WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Duncan Jones to Direct "Warcraft" Movie, Johnny Depp in Talks to Star

Posted: January 31st, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Duncan Jones to Direct "Warcraft" Movie, Johnny Depp in Talks to StarSubmit Comment
Duncan Jones (Source Code, Moon) has signed on to direct the upcoming live-action "Warcraft" movie, which is based on Blizard Entertainment's popular video game franchise. Meanwhile, Johnny Depp is in talks to star in the film.

Back in 2009, Sam Raimi (Spider-Man) was on board to direct, but eventually dropped out to work on "OZ The Great and Powerful." Soon after Jones revealed that he would love to replace Raimi. "I really believe 'World of Warcraft' could be the launch of computer games as good films," he said back in 2010.

"World of Warcraft" is written by Charles Leavitt and has a budget of over $100 million. The plan is to begin filming during the fall and have the film in theaters in 2015.

Source: THR, Tracking-Board


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 30 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
i124q writes:
on January 31st, 2013 at 6:09:31 AM

I wonder if his Dad will make a cameo?
Avirex writes:
on January 31st, 2013 at 6:25:58 AM

Wow..I'm already not interested.
KillerCOck writes:
on January 31st, 2013 at 7:25:59 AM

Awesome!
Patrick Bateman writes:
on January 31st, 2013 at 7:34:39 AM

There is so many ways this could go wrong but it does ahve a decent story and I loved Jones's Moon. So I will have faith for now.
ab5olut10n writes:
on January 31st, 2013 at 8:27:57 AM

Moon was really good and Source Code was not really good at all.
bandolero999 writes:
on January 31st, 2013 at 9:18:30 AM

Johny Depp???????
Moose756 writes:
on January 31st, 2013 at 9:39:22 AM

I thought both of Duncan Jones films were good so I have hope that a good video game to movie adaptation will be made with this one. I just hope that the studio lets Duncan Jones be Duncan Jones.
Rambo writes:
on January 31st, 2013 at 11:45:31 AM

yep,source code was meh...but moon was great.a movie about a video game?never a good sign...
BadChadB33 writes:
on January 31st, 2013 at 2:04:33 PM

LORD all over again.
Tanman32123 writes:
on January 31st, 2013 at 2:25:38 PM

warcraft was a stupoid ass game, i had friends who played it.. i was more fond of MapleStory lol i know the nerds always fought about which was better :P
minkowski writes:
on January 31st, 2013 at 2:38:32 PM

And still no Half Life movie, which would be perfect given the game is basically an interactive cinematic experience.

Stupid.
jdl107 writes:
on January 31st, 2013 at 3:21:42 PM

"And still no Half Life movie, which would be perfect given the game is basically an interactive cinematic experience.

Stupid."

No. Not stupid at all. He gave an interview about a week ago explaining the kind of movie offers coupled with ideas he's received over the years, and how downright awful they were. I believe after that he said the only chance of a Half-Life movie being made is with him at the helm. Which doesn't sound like something that would ever happen.

So let's consider that a good thing.
jdl107 writes:
on January 31st, 2013 at 3:23:02 PM

Besides, as much of a cinematic experience it is, it's still a video game. Which is always a completely different medium. So I'm sure a video game creator (Great or not), wouldn't know what to do with the movie.
minkowski writes:
on January 31st, 2013 at 3:40:46 PM

I could do it. sh*t.

A ordinary scientist, working in a nuclear plant inside which a breakdown between this world and another occurs, must battle invading aliens to save the world.

Doesn't even have to be a total adaptation of the game, although Gabe would probably insist it is so they can monetize it further.

Just pick a solid lead, like Johnny Depp. He has the look, and throw at him a solid mixture of supporting cast and an even better mix of CGI and practical effects. Make most of the sets dark and cramped and tight and thus claustrophobic. Get some great ambient music. A clever ending. Make it like Die hard but against aliens instead of Eurotrash. A crowbar and a pulse rifle instead of a machine gun.

sh*t writes itself, with enough money and enough talent.
mustardayonnaise writes:
on January 31st, 2013 at 4:34:48 PM

It's not just a week ago. Gabe Newell has repeatedly rebuffed movie offers for HL over the years, and repeatedly talked about how awful the screenplay translations of HL have been to date. I don't really blame him, honestly... look at Hollywood's track record for video game adaptations. Mortal Kombat? Doom? Prince of Persia? This sh*t most definitely doesn't write itself. And while I honestly don't think Newell could probably do it on his own any better, I think part of the problem is that video game movies don't really attract the kind of talent needed to make a top quality film (at least in the writing/directing area). That said, I liked Moon and Source Code wasn't terrible either, so maybe there's hope for this.

Part of me has foamed at the mouth for a HL adaptation for years, but maybe it's better to leave well enough alone...
mustardayonnaise writes:
on January 31st, 2013 at 4:37:36 PM

Couldn't. Newell COULDN'T do it on his own any better. f*ckin' typos.

jdl107 writes:
on January 31st, 2013 at 4:48:03 PM

With enough money and enough talent...

Yes.

But therein lies the problem, my good man. Gabe Newell has the talent, maybe has the money. But does he have the cinematic prowess?

But I'm actually getting off my ass and putting some ideas to paper, so why don't you flesh that out and see what becomes? I'm sure it wouldn't be bad, at all. That's no ass kiss, just being honest.
dioncassio01 writes:
on January 31st, 2013 at 5:01:23 PM

NO please leave wow in peace!!!!
minkowski writes:
on January 31st, 2013 at 5:16:41 PM

@jd107: I'll assume you were referring to me, since you quote what I wrote.

Well, not sure if you're speaking facetiously, and if so it's fine by me, but writing a Half Life script, man, I mean, for the person who takes on the task, should it look like the game? Should it mirror the storyline therein? I say no. I say it should have it's own story, similar to the game, but just use the game for the skeleton.

Beef up the monsters, develop the Gordon character. Make him stolid, laconic, and taciturn, but also somewhat nerdy. He should look a young James Gordon (ever notice how much they look alike, the two Gordons?). Dark and moody but science-fiction-esque settings.

I mean, the thing is, how would Gabe want it? He decides whether a script goes into production or not, essentially, unless he sells the rights away, and he hasn't done so yet. So does he want a REAL movie based on the predominant Half Life elements, or does he want a movie that looks like the game?

Doom was a terrible moment in video game movie history, and in a lot of ways they tried to do with that property what I'm saying they should do with Half Life. The problem with Doom was the terrible casting and the lousy, lousy script, but come on, people, if they can make a movie about Muppets and turn it into a hit, the only thing keeping some of these game games in the garbage is an older conservative producing talent that doesn't see the story quality in many a video game and refuses to allocate the money and talent to do the properties justice.
minkowski writes:
on January 31st, 2013 at 5:17:18 PM

look LIKE.

Friggin' medieval website...
BillyBunter writes:
on January 31st, 2013 at 5:27:26 PM

Moon was really good, source code was not bad. WOW is a massive world so i assume they will want to try and get at least 3 films out of this if the first one does well.
Kurskij writes:
on January 31st, 2013 at 5:34:04 PM

Doom had a horrible script, but it did have the look of Doom 3, POV sequence had some bad ideas and questionable,.. Everything, but it looked great.

And, yeah, HL movie could be great (as Doom movie could). If they could turn a Disneyland ride into almost 4 billion franchise, I bet they could do something with developed universes of Doom, HL, Halo etc. if they got the right talent behind the camera.

But that's a big IF, as Jerry B. couldn't only get. passable movie out of Prince of Persia. And this guy usually knows what audience wants.
Kurskij writes:
on January 31st, 2013 at 5:35:26 PM

^an awful lot of "coulds" here
BillyBunter writes:
on January 31st, 2013 at 5:47:02 PM

From a marketing standpoint any video game to movie adaptation helps if you have a big audience playing that game. Prince of Persia has not really been relevant as a video game since the 80s but something like WOW that has millions of worldwide users is a movie makers wetdream because even if it's wank you know you are going to get a massive portion of them players in to see it. Doom was relevant in the early 90s and came out far to late for it to be a hit, gamers had moved on. Could you imagine if they brought out a call of duty movie this summer, a studio head would be getting double headers from ebony and ivory with the numbers it would bring in.
minkowski writes:
on January 31st, 2013 at 5:48:58 PM

The story for Prince of Persia was written by a guy who otherwise scripts video games: Jordan Mechner. The screenplay, which was based on Mechner's story, was written by Boaz Yakin, who wrote Dirty Dancin' 2 and From Dusk Til Dawn 2. Yakin had "help" from the guy, and his career clone, who wrote the Sorcerer's Apprentice and The Uninvited.

There was only so much Mike Newell could do for that sick puppy.

As for Jerry, well, he was but one cook in a very corwded kitchen. As producer, he had like six EPs, including Mechner.







Prince of Persia was like trying to build a house with four guys. The one guy with a brain and the experience spends his time sleeping in the outhouse while the actual work is performed by The Three Stooges.
Kurskij writes:
on January 31st, 2013 at 5:52:31 PM

^I can see your point, but technically there was a Call of Duty movie. Called 'Act of Valor'.

Call of Duty has no story as far as I'm concerned. It's popular because you can blow sh*t up like you are in a Michael Bay war movie.

WoW on the other hand - I've never played it, but it does have a unique universe (which CoD) doesn't have, and therefore might be adapted for a big screen successfully.
Kurskij writes:
on January 31st, 2013 at 5:53:14 PM

Post aimed for Billy
Kurskij writes:
on January 31st, 2013 at 5:59:51 PM

@mink

I don't know PoP ExProducers exactly, but were they Chad Oman, Mike Stenson etc.? If so - it's the usual Jerry's Ex's. he rules the ball, and word was that there were problems with Newell and someone like... Bay or Scott was brought in to help out
BillyBunter writes:
on January 31st, 2013 at 6:04:59 PM

I agree with you, call of Duty's story line is pretty bad! its pretty much red dawn.But i could still see it probably do not bad numbers with the right cast and director. Think Tom Hardy and some other big names playing Soap and co. It will be interesting to see how assassins creed comes out with Fassbender in the lead. Hit man was a stinker!!! I know that for sure even though i like Timothy olyphant as an actor.
pornfly writes:
on January 31st, 2013 at 7:43:46 PM

Depp still working like a family man when hes got new p*ssy is a total pimp move.
Hes not takin a Decaprio fag break and kissin his new gorls tush

And i dont care bout Leo takin a break
Just dont announce it like a lil girl

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved