WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Parents Freaking Out Over "Frozen" Merchandise Shortage
Apr 19th, 2014
Is "Batman vs Superman" Changing Its Release Date to Avoid "Captain America 3" Competition?
Apr 19th, 2014
First Look at Ryan Gosling's Directorial Debut "Lost River"
Apr 19th, 2014
Jaden Smith to Play a Slave in "The Good Lord Bird"
Apr 19th, 2014
New Trailer for "The Normal Heart," with Mark Ruffalo and Julia Roberts
Apr 19th, 2014
Producers Say Spider-Man Will Only Join "X-Men" or "The Avengers" When They Run Out of Ideas
Apr 19th, 2014
Zack Snyder Explains Why Batman is in "Man of Steel" Sequel
Apr 19th, 2014
First Look: Michael Fassbender in William Shakespeare's "Macbeth"
Apr 18th, 2014
New Footage in "Godzilla" TV Spot
Apr 18th, 2014
Marvel Confirms It Has Rights to Kingpin and Elektra for "Daredevil" TV Series
Apr 18th, 2014
Trailer for Clint Eastwood's "Jersey Boys" Musical
Apr 18th, 2014
"Mrs. Doubtfire" Actress Wants Nothing to Do With Sequel
Apr 18th, 2014
Trailer for Ryan Reynolds' "The Captive" Thriller
Apr 18th, 2014
New Trailer for "The Rover," with Guy Pearce and Robert Pattinson
Apr 18th, 2014
"Sinister" Sequel Gets a Director, To Begin Filming in July
Apr 18th, 2014
Opening Scene from "In Your Eyes" Sci-Fi Film, Written by Joss Whedon
Apr 18th, 2014
"X-Men" Director Bryan Singer Accused of Raping 17-Year-Old Boy
Apr 17th, 2014
Robin Williams to Return for "Mrs. Doubtfire" Sequel
Apr 17th, 2014
Jerry Bruckheimer on "Pirates of the Caribbean 5," "Top Gun 2" and "Beverly Hills Cop 4"
Apr 17th, 2014
James Franco Didn't Know He Has a Cameo in "Dawn of the Planet of the Apes"
Apr 17th, 2014
Poster for Denzel Washington's "The Equalizer" Thriller
Apr 17th, 2014
"The Amazing Spider-Man 2" Contains a Surprising Post-Credits Scene
Apr 17th, 2014
Trailer for Eli Roth's "The Green Inferno" Cannibal Horror Film
Apr 17th, 2014
Antonio Banderas Says "Puss in Boots 2" is Already Being Made
Apr 16th, 2014
"Friday the 13th" Reboot in Talks with "V/H/S" Director
Apr 16th, 2014
Sneak Peek at Marvel's "Guardians of the Galaxy"
Apr 16th, 2014
Final Trailer for "X-Men: Days of Future Past"
Apr 16th, 2014
"Sinister Six" Spin-Off May NOT Feature Classic Spider-Man Villains
Apr 16th, 2014
Leonardo DiCaprio to Star in "The Revenant" Revenge Thriller
Apr 16th, 2014
Will Ferrell, John C. Reilly and Adam McKay Re-Team for "Border Guards" Comedy
Apr 16th, 2014
Trailer for Chrloe Moretz's "If I Stay"
Apr 16th, 2014
"Fast and Furious 7" Hires Paul Walker's Brothers to Help Finish the Film
Apr 16th, 2014
Trailer for "Third Person," with Liam Neeson and James Franco
Apr 16th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Terrence Stamp Doesn't Like George Lucas and Hated Making "Star Wars: Episode I - The Phantom Menace"

Posted: January 29th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Terrence Stamp DoesnSubmit Comment
During almost every press conference, actors talk about how they loved working with their co-stars and with their director. A real pleasure. But once in a while, an actor will come forward about the miserable time he had on the set of some movie.

This time it's Terence Stamp, who revealed the awful time he had playing Chancellor Valorum in "Star Wars: Episode I - The Phantom Menace," and how disappointed he was with the directing style of George Lucas.

"We didn't get [along] at all. I didn't feel like [Lucas] was a director of actors; he was more interested in stuff and effects. He didn't interest me and I [don't] think I interested him," said Stamp. "I came all the way back from Australia [for the movie]. I didn't want to, but my agent leaned on me and I wanted to meet Natalie Portman because I'd seen her in 'The Professional.' And I did meet her and she was absolutely enchanting. But on the day I'm supposed to do my scene with her, for which I'd traveled halfway around the world, I said, 'Where's Natalie?' And George says, 'That's Natalie,' and points to a bit of paper on the wall. It was just boring."

Source: Empire, PeliBlog.com


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 22 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Rambo writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 7:10:45 AM

Lucas?Boring?

Naaah..
boogiel writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 7:20:43 AM

Now that Lucas isn't in control, I expect hearing more of these types of sentiments from prequel actors.
cress writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 7:53:34 AM

Waaah! Boo-hoo! My p*ssy hurts! My agent made me do it! I have no control over the roles I take! Waah! I'm a dirty old man who wanted to meet a 14 year old girl named Natalie! Waaah! "Priscilla, Queen of the Desert" is more of a film for me, because it deals with men who are big pussies, which I am! Waaaaaaahh!

*he was awesome as Zod though
Crazyhorse writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 8:14:52 AM

That makes sense now. I always wondered why some of the scenes the actors looked like they were at times staring at nothing at all when talking to another actor

Cant really blame him for saying what he did. They probably could have sent someone down o Australia with a camera and filmed him there since he wasnt live with the other actors
Avirex writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 8:21:29 AM

"I wanted to meet Natalie Portman because I'd seen her in 'The Professional."

Pedo alert.

Still love his films though.
Cannon writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 8:44:03 AM


Cry me a f*ckin' river.

I guess he just forgot the part where he GOT PAID for doing a job. Both Liam Neeson and Alec Guinness have also noted that Lucas was never a performance-frist, actor-centric kind of director, but they never bitched about it either because they understood the territory.

This isn't Shakespeare or some contemporary method drama. It's Star Wars. They're very technical films; it's a very technical kind of storytelling. And especially if you're playing a smaller side role, you're likely not going to get all the attention in the world as if you're doing theater.

Ian McDiarmid has had nothing but consistant praise and gratitude for Lucas, and, lo, he gave one of the best performances of the entire saga.

Stapes writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 9:14:01 AM

The funny thing is that the piece of paper actually WAS Portman.
FBO writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 10:01:23 AM

I didn't know Stamp was an effing pedophile
FBO writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 10:14:55 AM

It looks like Terrance and I have something in common, we both wanted to nail Natalie Portman's ass to the wall. Of course the difference is I was 13 at the time...
BadChadB33 writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 10:59:43 AM

I forgot he was even in that steamy pile of sh*t.
Ranger writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 11:34:00 AM

What Cress said. Sorry folks. Not reading any further. Sick of this piss n' moan, well-paid actors bitching. He had to come halfway around the world for this gig? What.. on a raft he built by his own two hands?

I like Stamp in Wallstreet, and as Zod... even in Young Guns. Now he can just f*ck off.
makingcircles writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 11:52:21 AM

Well he's definitely not burning any bridges there because even if Lucas DID make another movie...who the f*ck would want to be in it anyway??

Kneel before ZOD you fat bearded f*ck!!!
Kurskij writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 12:17:44 PM

I love "The Limey".

That is all.
Ranger writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 12:52:59 PM

He's a powerhouse on the big screen. But this constant bitching we hear from these actors, what's the point? Sure they're allowed to have opinions like the rest of us, but to talk as though they're so hard done by. Oi.
Cannon writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 1:05:36 PM

@makingcircles

Zod doesn't have $4 billion dollars. Also, he dresses like a fag.

pornfly writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 2:36:54 PM

Im sure making The Bosses Daughter was better

Tune in next time to hear about Lexington Steeles ordeal with having to wait around for non-white people condoms before filming
minkowski writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 3:11:15 PM

So Stamp didn't like Lucas? And? Who does? And he thought The Phantom Menace is sh*t? Who doesn't think that?

This is news, Alex?

Coming tomorrow: 7.1 Billion People Think Lucas and The Phantom Menace Suck Diarrhetic Ass.
minkowski writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 3:13:36 PM

Just a sign of the times, I guess when wealthy famous old men bitch about having to hardly work for a great living like bleeding 12 year old girls complaining they have to unwrap a tampon to save their panties.
GERARD KENNELLY 27 writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 3:22:36 PM



i saw her too
in a different movie called LEON

ha ha ha
GERARD KENNELLY 27 writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 3:26:43 PM



i saw her too
in a different movie called LEON

ha ha ha
GERARD KENNELLY 27 writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 3:36:48 PM



http://www.metacafe.com/watch/9085309/natalie_portman_mila_kunis_sexy_in_black_swan/
Mickael writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 9:39:47 PM

This Episode I review says it all.

http://redlettermedia.com/plinkett/star-wars/star-wars-episode-1-the-phantom-menace/

"The Goonies" Sequel is Confirmed by Director

James Cameron Gives "Avatar" Sequels Update, Comments on Arnold Schwarzenegger Rumor

"Captain America: The Winter Soldier" Remains Box Office Champ

Marvel Hints at "Iron Man 4" Development

Hugh Jackman Wants Channing Tatum to Take Over Wolverine Role

"X-Men" Director Bryan Singer Accused of Raping 17-Year-Old Boy

Anthony Mackie Almost Got Arrested Signing "Captain America 2" Falcon Posters

"Guardians of the Galaxy" is Connected to "Avengers 3"

Marvel Already Set Up Films Through 2028, Lots of Spin-Offs in the Works

"Captain America 3" Directors Hint at Plot Details
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved