WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Pierce Brosnan Was Offered Lead in Tim Burton's "Batman," Thought It Was a Joke
Aug 20th, 2014
Trailer for Antonio Banderas' "Automata" Sci-Fi Film
Aug 20th, 2014
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "Men, Women and Children," Directed by Jason Reitman
Aug 20th, 2014
Daughters of Johnny Depp and Kevin Smith to Star in "Yoga Hosers"
Aug 20th, 2014
Photo: Is Scoot McNairy Playing The Flash in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"?
Aug 20th, 2014
Trailer For "A Good Marriage" Thriller, Based on Stephen King's Short Story
Aug 20th, 2014
New Trailer For "Ouija" Supernatural Thriller, Based on Board Game
Aug 20th, 2014
Benedict Cumberbatch is Shere Khan in "The Jungle Book" Film
Aug 20th, 2014
First Look at Paul Rudd in Marvel's "Ant-Man"
Aug 20th, 2014
Mark Wahlberg in Talks for "Deepwater Horizon" BP Oil Disaster Film
Aug 20th, 2014
Photos of Henry Cavill as Superman on Set of "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Aug 19th, 2014
Alfred Molina Wants to Return as Spider-Man Villain Doctor Octopus in "Sinister Six"
Aug 19th, 2014
Trailer for Lifetime's "Saved By the Bell" Movie
Aug 19th, 2014
"Olympus Has Fallen" Sequel Hires Director, Filming to Begin in October
Aug 19th, 2014
"The Fault in Our Stars" Director in Talks for Anne Rice's "Lestat" Vampire Film
Aug 19th, 2014
Milla Jovovich is Pregnant, "Resident Evil: The Final Chapter" Gets Delayed
Aug 18th, 2014
"Sharknado 3" Star Wants More Money, May Get Replaced
Aug 18th, 2014
"The Devil's Advocate" to Become a TV Series
Aug 18th, 2014
Photo: Marc Webb Unveils Concept Art From "The Amazing Spider-Man" Spin-Off "Sinister Six"
Aug 18th, 2014
Video: Robin Williams Recorded Message of Hope For Terminally Ill Woman
Aug 18th, 2014
First Posters for Antonio Banderas' "Automata" Sci-Fi Film
Aug 18th, 2014
"The Expendables 3" Bombs at the Box Office, "Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles" Still On Top
Aug 17th, 2014
Concept Art of Main Villain and Han Solo From "Star Wars: Episode VII"
Aug 17th, 2014
Leonardo DiCaprio, Tom Hardy and Tobey Maguire Sign On for Animal Poaching Film
Aug 17th, 2014
Jackie Chan Discusses "The Expendables 4" and "Rush Hour 4"
Aug 16th, 2014
Sylvester Stallone Started Training For "Rambo 5"
Aug 16th, 2014
New "Dumb and Dumber To" Posters Parody Scarlett Johansson's "Lucy" Film
Aug 16th, 2014
Sylvester Stallone Recalls His Terrible "Star Wars" Audition
Aug 16th, 2014
First Look at Paul Thomas Anderson's "Inherent Vice," with Joaquin Phoenix and Josh Brolin
Aug 16th, 2014
New Trailer for Elijah Wood's "Open Windows" Thriller
Aug 16th, 2014
Trailer for Quentin Tarantino's "The Hateful Eight" Attached to "Sin City: A Dame to Kill For"
Aug 15th, 2014
First Look at Stormtroopers From "Star Wars: Episode VII"
Aug 15th, 2014
First Clip From Robin Williams' "Merry Friggin' Christmas"
Aug 15th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Photos: Nicolas Cage in Superman Outfit from Cancelled "Superman Lives" Movie

Posted: January 29th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Photos: Nicolas Cage in Superman Outfit from Cancelled "Superman Lives" MovieSubmit Comment
Back in 1998, Tim Burton was set to direct a new Superman movie, called "Superman Lives." Nicolas Cage was attached to star, Kevin Smith wrote the script, and Warner Bros threw millions of dollars at the project before scrapping it due to budget concerns.

Before shutting down pre-production, a large amount of work went into the concept art and costume design phase (pictured). We've seen some of the designs and they were completely bizarre. But now we have two new photos of Cage wearing his Superman suit, which is a bit more traditional.

The suit looks very plastic, similar to Batman's suit from the original films. Check out the photos below.

Photos: (click to enlarge)


Source: CBM


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 50 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
codeman_1216 writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 7:07:14 PM

Still better than Superma Returns.
codeman_1216 writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 7:11:19 PM

Superman*
codeman_1216 writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 7:13:00 PM

Sorry, I accidentally corrected my spelling. Brandon Routh was NOT Superman.
cress writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 7:22:09 PM

Is that kid modeling the suit Superman wears when he hits up the gay clubs in Metroplolis?
cress writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 7:32:10 PM

When were those photos of Cage taken? The 1800s? No wonder Warner Bros. sh*tcanned the project. I'd be underwhelmed as well if they sent me photos taken with awooden box camera.
minkowski writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 7:43:10 PM

Cool suit, terrible, terrible Kal El.

I mean, he has super vision, but premature baldness? What kind of superior genetics is THAT!?
cress writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 7:46:22 PM

Rogaine was banned on Krypton. That's what Zod was trying to steal at the beginning of Superman 2.
minkowski writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 7:51:39 PM

Guess that explains why Doomsday was so pissed.
Avirex writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 7:53:58 PM

Having a famous director as your uncle can really get you any f*cking role you want apparently...well almost.
cress writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 7:56:20 PM

Or the first Superman. I can't remember. Wasn't it in one of the Superman 2 cuts where they show more to their actual break-in? And someone whacks a "Star Wars-looking snowtrooper" security dude over the head?
minkowski writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 8:04:19 PM

I think that was Superman 2. Superman 1 was pretty good, Superman 3 had the dead unfunny black guy, and Superman 4 had the radioactive homosexual.

So by process of elimination, it had to have been Superman 2.
Electro Rock writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 8:12:53 PM

The delivery of dialogue in this film would've been great.

Its too bad Everett McGill never roided out back in the day. He would've been a great Superman.
FBO writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 8:13:54 PM

@Codeman - NO, just, no. Brandon Routh was not what was wrong with Returns. Bryan Singer trying to attract the "Devil Wears Prada" (http://www.worstpreviews.com/headline.php?id=21099) crowd was what was wrong with Returns. I still liked the movie myself but mostly because of Routh and Spacey.
FBO writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 8:14:26 PM

But there's a reason this Superman Lives movie was scraped
minkowski writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 8:15:00 PM

Like an abortion.
codeman_1216 writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 8:22:57 PM

@FBO

I agree, but with one minor difference. Routh portrayed Clark Kent perfectly, but he was so bland as Supes. And it seemed when he put the suit on he had almost no muscle tone. He should have been as big as he was in the video game. Does anyone remember that awful game? It was worse than the movie, if you can belive it.
Deaft0ne writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 8:30:49 PM

This old Taito Superman arcade game is the only one I remember playing that wasn't as sh*tty as these nic cage pics.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VpVchrw0VzI
Electro Rock writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 8:32:17 PM

The airplane part was the best thing about returns.
minkowski writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 8:34:08 PM

That old N64 Superman game was the dope.
triggax writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 8:42:38 PM

"I mean, he has super vision, but premature baldness? What kind of superior genetics is THAT!?"

First thing that popped into my head when I opened these pictures.

Alcoholism probably isn't much of a problem on Krypton either.
KillerCOck writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 8:45:36 PM

I still would've loved to see this. I bet Nic Cage's Clark Kent would've been awkwardly hilarious!

Routh was a sh*tty all over. His Kent was dull and boring and his Superman was creepy and pathetic.
TheFirstRule writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 9:06:19 PM

Would have been interesting to have seen a tim burton superman. I liked reeves superman films but i grew up with them. I was so excited when Superman returns was due. Then i watched it.
Bryan Singers love letter to superman was not for good viewing. Routh looked far to young also. Babyfaced Superman?
Fingers crossed for Man of Steel.
cress writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 9:12:46 PM

Has anyone read Kevin Smith's script gir Superman Lives? I was going to read it, but assumed it involved Jay and Silent Bob and a chimp on a cross-country trip.
BadChadB33 writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 9:13:44 PM

I can hear Nic Cage now" NO NO NO NOT THE BEES!! ERR I MEAN NOT THE KRYPTONITE."
boogiel writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 9:49:54 PM

The costume is great but nicolas cage as superman is an abomination.
Rambo writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 9:55:45 PM

fake
sedibus writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 10:02:41 PM

And this makes me wonder and remember about that seventies troubled production of Dune, I heard they have a doc*mentary about the insight of the productions demise.

That is a film that I would love to see.
jdl107 writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 11:42:32 PM

"Superman 3 had the dead unfunny black guy"

Aww, no love for Richard Pryor? Damn. Nonetheless I haven't seen that film. Don't plan to.

I did recently nab the original Supes 2 and the Richard Donner cut of it. Can't make up my mind on which to start with, although I feel the answer is obvious.
jdl107 writes:
on January 30th, 2013 at 12:08:07 AM

Call me crazy (Which you will) but I could honestly see that "gay bar" suit working in a movie with the right vibe. Like say, perhaps, a Snyder-esque scene with him in space and the lights shine up with, and resemble, the endless sight of stars and galaxies. Which then switches (For no reason I can think of) to the traditional suit for the Earth scenes.

And the Cage picture is probably before he had time to commit to bulking up for or at least training to look the part. Plus the suit already has the muscles, so he wouldn't have to completely give the pre-filming time the gym pursuits he'd need.

I'm honestly not completely against this. The balding aside, I think I could see him in the role.

But this was back in '98. So none of what I suggested would have ever been attempted. So... With that thought in mind, if made, this might have actually been the sh*tfest everyone is saying.
Ranger writes:
on January 30th, 2013 at 12:15:53 AM

Yeah, I can see that gay suit in a movie...

Plasticman... you're up!

http://tinyurl.com/SupesPOUNDSboys
Ranger writes:
on January 30th, 2013 at 12:20:43 AM

WTF is THIS?!?!?!?!?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g7rLbAp769g

I'm officially f*cking creeped out!!!!
Janus writes:
on January 30th, 2013 at 12:46:47 AM

Are we going to see these picture every year now? The last time was just enough.
minkowski writes:
on January 30th, 2013 at 12:50:28 AM

@Ranger: hell, I'm relieved. I thought it said rap, not rape.
Rambo writes:
on January 30th, 2013 at 12:59:11 AM

@ranger

looks like a homosexual rape...could give an idea for synger for a sequel
minkowski writes:
on January 30th, 2013 at 1:25:51 AM

Aren't we a querulous quorum of quipping quotidian queers...
Tanman32123 writes:
on January 30th, 2013 at 1:30:04 AM

This would have been amazing! no doubt about it! Oscar worthy!
Ranger writes:
on January 30th, 2013 at 3:40:39 AM

I'm still dry-heavin' here.
trailertrash writes:
on January 30th, 2013 at 3:48:23 AM

Was that Cage and Travolta in that clip Ranger ?
pornfly writes:
on January 30th, 2013 at 3:50:14 AM

Should cast Shia Labluff as Superman
that way he can film himself jumpin off a tall building
trailertrash writes:
on January 30th, 2013 at 3:50:17 AM

http://4.bp.blogspot.com/-QaGZgr3gLIs/T1ZjWF9sdeI/AAAAAAAAEGY/Rd7BRKtbo6A/s1600/sexy+geek.jpg


We needed this pic
trailertrash writes:
on January 30th, 2013 at 3:53:34 AM

porn

I hope thats the scene Superman forgot how to fly !
pornfly writes:
on January 30th, 2013 at 3:56:00 AM

Supermosquito bites
pornfly writes:
on January 30th, 2013 at 4:11:16 AM

Cages hairline is in The Phantom Zone
Which is also the name of the video store where Cages' new movies can be seen
trailertrash writes:
on January 30th, 2013 at 4:46:45 AM

lol
Kurskij writes:
on January 30th, 2013 at 5:13:09 AM

@tt thx

RANGER, what the hell was this? How did you even came across it?

It was creepier than all the ""horror" movies in the last 10 years combined.
trailertrash writes:
on January 30th, 2013 at 5:31:51 AM

After Rangers clip i felt we need to see her mate, lol
KillerCOck writes:
on January 30th, 2013 at 7:40:44 AM

For awhile, I seriously thought it was a Michael Jackson mask.
Kurskij writes:
on January 30th, 2013 at 8:44:03 AM

Needs an antidot. Here's a tasteful nude:

http://30.media.tumblr.com/tumblr_ltp7alGyTR1r2pk43o1_500.jpg
trailertrash writes:
on January 30th, 2013 at 9:35:07 AM

Tasty indeed mate


..... Looks like she's getting herself off with her heel, Kinky !!
Ranger writes:
on January 30th, 2013 at 11:08:12 AM

@tt - lol.

@kursk - just as a joke I entered 'superman + gay' on YouTube... and WTF?!?!?!?

I'm still scouring out my eyes with steel wool!

As for the girl you posted. I LUV women that can feet f*ck themselves. It saves me the trouble of having to... oh what the hell. Their foot in one end, and I tag their backside.

"Sharknado 2" Breaks Records with 3.9 Million Viewers

Ronda Rousey Says She Should Have Been Wonder Woman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

TJ Miller Explains Why He'll Never Work With Director Michael Bay Again

Bruce Wayne's Age in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Revealed

Robin Williams' Cause of Death Revealed

Anthony Mackie Says He's Ready to Become Captain America

James Gunn Says "Guardians and the Galaxy" and "Avengers" Superheroes May Soon Meet

"The Expendables 3" Bombs at the Box Office, "Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles" Still On Top

"Batman v Superman" Director Zack Snyder Defends Aquaman's Powers

Jackie Chan Discusses "The Expendables 4" and "Rush Hour 4"
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved