, the acting, and the people they chose to play the roles, was just terrible, terrible decision making.

@electro: lol. The Ewoks. Pretty good for a bunch of little people in suits. Didn't really see what was wrong with having them in the movie. Good effects, good sets that meshed with the character designs, pretty much alright in my little black book.
CelluloidMan writes:
on February 6th, 2013 at 1:34:12 AM

@Electro

Both, bud. The sequel, looked to me, just making references to the original and did not bring anything new to the table, not really. Also, I know he wanted to improve on what he thought SW original trilogy and update it with CGI (as he did to the original), but I think he lost touch what also made it so special with the physical creatures and makeup....I have the updated original trilogy but if I can find copies of the pre CGI ones, I'm replacing them, easy. That's what Lucas never learned...it was fine the way it was.

Actually, they could've done the whole Vader's origin in 1 movie instead of dragging and Lucas milking it for all it's worth with a trilogy..think about it.

As for the casting, I don't think he pulled it off either...with some exceptions. Darth Maul was pretty wicked actually.

I just think he took the franchise and the fans for granted and just wanted to cash in on his original idea.

But hey, if you enjoyed it and see through it's faults to find a decent trilogy, good...rock on.

Anyway, I've ranted enough...that'll show you not to be asking me any more questions. LOL.

Cheers Electro.
Electro Rock writes:
on February 6th, 2013 at 2:01:03 AM

@Mink: Definitely meshed. Plus those dudes needed work after Time Bandits.

@Celluloid: Im in a love/hate relationship with the prequels. I liked the new/old designs of some of the vehicles but didn't like how clean everything was. I loved Maul but hated how they wasted him. I like Jar Jar, hated his voice. And I hate Eeyore Yoda. I want goofy empire Yoda. Overall the thing I hated most was the Vader actors and the line "Jedi business...go back to your drinks." Ugh
i124q writes:
on February 6th, 2013 at 3:12:36 AM

I was 7 years old when A New Hope was released. I went to my local cinema to see it, it was the first cinema in the area to have DOLBY STEREO, none of your surround sound, digital sound etc etc. That opening sequence with the Star Destroyer chasing the Rebel ship as it appeared on screen I looked up to the ceiling, because I thought it really was going overhead, just because of the sound, lol. That's my overwhelming memory of that time. Yes, Star Wars is primarily for 'my' generation, those of us in our 40s. The prequels were dire, painful to watch, they never managed to encapsulate that moment of wonder. My 9 yo nephew couldn't give a sh*t about Star Wars, so no, I don't think Star Wars is that relevant to kids today as it was back then. Star Wars changed cinema back then.
Now I'm older and wiser (and ageing as bad as Yoda, lol) I've moved on, they're just films.
i124q writes:
on February 6th, 2013 at 3:28:24 AM

New Monty Python film apparently...

http://www.forbes.com/sites/carolpinchefsky/2012/01/31/new-monty-python-movie-announced-and-there-was-much-rejoicing/
Dreamcast writes:
on February 6th, 2013 at 4:23:46 AM

Kasdan = Hero
Kinberg = Hack

1-for-2, Disney. Hit and a miss.
minkowski writes:
on February 6th, 2013 at 12:23:09 PM

@electro: hehehe, Time Bandits.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved