WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Charlie Hunnam Says "Pacific Rim 2" Must Focus More on Story Than Visuals
Jul 25th, 2015
Bryan Singer Says "X-Men" and "Fantastic Four" May Soon Unite
Jul 25th, 2015
New Trailer for Zac Efron's "We Are Your Friends"
Jul 25th, 2015
"Jurassic World" Sequel Gets Release Date, Chris Pratt to Return
Jul 24th, 2015
Dwayne Johnson's "Baywatch" Movie Hires "Horrible Bosses" Director
Jul 24th, 2015
Russell Crowe in Talks to Join "King Kong" Prequel
Jul 24th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 2" is Here!
Jul 24th, 2015
New Trailer for "Maze Runner" Sequel
Jul 24th, 2015
LeBron James Signs Deal with Warner Bros, "Space Jam 2" Happening?
Jul 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Ryan Reynolds' "Mississippi Grind" Poker Film
Jul 23rd, 2015
Final Restricted Trailer for "Vacation" Sequel
Jul 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Patrick Wilson's "Zipper" Thriller
Jul 23rd, 2015
Full Trailer for "Spectre" James Bond Film
Jul 22nd, 2015
Full Trailer for Pixar's "The Good Dinosaur" Animated Film
Jul 22nd, 2015
"Kung Fu Panda" Director Making "Emoji" Movie
Jul 22nd, 2015
"Pacific Rim 2" to Begin Filming in November
Jul 22nd, 2015
Backstreet Boys and 'NSync Members Unite for "Dead 7" Low-Budget Horror Film
Jul 21st, 2015
Benicio Del Toro May Play Villain in "Star Wars: Episode VIII"
Jul 21st, 2015
Trailer for "Before We Go," Chris Evans' Directorial Debut
Jul 21st, 2015
"The Godfather" Actor Alex Rocco Dead at 79
Jul 21st, 2015
New Trailer for "American Ultra," with Jesse Eisenberg and Kristen Stewart
Jul 21st, 2015
"Ant-Man" Gets Second Worst Marvel Opening
Jul 20th, 2015
Ava DuVernay Explains Why She Isn't Directing Marvel's "Black Panther"
Jul 20th, 2015
Did 20th Century Fox Leak Comic-Con Trailers for "X-Men: Apocalypse" and "Deadpool"?
Jul 19th, 2015
Sam Raimi Comments on Marvel Rebooting "Spider-Man" Franchise
Jul 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Some Kind of Beautiful," with Pierce Brosnan, Jessica Alba and Selma Hayek
Jul 19th, 2015
Trailer for Leonardo DiCaprio's "The Revenant" Thriller is Here!
Jul 18th, 2015
Watch IMAX Trailer for "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Jul 18th, 2015
"X-Men: Apocalypse" Unveils Photos of Apocalypse, Psylocke and Storm
Jul 17th, 2015
"Spider-Man" Reboot Finally Hires Writers
Jul 17th, 2015
Stephen King's "It" Movie Hires a Director
Jul 17th, 2015
Casts of "Batman v Superman" and "Suicide Squad" Unite for Photo Shoot
Jul 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Joy," with Jennifer Lawrence, Bradley Cooper and Robert De Niro
Jul 16th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Robert Downey Jr Describes Boot/Glove Sequence from "Iron Man 3"

Posted: January 29th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Robert Downey Jr Describes Boot/Glove Sequence from "Iron Man 3"Submit Comment
In a new interview with Entertainment Weekly, Robert Downey Jr talked about a favorite scene from "Iron Man 3" that Marvel teased at the San Diego Comic-Con last year in the shape of concept art (see below).

"We've just been talking about one sequence - the top-secret name is the Boot/Glove Sequence," he said. "It's where Tony only has one gauntlet and one boot and he has to escape multiple captors. It's really fun. We're taking everything from his first gauntlet test in the first movie up through the most extreme stuff we thought up for 'Iron Man 2' and 'The Avengers,' and pulling on all of it and making this one big, extended challenge of physics."

Downey went on to say that Rhodey (Don Cheadle) plays a more important part in the movie. "Rhodey is much more in the dead center of things," he explained. "We made this decision that while Tony is a technical guy, he's not really a trained guy. There's a lot of fun to be had with Don because he's really good with hardware and he's a martial artist. So there's a lot more depth to Rhodey this time around."

Concept Art: (click to enlarge)


Click here to read more about "Iron Man 3."

Source: EW, PeliBlog.com


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 15 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Taco writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 8:28:24 AM

Sound's good to me. This better be great cuz im not in the moid to be disappointed.
cress writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 9:09:45 AM

Off-screen, Downey and Paltrow performed the equally technical Fist/Anus sequence.
Moose756 writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 10:58:36 AM

^it was the sh*t.
Ranger writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 11:28:00 AM

So really, despite the headline, RDJ explained nothing about this sequence, did he?
supaflywill writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 12:17:20 PM

Iron man in hoth disguise ....iron man in night suit etc etc
minkowski writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 3:37:08 PM

I thought Cheadle was great in Flight, and I'm so damned glad they canned that candy ass whiner Terrence Howard.
jdl107 writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 4:53:47 PM

I nabbed Flight for the family and threw it on the Blu-Ray player last week.

Don't remember anybody that sat through the first 20 minutes, including myself. I've been meaning to get back to watching it, as Denzel's hugely praised performance has me aching to watch it. I just couldn't handle the stock depictions of the heroin junkie, and the overall... Vibe (Yeah, let's go with that) of the movie. It either told me that Zemeckis rushed this movie out for awards season or probably got some pressure to make a live-action so he just tossed a quickie around the writers table.

Like I said, though, I will get back to it.

Oh, yeah. This article lies, again. That is all.
minkowski writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 5:25:51 PM

Zemeckis has been looking for relevance for ten years. First he tried live-action action adventure as a commercial yeoman, and got nowhere.

Then he tried animation only to discover he sucked. Now he's trying to go the socially conscious route though live-action, and on that level, Flight works, but not well enough for the year in which it came out.

It's like he's trying to get approval in the year Traffic appeared, and Hollywood, and much of the culture and audiences, is way beyond that.

In other words, Zemeckis wants relevance, and he has some, sure, but he's way behind the curve for the level he's seeking.

He needs to dig deeper and do something fresh and audacious. Way to stale and mainstream where he is now, because nudity and heavy drug use is so 1990s.
jdl107 writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 6:06:16 PM

Hit the nail on the head there. Could be the reason why the film didn't work out with me. The family who I showed it to are casual viewers, so when I go back to it I'm going to have to watch by myself in the mentality knowing that it was made with dated intentions, just like you said. So I'm going to try it out with your observation and see how that works out.

Basically I'm going to have to forget Traffic and the million other movies with performance concepts and aspects of direction that were released before Flight. Kind of a cheap way to see how good the movie is (Seeing as how it wasn't made with modern intent), but then again, I can't just toss it aside with a 20 minute observation.
jdl107 writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 6:07:21 PM

Some would say that it would be stupid for me to judge the movie with that much time put in.

But when the perfomances are shelled out that obvious, 20 minutes speaks volumes.
jdl107 writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 6:10:09 PM

*watch -it-
jdl107 writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 6:10:50 PM

*see how that works out

-sans the "out"
minkowski writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 6:48:05 PM

I'll be totally honest without veering right into negativity: it doesn't get any better than the first 20 minutes, or after the crash.

Sorry.
jdl107 writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 11:42:37 PM

Hmm... Well, I guess I'm a rut, aren't I? Seeing as how I've already tore through the new releases.

I need some new sh*t to watch. Guess while I'm waiting for Hollywood to cook up something worthwhile I'll be mindlessly delving into CSI Vegas.

Yes, I know. And I also agree with your assertions that I probably will be going on like that for a... Long, long time.
jdl107 writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 11:58:46 PM

*-in- a rut

Did 20th Century Fox Leak Comic-Con Trailers for "X-Men: Apocalypse" and "Deadpool"?

It's Official: "Jurassic World" Beats "The Avengers" for Biggest Box Office Opening

Spider-Man Contractually Cannot be Black or Gay

Marvel and Sony Can't Agree on Which Actor Should Play Spider-Man

"Jurassic World" is a Massive Hit, Chris Pratt to Return for Sequel

Stan Lee Comments on Spider-Man Contractually Being White and Straight

Ben Affleck to Direct "Batman" Reboot!

"Star Wars" Actor Arrested After Insane Car Chase

"Ant-Man" Gets Second Worst Marvel Opening

"Spider-Man" Reboot Announces Actor and Director
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved