WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Neill Blomkamp's "Alien" Sequel Will Give Ripley a Proper Ending
Feb 26th, 2015
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Unveils Iron Man Poster
Feb 26th, 2015
Official "Creed" Plot Synopsis Hints at Rocky's Health Issues
Feb 26th, 2015
Four New Photos From "Fantastic Four" Reboot
Feb 26th, 2015
"Tomb Raider" Reboot Hires "Divergent" Writer
Feb 26th, 2015
Poster for Marvel's "Avengers: Age of Ultron"
Feb 25th, 2015
Arnold Schwarzenegger Says He'll Return For "Terminator Genisys" Sequel
Feb 25th, 2015
Dark "Power Rangers" Short Film with James Van Der Beek
Feb 25th, 2015
"The LEGO Movie" Sequel Announces Director
Feb 25th, 2015
Next Spider-Man Will NOT Be White?
Feb 24th, 2015
Chris Pratt Comments on Starring in "Indiana Jones 5"
Feb 24th, 2015
Rooney Mara Says "Girl With the Dragon Tattoo" Sequel is Dead
Feb 24th, 2015
New Trailer for Sean Penn's "The Gunman" Action Film, From Director of "Taken"
Feb 24th, 2015
"Fifty Shades of Grey" Still First at Box Office, "Hot Tub Time Machine 2" Bombs
Feb 23rd, 2015
Academy Award Winners Announced!
Feb 22nd, 2015
Steven Spielberg May Direct Chris Pratt in "Indiana Jones 5"
Feb 22nd, 2015
Hugh Jackman Wants to Play Wolverine Until He Dies
Feb 22nd, 2015
"Wonder Woman" Set to Begin Filming This Fall
Feb 22nd, 2015
2015 Razzie Winners Announced!
Feb 22nd, 2015
Trailer for "Infinitely Polar Bear," with Mark Ruffalo and Zoe Saldana
Feb 22nd, 2015
First Look: Jason Momoa is Aquaman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Feb 21st, 2015
Joss Whedon Blames Edgar Wright for Not Having Ant-Man in "Avengers: Age of Ultron"
Feb 21st, 2015
Jared Leto Talks Playing The Joker in "Suicide Squad"
Feb 21st, 2015
First Look at Johnny Depp as Captain Jack Sparrow in "Pirates of the Caribbean 5"
Feb 21st, 2015
"Mission: Impossible 5" Placed on Hold to Rewrite Ending
Feb 21st, 2015
"Fifty Shades of Grey" Author Demands Control Over Sequel's Script
Feb 20th, 2015
"Shaft" Reboot in the Works
Feb 20th, 2015
First Look at "Texas Rising," with Bill Paxton, Brendan Fraser and Many Others
Feb 20th, 2015
Confirmed: Neill Blomkamp Will Direct New "Alien" Film
Feb 19th, 2015
First Look at Sylvester Stallone as Rocky Balboa in "Creed"
Feb 19th, 2015
Kodi Smit-McPhee is Young Nightcrawler in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Feb 19th, 2015
Morena Baccarin is Female Lead in "Deadpool"
Feb 19th, 2015
Mark Ruffalo Discusses The Hulk in "Avengers: Age of Ultron" and in New Solo Film
Feb 18th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Terrence Stamp Doesn't Like George Lucas and Hated Making "Star Wars: Episode I - The Phantom Menace"

Posted: January 29th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Terrence Stamp DoesnSubmit Comment
During almost every press conference, actors talk about how they loved working with their co-stars and with their director. A real pleasure. But once in a while, an actor will come forward about the miserable time he had on the set of some movie.

This time it's Terence Stamp, who revealed the awful time he had playing Chancellor Valorum in "Star Wars: Episode I - The Phantom Menace," and how disappointed he was with the directing style of George Lucas.

"We didn't get [along] at all. I didn't feel like [Lucas] was a director of actors; he was more interested in stuff and effects. He didn't interest me and I [don't] think I interested him," said Stamp. "I came all the way back from Australia [for the movie]. I didn't want to, but my agent leaned on me and I wanted to meet Natalie Portman because I'd seen her in 'The Professional.' And I did meet her and she was absolutely enchanting. But on the day I'm supposed to do my scene with her, for which I'd traveled halfway around the world, I said, 'Where's Natalie?' And George says, 'That's Natalie,' and points to a bit of paper on the wall. It was just boring."

Source: Empire, PeliBlog.com


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 22 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Rambo writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 7:10:45 AM

Lucas?Boring?

Naaah..
boogiel writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 7:20:43 AM

Now that Lucas isn't in control, I expect hearing more of these types of sentiments from prequel actors.
cress writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 7:53:34 AM

Waaah! Boo-hoo! My p*ssy hurts! My agent made me do it! I have no control over the roles I take! Waah! I'm a dirty old man who wanted to meet a 14 year old girl named Natalie! Waaah! "Priscilla, Queen of the Desert" is more of a film for me, because it deals with men who are big pussies, which I am! Waaaaaaahh!

*he was awesome as Zod though
Crazyhorse writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 8:14:52 AM

That makes sense now. I always wondered why some of the scenes the actors looked like they were at times staring at nothing at all when talking to another actor

Cant really blame him for saying what he did. They probably could have sent someone down o Australia with a camera and filmed him there since he wasnt live with the other actors
Avirex writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 8:21:29 AM

"I wanted to meet Natalie Portman because I'd seen her in 'The Professional."

Pedo alert.

Still love his films though.
Cannon writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 8:44:03 AM


Cry me a f*ckin' river.

I guess he just forgot the part where he GOT PAID for doing a job. Both Liam Neeson and Alec Guinness have also noted that Lucas was never a performance-frist, actor-centric kind of director, but they never bitched about it either because they understood the territory.

This isn't Shakespeare or some contemporary method drama. It's Star Wars. They're very technical films; it's a very technical kind of storytelling. And especially if you're playing a smaller side role, you're likely not going to get all the attention in the world as if you're doing theater.

Ian McDiarmid has had nothing but consistant praise and gratitude for Lucas, and, lo, he gave one of the best performances of the entire saga.

Stapes writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 9:14:01 AM

The funny thing is that the piece of paper actually WAS Portman.
FBO writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 10:01:23 AM

I didn't know Stamp was an effing pedophile
FBO writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 10:14:55 AM

It looks like Terrance and I have something in common, we both wanted to nail Natalie Portman's ass to the wall. Of course the difference is I was 13 at the time...
BadChadB33 writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 10:59:43 AM

I forgot he was even in that steamy pile of sh*t.
Ranger writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 11:34:00 AM

What Cress said. Sorry folks. Not reading any further. Sick of this piss n' moan, well-paid actors bitching. He had to come halfway around the world for this gig? What.. on a raft he built by his own two hands?

I like Stamp in Wallstreet, and as Zod... even in Young Guns. Now he can just f*ck off.
makingcircles writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 11:52:21 AM

Well he's definitely not burning any bridges there because even if Lucas DID make another movie...who the f*ck would want to be in it anyway??

Kneel before ZOD you fat bearded f*ck!!!
Kurskij writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 12:17:44 PM

I love "The Limey".

That is all.
Ranger writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 12:52:59 PM

He's a powerhouse on the big screen. But this constant bitching we hear from these actors, what's the point? Sure they're allowed to have opinions like the rest of us, but to talk as though they're so hard done by. Oi.
Cannon writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 1:05:36 PM

@makingcircles

Zod doesn't have $4 billion dollars. Also, he dresses like a fag.

pornfly writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 2:36:54 PM

Im sure making The Bosses Daughter was better

Tune in next time to hear about Lexington Steeles ordeal with having to wait around for non-white people condoms before filming
minkowski writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 3:11:15 PM

So Stamp didn't like Lucas? And? Who does? And he thought The Phantom Menace is sh*t? Who doesn't think that?

This is news, Alex?

Coming tomorrow: 7.1 Billion People Think Lucas and The Phantom Menace Suck Diarrhetic Ass.
minkowski writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 3:13:36 PM

Just a sign of the times, I guess when wealthy famous old men bitch about having to hardly work for a great living like bleeding 12 year old girls complaining they have to unwrap a tampon to save their panties.
GERARD KENNELLY 27 writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 3:22:36 PM



i saw her too
in a different movie called LEON

ha ha ha
GERARD KENNELLY 27 writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 3:26:43 PM



i saw her too
in a different movie called LEON

ha ha ha
GERARD KENNELLY 27 writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 3:36:48 PM



http://www.metacafe.com/watch/9085309/natalie_portman_mila_kunis_sexy_in_black_swan/
Mickael writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 9:39:47 PM

This Episode I review says it all.

http://redlettermedia.com/plinkett/star-wars/star-wars-episode-1-the-phantom-menace/

Will Smith Trashes "Another Earth," Vince Vaughn Trashes "The Internship"

Joss Whedon Blames Edgar Wright for Not Having Ant-Man in "Avengers: Age of Ultron"

More Details on Marvel's Spider-Man Deal, New Spider-Man to be Younger

Mark Ruffalo Discusses The Hulk in "Avengers: Age of Ultron" and in New Solo Film

It's Official: Spider-Man to Appear in Marvel Films

Matthew Vaughn Reveals His Version of Quicksilver Scene in "X-Men: Days of Future Past"

Director Matthew Vaughn Wanted Two Wolverines in "X-Men: Days of Future Past"

Confirmed: Neill Blomkamp Will Direct New "Alien" Film

Disney Wants to Reboot "Indiana Jones" with Chris Pratt

Robert Downey Jr Hints at "Captain America: Civil War" Storyline
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved