WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Trailer Coming in December
Oct 25th, 2014
New "Ant-Man" Set Photos are Possible Spoilers
Oct 25th, 2014
Disney's "John Carter" Actually Cost Over $300 Million to Make
Oct 25th, 2014
"Wonder Woman" Searching for Female Director
Oct 24th, 2014
"The Mummy" Reboot to Follow Navy SEAL in Iraq?
Oct 24th, 2014
Noomi Rapace Discusses "Prometheus 2" Storyline
Oct 24th, 2014
Christian Bale Confirmed For Steve Jobs Biopic, To Appear in Every Frame of the Film
Oct 24th, 2014
"Insidious Chapter 3" Trailer is Here!
Oct 23rd, 2014
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Trailer is Here!
Oct 23rd, 2014
"The Hobbit" Trilogy Becomes Most Expensive Production of All Time
Oct 23rd, 2014
Quicksilver to Return For "X-Men: Apocalypse" and Maybe Solo Film
Oct 23rd, 2014
Restricted Trailer For Mark Wahlberg's "The Gambler" Thriller
Oct 23rd, 2014
First Look at Evangeline Lilly as Hope Pym on Marvel's "Ant-Man" Set
Oct 23rd, 2014
New Trailer for "The Woman in Black" Sequel
Oct 23rd, 2014
First Look at Johnny Depp as The Wolf in Disney's "Into the Woods"
Oct 23rd, 2014
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Trailer Coming Next Week!
Oct 22nd, 2014
"John Carter" Reboot in the Works, Disney Not Involved
Oct 22nd, 2014
James Wan to Direct "The Conjuring 2," May Direct DC Superhero Film
Oct 22nd, 2014
Ghostface Will NOT Appear in "Scream" TV Series
Oct 22nd, 2014
Keanu Reeves Says Film Studios Don't Want to Work With Him
Oct 22nd, 2014
Adam McKay Plans to Make "Step Brothers 2" in a Few Years
Oct 22nd, 2014
George Lucas Says Movie Studios are Ruining Hollywood
Oct 21st, 2014
"Cabin Fever" Remake Started Filming, Using Eli Roth's Original Script
Oct 21st, 2014
Melissa McCarthy Discusses "Ghostbusters" Reboot
Oct 21st, 2014
"Sharknado 3" Location Revealed
Oct 21st, 2014
Is Key and Peele's New Comedy a Spoof of Keanu Reeves' "John Wick" Thriller?
Oct 21st, 2014
James Cameron Reveals Advice He Gave to "Terminator Genisys" Producer
Oct 21st, 2014
Marvel Surprised Robert Downey Jr With an Unexpected Gift
Oct 20th, 2014
"Guardians of the Galaxy" is Struggling in China Due to Terrible Subtitles
Oct 20th, 2014
French Theaters Cancel "Annabelle" Screenings Due to Damage Caused by Teenagers
Oct 20th, 2014
Jason Momoa's First Comments About Starring in "Aquaman"
Oct 20th, 2014
Brad Pitt's "Fury" and Michael Keaton's "Birdman" Top Box Office
Oct 19th, 2014
New "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Concept Art Teases Hulkbuster's Giant Size
Oct 19th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Terrence Stamp Doesn't Like George Lucas and Hated Making "Star Wars: Episode I - The Phantom Menace"

Posted: January 29th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Terrence Stamp DoesnSubmit Comment
During almost every press conference, actors talk about how they loved working with their co-stars and with their director. A real pleasure. But once in a while, an actor will come forward about the miserable time he had on the set of some movie.

This time it's Terence Stamp, who revealed the awful time he had playing Chancellor Valorum in "Star Wars: Episode I - The Phantom Menace," and how disappointed he was with the directing style of George Lucas.

"We didn't get [along] at all. I didn't feel like [Lucas] was a director of actors; he was more interested in stuff and effects. He didn't interest me and I [don't] think I interested him," said Stamp. "I came all the way back from Australia [for the movie]. I didn't want to, but my agent leaned on me and I wanted to meet Natalie Portman because I'd seen her in 'The Professional.' And I did meet her and she was absolutely enchanting. But on the day I'm supposed to do my scene with her, for which I'd traveled halfway around the world, I said, 'Where's Natalie?' And George says, 'That's Natalie,' and points to a bit of paper on the wall. It was just boring."

Source: Empire, PeliBlog.com


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 22 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Rambo writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 7:10:45 AM

Lucas?Boring?

Naaah..
boogiel writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 7:20:43 AM

Now that Lucas isn't in control, I expect hearing more of these types of sentiments from prequel actors.
cress writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 7:53:34 AM

Waaah! Boo-hoo! My p*ssy hurts! My agent made me do it! I have no control over the roles I take! Waah! I'm a dirty old man who wanted to meet a 14 year old girl named Natalie! Waaah! "Priscilla, Queen of the Desert" is more of a film for me, because it deals with men who are big pussies, which I am! Waaaaaaahh!

*he was awesome as Zod though
Crazyhorse writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 8:14:52 AM

That makes sense now. I always wondered why some of the scenes the actors looked like they were at times staring at nothing at all when talking to another actor

Cant really blame him for saying what he did. They probably could have sent someone down o Australia with a camera and filmed him there since he wasnt live with the other actors
Avirex writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 8:21:29 AM

"I wanted to meet Natalie Portman because I'd seen her in 'The Professional."

Pedo alert.

Still love his films though.
Cannon writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 8:44:03 AM


Cry me a f*ckin' river.

I guess he just forgot the part where he GOT PAID for doing a job. Both Liam Neeson and Alec Guinness have also noted that Lucas was never a performance-frist, actor-centric kind of director, but they never bitched about it either because they understood the territory.

This isn't Shakespeare or some contemporary method drama. It's Star Wars. They're very technical films; it's a very technical kind of storytelling. And especially if you're playing a smaller side role, you're likely not going to get all the attention in the world as if you're doing theater.

Ian McDiarmid has had nothing but consistant praise and gratitude for Lucas, and, lo, he gave one of the best performances of the entire saga.

Stapes writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 9:14:01 AM

The funny thing is that the piece of paper actually WAS Portman.
FBO writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 10:01:23 AM

I didn't know Stamp was an effing pedophile
FBO writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 10:14:55 AM

It looks like Terrance and I have something in common, we both wanted to nail Natalie Portman's ass to the wall. Of course the difference is I was 13 at the time...
BadChadB33 writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 10:59:43 AM

I forgot he was even in that steamy pile of sh*t.
Ranger writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 11:34:00 AM

What Cress said. Sorry folks. Not reading any further. Sick of this piss n' moan, well-paid actors bitching. He had to come halfway around the world for this gig? What.. on a raft he built by his own two hands?

I like Stamp in Wallstreet, and as Zod... even in Young Guns. Now he can just f*ck off.
makingcircles writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 11:52:21 AM

Well he's definitely not burning any bridges there because even if Lucas DID make another movie...who the f*ck would want to be in it anyway??

Kneel before ZOD you fat bearded f*ck!!!
Kurskij writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 12:17:44 PM

I love "The Limey".

That is all.
Ranger writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 12:52:59 PM

He's a powerhouse on the big screen. But this constant bitching we hear from these actors, what's the point? Sure they're allowed to have opinions like the rest of us, but to talk as though they're so hard done by. Oi.
Cannon writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 1:05:36 PM

@makingcircles

Zod doesn't have $4 billion dollars. Also, he dresses like a fag.

pornfly writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 2:36:54 PM

Im sure making The Bosses Daughter was better

Tune in next time to hear about Lexington Steeles ordeal with having to wait around for non-white people condoms before filming
minkowski writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 3:11:15 PM

So Stamp didn't like Lucas? And? Who does? And he thought The Phantom Menace is sh*t? Who doesn't think that?

This is news, Alex?

Coming tomorrow: 7.1 Billion People Think Lucas and The Phantom Menace Suck Diarrhetic Ass.
minkowski writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 3:13:36 PM

Just a sign of the times, I guess when wealthy famous old men bitch about having to hardly work for a great living like bleeding 12 year old girls complaining they have to unwrap a tampon to save their panties.
GERARD KENNELLY 27 writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 3:22:36 PM



i saw her too
in a different movie called LEON

ha ha ha
GERARD KENNELLY 27 writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 3:26:43 PM



i saw her too
in a different movie called LEON

ha ha ha
GERARD KENNELLY 27 writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 3:36:48 PM



http://www.metacafe.com/watch/9085309/natalie_portman_mila_kunis_sexy_in_black_swan/
Mickael writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 9:39:47 PM

This Episode I review says it all.

http://redlettermedia.com/plinkett/star-wars/star-wars-episode-1-the-phantom-menace/

Marvel Surprised Robert Downey Jr With an Unexpected Gift

Christian Bale's "The Machinist" Co-Star Reveals Disturbing Story About Actor's Weight-Loss

Ben Affleck Regrets Making "Daredevil," Very Confident About "Batman v Superman"

Robert Downey Jr Would Make "Iron Man 4" If Mel Gibson Directs

Robert Downey Jr Now Says He Won't Return For "Iron Man 4"

Penelope Cruz is Esquire's 2014 Sexiest Woman Alive

Chris Cooper Gained 40 Pounds of Muscle For "American Sniper"

Amanda Bynes Placed in Psychiatric Care, Says Her Father Asked Her For Sex

Description of "Jurassic World" Trailer

Tom Hardy May Play Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved