WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
David Fincher Regrets Making "The Game," Says Superhero Film are Dull
Sep 17th, 2014
Tom Hardy Says Making "This Means War" Was a Bad Experience
Sep 17th, 2014
Jack Huston to Star in "Ben-Hur" Remake
Sep 17th, 2014
Poster for Disney's "Into the Woods," with Meryl Streep and Johnny Depp
Sep 17th, 2014
Tom Hiddleston to Star in "King Kong" Prequel, "Skull Island"
Sep 16th, 2014
Poster for Christopher Nolan's "Interstellar" Arrives Online
Sep 16th, 2014
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Plot Synopsis Revealed
Sep 16th, 2014
"I Know What You Did Last Summer" is Being Rebooted
Sep 16th, 2014
Leslie Mann in Talks for "Vacation" Sequel as Audrey Griswold
Sep 16th, 2014
"You're Next" Director to Remake "I Saw the Devil" Thriller
Sep 16th, 2014
Matt Damon to Return For "Jason Bourne 5"
Sep 16th, 2014
First Look at "By the Sea," with Brad Pitt and Angelina Jolie
Sep 16th, 2014
New Trailer for "The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1" Arrives Online
Sep 16th, 2014
Massive Banner For "The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies"
Sep 15th, 2014
First Look: Adam Driver on "Star Wars: Episode VII" Set
Sep 15th, 2014
"No Good Deed" Beats "Dolphin Tale 2" For First Place at Box Office
Sep 14th, 2014
Lou Ferrigno Says "Hulk" Movie and TV Series are Coming
Sep 14th, 2014
Photos: "Gotham" Star Ben McKenzie Injured on Set
Sep 14th, 2014
First Look at "Transporter" Reboot, Plot Synopsis Revealed
Sep 14th, 2014
First Look: Mark Wahlberg on "Ted 2" Set
Sep 14th, 2014
Batmobile Stolen From "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Set, Zack Snyder Knows Who Did It
Sep 13th, 2014
First Look at Matthew McConaughey in "The Sea of Trees"
Sep 13th, 2014
First Look at Seth Rogen's "BOO: Bureau of Otherworldly Operations" Animated Film
Sep 13th, 2014
Morgan Freeman Joins "Ben-Hur" Remake
Sep 13th, 2014
Trailer For Keanu Reeves' "John Wick" Action Thriller
Sep 13th, 2014
Trailer for "Serena," with Bradley Cooper and Jennifer Lawrence
Sep 13th, 2014
Trailer For "Playing It Cool," Re-Teaming Chris Evans and Anthony Mackie
Sep 13th, 2014
James McAvoy Will Finally Be Bald in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Sep 12th, 2014
Theo James to Star in "Underworld 5," Kate Beckinsale NOT Returning
Sep 12th, 2014
Mark Ruffalo Begged "Star Wars: Episode VIII" Director For a Role
Sep 12th, 2014
Photo: Tom Cruise, Simon Pegg, Jeremy Renner and Ving Rhames on "Mission: Impossible 5" Set
Sep 12th, 2014
New Trailer for Robert Downey Jr's "The Judge"
Sep 12th, 2014
"Married With Children" Spin-Off in the Works
Sep 12th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Terrence Stamp Doesn't Like George Lucas and Hated Making "Star Wars: Episode I - The Phantom Menace"

Posted: January 29th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Terrence Stamp DoesnSubmit Comment
During almost every press conference, actors talk about how they loved working with their co-stars and with their director. A real pleasure. But once in a while, an actor will come forward about the miserable time he had on the set of some movie.

This time it's Terence Stamp, who revealed the awful time he had playing Chancellor Valorum in "Star Wars: Episode I - The Phantom Menace," and how disappointed he was with the directing style of George Lucas.

"We didn't get [along] at all. I didn't feel like [Lucas] was a director of actors; he was more interested in stuff and effects. He didn't interest me and I [don't] think I interested him," said Stamp. "I came all the way back from Australia [for the movie]. I didn't want to, but my agent leaned on me and I wanted to meet Natalie Portman because I'd seen her in 'The Professional.' And I did meet her and she was absolutely enchanting. But on the day I'm supposed to do my scene with her, for which I'd traveled halfway around the world, I said, 'Where's Natalie?' And George says, 'That's Natalie,' and points to a bit of paper on the wall. It was just boring."

Source: Empire, PeliBlog.com


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 22 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Rambo writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 7:10:45 AM

Lucas?Boring?

Naaah..
boogiel writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 7:20:43 AM

Now that Lucas isn't in control, I expect hearing more of these types of sentiments from prequel actors.
cress writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 7:53:34 AM

Waaah! Boo-hoo! My p*ssy hurts! My agent made me do it! I have no control over the roles I take! Waah! I'm a dirty old man who wanted to meet a 14 year old girl named Natalie! Waaah! "Priscilla, Queen of the Desert" is more of a film for me, because it deals with men who are big pussies, which I am! Waaaaaaahh!

*he was awesome as Zod though
Crazyhorse writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 8:14:52 AM

That makes sense now. I always wondered why some of the scenes the actors looked like they were at times staring at nothing at all when talking to another actor

Cant really blame him for saying what he did. They probably could have sent someone down o Australia with a camera and filmed him there since he wasnt live with the other actors
Avirex writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 8:21:29 AM

"I wanted to meet Natalie Portman because I'd seen her in 'The Professional."

Pedo alert.

Still love his films though.
Cannon writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 8:44:03 AM


Cry me a f*ckin' river.

I guess he just forgot the part where he GOT PAID for doing a job. Both Liam Neeson and Alec Guinness have also noted that Lucas was never a performance-frist, actor-centric kind of director, but they never bitched about it either because they understood the territory.

This isn't Shakespeare or some contemporary method drama. It's Star Wars. They're very technical films; it's a very technical kind of storytelling. And especially if you're playing a smaller side role, you're likely not going to get all the attention in the world as if you're doing theater.

Ian McDiarmid has had nothing but consistant praise and gratitude for Lucas, and, lo, he gave one of the best performances of the entire saga.

Stapes writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 9:14:01 AM

The funny thing is that the piece of paper actually WAS Portman.
FBO writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 10:01:23 AM

I didn't know Stamp was an effing pedophile
FBO writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 10:14:55 AM

It looks like Terrance and I have something in common, we both wanted to nail Natalie Portman's ass to the wall. Of course the difference is I was 13 at the time...
BadChadB33 writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 10:59:43 AM

I forgot he was even in that steamy pile of sh*t.
Ranger writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 11:34:00 AM

What Cress said. Sorry folks. Not reading any further. Sick of this piss n' moan, well-paid actors bitching. He had to come halfway around the world for this gig? What.. on a raft he built by his own two hands?

I like Stamp in Wallstreet, and as Zod... even in Young Guns. Now he can just f*ck off.
makingcircles writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 11:52:21 AM

Well he's definitely not burning any bridges there because even if Lucas DID make another movie...who the f*ck would want to be in it anyway??

Kneel before ZOD you fat bearded f*ck!!!
Kurskij writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 12:17:44 PM

I love "The Limey".

That is all.
Ranger writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 12:52:59 PM

He's a powerhouse on the big screen. But this constant bitching we hear from these actors, what's the point? Sure they're allowed to have opinions like the rest of us, but to talk as though they're so hard done by. Oi.
Cannon writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 1:05:36 PM

@makingcircles

Zod doesn't have $4 billion dollars. Also, he dresses like a fag.

pornfly writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 2:36:54 PM

Im sure making The Bosses Daughter was better

Tune in next time to hear about Lexington Steeles ordeal with having to wait around for non-white people condoms before filming
minkowski writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 3:11:15 PM

So Stamp didn't like Lucas? And? Who does? And he thought The Phantom Menace is sh*t? Who doesn't think that?

This is news, Alex?

Coming tomorrow: 7.1 Billion People Think Lucas and The Phantom Menace Suck Diarrhetic Ass.
minkowski writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 3:13:36 PM

Just a sign of the times, I guess when wealthy famous old men bitch about having to hardly work for a great living like bleeding 12 year old girls complaining they have to unwrap a tampon to save their panties.
GERARD KENNELLY 27 writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 3:22:36 PM



i saw her too
in a different movie called LEON

ha ha ha
GERARD KENNELLY 27 writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 3:26:43 PM



i saw her too
in a different movie called LEON

ha ha ha
GERARD KENNELLY 27 writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 3:36:48 PM



http://www.metacafe.com/watch/9085309/natalie_portman_mila_kunis_sexy_in_black_swan/
Mickael writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 9:39:47 PM

This Episode I review says it all.

http://redlettermedia.com/plinkett/star-wars/star-wars-episode-1-the-phantom-menace/

Director James Gunn Comments on "Guardians of the Galaxy" Becoming Highest Grossing Movie of 2014

"Sin City 2" Bombs at Box Office, "Guardians of the Galaxy" Smashing Records

"The Sopranos" Creator Finally Reveals Whether Tony Soprano Died

Matt Damon to Return For "Jason Bourne 5"

"Guardians of the Galaxy" Wins Worst Box Office Weekend of the Year

"No Good Deed" Beats "Dolphin Tale 2" For First Place at Box Office

New "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Story Details Revealed

"Captain America 3" Director Hints at End of Chris Evans as Captain America

Bruce Wayne Enjoys MMA Fights in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

Warner Bros Has a "No Jokes" Policy For Its Superhero Films?
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved