WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"X-Men" Director Bryan Singer Accused of Raping 17-Year-Old Boy
Apr 17th, 2014
Robin Williams to Return for "Mrs. Doubtfire" Sequel
Apr 17th, 2014
Jerry Bruckheimer on "Pirates of the Caribbean 5," "Top Gun 2" and "Beverly Hills Cop 4"
Apr 17th, 2014
James Franco Didn't Know He Has a Cameo in "Dawn of the Planet of the Apes"
Apr 17th, 2014
Poster for Denzel Washington's "The Equalizer" Thriller
Apr 17th, 2014
"The Amazing Spider-Man 2" Contains a Surprising Post-Credits Scene
Apr 17th, 2014
Trailer for Eli Roth's "The Green Inferno" Cannibal Horror Film
Apr 17th, 2014
Antonio Banderas Says "Puss in Boots 2" is Already Being Made
Apr 16th, 2014
"Friday the 13th" Reboot in Talks with "V/H/S" Director
Apr 16th, 2014
Sneak Peek at Marvel's "Guardians of the Galaxy"
Apr 16th, 2014
Final Trailer for "X-Men: Days of Future Past"
Apr 16th, 2014
"Sinister Six" Spin-Off May NOT Feature Classic Spider-Man Villains
Apr 16th, 2014
Leonardo DiCaprio to Star in "The Revenant" Revenge Thriller
Apr 16th, 2014
Will Ferrell, John C. Reilly and Adam McKay Re-Team for "Border Guards" Comedy
Apr 16th, 2014
Trailer for Chrloe Moretz's "If I Stay"
Apr 16th, 2014
"Fast and Furious 7" Hires Paul Walker's Brothers to Help Finish the Film
Apr 16th, 2014
Trailer for "Third Person," with Liam Neeson and James Franco
Apr 16th, 2014
Andrew Garfield Says Spider-Man is Jewish
Apr 15th, 2014
Channing Tatum Confirms Talks to Play Gambit in "X-Men" Film
Apr 15th, 2014
David Fincher to be Replaced on Steve Jobs Biopic Due to Unreasonable Requests
Apr 15th, 2014
Harrison Ford Excited to Return for "Blade Runner" Sequel
Apr 15th, 2014
Trailer for David Cronenberg's "Maps to the Stars," with John Cusack and Julianne Moore
Apr 15th, 2014
Trailer for Philip Seymour Hoffman's "God's Pocket" Thriller
Apr 15th, 2014
Trailer for Zoe Saldana's "Rosemary's Baby" TV Series
Apr 15th, 2014
Trailer for Tommy Lee Jones' "The Homesman"
Apr 15th, 2014
Trailer for Jay-Z's "Annie" Remake, With Jamie Foxx and Cameron Diaz
Apr 15th, 2014
Trailer for Ben Affleck's "Gone Girl" Thriller, Directed by David Fincher
Apr 14th, 2014
Pierce Brosnan Says He Was NOT Good Enough as James Bond
Apr 14th, 2014
"Captain America: The Winter Soldier" Remains Box Office Champ
Apr 14th, 2014
Watch Opening Battle Sequence From "X-Men: Days of Future Past"
Apr 14th, 2014
Spider-Man Battles Electro in New "The Amazing Spider-Man 2" Clip
Apr 14th, 2014
First "Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles" TV Spot Shows Splinter
Apr 14th, 2014
"Transformers: Age of Extinction" TV Spot From MTV Movie Awards
Apr 14th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Photos: Nicolas Cage in Superman Outfit from Cancelled "Superman Lives" Movie

Posted: January 29th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Photos: Nicolas Cage in Superman Outfit from Cancelled "Superman Lives" MovieSubmit Comment
Back in 1998, Tim Burton was set to direct a new Superman movie, called "Superman Lives." Nicolas Cage was attached to star, Kevin Smith wrote the script, and Warner Bros threw millions of dollars at the project before scrapping it due to budget concerns.

Before shutting down pre-production, a large amount of work went into the concept art and costume design phase (pictured). We've seen some of the designs and they were completely bizarre. But now we have two new photos of Cage wearing his Superman suit, which is a bit more traditional.

The suit looks very plastic, similar to Batman's suit from the original films. Check out the photos below.

Photos: (click to enlarge)


Source: CBM


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 50 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
codeman_1216 writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 7:07:14 PM

Still better than Superma Returns.
codeman_1216 writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 7:11:19 PM

Superman*
codeman_1216 writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 7:13:00 PM

Sorry, I accidentally corrected my spelling. Brandon Routh was NOT Superman.
cress writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 7:22:09 PM

Is that kid modeling the suit Superman wears when he hits up the gay clubs in Metroplolis?
cress writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 7:32:10 PM

When were those photos of Cage taken? The 1800s? No wonder Warner Bros. sh*tcanned the project. I'd be underwhelmed as well if they sent me photos taken with awooden box camera.
minkowski writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 7:43:10 PM

Cool suit, terrible, terrible Kal El.

I mean, he has super vision, but premature baldness? What kind of superior genetics is THAT!?
cress writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 7:46:22 PM

Rogaine was banned on Krypton. That's what Zod was trying to steal at the beginning of Superman 2.
minkowski writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 7:51:39 PM

Guess that explains why Doomsday was so pissed.
Avirex writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 7:53:58 PM

Having a famous director as your uncle can really get you any f*cking role you want apparently...well almost.
cress writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 7:56:20 PM

Or the first Superman. I can't remember. Wasn't it in one of the Superman 2 cuts where they show more to their actual break-in? And someone whacks a "Star Wars-looking snowtrooper" security dude over the head?
minkowski writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 8:04:19 PM

I think that was Superman 2. Superman 1 was pretty good, Superman 3 had the dead unfunny black guy, and Superman 4 had the radioactive homosexual.

So by process of elimination, it had to have been Superman 2.
Electro Rock writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 8:12:53 PM

The delivery of dialogue in this film would've been great.

Its too bad Everett McGill never roided out back in the day. He would've been a great Superman.
FBO writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 8:13:54 PM

@Codeman - NO, just, no. Brandon Routh was not what was wrong with Returns. Bryan Singer trying to attract the "Devil Wears Prada" (http://www.worstpreviews.com/headline.php?id=21099) crowd was what was wrong with Returns. I still liked the movie myself but mostly because of Routh and Spacey.
FBO writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 8:14:26 PM

But there's a reason this Superman Lives movie was scraped
minkowski writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 8:15:00 PM

Like an abortion.
codeman_1216 writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 8:22:57 PM

@FBO

I agree, but with one minor difference. Routh portrayed Clark Kent perfectly, but he was so bland as Supes. And it seemed when he put the suit on he had almost no muscle tone. He should have been as big as he was in the video game. Does anyone remember that awful game? It was worse than the movie, if you can belive it.
Deaft0ne writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 8:30:49 PM

This old Taito Superman arcade game is the only one I remember playing that wasn't as sh*tty as these nic cage pics.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VpVchrw0VzI
Electro Rock writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 8:32:17 PM

The airplane part was the best thing about returns.
minkowski writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 8:34:08 PM

That old N64 Superman game was the dope.
triggax writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 8:42:38 PM

"I mean, he has super vision, but premature baldness? What kind of superior genetics is THAT!?"

First thing that popped into my head when I opened these pictures.

Alcoholism probably isn't much of a problem on Krypton either.
KillerCOck writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 8:45:36 PM

I still would've loved to see this. I bet Nic Cage's Clark Kent would've been awkwardly hilarious!

Routh was a sh*tty all over. His Kent was dull and boring and his Superman was creepy and pathetic.
TheFirstRule writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 9:06:19 PM

Would have been interesting to have seen a tim burton superman. I liked reeves superman films but i grew up with them. I was so excited when Superman returns was due. Then i watched it.
Bryan Singers love letter to superman was not for good viewing. Routh looked far to young also. Babyfaced Superman?
Fingers crossed for Man of Steel.
cress writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 9:12:46 PM

Has anyone read Kevin Smith's script gir Superman Lives? I was going to read it, but assumed it involved Jay and Silent Bob and a chimp on a cross-country trip.
BadChadB33 writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 9:13:44 PM

I can hear Nic Cage now" NO NO NO NOT THE BEES!! ERR I MEAN NOT THE KRYPTONITE."
boogiel writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 9:49:54 PM

The costume is great but nicolas cage as superman is an abomination.
Rambo writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 9:55:45 PM

fake
sedibus writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 10:02:41 PM

And this makes me wonder and remember about that seventies troubled production of Dune, I heard they have a doc*mentary about the insight of the productions demise.

That is a film that I would love to see.
jdl107 writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 11:42:32 PM

"Superman 3 had the dead unfunny black guy"

Aww, no love for Richard Pryor? Damn. Nonetheless I haven't seen that film. Don't plan to.

I did recently nab the original Supes 2 and the Richard Donner cut of it. Can't make up my mind on which to start with, although I feel the answer is obvious.
jdl107 writes:
on January 30th, 2013 at 12:08:07 AM

Call me crazy (Which you will) but I could honestly see that "gay bar" suit working in a movie with the right vibe. Like say, perhaps, a Snyder-esque scene with him in space and the lights shine up with, and resemble, the endless sight of stars and galaxies. Which then switches (For no reason I can think of) to the traditional suit for the Earth scenes.

And the Cage picture is probably before he had time to commit to bulking up for or at least training to look the part. Plus the suit already has the muscles, so he wouldn't have to completely give the pre-filming time the gym pursuits he'd need.

I'm honestly not completely against this. The balding aside, I think I could see him in the role.

But this was back in '98. So none of what I suggested would have ever been attempted. So... With that thought in mind, if made, this might have actually been the sh*tfest everyone is saying.
Ranger writes:
on January 30th, 2013 at 12:15:53 AM

Yeah, I can see that gay suit in a movie...

Plasticman... you're up!

http://tinyurl.com/SupesPOUNDSboys
Ranger writes:
on January 30th, 2013 at 12:20:43 AM

WTF is THIS?!?!?!?!?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g7rLbAp769g

I'm officially f*cking creeped out!!!!
Janus writes:
on January 30th, 2013 at 12:46:47 AM

Are we going to see these picture every year now? The last time was just enough.
minkowski writes:
on January 30th, 2013 at 12:50:28 AM

@Ranger: hell, I'm relieved. I thought it said rap, not rape.
Rambo writes:
on January 30th, 2013 at 12:59:11 AM

@ranger

looks like a homosexual rape...could give an idea for synger for a sequel
minkowski writes:
on January 30th, 2013 at 1:25:51 AM

Aren't we a querulous quorum of quipping quotidian queers...
Tanman32123 writes:
on January 30th, 2013 at 1:30:04 AM

This would have been amazing! no doubt about it! Oscar worthy!
Ranger writes:
on January 30th, 2013 at 3:40:39 AM

I'm still dry-heavin' here.
trailertrash writes:
on January 30th, 2013 at 3:48:23 AM

Was that Cage and Travolta in that clip Ranger ?
pornfly writes:
on January 30th, 2013 at 3:50:14 AM

Should cast Shia Labluff as Superman
that way he can film himself jumpin off a tall building
trailertrash writes:
on January 30th, 2013 at 3:50:17 AM

http://4.bp.blogspot.com/-QaGZgr3gLIs/T1ZjWF9sdeI/AAAAAAAAEGY/Rd7BRKtbo6A/s1600/sexy+geek.jpg


We needed this pic
trailertrash writes:
on January 30th, 2013 at 3:53:34 AM

porn

I hope thats the scene Superman forgot how to fly !
pornfly writes:
on January 30th, 2013 at 3:56:00 AM

Supermosquito bites
pornfly writes:
on January 30th, 2013 at 4:11:16 AM

Cages hairline is in The Phantom Zone
Which is also the name of the video store where Cages' new movies can be seen
trailertrash writes:
on January 30th, 2013 at 4:46:45 AM

lol
Kurskij writes:
on January 30th, 2013 at 5:13:09 AM

@tt thx

RANGER, what the hell was this? How did you even came across it?

It was creepier than all the ""horror" movies in the last 10 years combined.
trailertrash writes:
on January 30th, 2013 at 5:31:51 AM

After Rangers clip i felt we need to see her mate, lol
KillerCOck writes:
on January 30th, 2013 at 7:40:44 AM

For awhile, I seriously thought it was a Michael Jackson mask.
Kurskij writes:
on January 30th, 2013 at 8:44:03 AM

Needs an antidot. Here's a tasteful nude:

http://30.media.tumblr.com/tumblr_ltp7alGyTR1r2pk43o1_500.jpg
trailertrash writes:
on January 30th, 2013 at 9:35:07 AM

Tasty indeed mate


..... Looks like she's getting herself off with her heel, Kinky !!
Ranger writes:
on January 30th, 2013 at 11:08:12 AM

@tt - lol.

@kursk - just as a joke I entered 'superman + gay' on YouTube... and WTF?!?!?!?

I'm still scouring out my eyes with steel wool!

As for the girl you posted. I LUV women that can feet f*ck themselves. It saves me the trouble of having to... oh what the hell. Their foot in one end, and I tag their backside.

"The Goonies" Sequel is Confirmed by Director

James Cameron Gives "Avatar" Sequels Update, Comments on Arnold Schwarzenegger Rumor

"Captain America: The Winter Soldier" Remains Box Office Champ

Marvel Hints at "Iron Man 4" Development

Hugh Jackman Wants Channing Tatum to Take Over Wolverine Role

Lindsay Lohan Says She Was Almost in "The Avengers," But as Which Character?

"Guardians of the Galaxy" is Connected to "Avengers 3"

Anthony Mackie Almost Got Arrested Signing "Captain America 2" Falcon Posters

Marvel Already Set Up Films Through 2028, Lots of Spin-Offs in the Works

"Captain America 3" Directors Hint at Plot Details
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved