WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Sony Wanted Tom Hardy as Sandman and Sean Penn as Doctor Octopus in "Sinister Six"
Dec 22nd, 2014
"Wonder Woman" Director Says There's No Script, Release Date or Green Light
Dec 22nd, 2014
"The Hobbit 3" Dominates Box Office Weekend, "Night at the Museum 3" and "Annie" Bomb
Dec 22nd, 2014
Two Posters for Will Smith's "Focus" Heist Comedy
Dec 22nd, 2014
Photos: Better Look at Iron Man's Hulkbuster Suit From "Avengers: Age of Ultron"
Dec 21st, 2014
First Look at "Sisters" Comedy, Re-Teaming Tina Fey and Amy Poehler
Dec 21st, 2014
Trailer: Sex Has Terrible Consequences in "It Follow" Horror Film
Dec 21st, 2014
New Photo From Joseph Gordon-Levitt's "The Walk," Directed by Robert Zemeckis
Dec 21st, 2014
Trailer for Sarah Michelle Gellar's "Veronika Decides to Die" Thriller
Dec 21st, 2014
Sony Considering Idris Elba as Next James Bond
Dec 20th, 2014
Peter Jackson Will Never Direct a Marvel Film
Dec 20th, 2014
First Look at Guillermo Del Toro's "Crimson Peak" Horror Film
Dec 20th, 2014
Two New Photos From Marvel's "Daredevil" TV Series
Dec 20th, 2014
Trailer for "Get Hard" Comedy, with Will Ferrell and Kevin Hart
Dec 20th, 2014
First Look at Mark Wahlberg in "Ted" Sequel
Dec 20th, 2014
Mark Wahlberg Will Return for "Transformers 5"
Dec 19th, 2014
"Team America: World Police" Screenings Also Cancelled Due to Terrorist Threats
Dec 19th, 2014
20th Century Fox Cancels It's Own North Korea-Based Film
Dec 19th, 2014
First Look: Tom Hanks in Steven Spielberg's Cold War Thriller
Dec 19th, 2014
First Look at Viggo Mortensen's "Captain Fantastic"
Dec 19th, 2014
Trailer for "True Story" Drama, with James Franco and Jonah Hill
Dec 18th, 2014
New Trailer for Clint Eastwood's "American Sniper," with Bradley Cooper
Dec 18th, 2014
"Fifty Shades of Grey" and "Star Wars" are Top Trailers of 2014
Dec 18th, 2014
Hugh Jackman in Talks for "X-Men: Apocalypse" and "The Wolverine 2"
Dec 18th, 2014
Peter Jackson Wants to Make More Tolkien Movies
Dec 18th, 2014
Theaters Refusing to Show "The Interview," Sony Cancels Premiere, Press and Release
Dec 17th, 2014
Chris Pratt and a Dinosaur in New "Jurassic World" Photo
Dec 17th, 2014
Tim Burton Doesn't Like Marvel Films, Says Superheroes Should Be Happier
Dec 17th, 2014
Orlando Bloom Says "Pirates of the Caribbean 5" is a Reboot
Dec 17th, 2014
Tim Burton Will Direct "Beetlejuice 2," Confirms Winona Ryder Will Return
Dec 17th, 2014
Adam Sandler's "Pixels" Action Comedy Unveils Pac-Man and Donkey Kong Posters
Dec 17th, 2014
New Trailer for Disney's Live-Action "Cinderella"
Dec 17th, 2014
First Look at "True Story" Drama, with James Franco and Jonah Hill
Dec 16th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Terrence Stamp Doesn't Like George Lucas and Hated Making "Star Wars: Episode I - The Phantom Menace"

Posted: January 29th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Terrence Stamp DoesnSubmit Comment
During almost every press conference, actors talk about how they loved working with their co-stars and with their director. A real pleasure. But once in a while, an actor will come forward about the miserable time he had on the set of some movie.

This time it's Terence Stamp, who revealed the awful time he had playing Chancellor Valorum in "Star Wars: Episode I - The Phantom Menace," and how disappointed he was with the directing style of George Lucas.

"We didn't get [along] at all. I didn't feel like [Lucas] was a director of actors; he was more interested in stuff and effects. He didn't interest me and I [don't] think I interested him," said Stamp. "I came all the way back from Australia [for the movie]. I didn't want to, but my agent leaned on me and I wanted to meet Natalie Portman because I'd seen her in 'The Professional.' And I did meet her and she was absolutely enchanting. But on the day I'm supposed to do my scene with her, for which I'd traveled halfway around the world, I said, 'Where's Natalie?' And George says, 'That's Natalie,' and points to a bit of paper on the wall. It was just boring."

Source: Empire, PeliBlog.com


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 22 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Rambo writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 7:10:45 AM

Lucas?Boring?

Naaah..
boogiel writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 7:20:43 AM

Now that Lucas isn't in control, I expect hearing more of these types of sentiments from prequel actors.
cress writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 7:53:34 AM

Waaah! Boo-hoo! My p*ssy hurts! My agent made me do it! I have no control over the roles I take! Waah! I'm a dirty old man who wanted to meet a 14 year old girl named Natalie! Waaah! "Priscilla, Queen of the Desert" is more of a film for me, because it deals with men who are big pussies, which I am! Waaaaaaahh!

*he was awesome as Zod though
Crazyhorse writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 8:14:52 AM

That makes sense now. I always wondered why some of the scenes the actors looked like they were at times staring at nothing at all when talking to another actor

Cant really blame him for saying what he did. They probably could have sent someone down o Australia with a camera and filmed him there since he wasnt live with the other actors
Avirex writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 8:21:29 AM

"I wanted to meet Natalie Portman because I'd seen her in 'The Professional."

Pedo alert.

Still love his films though.
Cannon writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 8:44:03 AM


Cry me a f*ckin' river.

I guess he just forgot the part where he GOT PAID for doing a job. Both Liam Neeson and Alec Guinness have also noted that Lucas was never a performance-frist, actor-centric kind of director, but they never bitched about it either because they understood the territory.

This isn't Shakespeare or some contemporary method drama. It's Star Wars. They're very technical films; it's a very technical kind of storytelling. And especially if you're playing a smaller side role, you're likely not going to get all the attention in the world as if you're doing theater.

Ian McDiarmid has had nothing but consistant praise and gratitude for Lucas, and, lo, he gave one of the best performances of the entire saga.

Stapes writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 9:14:01 AM

The funny thing is that the piece of paper actually WAS Portman.
FBO writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 10:01:23 AM

I didn't know Stamp was an effing pedophile
FBO writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 10:14:55 AM

It looks like Terrance and I have something in common, we both wanted to nail Natalie Portman's ass to the wall. Of course the difference is I was 13 at the time...
BadChadB33 writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 10:59:43 AM

I forgot he was even in that steamy pile of sh*t.
Ranger writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 11:34:00 AM

What Cress said. Sorry folks. Not reading any further. Sick of this piss n' moan, well-paid actors bitching. He had to come halfway around the world for this gig? What.. on a raft he built by his own two hands?

I like Stamp in Wallstreet, and as Zod... even in Young Guns. Now he can just f*ck off.
makingcircles writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 11:52:21 AM

Well he's definitely not burning any bridges there because even if Lucas DID make another movie...who the f*ck would want to be in it anyway??

Kneel before ZOD you fat bearded f*ck!!!
Kurskij writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 12:17:44 PM

I love "The Limey".

That is all.
Ranger writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 12:52:59 PM

He's a powerhouse on the big screen. But this constant bitching we hear from these actors, what's the point? Sure they're allowed to have opinions like the rest of us, but to talk as though they're so hard done by. Oi.
Cannon writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 1:05:36 PM

@makingcircles

Zod doesn't have $4 billion dollars. Also, he dresses like a fag.

pornfly writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 2:36:54 PM

Im sure making The Bosses Daughter was better

Tune in next time to hear about Lexington Steeles ordeal with having to wait around for non-white people condoms before filming
minkowski writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 3:11:15 PM

So Stamp didn't like Lucas? And? Who does? And he thought The Phantom Menace is sh*t? Who doesn't think that?

This is news, Alex?

Coming tomorrow: 7.1 Billion People Think Lucas and The Phantom Menace Suck Diarrhetic Ass.
minkowski writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 3:13:36 PM

Just a sign of the times, I guess when wealthy famous old men bitch about having to hardly work for a great living like bleeding 12 year old girls complaining they have to unwrap a tampon to save their panties.
GERARD KENNELLY 27 writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 3:22:36 PM



i saw her too
in a different movie called LEON

ha ha ha
GERARD KENNELLY 27 writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 3:26:43 PM



i saw her too
in a different movie called LEON

ha ha ha
GERARD KENNELLY 27 writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 3:36:48 PM



http://www.metacafe.com/watch/9085309/natalie_portman_mila_kunis_sexy_in_black_swan/
Mickael writes:
on January 29th, 2013 at 9:39:47 PM

This Episode I review says it all.

http://redlettermedia.com/plinkett/star-wars/star-wars-episode-1-the-phantom-menace/

Shia LaBeouf Says He Was Raped During His #IAmSorry Stunt

Christian Bale Says He Wanted to Play Batman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

TIME Magazine's Top 10 Best and Worst Films of 2014

It's Official: Jared Leto is The Joker and Will Smith is Deadshot in "Suicide Squad"

Christian Bale Says He'll Never Work With "Terminator Salvation" Director Again

Oscar Isaac is the Villainous Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse"

Marvel Would Have Recast Spider-Man in "Captain America: Civil War"

"The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1" Still Rules Box Office, "The Pyramid" Bombed

"Demolition Man" Writer Explains How He Came Up with The Three Seashells

Sylvester Stallone Discusses "The Expendables 4" Ideas and Rating
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved